View Full Version : Ireland Germany Fans Fest
Dr. Ogba
10/10/2007, 1:57 PM
Soccerc not too sure if this was answered already but will the venue be big enough to accommodate so many people? Deffo interested in going but don't fancy queuing half an hour at the bar!
and well done, looks like it'll be a great success...
soccerc
10/10/2007, 2:05 PM
Soccerc not too sure if this was answered already but will the venue be big enough to accommodate so many people? Deffo interested in going but don't fancy queuing half an hour at the bar!
and well done, looks like it'll be a great success...
That is the big imponderable though you won't be waiting half an hour for beer, trust me!
If it is successful space will be tight but the bar staff are very efficient and it is planned to have a temporary bar in the outside smoking area.
When seeking a venue I approached a number of places but they either didn't want to know or expressed an interest yet never got back to me.
Good Luck with it lads. Wont make it meself as Syringicore is a tad out of the way!
Dr. Ogba
10/10/2007, 2:18 PM
That is the big imponderable though you won't be waiting half an hour for beer, trust me!
If it is successful space will be tight but the bar staff are very efficient and it is planned to have a temporary bar in the outside smoking area.
When seeking a venue I approached a number of places but they either didn't want to know or expressed an interest yet never got back to me.
Thats fair enough...I may bring my trusty hip-flask just in case! :)
soccerc
10/10/2007, 2:20 PM
Thats fair enough...I may bring my trusty hip-flask just in case! :)
Just in case? It's a necessity at Ireland games, great added to the coffee in Croker ;)
KoemansCC
10/10/2007, 4:36 PM
I'll be there + 2...
10/10/2007, 10:52 PM
I will be in attendance, along with at least two, and as many as four others
Joxer88
11/10/2007, 12:15 PM
Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it??? :mad:
11/10/2007, 12:57 PM
Will be going along as well. For a while at least. Great idea and fair play to the people who organised. P.S. **** you FAI.
citizenerased
11/10/2007, 1:05 PM
Yeah seen they posted it on their website, it looks like they are trying to cling on to it alright!
onenilgameover
11/10/2007, 6:29 PM
I'ill be there with 2 others....
11/10/2007, 8:15 PM
Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it??? :mad:
:eek: Feckers :mad:
soccerc
11/10/2007, 9:28 PM
Allegedly this is the way it went :eek:
Justice : " Are the FAI organising this Fan Fest on Saturday ?"
Fran : " We are indeed " ( I sh*t you not)
Justice : " Oh right and how did this come about ? "
FAI : " Well basically the Germans did something similiar for Irish fans so we're trying to do something similiar in terms of organising a fun day out for the family. There'll be DJ's, music, food. All in all a little bit of craic"
Justice : " That sounds great FAI and will there be FAI officials at this event"
FAI : "Ere eh, yeh there should be one or two about" ( basically he wasn't too sure)
Justice : " Can't wait FAI sounds like the FAI are really in touch with the people and stuff......soooo looking forward to this. thanks for your time."
FAI: " No problem" ( in otherwords we have no problem hijacking independently organised events and attaching our name to if it makes me and John D. look good)
soccerc
11/10/2007, 11:48 PM
I have a request for some assistance on Saturday.
Volunteers are required to help out with some aspects or to act as hosts on the coaches.
There is no pay, no thanks and no backslapping so it is unrewarding and will interfere with drinking time.
Any takers?
soccerc
12/10/2007, 9:22 AM
Received this from the German FA this morning:
Thanks for the information.
Since 1 week all the information, you gave us, are online on our website.
I saw a positive feedback in our discussion forum that many fans want to join the fan-fest.
So I hope you have a successful event!
Have fun,
soccerc
12/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Happy to report that two seperate groups of German fans, 16 in all, have descended on McDowell's this morning carrying out a recce.
Seems they are impressed and they are now on their second pints.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joxer88
Lads are ye all aware that a member of YBIG Forums rang the FAI to ask about this event and they (the FAI) took full credit for organising it and they had nothing whatsoever to do with it???
Feckers
:eek: Feckers :mad:
I would say "unbelievable" but it is not unbelievable and typical of how the FAI and many politicains and government bodies operate :mad:
The FAI are a shower of unbelieveable w@nkers! Can the papers not pick up on this story?? They like a bit of FAI bashing at the best of times and this is a great story about they attempting to hijack and take credit for an independent fans initiative for charity - ffs like. What fcuking tools :mad::mad:
Slim Pickings
13/10/2007, 11:51 AM
Happy to report that two seperate groups of German fans, 16 in all, have descended on McDowell's this morning carrying out a recce.
Seems they are impressed and they are now on their second pints.
Best of luck with this soccerc. Hope all goes well today. Will try and persuade a few of the lads to head this afternoon!
soccerc
14/10/2007, 2:50 AM
Best of luck with this soccerc. Hope all goes well today. Will try and persuade a few of the lads to head this afternoon!
Thanks to those who made an appearance, much appreciated, hope you enjoyed the occasion.
JB
Saint07
14/10/2007, 9:07 PM
Thanks to those who made an appearance, much appreciated, hope you enjoyed the occasion.
JB
went along for an hour or so. good turnout by the Germans. Got talking to a few of them, they seemed to enjoy it. Fair play to all who organised it :cool:
16/10/2007, 11:09 AM
went along for an hour or so. good turnout by the Germans. Got talking to a few of them, they seemed to enjoy it. Fair play to all who organised it :cool:
But not so good by the Irish! Was amused to see the biggest tricolour, apert from the one outside McD's was from that great Irish club, Tranmere Rovers? :confused:
co. down green
16/10/2007, 11:31 AM
few pics of the Fanfest at the bottom of the page
http://s187.photobucket.com/albums/x15/oneteaminireland/Ireland%20v%20Germany%20October%202007/?start=all
16/10/2007, 11:34 AM
the 3rd or 4th pic is very impressive, i wonder what you were taking a photo of there ;)
co. down green
16/10/2007, 11:39 AM
the 3rd or 4th pic is very impressive, i wonder what you were taking a photo of there ;)
Paul
I've no idea what you mean:D
soccerc
17/10/2007, 10:30 AM
Mail I received from one of the German Fanclub organiser's this morning.
only a short mail for today, because I have to start to munich soon for the tschech game.
It was a great day on saturday and the german fans are absolutly excited. To organize such a big party is always combined with difficulties, so no worry, all the fans came in time to the stadion and it were not so bad to come later, because of the quality of the game.
IŽm looking forward to the next fan meets in the world cup qualification round :-)
Thanks a lot again,
citizenerased
17/10/2007, 10:41 AM
i was there for about 3 or 4 hours, feck all irish fans there, full of zee germans, great criac with them, was chattinf to a good few, good spirits between the two sets of fans...