View Full Version : Transport links from Dublin to Cork

13/09/2007, 9:50 AM
Howya, myself and the girlfriend going for a few days to Cork, but unfortunately flying via Dublin. Havent bussed it or gone to Cork from Dublin but wondering that the weekday return prices are from Dublin to Cork and the approx time journey? ta!

13/09/2007, 11:32 AM
The Aircoach does a route from Dublin to Cork, going every hour or so from Westmoreland St. It's something like €15 return.

13/09/2007, 11:35 AM
Ya, €8 on Tuesdays i think.
The train is the best mode imo.
Credit Uni will give you a return ticket for €60.

13/09/2007, 1:39 PM
Dublin-Cork Ryanair return flights can be got for E20-25 if you book a couple fo weeks in advance.

13/09/2007, 1:52 PM
Book Bus Éireann tickets online and ye save a bit. It's €11.80 rtn with a student card. Dunno other prices.
The bus journey is long, about 4.5 hours, but there's a 15 minute stop in Urlingford with a shop, cafe, toilets, etc.

It's the cheapest option is the bus, but if I could afford it I'd fly.

13/09/2007, 2:08 PM
I'd definitely go for the aircoach if i was getting a bus.
Comfy seats.

13/09/2007, 3:29 PM
I'd definitely go for the aircoach if i was getting a bus.
Comfy seats.

The aircoach is direct isnt it? With no stops? id go for that if i knew there wasnt going to be any stops...

13/09/2007, 3:35 PM
I forget but no towns or anything like that anyway.
I think it picks up in Cashel, Mitchelstown, Abbeyleix. A lot of people get off in Inchicore.

16/09/2007, 11:51 AM
I forget but no towns or anything like that anyway.
I think it picks up in Cashel, Mitchelstown, Abbeyleix. A lot of people get off in Inchicore.

The aircoach special to Cork it is then! Cheers lads! :)

16/09/2007, 11:57 AM
The aircoach is direct isnt it? With no stops? id go for that if i knew there wasnt going to be any stops...

I think it has a lot of stops. Brother got it last year & it took 5 hours although he did say was comfortable coach. It think it has 8 stops & web site says 4hr 20min. Some stops are on the main route but others like Kildare, Monasterevin & Portlaoise take you away from the main road.

16/09/2007, 5:56 PM
They're not major detours really though.
It stops in Johnstown* aswell for about 20 mins.

*A poor mans Urlingford.