View Full Version : Anybody got FIFA yet...
02/10/2007, 11:01 AM
Haven't played a football game on the Wii yet - how is the game controlled?
Wiimote controls passing (A button for short pass, B button for through ball, A+B for long pass/cross). Shooting involves waving the wiimote :) (same as slide tackling!)
Nunchuk controls the direction, speed of the the player.
Shooting is a bit random but overall its better than I thought it would be.
Shelsman
02/10/2007, 12:57 PM
It is. All teams were asked to send in profile pics of their players.
Better hope Pat's remembered to register their players! :D
Shelsman
02/10/2007, 1:00 PM
Firstly, you should buy it as it supports the league as a whole and the money coming in will improve the league.
I agree in principle, however, the eL will not profit directly out of it. What EA Sports have agreed to do is to buy / rent advertising hoardings at eL grounds.
Does anybody know when FIFA Manager 08 is out?
Why? its only a computer game?!
Couldn't find Shels in it btw? Have you folded yet?
Got it and my fecking graphics card isn't supported :(
02/10/2007, 2:14 PM
...Fifa usually sells 600k over here so with EL inclusion it should get 601001k(inc UCD fans who chipped in for one to buy it :p)...
Where's the Dublin City fan when you need him? ;)
Barkers not in it :D
will stick up pics of bray and galway in a few.
kdjac
Oh and Billy Gibson is missing from the Pats squad too
Blue-Army
02/10/2007, 4:31 PM
Was white on the xbox , might be wrong tho
well Karl Bermingham is black on the PS2...:D
Galway
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-19-05.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-20-96.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-22-69.jpg
Bray
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-33-94.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-36-35.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2017-14-38-78.jpg
kdjac
niallsparky
02/10/2007, 8:58 PM
Any chance of some Bohs screenshots KdjaC if it's not too much trouble?
Boo_Boy
02/10/2007, 9:01 PM
manager mode is terrible too!
just won the league with rovers to find out you can get job offers outside the eircom league!!
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2022-03-57-36.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2022-04-00-02.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-02%2022-04-01-91.jpg
Bohs
kdjac
02/10/2007, 10:32 PM
So if Crowe is 65, what is Healy?
Getting this payday.
kdjaC
02/10/2007, 10:34 PM
So if Crowe is 65, what is Healy?
Getting this payday.
Healy is unaturally lethal dunno his stats but he has scored vs me on hard.
he has speed so thats wrong for a start.
kdjac
niallsparky
03/10/2007, 8:48 PM
Bohs
kdjac
Cheers mate.
03/10/2007, 9:01 PM
Bohs
kdjac
Any chance of the Derry players, if ye get a chance. Would appreciate it - not out over here till the 9th.
Of all the ones that have it so far, would they recommend it? Is it an improvement on 07?
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-04%2020-09-30-84.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-04%2020-09-33-42.jpg
http://homepage.eircom.net/~kdjac/FIFA08%202007-10-04%2020-09-36-90.jpg
Derry
The game is **** have noticed now over the course of a season only one players name is actually in it ie called out by the commentators.
farrelly.
kdjac
TommyGaynor
04/10/2007, 7:24 PM
What happens when you play Cork at home to Bray? :D
Screen goes black and white :eek:
kdjac
TommyGaynor
04/10/2007, 7:27 PM
I was hoping that City's old away jerseys would be used!
EireBadBoy
04/10/2007, 9:45 PM
What are those screen shots from, the PC version? The team section on the 360 looks a lot better to be fair.
Finally got a good go at the game tonight. Gameplay is a bit rigid so Pro Evo fan's will detest the game even more. The goal scoring aspect has improved a bit, can score goals more randomly depending on how good the keeper is, you can't just find one spot and score all the time (if you can I've not spotted it yet).
A plus side (IMO) is that you can actually sign players like Maldini during transfer season, I know the realist of the Gaming World will hate this but I like it, if I wanted realism I'd buy Champ Manager instead. Also, if you don't like it don't buy the players.
Also, the likeness of the players is pretty good but as with most leagues on the game some are completely different.
kdjaC
04/10/2007, 10:25 PM
A plus side (IMO) is that you can actually sign players like Maldini during transfer season, I know the realist of the Gaming World will hate this but I like it, if I wanted realism I'd buy Champ Manager instead. Also, if you don't like it don't buy the players.
Also, the likeness of the players is pretty good but as with most leagues on the game some are completely different.
thats what we call master league on pes.
the sweet spot is left to right or right to left with proper footed players.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcZ3Jf4EH7k
Watching above video will ruin fifa for you as it works every time get a player into that position with his prefered foot and he will score.
kdjac
04/10/2007, 10:32 PM
Thanks for stickin that up for us kdjaC, top man.
Boh_So_Good
06/10/2007, 5:55 PM
Does anyone know if the PS2 version of FIFA08 has the EL?
adamcarr
06/10/2007, 6:04 PM
Could you stick up a screenshot of the City squad please?
06/10/2007, 6:06 PM
Does anyone know if the PS2 version of FIFA08 has the EL?Yes, all versions have.
brokenstar
07/10/2007, 12:06 AM
Got it for the wii. Good craic. pats team about right
Got it for the Wii too. First time I've bought Fifa in years cos PES is the dog's. Have to say though, Fifa is back up there. The Wii version makes it a different game and adds a different element to the game play too. Didn't think it would work, but it does and it's brilliant. Next PES on the Wii out next March, can't wait for the comparison!
Maroon 7
07/10/2007, 1:37 AM
More of a Pro Evo man and Haven't bought a FIFA in years but I have to say it's not bad at all. Not quite as good as Pro Evo but FIFA has improved a lot in recent years. 3 or 4 years ago it was terrible.
07/10/2007, 10:15 AM
Impressed with the game play (well compared to recent Fifa games) the EL is a good job in it. Most of the players are about right, good for the EL but prob only ourselves that play with the EL teams :( All the same ive got Bray top of the league by 5 points with 3 games to go :p
16/10/2007, 3:10 PM
Anybody else enter the competition to win a copy on the RTE website?
I just got a call to say I won one! Apparently I was the first person to enter. I'm spending far too much time on the internet and not nearly enough time working! But it just saved me buying it so I'm a happy bunny. :)
Is it still available? Link?
declan hide
16/10/2007, 3:52 PM
Does anyone know if the PS2 version of FIFA08 has the EL?
yep it does
despite not liking FIFA08 (i'm a ps2 PES player) for the first few games i played a few more games last night and finally got into it. nice filler til the next PES comes out.
but whats Bohemia all about?
16/10/2007, 3:55 PM
Is it still available? Link?
Sorry it was a few weeks ago around the launch date so not sure if it's still up. It was around the Eircom league section. Question was who are the reigning first division champions.
**Found a link to it here (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0927/doylek.html)**
***Last Friday was the closing date***
L37Ultra
17/10/2007, 2:24 PM
In the manager mode for FIFA 08 there is no FAI cup or League Cup and when I won the League with Drogs I was looking forward to playing in the Champions League but that never happened. Other than that its a much improved game. The gameplay is way better than last years FIFA and there is more control over the players.
L37Ultra
17/10/2007, 2:26 PM
well Karl Bermingham is black on the PS2...:D
so is Van Persie :D
Mad Moose
18/10/2007, 12:26 PM
Have to say I got a few laughs reading this thread particularly the observation on Mark Rutherford and Karl Bermingham. Ack its the simple things that make you laugh.:D
Firstly I don't get the whole PES hype.For me its fake names and fake players and over advertised Konami in your face. Its always FIFA fo me and its amazing how far the game has come along.Thinking back to FIFA 95 for example. Got this on the XBox and I like the gameplay though I have always liked FIFA anyhow.On PES I stopped buying it as it doesn't seem to change or develop much ove the editions.
Love the graphics on this and the gamelay is excellent. But why introduce the league and not go the extra mile and add both divisions. I usually play manager mode and though I like the game its a bit rubbish that there isn't relegation or promotion so I think I'd be a bit disappointed with that. I suppose I can take the commentary but the grounds selection hasn't changed in years and I believe they could have done so much better than stick with the same grounds as they have done for years.
I'm 2nd in the table with Galway Utd at the minute and I can only play on Amateur though. Keith Fahey put four free kicks past me in one game.I can't defen free licks so if the opposition get one on the edge of the area well I have conceded another goal.
The one thing I have always wanted was an ability to react off the ball and an aul ruck after a few tackles. I don't know whats wrong with me but my intention in every game is to hurt as many of the opposition as possibly.Took out 3 St Pats players last night.
Oh and the Refs are very predictable oh and just one ref in Richie McDermott. Overall I'm a bit disappointed. No doubt it'll be a few seasons before they complete the league just to keep the sales up.
04/11/2007, 10:01 AM
The game is **** have noticed now over the course of a season only one players name is actually in it ie called out by the commentators.
farrelly.
kdjac
McCafferty off Derry also gets a mention.