View Full Version : Irish Team to face Czechs Announced

Pages : 1 [2] 3

onceahoop
11/09/2007, 3:56 PM
McGeady does feck all defensively and when he gets the ball in his own box he tries to dribble out with it. Stan probably feels that playing O'Shea, because of his experience, behind him is a better option than Kelly. Would prefer to see Kilbane left back and Hunt left midfield. KK is reportedly playing well at LB for Wigan. We know Hunt will run up and town like a terrier all day. Reid in centre midfield might unlock a few doors for McGeady and the front men. Would expect a better performance from Doyle up front. I think we're in for a long, tough night at the coalface. Think Hunt is paying for turning up injured for the trip to America and telling no one plus a few remarks he made on the squad selection. If he is, that's wrong. Results are more important than the managements pride.

11/09/2007, 4:04 PM
My thoughts exactly.

When did Hunt make his remarks about his brother? It can't have been before the Denmark game.

If Stan is flexing his muscle then it's the mark of an obstinate idiot at the expense of everyone who cares about how the team does.

carloz
11/09/2007, 4:14 PM
Stan brings so much pressure on himself. If you go and look at peoples opinions of the starting 11 we should have had starting against Slovakia most people were in agreement with the starting 11, maybe only differing on Ireland or Reid in the centre. The Stan goes and picks the team he does:confused:. Again if you put anyone from this forum into Stans situation on saturday night during the game im sure we would all have made similiar substitutions to one another but totally opposite to Stan. I really get the feeling that he is trying desperatly to prove this is his team, he runs it the way he wants to and because of this idiology his choices can seem downright baffling at times. Never was this more obvious than with the substitutions on Saturday, he was trying to prove a point that he didnt need to use Andy Reid, Hunt or to a lesser extent Long or Keogh. I mean how long did it take the man to realise Carsley deserved to be in the squad. Stubbornly he refused to call him up and now he has him as the heartbeat of the team. How can his opinion go from one extreme to another. He strikes me as a guy who is treating the job like he is playing Football Manager on his PC. Incidently i wonn the European championships in 2012 in my game........only 2 years after Stan was sacked. 2 more years of Stan:(

carloz
11/09/2007, 4:16 PM
Also im fairly sure Geary isnt a regular starter for Sheffield united so we certainly should look past that

11/09/2007, 4:23 PM
When did Hunt make his remarks about his brother? It can't have been before the Denmark game.

this article on eleven-a-side about it - http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=28424 - is dated July 12, so just over a month before the Denmark game

11/09/2007, 4:25 PM
And a fair point he made too!

Ordinary Fan
11/09/2007, 4:26 PM
Not realy suprised with the selection, we have no right-mid fielder for years now and MCGeedy gets stuck out there because no-one else wants the job. Last left-back was Ian Harte, he might be back for Germany.
I hope Reid does the business or else we are finished.

Hunt and long to come on with 25 mins remaining to win it for Ireland!

cheifo
11/09/2007, 4:27 PM
McGeady is much better playing on the left.He needs to be that bit quicker
with his delivery and he can cause problems.We will know after the first ten minutes whether hes going to be brillant or awful.

onceahoop
11/09/2007, 4:40 PM
There was also an article in, I think, the Sunday Times where he admited carrying an injury to the states.

As for McGeady, time after time on Saturday he had the chance to get the ball in early but took too many extra touches. Drove me to excessive drinking:(

Noelys Guitar
11/09/2007, 4:44 PM
Who will Stan bring on as subs? Now that really worries me. If Gibson, Douglas and Murphy are going to be his choices again then forget about winning this game.

carloz
11/09/2007, 4:46 PM
Is Hunt being punished for going to America with an injury??? Hell i think he deserves praise for going to what was a pretty pointless end of season tournamnet. He would have played a hell of a lot of games that season too. Nice to see him going with a knock when you had certain players pulling our for family reason i.e. they had booked the holiday to Portugal

11/09/2007, 5:14 PM
All the nonsense predates Hunt starting against Denmark where he played POORLY. McGeady played very good.
McGeady was given a vote of confidence to start in the team.
A vote of confidence means, ye played crap but we still believe in you.

A vote of confidence does not mean ye played crap so feck off back to the bench.

I´m all for stability, I hope McGeady plays a stormer.
And Hunt comes on as a sub with 20 minutes playing time.

11/09/2007, 5:24 PM
I just wish we introduced Hunt on Saturday. Ignoring Stan's team selection I'd move Killer to LB and have Hunt on left wing. O'Shea and Kelly can toss a coin for the right back spot.

11/09/2007, 5:40 PM
All the nonsense predates Hunt starting against Denmark where he played POORLY. McGeady played very good.
McGeady was given a vote of confidence to start in the team.
A vote of confidence means, ye played crap but we still believe in you.

A vote of confidence does not mean ye played crap so feck off back to the bench.

I´m all for stability, I hope McGeady plays a stormer.
And Hunt comes on as a sub with 20 minutes playing time.

Great rational post, this is what I am hoping for too, as i cnat see mcgeady playing in the last 20 mins unless searching for a goal. Unfortunately this is waht I hoped the last day too, but then on came douglas and murphy.......I almost think staunton thought we had it won and was giving murphy the chance to get international competitive action

11/09/2007, 7:11 PM
Also im fairly sure Geary isnt a regular starter for Sheffield united so we certainly should look past that

He was voted fans favourite for August.

http://www.scotland-mad.co.uk/news/loadgnrl.asp?id=351601&teamno=463

MOTM

http://www.scotland-mad.co.uk/news/loadgnrl.asp?id=351594&teamno=463

Incidentally, Derek Geary was named fans favourite during the 1-0 victory over West Bromwich Albion at Bramall Lane last weekend.

http://www.scotland-mad.co.uk/news/loadgnrl.asp?id=350862&teamno=463

Sheffield United defending duo Chris Morgan and Derek Geary were named in the Championship Team of the Week; as named by the Football League.

MOTM v Colchester
http://www.sheffutd.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=78741

So two MOTM awards and a POTM award for Geary. Now let me check through the news for Stephen Kelly.....tap.. tap.. tap..ah now their is a ssurprise - absolutely nothing.

Now which one will big Stan pick? The man in form or the one who had done f**k all. Well I think you know the answer to that one.

He was first choice most of last season and has played 3 out of 4 this season (MOTM twice and third choice in the other IIRC), he must be first name on the team sheet.

backstothewall
11/09/2007, 7:16 PM
I don't agree with the Hunt or McGeady debate. I would rather start the Hunt AND McGeady debate. McGeady is naturally right footed and as far as i know, the right wing is his prefered position. I certainly remember him causing problems there when he came on against the dutch, all be it that we were 4-0 down by then.

DeNiro
11/09/2007, 7:25 PM
Why would he name the team so early? Managers used to always play cat and mouse with each other until an hour or so before kick off. Is this more naivety? God only knows if it's a stunt and he changes something before kick off to throw the Czechs off. He did say he was going to make a few changes, so what has he found out since Sunday that stopped him? He admitted the pitch was sapping and the players tired. It looks rather odd to me.

finnpark
11/09/2007, 11:16 PM
Ireland are 5/1 with Totesport :eek:

That is an incredible price. When these teams last met Ireland were a lot poorer and the Czechs have seemed to have gotten worse if anything. I think Ireland will beat the Czechs tonight as the Czechs like Ireland are rubbish. In fact this is a really rubbish group.

Ireland to win and Staunton will keep his job :mad:

Morbo
11/09/2007, 11:40 PM
The Czechs are no great shakes but they are at home and even if we go up a goal, I can't see us holding onto it unless we score in the last minute. 1-1 draw is my prediction

Supreme feet
12/09/2007, 2:10 AM
F**k it. Come on Ireland. Head says it'll be a nervous draw between two out-of-form teams. Heart says that we'll be the only team on the pitch who gives a f**k about qualification. We give out about our players underperforming and not caring about the jersey - what about the Czechs? They were rubbish in Lansdowne and without Koller, who do they have? Nedved? Retired. Rosicky? Lightweight. Baros? Headless. Galasek? About 104 years old. Plasil?!

We've every chance. They're not Barcelona. They're not Brazil. What happened in Bratislava was typical bad luck, see Brussels 83, Turkey/Lineker 91, Skopje 99. No-one is to blame, but everyone likes a scapegoat (even me, in the heat of the moment). Everyone likes to think that they could do better. If we had survived the last minute in Bratislava, we would all be optimists, despite being in almost the same position that we now find ourselves.

I think we have better players than the Czechs. We should not be afraid. And this pessimistic knee-jerk stuff that I've read, about 'Irish football being crap', restructuring the youth system, dissolving the Eircom League, decrying the foreign players in the EPL; shouldn't be instigated by a toe-poke from a nobody Slovakian. I'd rather blame our current misfortune on the absence of a fully-fit Duff/Finnan/Steven Reid and the relative youth (naivety) of our more promising players. Lets not forget that Jack Charlton's results suffered badly in the face of injuries to key players. (eg, Spain in '93)

Lets not rule ourselves out... just yet. I won't believe that we're out until we drop more points in this group. It's still in our own hands. As for Staunton, I don't care who's in charge; the players take the final responsibility. We can still qualify. I don't like Staunton as a person, then again, I don't like Paul McCartney either. And what did he do, despite his lack of personality? :)

Come on Ireland!!!

dr_peepee
12/09/2007, 3:44 AM
Harrumph!!!.....

We can do it!!

Andy Reid is gonna be key tonight.. Thing is you can't get ninety good minutes out of him and we've no replacement or alternative available on the bench so I hope he hits the ground running.

billybunter
12/09/2007, 3:51 AM
F**k it. Come on Ireland. Head says it'll be a nervous draw between two out-of-form teams. Heart says that we'll be the only team on the pitch who gives a f**k about qualification. We give out about our players underperforming and not caring about the jersey - what about the Czechs? They were rubbish in Lansdowne and without Koller, who do they have? Nedved? Retired. Rosicky? Lightweight. Baros? Headless. Galasek? About 104 years old. Plasil?!

We've every chance. They're not Barcelona. They're not Brazil. What happened in Bratislava was typical bad luck, see Brussels 83, Turkey/Lineker 91, Skopje 99. No-one is to blame, but everyone likes a scapegoat (even me, in the heat of the moment). Everyone likes to think that they could do better. If we had survived the last minute in Bratislava, we would all be optimists, despite being in almost the same position that we now find ourselves.

I think we have better players than the Czechs. We should not be afraid. And this pessimistic knee-jerk stuff that I've read, about 'Irish football being crap', restructuring the youth system, dissolving the Eircom League, decrying the foreign players in the EPL; shouldn't be instigated by a toe-poke from a nobody Slovakian. I'd rather blame our current misfortune on the absence of a fully-fit Duff/Finnan/Steven Reid and the relative youth (naivety) of our more promising players. Lets not forget that Jack Charlton's results suffered badly in the face of injuries to key players. (eg, Spain in '93)

Lets not rule ourselves out... just yet. I won't believe that we're out until we drop more points in this group. It's still in our own hands. As for Staunton, I don't care who's in charge; the players take the final responsibility. We can still qualify. I don't like Staunton as a person, then again, I don't like Paul McCartney either. And what did he do, despite his lack of personality? :)

Come on Ireland!!!

i wasn't sold on staunton when he was appointed, but after having met the guy on 2 occassions (at a practice prior to wales game in croker) and at half time during ireland / bolivia game in Boston, he comes across as an absolute gentleman. He may not be 'guus hiddink" on the "astute manager"scale, but i can not say i dislike the guy. supremefeet - you are a true fan though. I share your optimism, i havent slept a fookin wink since saturday night, and have replayed every possible scenario in my mind as to what will happen tomorrow. i'm settling for the ireland 2-0 scenario, with Stan to get it right. hunt and Long coming on with half an hour to go, and a glorious night in prague (and Tampa!)

boysingreen
12/09/2007, 4:22 AM
I'm with you two lads. There's 90 minutes to play against a team we can no doubt compete with. We have to believe, fight for every ball, take the game to the Czechs and take the chances when they come. We don't have Ronaldinho, but neither do they. One good run and McGeady beats his man or stretches the defense in the process, one great pass from Reid gives Robbie a chance. This is not a game plan, just a reminder that we're not hopeless. We have impact subs, and here's hoping they'll be utilized. The campaign is still in our hands despite plenty of blunders, who's to say we can't finally get it right. The team that wins tomorrow is the team that wants it the most on the day. That's why we'll all be watching, because we know it could be us.

irishfan86
12/09/2007, 5:05 AM
I'm not sure if this has been responded to, but I have to address the wingback debate.

People criticizing Stan for playing Kelly and O'Shea "on their wrong wings."

Kelly is a right back, and O'Shea is a centre back who plays everywhere but centre back.

That said, Kelly has played at left back for Birmingham more than O'Shea has played left back for United this term, if that means anything to anybody.

As for Derek Geary, he is a right footed RIGHT BACK that is improvised as a left back at Sheffield United (and I think he's pretty good, if lacking a bit in the pace department).

We have no natural left back in the squad, only players who play their from time to time.

Kilbane is playing there now for Wigan, but has been sent off 2 out of his 4 starts.

He is way too clumsy to be a defender.

Kelly and O'Shea would be my choice to start at wingbacks, Kelly at left back, O'Shea at right.

Anybody genuinely upset over our wingback situation needs to give their heads a shake.

Hibs4Ever
12/09/2007, 6:20 AM

Come on Ireland!!!

"Rosicky? Lightweight" !!!

The guy is pure class, he is there main player and will cause us lots of problems tonight, no doubt about it

shanman2
12/09/2007, 7:33 AM
Rosicky running at John O'Shea . . . .

OH Dear.... It will be a massacre..... O'Shea will kick lumps out of him:D:D:D

12/09/2007, 8:00 AM
'We have an understanding. He's got a tremendous left foot and he can see the pass not many other players can, so he is a big player for us.'

....said keane.

12/09/2007, 8:05 AM
i wasn't sold on staunton when he was appointed, but after having met the guy on 2 occassions (at a practice prior to wales game in croker) and at half time during ireland / bolivia game in Boston, he comes across as an absolute gentleman. He may not be 'guus hiddink" on the "astute manager"scale, but i can not say i dislike the guy. supremefeet - you are a true fan though. I share your optimism, i havent slept a fookin wink since saturday night, and have replayed every possible scenario in my mind as to what will happen tomorrow. i'm settling for the ireland 2-0 scenario, with Stan to get it right. hunt and Long coming on with half an hour to go, and a glorious night in prague (and Tampa!)

I had a dream....that keane scoreds a drop volley into the corner of the net tonight. I hope this one comes true.

12/09/2007, 8:18 AM
I had a dream....that keane scoreds a drop volley into the corner of the net tonight. I hope this one comes true.

... and hopefully that is the last kick of the ball in tonight's game. Otherwise they'll equalise.

monutdfc
12/09/2007, 8:29 AM
OT Tuff Paddy, no apologies to Westlife necessary, they didn't write that song or record the original version they only covered it

Row Z
12/09/2007, 8:34 AM
Reckon we could nick a goal tonite from a set piece, with Andy Reid's magical left foot putting it on the forehead of Mr Dunne! especially that Koller is out, (who tends to do alot of defending from set pieces a la Drogba).
Im going to be the optimist and say 2-1 Ireland, Dunne for first goal, and Hunt to come on and cause a bit of mayhem and set up Keano to grab a late winner!!!

mackannovic
12/09/2007, 8:53 AM
"Rosicky? Lightweight" !!!

The guy is pure class, he is there main player and will cause us lots of problems tonight, no doubt about it

Giggs running at defences for Wales for years yet they still never got anywhere. One player doesn't make a team.

Hibs4Ever
12/09/2007, 9:45 AM
Giggs running at defences for Wales for years yet they still never got anywhere. One player doesn't make a team.

Whats that got to do with my post :confused:

He made a comment about Rosicky as an INDIVIDUAL, which I responded to. Nothing to do with the Czech team as a whole

Morbo
12/09/2007, 10:03 AM
Those dismissing Rosicky as lightweight are in for an unpleasent surprise tonight, Rosicky is that type of player that Ireland never really seem to be able to deal with properly especially since Finnan is out

12/09/2007, 10:18 AM
We dealt with him well enough in Landsdowne I thought. Lovely player, always plays with his head up and can score from distance too.

Hibs4Ever
12/09/2007, 10:21 AM
We dealt with him well enough in Landsdowne I thought. Lovely player, always plays with his head up and can score from distance too.

He completely ran the show in the 1st half at lansdowne IMO

12/09/2007, 10:28 AM
Did he? Can't really remember. I think I recall him being on the ball a lot but rarely in threatening positions. I thought Jon Douglas ran the show!

I do remember really enjoying the Czechs. We had a go at them, but they used wall passes and flicks and angles that just don't exist in our game. It was the same watching Celtic vs Moscow the other week. Compelling clash of styles.

12/09/2007, 10:30 AM
I think its a reflection of where we stand when Andy Reid is greeted as some sort of saviour

cavan_fan
12/09/2007, 10:33 AM
I think its a reflection of where we stand when Andy Reid is greeted as some sort of saviour

The best Irish players at any time are the ones not in the team, at the moment we have the following flavours of the month:

A Reid (I remember endless games where he did nothing)
S Reid (does anyone remember a good game he's played for us)
Hunt (he was sh*te against Denmark)
Garvan

Even Harte was considered a saviour when he was out of the team.

12/09/2007, 10:36 AM
Too simplistic I think Pablo.

Most of us here think the team's failure to keep possession or to find team mates with anything other than sideways passes that get us nowhere or long hoofs forward is what's costing us. Surely then it makes sense to include someone who can pick a pass and who has the composure to keep the ball. It can only bring an improvement.

It took a while for him to settle in Denmark, in fact in the first 10-15 minutes I think he rearely found his target at all. But once he and Potter settled the team as a whole functioned properly.

12/09/2007, 10:44 AM
A Reid (I remember endless games where he did nothing) - and I remember a few where's he's done well for us.

S Reid (does anyone remember a good game he's played for us) - does anyone remember when he's been played in position? I've posted my views on this twice already this morning & would be interested to hear your response

Hunt (he was sh*te against Denmark) but very good when he came on against Wales & Slovakia

Garvan - a player of Garvan's type is what we need. He's not the immediate answer but it's criminal that a presumed spat has led to his ommission from any Irish team for 3 years

Saviours? No. Credible alternatives? Yes. I'm personally happy to stand by my reasoned logic as to why Andy Reid is a better selection than Stephen Ireland for example.

Morbo
12/09/2007, 10:53 AM
The best Irish players at any time are the ones not in the team, at the moment we have the following flavours of the month:

A Reid (I remember endless games where he did nothing)
S Reid (does anyone remember a good game he's played for us)
Hunt (he was sh*te against Denmark)
Garvan

Even Harte was considered a saviour when he was out of the team.

You got a point, except for Hunt, he definetily deserves his spot on the team, one poor game in a friendly means f*ck all, He has played well when it mattered, also he was just coming back from an injury so I wouldn't read too much into the Denmark game, also McGeady played very well against Denmark but was brutal for Ireland on Sat so I wouldn't be picking the Irish team based on the players performance against Denmark.

I feel people are overrating Reid but despite his limitations he is our most creative player and without him Doyle and Keane aren't going to get a lot of service

12/09/2007, 11:02 AM
He's no saviour but he's a fine footballer. Easily good enough for international football, and a far better better passer than anyone else on the team

Agree with cavan_fan's general point though

12/09/2007, 11:03 AM
Dodge, do you support Ireland by the way? I'm not being funny either.

Agreed on the reid point. He is no saviour but a fine player and would give elvis a run for his money.....

12/09/2007, 11:13 AM
Dodge, do you support Ireland by the way? I'm not being funny either.
Do I go to ROI games? No
Do I want them to well? Yep

I can understand why you asked BTW. In the past I've hated the FAI so much I've hated the national team too. They're not my first priority but I'm fairly nationalistic and I'm into football so if it wasn't for the a majority of idiots at the games (or in pubs for that matter) I'd be into the national team more

12/09/2007, 11:24 AM
I'm still slightly optimistic we can grab something in Prague tonight. The Czech's are no great shakes (not being disrespectful but it's hardly France or Holland) and are struggling for form themselves - we need to go out there and take the game to them. Surely we are due a bit of luck? If we are to lose or draw please don't let it be down to a last minute goal. I cannot take any more of them (Israel away was bad but I think this one was worse). The high of thinking we were gonna win in Slovakia....the equalizer and then the depression that followed is not good for my health!!! The missus has trouble understanding my mood swings when following our beloved football side.

JOS and Douglas if he comes on have a chance to rectify their error Saturday night. JOS in particular needs to step up and fast. He is running out of second (or 40) chances.

12/09/2007, 11:39 AM
I think the czechs might suprise us all.

12/09/2007, 11:39 AM
and do what Paul?

wooman
12/09/2007, 11:48 AM
we will get the win tonight, beat cyprus in croker get beaten by germany then beat wales in cardiff and qualify

youve heard it here first

fergalr
12/09/2007, 12:36 PM
You know, I have an inexplicable optimism about tonight. Its not based on the team selection, or on the ability of our players or our manager, nor on the alleged weaknesses of the opposition.

I just have a really strong inkling that we might just win tonight. Not that it means anything but the best omen I can find is that almost exactly 40 years ago we went to the same venue and got what is still our best ever away result:

November 22, 1967
Czechoslovakia 1–2 Republic of Ireland
Slavia Stadium, Prague, Czechoslovakia
Euro 1968 Qualifier
Attendance: 11,000
Referee: Vetter (East Germany)
Goals:
Dempsey 57' (og)
Treacy 65'
Turlough O'Connor 86'

And lets face it, the only way we will win is if our winner is a late, late one.