View Full Version : 7 games left, what do we want?

17/09/2007, 6:58 PM
with 21 points available.....where do ye think we'll finish realistically?

Bohs away: 1 point
Drogs away: 0 points?
St.Pats home: 3points
Waterford home: 3
Shams Away: 1point
Cork home: 3points
Bray away: 3 points

personaly, i'd be thrilled with the above
and i think its realistic enough

17/09/2007, 7:46 PM

Bar Pats at home, i think everyone of them games is winable.

17/09/2007, 7:51 PM
Bohs away: 0 points
Drogs away: 0 points
St.Pats home: 1 point
Waterford home: 3 points-MUST
Shams Away: 0/1 point(s)
Cork home: 1/3 point(s)
Bray away: 3 points-MUST

Would like to beat Bohs but with O'Grady & Hughes suspended, I don't think we will get anything.

17/09/2007, 7:53 PM

Bohs : 3 points is 100% necessary here

20 quid to the best abusive banner

Drogs: Park the Team Bus Infront of the Goal for the 1st 20 minutes and then play football. Thats how we get 3 points there.

St Pats: Not on a good streak atm. A win very winnable

Waterford: 3. No questions Asked

Shams: Draw. They'll be battling for Europe with us.. Toughest of the lot i reckon

Cork : 3

Bray: 3

The last 3 games will seal our fate.
9/9 there and were in

17/09/2007, 10:35 PM
Drogs: Park the Team Bus Infront of the Goal for the 1st 20 minutes and then play football. Thats how we get 3 points there.

yeah, just invite them onto us, concede an early goal and set the tone by doing that :rolleyes:

jamie m
18/09/2007, 9:00 AM
what a transformation from the beginning of the season, i think back then most fans would have been happy with survival with all the upheaval that was going on, yet here we are discussing now how many points we need from our last few games to get into europe! credit to cookie, the players,the fans and leo and dessie for keeping the ship afloat, if we can get europe will rank as one of the clubs great achievements i think

18/09/2007, 10:29 AM
to be honest i thought we would be lucky to avoid the drop even before mcdonald left. watching one or two of those friendlies was depressing! absolutly top class at times this season, they deserve all the credit they can get, every single player in the whole squad

DonalE
18/09/2007, 3:55 PM
what a transformation from the beginning of the season, i think back then most fans would have been happy with survival with all the upheaval that was going on, yet here we are discussing now how many points we need from our last few games to get into europe! credit to cookie, the players,the fans and leo and dessie for keeping the ship afloat, if we can get europe will rank as one of the clubs great achievements i think

Don't forget Rob McDonald, he laid the foundations in pre season

18/09/2007, 3:59 PM
Sean Connor did the real work, by ****ing off and leading us to Paul Cook as a result:).

life long red
20/09/2007, 9:20 AM
all credit too paul cook and the team cant wait for next season

dublinred
20/09/2007, 4:43 PM
4 wins might be enough for Europe then a handy draw against a team from Cyprus would be nice.

20/09/2007, 5:24 PM
just to clear it up, what do we have to do to get into europe? top 3?

20/09/2007, 5:28 PM

top 4 afaik

20/09/2007, 5:32 PM
and we'll get in if we finish 5th and one of the top fir win the FAI cup isnt it

20/09/2007, 5:33 PM
1st CL, 2nd UEFA, 3rd Intertoto. If Pats win league and cup 3rd UEFA and 4th Intertoto.

20/09/2007, 5:36 PM
cad faoi an corn league dman?

20/09/2007, 5:38 PM
Only Setanta playoff against 1st division winner.

dublinred
21/09/2007, 10:33 AM

It also depends where the Dublin clubs finish , if bohs/st pats finish below us and lose the FAI Cup final it will get complicated and we usually get shafted in these situations.

You could email the FAI for clarification.

21/09/2007, 11:08 AM
Europe is top 3. You cannot be shafted on this. Setanta is a different story.

If someone in the top 3 wins the FAI cup then Intertoto spot will go to 4th.
Thats how we made it this year.

Nothing else can effect it unless w've another Shels situation

21/09/2007, 2:29 PM
Nothing else can effect it unless w've another Shels situation

slip delaney a sneeky fiver and you never know ;)

celticV3
21/09/2007, 3:28 PM
Gingers Out!!!

22/09/2007, 1:09 AM
If someone in the top 3 wins the FAI cup then Intertoto spot will go to 4th.
Thats how we made it this year.
Only if it's the league winners or 3rd place team. If it's the second place team it goes to cup runners up.

22/09/2007, 8:22 AM
Only if it's the league winners or 3rd place team. If it's the second place team it goes to cup runners up.

Derry won the cup last year and came second and we were guaranteed Intertoto, even before the whole Shels thing happened

clubman
23/09/2007, 3:18 PM
Don't think it's possible that we make europe this season. At the season's outset I think every Rovers supporter would have been delighted to see us finish mid-table. When Paul Cook came in we all agreed he had a mountain to climb. What he has achieved is unreal. Rovers potential in the future under cook is fantastic. But, and yes there's always a but, listening to Paul on Ocean FM on Friday last speaking with Gerry Farry I feel he realises that he has taken Rovers as far as he can. To bring us to a higher level will take investment - big bucks. I feel Paul knows that the support is not there to swell the coffers. The board have also taken this to as far as they can and they also know this and from what I can gather changes are being called for from within.
With seven games left I think if we finish sixth it will be a super achievement for Paul, Gerry Carr, the players and the board.

Only1Rovers
24/09/2007, 9:13 PM
Friday last speaking with Gerry Farry I feel he realises that he has taken Rovers as far as he can. To bring us to a higher level will take investment - big bucks. I feel Paul knows that the support is not there to swell the coffers. The board have also taken this to as far as they can and they also know this and from what I can gather changes are being called for from within.

What do you mean changes from within.

Look what happens when Rovers games are suitably promoted...

Promotion of match = bolstered attendance.

No promotion = attendance that is to be expected.

What is the story with Sinead Fraher ?

24/09/2007, 9:17 PM
What do you mean changes from within.

Look what happens when Rovers games are suitably promoted...

Promotion of match = bolstered attendance.

No promotion = attendance that is to be expected.

seen her in tesco today ;)

24/09/2007, 9:18 PM
seen her in tesco today ;)Good. She must have been in promoting the Bohs game, every little helps I suppose:p.

Rovers fan
24/09/2007, 9:53 PM

she was doing a few promotion things in the primary schools recently.

i definitely think that for 1 game if five euro passes were given to summerhill students it would attract people in. I know people who stopped going once they had to pay 8 euro. if they went back for one game they might get hooked again! it hardly takes a feckin rocket scientist to organise something like that. It seems like any tom,dick or harry would be able to promote games better than what has been done so far this season(bar bray)

clubman
24/09/2007, 9:54 PM
Good. She must have been in promoting the Bohs game, every little helps I suppose:p.
Nice one sligoman :D
Hopefully she was looking for a job - packing shelves as opposed to packing the showgies:p

jimhacker
25/09/2007, 11:20 AM
4 wins might be enough for Europe then a handy draw against a team from Cyprus would be nice.

No such thing as a "handy" draw vs a Cypriot team. Of the so-called lesser seeds, they are the ones you want to avoid.If you hadn't been away from Europe for so long you'd know that Swedish teams are now the victims of choice!

Besides -your blase assumption of three points on 3rd November makes me doubt that you'll be travelling anywhere !!!

red_away
25/09/2007, 12:00 PM
i think londonred was referring to an excuse to go somewhere with nice weather and cheap beer and the wife cant complain as you are fullfilling your duty with the bitored!

25/09/2007, 3:55 PM
i think londonred was referring to an excuse to go somewhere with nice weather and cheap beerWon't get that in Cyprus, tis roughly as expensive as Ireland. Bring yer own cans from the off-licence and you'll be grand for cheap booze:D

25/09/2007, 4:05 PM
Won't get that in Cyprus, tis roughly as expensive as Ireland. Bring yer own cans from the off-licence and you'll be grand for cheap booze:D

your not allowed bring your own alcohol on board an aircraft sligoman, god do you never watch airline :rolleyes:

25/09/2007, 4:10 PM
your not allowed bring your own alcohol on board an aircraft sligoman, god do you never watch airline :rolleyes:Put it in yer luggage that's going underneath and ya can. Failing that, store it in yer stomach and see can ya keep it down;).

dublinred
25/09/2007, 4:55 PM
Won't get that in Cyprus, tis roughly as expensive as Ireland. Bring yer own cans from the off-licence and you'll be grand for cheap booze:D

Tenerife have a football team so they would be a dream draw sunshine and only 1euro a pint out there.

clubman
25/09/2007, 6:25 PM
your not allowed bring your own alcohol on board an aircraft sligoman, god do you never watch airline :rolleyes:
What about duty-free:rolleyes:

roversman
25/09/2007, 7:23 PM
Don't think it's possible that we make europe this season. At the season's outset I think every Rovers supporter would have been delighted to see us finish mid-table. When Paul Cook came in we all agreed he had a mountain to climb. What he has achieved is unreal. Rovers potential in the future under cook is fantastic. But, and yes there's always a but, listening to Paul on Ocean FM on Friday last speaking with Gerry Farry I feel he realises that he has taken Rovers as far as he can. To bring us to a higher level will take investment - big bucks. I feel Paul knows that the support is not there to swell the coffers. The board have also taken this to as far as they can and they also know this and from what I can gather changes are being called for from within.
With seven games left I think if we finish sixth it will be a super achievement for Paul, Gerry Carr, the players and the board.

Have to agree with everything you said 6th would not be too bad after out start and yes we need investment if we want to go higher

clubman
25/09/2007, 10:01 PM
1. What do you mean changes from within.

2.Look what happens when Rovers games are suitably promoted...

3. Promotion of match = bolstered attendance.

4. No promotion = attendance that is to be expected.

1. - Many feel that the club needs new direction, present set-up has run it's course. Change is called for and the majority want it.
2. - I don't think a good yard stick is the Bray game and to call it a total success as far as promotion is concerned is a mistake. Only paid bums on seats generates funds for the club. The bray attendance was swelled with freebies and though it looked good to see the large crowd the question has to be asked how many actually paid to gain admission.
3. - Totally agree but if it means handing out free passes to bolster the attendance then it's a waste of time. Drawing attention to games in the showgrounds is great as well but what about the visitor to sligo, telling them there's a match and not telling them how to get there is defeating the purpose. The circus visited sligo recently and their posters directed the way to the venue by means of arrows pointing the way. A great idea thought me.
4. - No promotion means the CPO is not doing her job!!

26/09/2007, 2:52 PM
there is promotion . the trust put up 70 posters that we got from sinead for the last home game.

red arrow
26/09/2007, 8:39 PM
it costs about 1 million to now run a team in the premier division of the league of ireland. that is per season with a decent squad 22 players . where do we go with sligo rovers. certainly changes need to be made. we need bigger sponsorship and some comitted business people to come on board. we need finance. how do we go about doing this? firstly we have some fantastic people involved in the running of the club but we need a new structure a plan of action and comitted people who can get sponsorship for the club but also thosw sponsors get something back in return. at previous meetings i have herd mention get 100 sponsors x e5000 = 1/2 million . ihave heard nothing since. v nally made a commitement to sligo rovers to bring in e50000 and he brougt in e 60000 now there is a man of action who had a plan and carried it out to the full. the idea of getting 1/2 mil is great but anybody who would put e5000 into the club would want a big return. im not knocking these people great if they can do it (but i havent heard anything since) why not start with 500 people /business @ e1000 .this is much more viable and achievable but to do this you need a structure and a plan plus total commitement. it can be done but the team put in place to carry it out is the secret. they would all have to be answerable to a team leader. a big issue with a lot of people the acerage in the showgrounds nad a lot of it lying idle. i do understand that there is the complication of ground held in trust but maybe the club will be more transparent with the general public in due course. is it possible to maybe have a carpark and gererate a rent? is it possible to bring a commercial entity in and develope another all weather pitch. next season is a huge chalenge we should be setting up a plan of action now. unfortunately "gates " are no longer big enough to fund any club. however with proper marketing we can increase them . the product on offer is good the facilities are improving but we need to sell harder. rovers needs new blood responsible and committed people with a good business acumen who can work with the existing team. its only when "the bit 'o red " are gone (god forbid) that the people of sligo and beyond will grieve greatly. let this not ever happen. we have to say is our glass now half empty or half full. with total commitment and belief we can achieve greatness. we have a great manager who can do great things for this club. so let everybody pull togeather for this great club and achieve what is our right and long over due to us success.

26/09/2007, 8:45 PM
what about if they opened the car park and operated a shuttle bus service to the centre of town?

a cheap 8 seater van would do

26/09/2007, 8:50 PM
**** the shuttle bus, people will walk into town if it saves them paying 1.20euro an hour or whatever it is now. If Rovers charge a good rate for all day parking then people would use it imo.

clubman
26/09/2007, 8:59 PM
**** the shuttle bus, people will walk into town if it saves them paying 1.20euro an hour or whatever it is now. If Rovers charge a good rate for all day parking then people would use it imo.
Great idea now lets improve on it.
No need for a shuttle bus. Showgrounds is a huge site which goes back as far as knappagh road which is practically in town centre. Create a walkway from the car park down to an enterance on knappagh road which takes the person right to the middle of town in minutes. Sligo is crying out for another car park and Rovers have the space. Get together with the borough councle like they did with the building of the wall and the solution is at hand and everyone's happy. Christmas is just round the corner and the new shopping centre is opening next month a great time for rovers to act.

Rovers fan
26/09/2007, 9:46 PM
Its great talking about ideas on here, and a lot of them would be great but somebody needs to start putting some ideas into action

26/09/2007, 9:50 PM
Sinead Fraher[and I'd say other members of MC] read this website, it's up to them to get serious with ideas.

red bellied
27/09/2007, 2:05 PM
Great idea now lets improve on it.
No need for a shuttle bus. Showgrounds is a huge site which goes back as far as knappagh road which is practically in town centre. Create a walkway from the car park down to an enterance on knappagh road which takes the person right to the middle of town in minutes. Sligo is crying out for another car park and Rovers have the space. Get together with the borough councle like they did with the building of the wall and the solution is at hand and everyone's happy. Christmas is just round the corner and the new shopping centre is opening next month a great time for rovers to act.

There used to be an old entrance there years ago for the crowd coming from the Forthill direction. Rovers also need a proper entrance for the away supporters especially. It would sort out all the messing then, so the Rovers singing support can have top half of the Jinks Avenue side, especially when Derry are in town.

27/09/2007, 2:50 PM
Sinead Fraher[and I'd say other members of MC] read this website, it's up to them to get serious with ideas.

she doesnt read it anymore.

Why is it up to them??? if you go to them with the idea they'll listen to you .

27/09/2007, 3:38 PM
Why is it up to them??? if you go to them with the idea they'll listen to you .Because, like it or not, it's their job. If I wanted to be the person to implement these ideas I'd try and get on the MC. Don't get me wrong, if they're looking for help I would, and have done before, but it's not up to me to come up with ideas for it.

clubman
27/09/2007, 6:36 PM
she doesnt read it anymore.

:confused::confused: