View Full Version : Jim Davidson

Pages : 1 [2]

monutdfc
12/09/2007, 1:17 PM
Homophobia isn't a crime.

Yes it is, in Ireland at least if not in the UK. It's the Incitement to Hatred Act
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/en/act/pub/0019/index.html

Is 'heterophobia' a term?
Homophobia is a made-up word, being the conjunction of 'homo' from Latin and 'phobia' from Greek.

Ozymandias
12/09/2007, 1:24 PM
davidson is a toss pot nad a dinosaur..he shoulkdn't be given airtime

What Jim Davidson said was offensive and brian was right to feel offended but to let himself be reduced to tears etc..methinks Brian has other issues as well...I know gay people who would have just told Davidson to F*** Off and would have been raging with him...they would not have cried screaming they had never felt this vulnerable

12/09/2007, 2:42 PM
Plonnnnnnnnkkk.....goes the sound of DCFCSteves heart. :D

I'm tightening the noose and kicking the chair out from under my feet as we speak...

Farewell cruel forum........!!!

12/09/2007, 2:51 PM
Feck - but that was a buzz !!!

Didn't realise that whole auto-erotic asphyxiation thing had so much going for it. So that's why Tory MP's are into it...!!

Anyways - back to Jim Davidsh!t....

Ozymandias
12/09/2007, 3:54 PM
the only time i ever felt vulnerable was Playing hurling without a helmut

12/09/2007, 4:41 PM
Watched the show up until lat sunday, and what i was thinking was brain dowling knew what he was doing the hole time, and knew that jim was going to pop sooner or later, jim davidson seemed a shadow of himself since big break comes across as a severely depressed man.

And i agreee with earlier poster jim davidson (at the moment) is a tosser. Brian Dowling is abigger tosser IMO, annoying ****. Destroyed SMTV!!!!

12/09/2007, 6:33 PM
Yes it is, in Ireland at least if not in the UK. It's the Incitement to Hatred Act
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1989/en/act/pub/0019/index.html
That's the worst written piece of legislation I've ever read.

I can't tell how that allows me to, e.g. refer to a convicted rapist as such, something which I'm certain is legal. Any proper legal punters on here? EDIT: Maybe 3(6)?

13/09/2007, 12:03 AM
That's the worst written piece of legislation I've ever read.

I can't tell how that allows me to, e.g. refer to a convicted rapist as such, something which I'm certain is legal. Any proper legal punters on here? EDIT: Maybe 3(6)?

If someone has been convicted of a crime, then you are allowed to refer to them by that crime - e.g. 'convicted rapist Seamus Flynn...'. It's a matter of legal fact if they were convicted.

If someone wasn't convited you couldn't refer to them in that way. At most you could say 'alleged rapist', but given the law in Ireland you'd be wise not to as you probably wouldn't get away with it if it was contested.

13/09/2007, 12:54 AM
if he was any sort of a man ( gay or otherwise ) he should have socked old JD in the kisser.

He didn't resort to violence when provoked. What a loser.

13/09/2007, 8:15 AM
Yes Brian overeacts sometimes but I admire him for being able to restrain himself & not lower himself to Jim's level by hitting him. Violence is not the answer.

13/09/2007, 8:45 AM
Don't know about that....I'd love to give both of them a good kickin'...:)

13/09/2007, 9:54 AM
If someone has been convicted of a crime, then you are allowed to refer to them by that crime - e.g. 'convicted rapist Seamus Flynn...'. It's a matter of legal fact if they were convicted.

If someone wasn't convited you couldn't refer to them in that way. At most you could say 'alleged rapist', but given the law in Ireland you'd be wise not to as you probably wouldn't get away with it if it was contested.
I know that Steve. I asked where the legislation says it.

monutdfc
13/09/2007, 10:07 AM
What Steve is referring to is libel laws, not the Incitement to Hatred Act

13/09/2007, 10:08 AM
Destroyed SMTV!!!!

Too right he did. Him and Tess Daly just didnt fit in. Ant and Dec. Where are they now?

13/09/2007, 10:22 AM
What Steve is referring to is libel laws, not the Incitement to Hatred Act

??? :confused:

Not at all. It's just a fundamental outcome of the legal system that you can refer to someone by the crime they've been found guilty of (unless there's a particular stipulation preventing it - e.f. anonymity due to age).

It's not just about the libel laws - it's much wider than that. For example - if I verbalised it, it would be in the realms of slander law, not libel. If I used it in consideration of whether to employ someone or not, it would then impinge upon employment laws.

Aberdonian Stu
13/09/2007, 2:04 PM
if I verbalised it, it would be in the realms of slander law, not libel.

Not quite. If you verbalise and it isn't recorded then it's slander. Verbal comments on radio, television and podcasts/videocasts it would be considered libel. The same is true if you are quoted in print media.

I think the law has a tough task ahead of it though in defining the difference going forward as material such as videos of people being recorded onto a mobile or home video camera which is subsequently posted in a public forum such as YouTube or simply shown to a lot of people has yet to be put to a legal test in this state. I would argue it should fall under slander unless it can be proven that the person making the comments should have had a reasonable expectation that their comments may be recorded.

anto1208
13/09/2007, 2:54 PM
He is an absolute idiot of the highest calibre - if he was any sort of a man ( gay or otherwise ) he should have socked old JD in the kisser.

Is that some sort of a new gay sex act , im not up with the lingo

13/09/2007, 6:54 PM
Ha I wish I was 11 again! As for the brainwashing, how do you think my 16 yr old sister is well into the Pixies! She also gets dragged along to Mons matches sometimes.

And I havent bluffed any job from FAI mister! I dont have the official role of CPO, I just take an interest in what is happening to see if we can apply some of it to our club.

magicme has a 16 yr old sister:D

14/09/2007, 7:55 AM
And she is a stunning modelesque natural blonde, really clever & sweet. Looks a little like the BB twins but prettier.

Ok will stop pimping her now!

14/09/2007, 11:54 AM
magicme has a 16 yr old sister:DMiniMe........?
And she is a stunning modelesque natural blonde, really clever & sweet. Looks a little like the BB twins but prettier.

Ok will stop pimping her now!Has she ever been to London.....?

14/09/2007, 8:38 PM

Ok will stop pimping her now!

hmmmm..i'm intrigued...

15/09/2007, 12:14 AM
hmmmm..i'm intrigued...

And I'm first......! :D

15/09/2007, 7:39 AM
Davidson has made a career off of pawning himself out to the BNP types in Britain with his racist, homophobic nonsense and Hell's Kitchen should have known better than to put him on to spout his nonsense, we're better off without him, Bernard Manning and their like being on the box so good riddance.

Davidson is a racist and def woiuldnt be too found of Ireland, as was Manning, but hell i thought they were funny acts, and they were/are popular........Davidsons DVds sells well

he makes people laugh, so whats wrong with that?

First
15/09/2007, 1:57 PM
And I'm first......! :D

No your not I am.

15/09/2007, 2:15 PM
No your not I am.Fight ya for it:p

First
15/09/2007, 3:10 PM
In November , we can be on the undercard for the BIG one. And you won't even have to travel:D;)

17/09/2007, 8:31 AM
Behave yourselves boys!

17/09/2007, 5:29 PM
Behave yourselves boys!

bunch of paedos..;)
get someone yer own age

and that number was magicme???:D

18/09/2007, 8:15 AM
Age is but a number as long as its legal.

18/09/2007, 11:08 AM
How in the world did a thread about Jim Davidson become 5 pages long? :confused::)

Monkfish
18/09/2007, 3:32 PM
How in the world did a thread about Jim Davidson become 5 pages long? :confused::)

....cause unfunny or not, people will always have a problem with someone who calls a spade a spade and who does'nt feel the need to play up to whats fashionably accepted.;)

18/09/2007, 3:39 PM
someone who calls a spade a spade
Rascist! :mad:

galwayhoop
18/09/2007, 3:45 PM
Nobody leapt on his back over that.

:D :D :D

yeah yeah i know its childish and all the rest but i couldn't help it!!!!!

Monkfish
19/09/2007, 12:43 AM
Rascist! :mad:

To say someone calls 'a spade a spade' means they tell it like it is, absolutly nothing to do with rascism, cop on to yourselves ffs.

19/09/2007, 1:03 AM
To say someone calls 'a spade a spade' means they tell it like it is, absolutely nothing to do with racism, cop on to yourselves ffs.I think you've lost something (http://home.student.uu.se/hape2405/aabf18_sarcasm_detector.jpg).

19/09/2007, 7:59 AM
There is nothing "PC" about giving respect to all the wonderful different aspects of society/humanity. Its about basic respect & Davidson has none.

19/09/2007, 8:29 AM
I think you've lost something (http://home.student.uu.se/hape2405/aabf18_sarcasm_detector.jpg).
Cheers Schumi. I despise having to spell it out for people

Monkfish
19/09/2007, 3:20 PM
Cheers Schumi. I despise having to spell it out for people

Maybe you should put a smily face next to your 'accusation' next time so I can understand you better:rolleyes:

19/09/2007, 3:52 PM
Maybe you should put a smily face next to your 'accusation' next time so I can understand you better:rolleyes:
Or maybe you should get a ****ing grip

:p

Monkfish
19/09/2007, 7:04 PM
Or maybe you should get a ****ing grip

:p

Sorry your neck is'nt close enough:eek::p

20/09/2007, 9:59 AM
Sorry your neck is'nt close enough:eek::p

Racist :mad:

24/09/2007, 11:31 PM
....cause unfunny or not, people will always have a problem with someone who calls a spade a spade and who does'nt feel the need to play up to whats fashionably accepted.;)

Or alternatively, it takes that many pages for the large online queue of people who want to vent some serious spleen about the moron......