View Full Version : Souness as a pundit

16/09/2007, 5:15 PM
Saw him last night on the Premiership. Ignoring the usual anti-referee stuff that all professionals come out with and who don't appreciate what an impossible job it is, I thought he was really insightful (Man U players coming to the ball as opposed to making runs) and made a host of other interesting comments and was ably supported by Trevor Steven. Darragh Maloney did well also as the man in the chair: he seems to know his stuff. Proved to me that you don't have to have a panelist with a face like a slapped ars* and be controversial for the sake of being controversial to make for an interesting panel discussion.

Could we not have a "neutral" panelist like him for our international games to balance Father Time and the Mouth Almighty and dispense with the laughing chairman who doesn't have the wherewithall to contradict any ludicrous or contradictory statements made.

reder
17/09/2007, 10:16 AM
The pair of them actually were a breath of fresh air tbh.

18/09/2007, 11:17 AM
Not a fan of Trevor Steven to be honest but I thought, and still think, that Souness was a revelation on RTE during last year's World Cup. The real difference between what you are/are not allowed say on British TV, about British players is really put into focus when you watch Souness on RTE, then watch him on Sky. Over there he's forced to reduce himself to the usual 'all Brits are great, the Premiership is the best' tripe that Sky, ITV and to a lesser extent the BBC put out, over here he's allowed say Rooney hasn't been playing well, the Premiership may not be the best and Gerrard isn't going to single-handedly win the Champions League and Premiership for Liverpool this year

18/09/2007, 1:19 PM
Not a fan of Trevor Steven to be honest but I thought, and still think, that Souness was a revelation on RTE during last year's World Cup. The real difference between what you are/are not allowed say on British TV, about British players is really put into focus when you watch Souness on RTE, then watch him on Sky. Over there he's forced to reduce himself to the usual 'all Brits are great, the Premiership is the best' tripe that Sky, ITV and to a lesser extent the BBC put out, over here he's allowed say Rooney hasn't been playing well, the Premiership may not be the best and Gerrard isn't going to single-handedly win the Champions League and Premiership for Liverpool this year
Even over there, he pushes the envelope far more than the other pundits. I think he enjoyed the freedom he got on RTE for the World Cup.

He seems to be a decent pundit anyway.

18/09/2007, 1:55 PM
Even over there, he pushes the envelope far more than the other pundits. I think he enjoyed the freedom he got on RTE for the World Cup.

He seems to be a decent pundit anyway.

It's not the pushing the boat (or envelope) out that I enjoy, it's the insightful comments that he makes about tactics etc.

Jebus, why don't you like Trevor Steven? You know he was the Agent for Steve McLean, the ex-Wednesday player. I met him at a function in Dublin about 3 years back and had a great chat about Everton and Wednesday and English football in general and I have exchanged e-mails with him off and on.

18/09/2007, 2:10 PM
It's not the pushing the boat (or envelope) out that I enjoy, it's the insightful comments that he makes about tactics etc.
I understand that, but frankly, those kind of comments aren't made on English TV just because Ian Wright is a moron, they're not made because they're often critical, which seems to be an unacceptable stance on SKY and other British stations.

18/09/2007, 2:12 PM
Souness is excellent. When Sky do Champions League he puts the others to shame (and even their CL coverage is far above their premiership with Wilkins and Gullit smashing Gray and Redknapp)

Stevens is OK but I wouldn't have him above Brady, Souness or Giles

18/09/2007, 4:00 PM
Jebus, why don't you like Trevor Steven?

Ah its nothing personal, I just find his voice very mundane and so have trouble focusing on what he is actually saying to be honest, that's probably more my own fault than anything, but the fact is that I generally switch the mind off whilst Trevor is talking

18/09/2007, 4:13 PM
I understand that, but frankly, those kind of comments aren't made on English TV just because Ian Wright is a moron, they're not made because they're often critical, which seems to be an unacceptable stance on SKY and other British stations.
Think there was a rumour that the BBC were warned by the FA to not be as critical (!!) or they would refuse them broadcast rights to England games, after that it was all "World Cup" this and "invincible" that

18/09/2007, 11:19 PM
#agree with you 100% there jebus, souness was enjoyable during the world cup, his facial expressions at times after hearing dunphy blast the english was priceless, but i liked the way he always said his point even disagreeing with dunphy, and i find trevor stevensjust dead boring most of times.

Souness is excellent. When Sky do Champions League he puts the others to shame (and even their CL coverage is far above their premiership with Wilkins and Gullit smashing Gray and Redknapp)

Stevens is OK but I wouldn't have him above Brady, Souness or Giles

I like Wilkins and Gullit too, but andy grey is also good i tink, absolutley hate when he says, "you know exactly what he ws thinking" or when managers make subs and says "no the obvious thing in my opinion is to..........." Get a job as prem manager if you want to say that. But all round i enjoy listening to him. He always said staunton had the best left boot in the prem too. :D.Respect. Stan was a quality player. Now theres a man who would prob be the last person in the world id like to hear do a pundit
job. Dunphy really got to me last year with the ronaldo bashing and fergie bashing just took it to the frigtening level of almost sick and totally filled with hatred of man utd. Brady makes trevor stevens sound like the most enthusiastic commentator ever!:D

but the fact is that I generally switch the mind off whilst Trevor is talking

Likewise i just always zoom out when he comes on. RTE highlights increasing all the time though, remember when they first started and when the show started and the would say tonight we have Utd v arsenal or whoever and would show a shot from it but the score would be in top corner still, killed the hole meaning for alot of people i would have thought.

19/09/2007, 9:03 AM
Hmmm, we're back to all three panelists agreeing with each other again after the Liverpool game. All three agreed that Benitez doesn't mind giving away possession so long as they work to get it back (what, so they can give it away again?). The fact that Liverpool gave away possession doesn't mean that Benitez isn't bothered about that. If Souness was the Liverpool manager he would have been delighted with the 1 point in Porto but instead he joined with Father Time and Bulldog Face in their usual attack on Benitez.

Arsenal are now the flavour of the month. Wonder how long that will last?

DaveyCakes
19/09/2007, 1:02 PM
It's lucky he was there last night to rescue O'Herlihy from his attempts to pronounce "Besiktas". Is it too much to ask that a Champions League presenter might familiarise himself with the clubs involved?

lofty9
19/09/2007, 1:22 PM
Sounness is very good on RTE. I'd like to see him and Toshack on the same panel with Dunphy. Dunphy would have to hold his tongue for those two would put him in his place quickly.

19/09/2007, 2:52 PM
just saw this on football365: http://www.football365.com/mediawatch/0,17033,8749_2739976,00.html

Mastermind: Irish Style
Eamonn Dunphy on RTE: "Look back at the Liverpool of old, the team that Graeme played for...Graeme's won four Champions League titles."

Graeme Souness: "Actually, three Eamonn."

Eamonn: "He's won four English league titles then!"

Graeme: "Five Eamonn."

Eamonn: "Whatever! It's not bloody Mastermind!!"

19/09/2007, 8:51 PM
Saw that, freaking hilarious:D Vintage Dunphy. Agree that Souness is excellent as a pundit, even on Sky he's quite good. His analysis always makes a lot of sense to me. Makes you wonder how he's never quite done it as a manager.Must be down to personality. He seems to be the type who regularly falls out with players.

onceahoop
19/09/2007, 9:57 PM
Saw that, freaking hilarious:D Vintage Dunphy. Agree that Souness is excellent as a pundit, even on Sky he's quite good. His analysis always makes a lot of sense to me. Makes you wonder how he's never quite done it as a manager.Must be down to personality. He seems to be the type who regularly falls out with players.

Just watching him on Sky debating the use of the Barca palyers with Gullit and Redknapp. Richard Keyes had the nous not to interfere. It was like watching a conversation in a pub. Brilliant. I suspect however that he had/has a bit of a domineering personality. Great player, great anylist, poor manager.

20/09/2007, 2:55 PM
i thought souness was good during WC but i think he's a spoon after listening to him talk about sevilla last night. nowhere near as bad as andy gray talkin about la liga tho. expert me hole!

20/09/2007, 3:07 PM
Just watching him on Sky debating the use of the Barca palyers with Gullit and Redknapp. Richard Keyes had the nous not to interfere. It was like watching a conversation in a pub. Brilliant. I suspect however that he had/has a bit of a domineering personality. Great player, great anylist, poor manager.
I suppose Redknapp sat there looking like the gimp he is .

20/09/2007, 5:47 PM
I suppose Redknapp sat there looking like the gimp he is .
A few weeks ago, when Redknapp was on the panel alongside Souness, he was acting the gob****e as usual. The look of bewilderment on Souness' face was hilarious.:D

20/09/2007, 7:07 PM
I reckon my next door neighbours dog knows more about football than Jamie Redknapp. If there was ever a yes man in the football punditry world it is that gobsh**e. "JT this and Lamps that" he's nearly as bad as Ian Wright!!!

Noelys Guitar
20/09/2007, 7:35 PM
Has anyone ever seen a show called 45/45 on Gol TV? Weekly South American football show with 4 pundits. They cover all the European leagues and the internationals. Dubbed in English and can be found online. Very insightful show.

FarmHoop
20/09/2007, 9:31 PM
I rate souness highly as a pundit, him and dunphy together are a class act

21/09/2007, 7:14 AM
I rate souness highly as a pundit, him and dunphy together are a class act

That's like saying "I rate Ferguson highly as a manager, him and Stan together are a class act". :rolleyes:

22/09/2007, 10:31 AM
Oh come on lads Louise doesn't want her Jamie-wamie to use bad language on TV :D

22/09/2007, 10:34 AM
Souness - decent pundit and entitled to comment due to his playing prowess
Brady - honest and entitled to comment and as souness above
Giles - entitled to comment due to his playing prowess but bitter towards United after being bombed out by them in the 60's
Dunphy - a fake, not entitled to comment as he had absolutely no prowess as a footballer - he's a journalist and a political analyst - knows nothing about football - also bitter about being bombed out by United in the early 70's - his hatred of United has been disgraceful - subsided when he got the Keane ghost-writing gig and then reverted to type when Keane left - a fukcing disgrace to punditry - pi$$ off Dunphy!!

Just to be pedantic Dunphy got the boot from United in the 60's otherwise I 100% agree :D Dunphy said Wimbledon would be playing in the Premiership from Dublin about 10 years ago. Now they are in Milton Keynes in the lower Leagues. Enough said :D

23/09/2007, 10:03 AM
one of the highlights of the last world cup was seeing Souness and his strak reaction to the RTE trio
He is a great addition to RTE, and Trever Steven is not bad too, even if he is a little montone

Ian wright, Redknapp and Andy Gray are a pain. What would andy gray do without slow motion replays

seand
24/09/2007, 10:52 AM
Funny, I would have said Dunphy fecked loved ManYoo. Dunphy wasn't a great player, but has plenty of experience at a good level. I think it's complete ******** to say that someone doesn't have the right to comment unless they've played at the highest level. That would rule out Mourinho and a host of great managers for a start!

Dunphy is a bitter, pretentious alcohol ravaged fool, which is more of a reason to dismiss his ramblings than his lack of skill as a player.

24/09/2007, 2:16 PM
Souness - decent pundit and entitled to comment due to his playing prowess
Brady - honest and entitled to comment and as souness above
Giles - entitled to comment due to his playing prowess but bitter towards United after being bombed out by them in the 60's
Dunphy - a fake, not entitled to comment as he had absolutely no prowess as a footballer

I assume that you are an international footballer, or a professional footballer at least, given your criteria in your above post.

I think it's complete ******** to say that someone doesn't have the right to comment unless they've played at the highest level.
Agreed.

25/09/2007, 9:08 AM
I think dunphy is top drawer, yeah sure he constantly changes his opinions, but he is frank and i would much rather have him on RTe and watch ITV or BBC

25/09/2007, 2:09 PM
Like I said he had a mediocre career - might have made a few appearances at the top level a few times while with MUFC - but probably becasue better players were injured. It's not like he progressed after leaving MUFC. He carried on playing pro football for another 13 years and went downhill.Thats hardly a career than can give him ammo to comment on the Rooneys, lampards, Terrys, Fabregas',Gerrards and all the players that have been on our screens since he retired in 1978..
So, as his career wasn't so hot (ok, not great at all), he has no right to comment on players far better than him. This supports your comment from an earlier post-

Dunphy - a fake, not entitled to comment as he had absolutely no prowess as a footballer
but yet you, who never played professional football, have a right to comment on him?

osarusan - no I am not a pro footballer( have played to a decent level though and I can safely say i know about football ) but i don't have to be an ex-pro to declare that I think dunphy is a sh1te analyst.

seems like double standards to me. Particularly as in another thread, you have no qualms about offering your opinions of players who played at a far higher level than you -

Maradona did not win the 86 World Cup all by himself - look at the videos - there is a guy called Jorge Burruchaga who supplied the ammunition to Diego nearly all the time. Won the ball in the middlle of the park and passed it 4 or 5 yards to Diego to do his stuff - however Jorge had the ability to thread a through-ball in for Diego a couple of times.
Diego returned the favour in the final and played a glorious through ball for Burruchaga to get the winner. Buuruchaga may not have been the greatest world cup player ever but he was the most under-rated ever

I can safely say I know about football also, and I think Dunphy has qualities as an analyst.

Not as good as some others, but not the disgrace you think he is.

25/09/2007, 2:14 PM
Mourinho and a host of top managers have got coaching badges and various qualifications - they have studied the game and continue to be involved in the game. Dunphy retired in 1978 - after a glorious career with MUFC, York, Millwall, Charlton, Reading and Shamrock Rovers which gleaned a huge haul of silverware comprising of one FAI Cup winners medal.There were great players around in the 60's and 70's but there were also some serious duds - Dunphy was one of these - a complete dud. To coin a phrase used fondly by himself he was and still is a shyster journeyman - ready to make a buck any way he can. He is a loser.

Strange what you consider a loser, if I were to play for all those clubs and win an FAI Cup medal, before writing two best selling football books and having a noted (be it good or bad)career as a football pundit I'm consider myself a bit of a success.

25/09/2007, 3:35 PM
RTE's continuing bashing of ferdinand and ronaldo is stupid! there 2 class players, look at ronaldo's form for the last year and ferdinand has been a rock so far alongside vidic, havnt conceded since City away!

25/09/2007, 3:37 PM
RTE's continuing bashing of ferdinand and ronaldo is stupid! there 2 class players, look at ronaldo's form for the last year and ferdinand has been a rock so far alongside vidic, havnt conceded since City away!

Thats the thing about opinions though. You can't quite say its an RTE anti-United agenda when you consider that a lot of people (myself included) think Ferdinand is absolute muck and deserves to be bashed on every given show. Not to mention a lot of us feel Ronaldo is over-rated, which is all Dunphy is saying about him at the end of the day

25/09/2007, 7:08 PM
Graeme Souness would definately be my favourite footbal pundit.
Don't get me started on that tool Redknapp :mad:

backstothewall
25/09/2007, 7:42 PM
Have to say i think Redknapp and Andy Gray are top drawer. I really enjoy the last word.

I don't think Souness is particularly knowledgeable, unless its about getting the sack. Dunphy isn't about knowledge, insight, or tactical knowledge. He is about entertainment and thats why i would love to see him and Souness on a panel together. Mainly because i think it would end in punches. Maybe with Gerry Armstrong or Niall Quinn to referee from Brady's seat.

The worst in the world are Lawrenson, Townsend and McCoist. I would be forced to send Giles and Brady out to grass as well.

26/09/2007, 6:41 AM
I think dunphy is top drawer, yeah sure he constantly changes his opinions, but he is frank and i would much rather have him on RTe and watch ITV or BBC

"Frank" is applied to one unreserved in expressing the truth and to one's real opinions and sentiments. This is totally different to someone who just mouths off, launches vitriolic campaigns on the national airwaves against particular individuals, contradicts themselves continually (sometimes within 4 days e.g. between the Slovak and Czech game where one minute we're just not good enough and 4 days later we should be at Euro 2008) and who just spouts venom with little or no contradiction from his co-panelists and definitely not from the chair. This from the one, who when caricatured himself on RTE, resigned in a huff. Pathetic and only in a back stabbing country like this would such a poisonous creature be revered.

Roadend
26/09/2007, 9:21 AM
Have to say i think Redknapp and Andy Gray are top drawer. I really enjoy the last word.

I take it you ar joking? Listening to the clueless monkey nod and agree as Gray launches into yet another rant about refs and linesmen. He is tripe. Redknapp has yet to make one insightful comment since joining sky. How is that enjoyable.

26/09/2007, 10:13 AM
I take it you ar joking? Listening to the clueless monkey nod and agree as Gray launches into yet another rant about refs and linesmen.

Not to mention Andy's always humourous racial slurs when a Premiership team gets beaten in the Champions League. Who can forget his infamous Spaniards are dirty cheats rant when Barca put Chelsea out on the way to winning the 06 Cup

26/09/2007, 11:13 AM
Guillem Balague that does the Spanish football for Sky is class.

26/09/2007, 12:07 PM

He's no James Richardson though :)

I miss Gazzetta :(

26/09/2007, 1:16 PM
Haven't seen much of Richardson on Setanta, doubt he will be as good in his summing up of English football as he is with Italian, the guy genuinely seems to be in love with the game over there and it always came through with his reports. Is he still doing Gazetta on Channel 5? Or did they get someone new?

27/09/2007, 12:58 PM
He's no James Richardson though :)

I miss Gazzetta :(

yeah forgot about him, he is without any doubt the best, and very amusing when he is teamed up with ray wilkins

his articles for the guardian are worth a look too, as are the spanish reports by Sid lowe

backstothewall
27/09/2007, 6:47 PM
Opinion on Redknapp is blurred by thinking his dad is a class manager. But I really do like the last word. Its a nice change to see some really in depth analysis, rather than the usual 15 minutes including commercials

Really like James Richardson though, and Peter Brackley on commentary. Top class

29/09/2007, 10:12 PM
yeah forgot about him, he is without any doubt the best, and very amusing when he is teamed up with ray wilkins

his articles for the guardian are worth a look too, as are the spanish reports by Sid lowe

You should subscribe to the Guardian Podcast so, Very good show, every Monday and Thursday the podcasts are released.

29/09/2007, 10:12 PM

Grahan Hunter is great too.

03/10/2007, 9:40 AM
I like Jeff Spelling and he has a genuine interest in the lower leagues as well. He follows Hartlepool, the team which had to apply for re-election to the League more often than any other.

Gareth Crookes irritates me with his posh say nothing voice. Paul Merson can never identify players. Phil Thompson's and Charlie Nicholas' grammatical solecisms are grating and Alan Parry must be the most over hyping commentator alive. "Brilliant" for any basic pass is his stock phrase.

03/10/2007, 9:46 AM
Owlsfan, I was expecting another diatrabe about Dunphy??

Did you not see himself and Giles gang up on Souness last night when discussing Uniteds tactics??

I'm normally a bit of a Dunphy fan (he's comedy gold) but I thought it was a bit bad taste given that Souness managed recently in the Premiership and obviously had a better grasp of it than the other two

03/10/2007, 10:19 AM
Owlsfan, I was expecting another diatrabe about Dunphy??

Did you not see himself and Giles gang up on Souness last night when discussing Uniteds tactics??

I'm normally a bit of a Dunphy fan (he's comedy gold) but I thought it was a bit bad taste given that Souness managed recently in the Premiership and obviously had a better grasp of it than the other two

I was watching Sky and the results coming in as Wednesday were playing (nice goal by Kavanagh but still lost) rather than the "same old same old" on RTE. I did see Laughing Bill heap praise on the poison dwarf because he had predicted that a bit of magic from Rooney might win the game. Amazing foresight that :rolleyes:

Glad to see that there was a dissenting voice from Souness. No doubt Mr. Curmudgeon Giles and Ugly Betty were having a go at Ronaldo, Ferdinand and Man U. Same every game. Becomes tedious.

McShels
03/10/2007, 11:17 AM
Agree about Souness, he gives a very good analysis of the game and did you see the smile on his face when the Rangers result came throught!!!!!

As for Dunphy that muppet slated Wenger last year for playing 'kids' and last night he reckoned they were the best team around....

03/10/2007, 12:24 PM
Agree about Souness, he gives a very good analysis of the game and did you see the smile on his face when the Rangers result came through

Loved that. :)

Fairplay to him

Possibly my favourite football person