View Full Version : Prague
Chippy
17/09/2007, 10:31 AM
As there's a thread going on Bratislava, how about a few tales from Prague. The Hare Krisna's coming into the square on Wed a few hours before the match was an absolute classic. About 200/300 well oiled footie fans joining in with their singing & chanting had me in stiches !!!! And the guy doing the tour-guide impression with his brolly held up in the air was another good laugh.
All in all, a great town to visit - I doubt we ever had to pay more than €1.60 for a beer. So much nicer than the kip we had been in a couple of days earlier ...
Beavis
17/09/2007, 11:12 AM
The Hare Krisna's coming into the square on Wed a few hours before the match was an absolute classic. About 200/300 well oiled footie fans joining in with their singing & chanting had me in stiches !!!! ...
Jesus I was cracking myself at that, brilliant. I think its on youtube somewhere, I saw a video of it on bebo.
Claret Murph
17/09/2007, 11:51 AM
On the match day we were in the square having a few beers watching the football been kicked around ( the cheap plastic ones ) then someone kicked a real one , I said to one of the lads that a fancy a good old boot of that one and moments later the ball knocked a can of beer out of my hand and squished the can flat on the ground . I think the look on my face seemed to crack everyone around me up .
Sligo Hornet
17/09/2007, 12:44 PM
On the match day we were in the square having a few beers watching the football been kicked around ( the cheap plastic ones ) then someone kicked a real one , I said to one of the lads that a fancy a good old boot of that one and moments later the ball knocked a can of beer out of my hand and squished the can flat on the ground . I think the look on my face seemed to crack everyone around me up .
Yeah I saw that..........sorry Claret but we were in hysterics!!:D
Claret Murph
17/09/2007, 1:34 PM
That reminds me hornet I will have to sharpen my knife as I will be ready to do battle with you again on this forum . I can't see as how you think I am the one to give you stick . Bye the way we copped out and just hung around in Luton airport , nice meeting you and say hello to humps for me . :)
citizenerased
17/09/2007, 1:50 PM
yeah That Was 'Rasher' from navan doing the tourguide impression with the brolly. Yeah the Hare Krisna's was classic, as was the time about 30 lads jumped on the little two seater bicycle cab. Some craic with the footballs as aswell...the czech women are much friendlier as well than the slovaks, they were well tolerant ans easier to chat up.
viagogo
17/09/2007, 7:16 PM
Thought Prague was a great city and had a great time. The one thing is the taxi drivers, got charged one night about 800 for a spin over the bridge but was ****ed and 800 was on meter so i paid it. i presume he drove me all over the place, next night i agreed fee with driver for same distance. 200. My mate was asked for 600 one night and told driver hed walk back to hotel. Driver took him home for 200.
Saint Tom
17/09/2007, 8:06 PM
I had a much nicer time in pargue. did anybody else visit the magic ten storey (at least i thought there was!) nightclub? cheesy disco level is classic
Sligo Hornet
17/09/2007, 8:44 PM
I had a much nicer time in pargue. did anybody else visit the magic ten storey (at least i thought there was!) nightclub? cheesy disco level is classic
Not yet recovered from the Brandy & Baileys eh Tom?......sorry SAINT Tom!!:D
17/09/2007, 9:32 PM
According to Lopez we all missed out on the greatest spectacle in Prague which was a dancing gypsy goat and according to Bluebeard, having Czech on yer MP3 player is well kinky! :eek: :D
The Hairy Christian parade was mental! Very funny, we have a videoclip somewhere!
A good trip was had by Babysis and myself despite 2 ar$eholes giving us grief within the space of 10 mins, people getting cage rage and people falling asleep on the job :rolleyes:
Claret Murph
18/09/2007, 6:44 AM
Thought Prague was a great city and had a great time. The one thing is the taxi drivers, got charged one night about 800 for a spin over the bridge but was ****ed and 800 was on meter so i paid it. i presume he drove me all over the place, next night i agreed fee with driver for same distance. 200. My mate was asked for 600 one night and told driver hed walk back to hotel. Driver took him home for 200.
Now when we got off the train we had the same problem of trying to find a taxi , now we were offered the price range for the same trip of 1000 , 600 , 450 , & 400. I got so feed up with it all I took the metro for 20 Kn and then never so much as looked at a taxi for the rest of the trip .:mad:
kellsred
18/09/2007, 9:49 AM
That level was brilliant, loved the lit dancefloor! Was in that place on each of the 4 nights we were there, right till closing, and had a ball. However, getting tear-gassed by the bouncers on the Wednesday night when we were singing songs instead of leaving wasn't pleasant. Could have been ugly, especially as everyone was trying to squeeze out of one open door...
meathkeeno
18/09/2007, 10:18 AM
That level was brilliant, loved the lit dancefloor! Was in that place on each of the 4 nights we were there, right till closing, and had a ball. However, getting tear-gassed by the bouncers on the Wednesday night when we were singing songs instead of leaving wasn't pleasant. Could have been ugly, especially as everyone was trying to squeeze out of one open door...
Kellsred, because you're 7 foot tall maybe you had a disadvantage to the rest of us when the gas was let out! Also, I don't think the tear gas was half as bad as the gas you were letting out over the 7 days!!!
KoemansCC
18/09/2007, 11:44 AM
yeah That Was 'Rasher' from navan doing the tourguide impression with the brolly. Yeah the Hare Krisna's was classic, as was the time about 30 lads jumped on the little two seater bicycle cab. Some craic with the footballs as aswell...the czech women are much friendlier as well than the slovaks, they were well tolerant ans easier to chat up.
You mean this incident (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYSNUEqRviE) or when rubgy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXTftcWCHhE) came to Prague for a day and the guy was trying to take a conversion....great craic in the Old Town Square with all the tourists asking why eveyone was wearing green, I told them it was a leprechaun convention....:rolleyes:
HolylandsMan
18/09/2007, 11:53 AM
Square was great craic altogether. Felt a bit guilty after joining in the Hare Krishnan parade - I hope it wasn't the equivalent of a drunk staggering into Midnight Mass!
Did they take it in good enough humour?
Claret Murph
18/09/2007, 12:14 PM
You mean this incident (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XYSNUEqRviE) or when rubgy (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sXTftcWCHhE) came to Prague for a day and the guy was trying to take a conversion....great craic in the Old Town Square with all the tourists asking why eveyone was wearing green, I told them it was a leprechaun convention....:rolleyes:
Myself and Mike were just laughing about that one with the conversion , but better still when he missed and held up the tri colour and it had wrote on it ,
I SHOULD HAVE GONE TO FRANCE :D
Chippy
18/09/2007, 1:53 PM
Square was great craic altogether. Felt a bit guilty after joining in the Hare Krishnan parade - I hope it wasn't the equivalent of a drunk staggering into Midnight Mass!
Did they take it in good enough humour?
I think they were pretty cool about it - the looks on their faces were predominantly bemusement & bewilderment but some of them were having a good laugh about it as well ..... I laugh every time i think of it :):):)
KoemansCC
18/09/2007, 2:59 PM
Any link to the Hare Krishna videos?
18/09/2007, 5:26 PM
Prague = Pain In Arse
Tours were boring and tedious, taxi drivers were a nightmare, hard to get a decent meal, no food in certain restaurants at night, closed "24h" hotels, would only change Euro for Crowns, locals with erratic English at best, and if it wasn't for the Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square, it would have been a total disaster.
In short, a place for drunks, couples, and nymphos. In other words, a dump.
18/09/2007, 5:50 PM
If anyone is in Prague again. Go to a great bar for food and drink. It is passed Caffreys heading out of the Old Town Square and ignore the first junction and its just on your left. Great steak and great food. THe name of the Bar begins with a K. Our food there was fantastic and cost feck all too. Again I did not get a taxi in Prague as I walked everywhere. Had lots of nice meals here as I knew the place too. Stayed in apartments so they were never closed and could drink till all hours and that place I was talking about served food until three.
18/09/2007, 5:53 PM
locals with erratic English at bestand when the Czech's came over here, how good was your Czech?
18/09/2007, 6:41 PM
Tours were boring and tedious
Not true, in my experrience. Took a communism tour with a 65-year old who had lived in Prague throughout World War II, through communism, overcome the initial problems of capitalism and who was thoroughly knowledgeable about the city's - and country's - fascinating history. Some of the stuff which went on there is incomprehensible to us, and unknown outside of school text books, yet here was someone who'd lived through it all.
hard to get a decent meal
Not trus, in my experience. Got a curious, but lovely, concoction of bacon, cabbage and potato on the Saturday morning which included about ten rashers. Found a lovely café on Sunday morning, and the ice cream booths dotted around very lovely for a quick snack.
would only change Euro for Crowns
What else did you want? Sterling?
locals with erratic English at best
Assume you'd brushed up on your Czech before heading out?
and if it wasn't for the Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square, it would have been a total disaster.
What nonsense. A beautifully crafted city, when splendid alleyways, fascinating history, excellent football supporters (if you'd bothered heading out to Strahov to watch Slavia), interesting museums (from communism to dead bodies) and - a rarity - actually interesting shops.
Another mypost-nonsensical-generalisation (c).
viagogo
18/09/2007, 7:46 PM
Was walking through Prague in my Ireland jersey on the Wednesday of the game and an American came to me and asked "This might sound like a stupid question but who are Ireland playing tonight"? How can you be this stupid?
Sligo Hornet
18/09/2007, 7:51 PM
Was walking through Prague in my Ireland jersey on the Wednesday of the game and an American came to me and asked "This might sound like a stupid question but who are Ireland playing tonight"? How can you be this stupid?
Cracker!!:D...we had a similar experience checking into our hotel in Cyprus a couple of years ago when a group of ladies asked the same question!!:D
Babysis
18/09/2007, 8:46 PM
Any link to the Hare Krishna videos?
This is our footage of the parade - keep a look out for a foot.ie member in a witches hat:rolleyes: at the beginning of the clip Prague Hare Krishna Parade (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4jm0XkArGM)
18/09/2007, 8:52 PM
At this stage I wouldn't find question odd at all. I don't think I met a Welsh person in Bratislava on Friday though that knew what score our matches were.
Hibs4Ever
18/09/2007, 8:55 PM
Cracker!!:D...we had a similar experience checking into our hotel in Cyprus a couple of years ago when a group of ladies asked the same question!!
I wore my Ireland jersey in Prague the night Ireland were playing Holland in Lansdowne Road, so maybe not so stupid a question :rolleyes:;)
18/09/2007, 9:41 PM
Assume you'd brushed up on your Czech before heading out?
Tbf, how many of the thousands of us over there, spoke Czech?? :confused:
AidoM
18/09/2007, 10:48 PM
This is our footage of the parade - keep a look out for a foot.ie member in a witches hat at the beginning of the clip Prague Hare Krishna Parade (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4jm0XkArGM)
He didn't look as if he was sleep walking ;) :confused: :D
19/09/2007, 9:14 AM
We made it a point to learn a few basic phrases!
Bear Eleven
19/09/2007, 9:26 AM
We made it a point to learn a few basic phrases!
1) How to fall asleep on the job
2) How do i get in to the cage without falling
3) The pole is very slippy
4) Where is my room gone.(AidoM)
5) I dont like chicken
19/09/2007, 10:52 AM
1) How to fall asleep on the job
2) How do i get in to the cage without falling
3) The pole is very slippy
4) Where is my room gone.(AidoM)
5) I dont like chicken
:eek: There may be trouble ahead, a few grenades and rockets launchers! :D
Did ya see yerself posing with the hairy christians bear 11 on the video? :rolleyes:
19/09/2007, 12:38 PM
I see. So what you expect when going to a foreign country is for them to go out of the way to learn your language perfectly, but then act confused when suggested you learn a few basic phrases of their language? (Pivo, prosim and dakuji got me a long way out there) You probably went looknig for decent food in McDonald's and bemoaned the fact the Czechs don't use the euro so it'd really feel like you never left home and had to deal with the nasty ways foreigners do things.
citizenerased
19/09/2007, 1:26 PM
'BIG MAC menu' got me along just dandy :-)
19/09/2007, 1:29 PM
Prague = Pain In Arse
Tours were boring and tedious, taxi drivers were a nightmare, hard to get a decent meal, no food in certain restaurants at night, closed "24h" hotels, would only change Euro for Crowns, locals with erratic English at best, and if it wasn't for the Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square, it would have been a total disaster.
How low is that cloud permanently over your head? What absolute tosh. Prague is a great spot. Ok there are too many tourists but it is a beautiful city with plenty to see. Ask any Rovers fan who was there in 03 for the European game.
19/09/2007, 4:40 PM
So what you expect when going to a foreign country is for them to go out of the way to learn your language perfectly, but then act confused when suggested you learn a few basic phrases of their language? (Pivo, prosim and dakuji got me a long way out there)
A few basic phrases is fine, but not really enough when asking for directions, negotiating travel plans, or needing assistance. Plus, having done all that before in other countries, in my experience no matter how you pronounce the phrases, they still won't understand you. So you end up having to speak English to them anyway.
Why should we learn Czech anyway? How many of them here can speak Irish?? :confused: We all need English to get along, both us and them.
19/09/2007, 4:44 PM
Are you trying to make out that you're putting yourself out by speaking English to them just as much as they're putting themselves out by speaking English to you?
Nolimits
19/09/2007, 6:02 PM
A few basic phrases is fine, but not really enough when asking for directions, negotiating travel plans, or needing assistance. Plus, having done all that before in other countries, in my experience no matter how you pronounce the phrases, they still won't understand you. So you end up having to speak English to them anyway.
Why should we learn Czech anyway? How many of them here can speak Irish?? :confused: We all need English to get along, both us and them.
How many Irish people speak Irish? I can't get over that you thought there was no decent places for food. There was loads of cracking little restaurants infact I found it a pity I could only have one dinner a day:D.
If absolutely nothing else Rocky O'Reillys did a lovel curry.
It got annoying walking along the streets hearing Titty bar titty bar all the time but in fairness some of the lads handing out the fliers had funny if ineffictive sales pitches...
Also there were a lot of City (Cork) jerseys over there, surprised. Met a few hoops but besides that didnt meet any other eircom league fans
Anyone see Mick Wallace wearing his two shades of purple combo, scared me quite a bit.
Saint Tom
19/09/2007, 7:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=ireland+fans+singing+in+pragu e
that gutting feeling, great video though. dreams smashed
Bluechip
19/09/2007, 8:15 PM
If anyone is in Prague again. Go to a great bar for food and drink. It is passed Caffreys heading out of the Old Town Square and ignore the first junction and its just on your left. Great steak and great food. THe name of the Bar begins with a K. Our food there was fantastic and cost feck all too. Again I did not get a taxi in Prague as I walked everywhere. Had lots of nice meals here as I knew the place too. Stayed in apartments so they were never closed and could drink till all hours and that place I was talking about served food until three.
Was it Kolkovna?
http://www.kolkovna.cz/index.php?place=11&show=hot
Been there before, excellent food and grub. Didn't get to make a return trip this time.
19/09/2007, 9:10 PM
Yeah thats the place. Steaks the size of your head. Great spot.
Carlow Bhoy
19/09/2007, 9:44 PM
We had great food in the Crazy Cow restaurant on the morning of the match. Steaks were massive and delicious as well. Did any of you see our banner in the square, "Carlow 98 CSC"
soccerc
19/09/2007, 9:48 PM
"Carlow 98 CSC"
Didn't know Scotland were playing in Prague too :D
Carlow Bhoy
19/09/2007, 10:00 PM
Didn't know Scotland were playing in Prague too :D
Neither did I, which stadium where they playing in
Sligo Hornet
20/09/2007, 6:37 AM
Yeah thats the place. Steaks the size of your head. Great spot.
In your case Neil.......that's one hell of a steak!!:D
20/09/2007, 9:49 AM
Lucky its not the size of my wallet or I would have starved.
lopez
20/09/2007, 12:10 PM
According to Lopez we all missed out on the greatest spectacle in Prague which was a dancing gypsy goat ...
That was an event that I had to think hard about missing as it was on the same time as the game. 'Gypsy Show Tonight. 20:00'. Probably should have gone to that. I think it involved a carpet auction, followed by a good old 'sing song by some drunken, air raged, women, recently thrown off a flight' before a mass brawl concludes proceedings with the last man standing handing over large ammounts of money to the proprietor for the entertainment (rather than the other way round)? Such steroetyping! :eek:
I was speculating about the goat, as I have a distant memory of a childhood holiday to Spain where I saw a drunken Roma dancing with a goat in the middle of a 'fiesta'.
Actually, unlike our own 'gypsies', quite a few Roma in Czech Republic look too well educated and in good jobs to be performing this tatt. I've heard they have their own newspapers, TDs. Even saw a programme about racism a few years back in which a Roma army general was nearly kicked to death by some boneheads. Compare this with the the number of Irish travellers with degrees in 2002 as just three. All women and all working as social workers.
... people falling asleep on the job :rolleyes:Please tell me more.:eek:
20/09/2007, 3:56 PM
, followed by a good old 'sing song by some drunken, air raged, women, recently thrown off a flight' before a mass brawl concludes proceedings with the last man standing handing over large amounts of money to the proprietor for the entertainment (rather than the other way round)? Such steroetyping!
Please tell me more.:
The above in bold, that sounds scarily just like the our Ryanair flight 17:00 from East Midlands to Bratislava on the 7th September :o
Please tell you more about falling asleep??, God you know I can't remember what that was all about now :confused: :eek:
lopez
20/09/2007, 10:43 PM
...Please tell you more about falling asleep??, God you know I can't remember what that was all about now :confused: :eek:Babysis will fill you on what 'falling asleep on the job' means in our neck of the woods. ;)