View Full Version : Nostalgia Thread

20/09/2007, 4:07 PM
Anyone have any of these growing up?
Led Watch (http://dnwallace.com/images/blog/xraythumb.jpg)
The Raleigh Chopper Sprint GT Below. Had the gear shifter in the middle. When you went to change gears, you'd fall off and bust your ass, unless you were good like me.;)

fosterdollar
21/09/2007, 12:18 PM
Space Hoppers

fosterdollar
21/09/2007, 12:20 PM
And Zig and Zag of course

noby
21/09/2007, 12:21 PM
I looked in to getting a Chopper for nostalgia reasons, but they were going for about a grand, and that was five years ago.

21/09/2007, 12:35 PM
Airfix Model kits.

Anytime I hear Dionne Warwick singing 'Heartbreaker' I get the smell of the Humbrol paint off a newly made 1:72 scale Heinkel 111 10 year old lionel was making while she was on top of the pops.

21/09/2007, 12:42 PM
Remember Lo-Lo Balls (que the double entendres ;))

http://www.pogostickusa.com/pogo/images/lolo2.jpg

(and no, that's not me in the pic :p)

biscuit
21/09/2007, 12:46 PM
HE MAN collectables...(i had the flask n lunchbox too!!)

21/09/2007, 5:19 PM
Anyone have any of these growing up?I had a Grifter with the gears on the handlebars and I loved it, but I really wanted a Chopper too.

I was tickled when I saw one in the Science Museum (http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/) a few years ago. :)

21/09/2007, 5:39 PM
Did anyone here own a Barcode Battler? I never did, but remember them being heavily promoted through Crazy Prices or someone circa 1994. It was some kind of handheld games console into which you inputted info by swiping barcodes from various products.

21/09/2007, 8:07 PM
Commodore 64 and Fat Frogs are two of my happier moments in life, I'll find pics later

21/09/2007, 8:12 PM
Commodore 64 and Fat Frogs are two of my happier moments in life, I'll find pics later

what type of fat frogs;):D

GuisaSaigon
22/09/2007, 9:58 AM
Had a chopper for a while, feckin deathtrap it was. always wanted a vectar but never got one. a guy on my street had one so i used to " borrow" it a lot! Check this out a fully working Vectar:cool:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBrN1sLZVik

22/09/2007, 3:20 PM
Classic Irish kids tv like Bosco, Fortycoats and of course the mighty Wanderley Wagon.

'Classic' RTE quiz shows:
Where In The World, Murhpy's Micro Quiz M, Rapid Roulette, Quicksilver, Know Your Sport :)

23/09/2007, 2:12 PM
I miss my Barbie VW Beetle car. And my McDonald's drive through that Barbie fitted into. We had to leave them and loads of other toys in Canada when we moved home coz we couldnt afford to ship 3 crate loads of toys! Lucky kids who moved into our house got a basement full of top notch stuff.

I had a lo-lo-ball Ash, loved it! Loved the old Atari games console, we had a game called Circus that I just loved.

23/09/2007, 4:31 PM
Did anyone here own a Barcode Battler? I never did, but remember them being heavily promoted through Crazy Prices or someone circa 1994. It was some kind of handheld games console into which you inputted info by swiping barcodes from various products.
That vaguely rings a bell alright.

Amstrad 6128 (http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?c=111). Still have it up in my room, and have an emulator on the laptop.

23/09/2007, 11:53 PM
I'm younger than most of ye so ye were probably too old when this came out but I got this (http://images-eu.amazon.com/images/P/B00005NK20.02.LZZZZZZZ.jpg) off Santa one year. Delighted:cool: ;)

soccerc
24/09/2007, 12:07 AM
Patsi Pops! :D

Closest thing these days is a lidl icepop, it's close but not close enough

24/09/2007, 7:10 AM
Rapid Roulette

Please, leave the table ...

That used to drive my auld fella mad. :D

24/09/2007, 7:39 AM
This thread isn't what it used to be...

We were a spectrum household, starting with the ZX and then the Spectrum Plus. Before we went all PC and ultra modern with a 286.

Evil Knievel figure and bike. Matchbox cars, and those stunt tracks you could get (fixed off the window sill, with loop the loops and that).

24/09/2007, 8:03 AM
We were a spectrum household, starting with the ZX and then the Spectrum
Plus. Before we went all PC and ultra modern with a 286.

We also had a ZX Spectrum 48K back in the day. Because 48K is all you'd ever
need :) Moved on to a Commadore Amiga, 512K with a 512K expansion,
and then eventually up to a 386.

24/09/2007, 9:24 AM
That vaguely rings a bell alright.

Amstrad 6128 (http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?c=111). Still have it up in my room, and have an emulator on the laptop.

That guy who won the Apprentice is probably still using that. :)

Glenroe!
Well Holy God!

The highlight of any half hour show would be Dick (cant remember his surname) playing the boyo, and Miley moaning about his cattle and vaccines. And Dinny Byrne sippin pints and smokin pints with Teasy McDaid and Stephen Brennan down the Molly Malone. Great days.

stann
24/09/2007, 2:44 PM
We also had a ZX Spectrum 48K back in the day. Because 48K is all you'd ever
need :) Moved on to a Commadore Amiga, 512K with a 512K expansion,
and then eventually up to a 386.

Almost the same Ash, but with the nifty Atari 800XL (http://www.atarimuseum.com/computers/8BITS/XL/800xl/800xl.htm) before the first Amiga, then an Amiga 1200 (http://www.amigahistory.co.uk/a1200.html) with 4 Meg expansion before the dreaded first PC. The Spectrum was just the best games platform ever, but what a machine that A1200 was.

Had the Evel Knievel Stuntbike (http://www.doyouremember.co.uk/memory.php?memID=2106) too, and later procured the Jet Cycle (http://www.actiontoys.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=123&Product_Code=EVELK-01&Category_Code=EVELK) in a swap with a mate.

Surprised no-one has mentioned Action Man with the eagle eyes (http://www.doc.mmu.ac.uk/STAFF/D.Higson/talker.htm) yet. Or the pull-chord in his back. "Send out... the patrol!" :D
And of course the Star Wars action figures, the brilliant and huge Millenium Falcon (http://theswca.com/images-toys/figuretoys/falcon.html) model you could open out was genius!

24/09/2007, 3:01 PM
My fist computer was the Sinclair ZX Spectrum +2 with 128k memory and the James Bond action pack! It came with a gun and a couple of shooting games that I loved.
http://www.retro-trader.com/images/march03/DVC01719.JPG

24/09/2007, 3:02 PM
Bionic Man (http://www.bigredtoybox.com/articles/smdm.jpg)

24/09/2007, 3:13 PM
the hurdy-gurdys.

soccerc
24/09/2007, 3:16 PM
Oxo or Bovril at LOI games on a cold wet winters Sunday afternoon. IIRC, it was Oxo at Tolka park for some reason.

biscuit
24/09/2007, 3:46 PM
soup in the showground gotten out of the big galvinised shed round the back. lumps an all in it!! one nite when i was bout 11, cued up for about 20 mins to get the soup and a bag of tayto (for about 70p :D) was just tucking into it and we scored, i scalded my hand :( ........but it was against Clubbe Brugge, one of the best feelings of my life!! is that self harm? im a sadist so!

24/09/2007, 4:34 PM
Great toy (http://www.girdersandgears.com/meccano/images/no5-bothtrays.jpg) back in the day.

24/09/2007, 4:41 PM
We also had a ZX Spectrum 48K back in the day.
Had a ZX81 as well. It was hooked up to a small (10"?) telly, so if you got bored, you could just change channel. You also had to type all the programmes in.

25/09/2007, 7:08 AM
"Send out... the patrol!" :D

How could I have forgotten that. They were class.
"Enemy Tanks Approaching" :D

25/09/2007, 3:55 PM
Italian Football on Network 2 on a Monday evening

25/09/2007, 3:58 PM
Italian Football on Network 2 on a Monday evening

God how I miss that, best produced football show I can remember anyway, could be the nostalgia factor though. I remember every in my class banging on about it on Tuesday mornings, I genuinely thought it was getting more popular than English football at that stage

Wolfie
25/09/2007, 4:11 PM
Anyone remember Dutch Football on the old Sky channel in the mid to late 80's? It certainly wasn't well produced but it had some novelty value at the time. There was an ad that ran during the break "TDK - its lonely at the top"

I think Brazillian Football was shown around the same time as well on Super channel.

One of the best features of this show was that players were continuously stretchered off the pitch. Intrepid reporters often rushed to the sideline to interview the stricken player who was still on the stretcher. Chaos basically.

25/09/2007, 5:32 PM
I remember Screensport covered Dutch and Spanish football (still remember the promo - "The game in Spain is mainly - FOOTBALL!")

I think the Brazilian football was on Eurosport in the mid 90s.

25/09/2007, 6:38 PM
Remember Lo-Lo Balls (que the double entendres ;))

http://www.pogostickusa.com/pogo/images/lolo2.jpg

(and no, that's not me in the pic :p)

Jaysus H Christy I used to love them feckin' things

Not as much as my Mork from Ork with pull string at the back

Wolfie
26/09/2007, 8:19 AM
Anyone remember the David Connolly Thread or the Ian Harte Thread?

Great Days.

galwayhoop
26/09/2007, 9:02 AM
I had a Grifter with the gears on the handlebars and I loved it, but I really wanted a Chopper too.

ahhh, the good old Grifter (http://www.raleighgrifter.co.uk/models_page.html).

I also had one of these (http://www.old-computers.com/museum/computer.asp?st=1&c=97) before 'progressing' to the C64!!!

27/09/2007, 11:46 AM
Anyone remember "The Kids of Degrassi Street" and "Degrassi Junior High"

http://kidsofdegrassistreet.degrassi.ca/

27/09/2007, 12:10 PM
God yeah loved it but then was always a sucker for Canadian tv coz it reminded me of when we lived there.

citizenerased
27/09/2007, 12:22 PM
Mr Frosties Legend!!!

01/10/2008, 2:20 PM
Retro it is. Used to love this as a kid...

http://www.geocities.com/choppercityusa/paulfrontSprint1.jpg

01/10/2008, 2:24 PM
I wanted a Chopper, but I got a Grifter. It was cool, but it wasn't as cool as a Chopper. *sob*

http://www.stuffwelove.co.uk/images/grifter.jpg

01/10/2008, 2:25 PM
Lime, lemon and acid sweets (yummm) and from the BBC, TALES OF THE RIVERBANK with Roddy Rat and Hammie Hamster.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/513R0CSAQKL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

01/10/2008, 2:27 PM
Retro it is. Used to love this as a kid...

http://www.geocities.com/choppercityusa/paulfrontSprint1.jpg

Bump for Pauro? Thank you sir!

http://www.stefan-larsson.se/Images/jpeg/Master-System/master-system-II-konsoll.jpg

First ever console I bought.

Sligo Hornet
01/10/2008, 2:42 PM
When I was a kid, I used be very jealous of the "rich" kids who owned a "Johnny Seven"

http://i38.tinypic.com/ziw0i1.jpg

noby
01/10/2008, 3:08 PM
StrangeIrish, what's going on with the handlebars on that chopper?

01/10/2008, 3:09 PM
Anyone else have a pair of these sock tie-ups?:D

http://dspace.dial.pipex.com/bob.dunning/egray.jpg

Sligo Hornet
01/10/2008, 3:12 PM
Anyone else have a pair of these sock tie-ups?:D

http://dspace.dial.pipex.com/bob.dunning/egray.jpg

Once owned Norman Hunter's together with his No.6 shirt from the FA Cup Final at Wembley against Chelsea in 1970!

01/10/2008, 3:12 PM
StrangeIrish, what's going on with the handlebars on that chopper? There were two types of handlebars for that bike. This is the one I actually had.

http://www.choppertrader.com/111spr6.jpg

noby
01/10/2008, 3:14 PM
Now that's more like it.