12/09/2007, 12:57 PM
2-3 Ireland

Wolfie
12/09/2007, 1:06 PM
2 - 0 Czechs :(

12/09/2007, 1:06 PM
ya 2 - 1 or 3 - 1 czechs is my fear.

I reckon though the way the team has been going an agonising draw.

12/09/2007, 1:07 PM
We'll win because we actually have some good players that can play a bit & for once we'll actually ride our luck abit away from home.

Unless a tactical masterstroke is pulled I expect not to credit management in any shape or form as this group of players is experienced and can play a big game in 4-4-2 on autopilot.

12/09/2007, 1:10 PM
do i sense a hint of sarcasm there stuts, just a subtle hint mind.

greatbleddyman
3-1 to the czechs.

Praying for 2-1 to Ireland though, have 20 at 16-1 on that

bet against ireland, betting for ireland will never win ye anything!!

RiffRaff
12/09/2007, 1:14 PM
5-1 to czechs - hope i'm wrong but if our defence falls apart like it did on Saturday...

Wolfie
12/09/2007, 1:23 PM
for once we'll actually ride our luck abit away from home.

After all of the analysis, post mortems, two cents worth, predictions - what's mentioned above is key.

Fungi, Dolphin God - help us in our hour of need..........

12/09/2007, 1:24 PM
do i sense a hint of sarcasm there stuts, just a subtle hint mind.No just a totally misguided sense of optimism coupled with a lack of confidence that management can add any value to the process.

onenilgameover
12/09/2007, 1:27 PM
3-1 Czechers...

Wolfie
12/09/2007, 1:27 PM
No just a totally misguided sense of optimism coupled with a lack of confidence that management can add any value to the process.

In other words, we're hopeful we prevail despite the management.

12/09/2007, 1:28 PM
Fungi, Dolphin God - help us in our hour of need..........

LOL, Wolfie, I think we will know the answer to your thread by this time tomorrow anyhow :D

Ok well if you shout loud enough tonight at the screen then that optimism might be heard and wash off on the players

youngirish
12/09/2007, 1:28 PM
I'll go for a draw with us taking an early lead and giving it away as per usual, say 1-1.

Ozymandias
12/09/2007, 1:29 PM
I normally have a guaranteed idea in my head as to what way a match will go and would bet or predict accordingly..however for this game I haven't a clue

I look at us and say we are poor ..the czechs will win
I look at the czechs and see they are in tormoil and they are actually poor enough...we will win
I then look at our ability to hold possession and think...hmm we will lose
I then look at doyles honesty up front and think ya he will score....Maybe a draw

I then got a pain in me noggin and gave up

This game could go either way because of the poor quality of the two teams and our manager......so I will just watch and bite me nails and skull a few pints

smellyfeet
12/09/2007, 1:29 PM
We'll win, just to keep the agony going for a bit longer.
Robbie Keane to score the winner, then he'll run over to the Ireland dugout and summasault straight into Stans open arms.

12/09/2007, 1:30 PM
In other words, we're hopeful we prevail despite the management.

That's it, yes.

Wolfie
12/09/2007, 1:30 PM
LOL, Wolfie, I think we will know the answer to your thread by this time tomorrow anyhow :D

Ok well if you shout loud enough tonight at the screen then that optimism might be heard and wash off on the players

Jaysus Yeah - just amazed it stayed relevant for 9 months!! :D

Brenny
12/09/2007, 1:34 PM
3-0 Ireland! Steve Staunton came to me in a dream last night & assured me we'll lash in 3.:D

12/09/2007, 1:35 PM
http://www.lidovky.cz/vyhra-a-euro-bude-blizko-0wk-/ln_sport.asp?c=A070912_093808_ln_sport_hlm

judging by that rosicky thinks they are going to beat us comfortably by 2 goals or so....

we'll lash in 3

and let in 3....too

Brenny
12/09/2007, 1:39 PM
Ah balls,I must've woken up before he got to that bit!

12/09/2007, 1:42 PM
I'll go for a draw with us taking an early lead and giving it away as per usual, say 1-1.

Unfortunately I agree, but, I'm praying we jam a 94th min winner after conceding an 85th min equaliser.

Morbo
12/09/2007, 1:44 PM
1-1, Doyle to score first, then O'shea sees Rosicky lining up to take a shot and runs away.
Got 14/5 on a draw, pretty good odds considering Ireland are crap holding onto a lead away from home and that the Czechs would be happy with a draw.

Hibs4Ever
12/09/2007, 1:47 PM
2-1 win. Keane & Doyle

12/09/2007, 1:57 PM
1-1, Doyle to score first, then O'shea sees Rosicky lining up to take a shot and runs away

I'm just laughing out loud here at work like a spa, but that is brilliant. I have visions of it right now!

12/09/2007, 1:59 PM
I a going looking at Timofte against bonner for inspiration.

youngirish
12/09/2007, 2:03 PM
http://www.lidovky.cz/vyhra-a-euro-bude-blizko-0wk-/ln_sport.asp?c=A070912_093808_ln_sport_hlm

judging by that rosicky thinks they are going to beat us comfortably by 2 goals or so....

He also called JOS a useless, overpaid, muppet and compared Stan to a village idiot. Harsh, but true.

12/09/2007, 2:06 PM
He also called JOS a useless, overpaid, muppet and compared Stan to a village idiot. Harsh, but true.

ya, i couldnt fully understand that line, but I thought it was something like that alright.

Closed Account 2
12/09/2007, 2:09 PM
What I want 1-2 (Ireland),
What I think 2-0 (Czech)

mackannovic
12/09/2007, 2:09 PM
At Best:
1-0 Ireland
Andy Reid to score

I've 5euro on it @ 100/1

At Worst:
2-1 Czechs
With Ireland taking a 1-0 lead.

12/09/2007, 2:14 PM
We've gone a few games unbeaten so we are due a defeat.

mackannovic
12/09/2007, 2:16 PM
Actually I think I'll take my chances with the lotto. God only knows what will happen tonight!

CJTheGull
12/09/2007, 2:17 PM
We'll probably get a draw. Pretty useless for us but not a disgrace in our current state but it will ensure we won't be headin' for the Alps come next Summer. Supposedly we're already certain of a 3rd seed for the World Cup qualifiers even so - we'll finish the group pretty well with a surprise victory over the already qualified Germany at Croker, revenge over the Cypriots a few days later but will disappointingly draw away to Wales in Cardiff in our last game to see us secure a comfortable 3rd place.

In the World Cup Qualifiers we come of age with Reid and Hunt playing a staring roll and with Kevin Doyle on top form as well as his Reading team mate Shane Long we finish in 2nd place, just behind top seeds Holland (Sweden finish 3rd in our group). In the play-off's we narrowly defeat Portugal 5-4 over the 2 legs and are off to South Africa to get sunburnt and go on a safari to see elephants. Hooray! :cool:

Torn-Ado
12/09/2007, 2:23 PM
Czechs 3 Ireland 0

DeNiro
12/09/2007, 2:27 PM
Hard to call. We've got to end that away record. We know we've got to win, so I wonder will that work in our favour? Might be like the N.Ireland in 93 when we had to win. We've always loved a comfort zone but that's gone now. I expect a draw, but wouldn't rule out a win. We'll concede at least a goal I reckon.

12/09/2007, 2:29 PM
Might be like the N.Ireland in 93 when we had to win. And we drew!

billybunter
12/09/2007, 2:33 PM
2-0 ireland. and fook the begrudgers, the bookies, the press, the FAI bereavement notification Dept, the slovaks......we deserve some reward for the last 10 years of pure miserable outings. Switzerland in basle last time round was as flat as fook, hope today doesnt turn out the same.

DeNiro
12/09/2007, 3:09 PM
And we drew!

Yeh I know :rolleyes:. That team had a different mentality as well. It's going to be very tough tonight. God only knows what awaits us!

btid1
12/09/2007, 3:10 PM
Czechs 3 Ireland 0

I can see the headlines in tommorow's papers already:

"CZECH MATE"!!!!!!!

DeNiro
12/09/2007, 3:15 PM
I'd prefer

Staunton CZECHS OUT OF the job.

12/09/2007, 3:26 PM
i'd prefer:

Stauntons delivers the Czechs

danonion
12/09/2007, 3:31 PM
Bobby Robson Czechs into hospital after famous win

Seano
12/09/2007, 3:34 PM
Bobby Robson Czechs into hospital after famous win

1 nil win for Ireland and the headline ' Ireland win one nil'

youngirish
12/09/2007, 3:43 PM
Or the headline:
John O'Sh!te

Noelys Guitar
"Czech this out. Ireland repeat 67 triumph"

Ordinary Fan
Ireland take an early lead and loose 2:1.

Stan vows to stay and build on this glorious defeat?

12/09/2007, 3:48 PM
It really is hard to work out how both teams will play tonight but I wouldnt be surprised if its still scoreless with 20 mins to go.

Im the eternal optimist when it comes to Ireland and it always goes belly up on me so tonight Im predicting a 2-1 defeat in the hope that Im very wrong.

Torn-Ado
12/09/2007, 3:52 PM
Anyone who thinks we'll win tonight needs their heads examined.

We couldn't beat Slovakia, what chance have we against the Czechs.

A lot of hearts ruling their heads in these predictions.

mackannovic
12/09/2007, 3:54 PM
I think a lot of people are predicting a win not only out of hope but purely because we never know what kind of performance to expect from Ireland.

12/09/2007, 3:56 PM
1-3 defeat for Ireland