View Full Version : Don't Go......
SUB of the day
10/09/2007, 6:48 PM
48 hours before kickoff in Prague, and an inevitable defeat.Stauntons glaring ineptitude was exposed yet again in Bratislava, despite this and the pending capitulation, he will remain our National coach.An appropriate vision of the future can be provided for Merrion Square, at the forthcoming Germany and Cyprus fixtures,. ie rows and rows of empty seats.The games are meaningless,and provide the perfect opportunity to ram home the obvious, ie the Walsall watercarrier must go.And yes I have paid for my tickets.Posters and banners are just ignored, empty seats at soldout fixtures?.....works for me!
billybunter
10/09/2007, 6:57 PM
very mature response. This site is intended for "supporters" of the Irish team.
TheJamaicanP.M.
10/09/2007, 7:00 PM
48 hours before kickoff in Prague, and an inevitable defeat.Stauntons glaring ineptitude was exposed yet again in Bratislava, despite this and the pending capitulation, he will remain our National coach.An appropriate vision of the future can be provided for Merrion Square, at the forthcoming Germany and Cyprus fixtures,. ie rows and rows of empty seats.The games are meaningless,and provide the perfect opportunity to ram home the obvious, ie the Walsall watercarrier must go.And yes I have paid for my tickets.Posters and banners are just ignored, empty seats at soldout fixtures?.....works for me!
No thanks, some of us want to support the Irish team.
This is a young team and they need all the support they can get. Wales had a half empty stadium at the weekend and what did that achieve for them.
dynamo kerry
10/09/2007, 7:02 PM
I'll be at the germany game one way or the other and I'll be at cyprus too if I can get the time off work to come back to ireland for it. I'll also still go to the wales game - why? because when possible i'll go along and support them. If the results don't come, then so be it.
I'm not sure if I have an exact answer to say why this is a bad idea but I just don't particularly care for it. Sounds a bit fair-weather supporty to me. Can't have it all your own way you know. Get over it.
SUB of the day
10/09/2007, 7:14 PM
very mature response. This site is intended for "supporters" of the Irish team.
So all at FAI HQ can rest assured the sheep shall showup........very mature.The Emperor is wearing no clothes......isn't he?
TheJamaicanP.M.
10/09/2007, 7:45 PM
I'll be at the germany game one way or the other and I'll be at cyprus too if I can get the time off work to come back to ireland for it. I'll also still go to the wales game - why? because when possible i'll go along and support them. If the results don't come, then so be it.
I'm not sure if I have an exact answer to say why this is a bad idea but I just don't particularly care for it. Sounds a bit fair-weather supporty to me. Can't have it all your own way you know. Get over it.
I think you've summed it up perfectly Dynamo.
Armando
10/09/2007, 9:37 PM
Serious question: Can I buy your Germany tickets, if you're really not going?
10/09/2007, 10:10 PM
Some days I just wish I could wind the clock back to the early 80s and have all the olay-olayers on here p155 off and leave the team to those who care.
Here here, and they can take all the leprechauns, Celtic shirted idiots and eggballers with them.
10/09/2007, 10:41 PM
you know what, Sub of the day? I'll be glad to see the back of you
Why dont you join the rest of the day tripping, corporate, prawn sandwich eating barstoolers, and when the team improves and you come crawling back for tickets to whatever big game is selling out Croke Park or the new Lansdowne, we'll all laugh and point at the real fan who had to wait for one more wannabe to drop out of the block booking scheme to get a ticket. Good riddance.
Support the team, not the management, not the players, not the FAI, the team. And if you can't see the difference, there's a bunch of like minded people currently leaving a whole load of empty seats around the entrance tunnel in Wembley Stadium you can hang out with.
billybunter
11/09/2007, 12:17 AM
So all at FAI HQ can rest assured the sheep shall showup........very mature.The Emperor is wearing no clothes......isn't he?
I dont support all at fai hq. I support the players who are picked to represent my country. I will do so through thick and thin - if we are seeded 285th in world cup qualifying i will still support them. i could give 2 shiites what you do with your german tickets - what galls me most is how you 'procured" them in the first place when there are so many more deserving who actually do know what it is to support their country and would be more than happy to have been able to get a ticket in the first place.
Posters and banners are just ignored, empty seats at soldout fixtures?.....works for me!
Im quite sure that empty seats which have been paid for wont have too much of an effect. The money is in the FAI accounts. They will just mark it down as fair-weather fans not bothered turning up cos the team is not playing well.
11/09/2007, 8:54 AM
Sounds like someone is getting his excuse in early alright.
Good.
I'll be glad to see the back of the bandwagon-ers. Some more of the actual fans might be able to get tickets once more, and expand the ranks of those who care on the terraces. It's just a crying shame that the team has to dip in standard for some people to be able to get tickets, while other tools can pick and choose.
11/09/2007, 11:10 AM
I understand the frustrations of anyone who believes this team is under-achieving but boycotting the games isn't the answer. Even if it was principally sound -there'll always be the extra demand for seats that'll take the place of the boycotters. Besides -the team deserves support, it's the association that does not.
The only type of message the FAI will respond to is one that embarrasses them in front of their sponsors.
Losing to Cyprus and morally drawing with San Marino won't do it as they basically get to turn around and say "well that's football".
Securing a large supply of green adhesive tape, distributed in the manner of "red card" protests in the past and using said tape to obliterate the eircom logos on supporters shirts would stand a better chance of being noticed on TV and would almost certainly be picked up by the papers.
SUB of the day
11/09/2007, 4:53 PM
I understand the frustrations of anyone who believes this team is under-achieving but boycotting the games isn't the answer. Even if it was principally sound -there'll always be the extra demand for seats that'll take the place of the boycotters. Besides -the team deserves support, it's the association that does not.
The only type of message the FAI will respond to is one that embarrasses them in front of their sponsors.
Losing to Cyprus and morally drawing with San Marino won't do it as they basically get to turn around and say "well that's football".
Securing a large supply of green adhesive tape, distributed in the manner of "red card" protests in the past and using said tape to obliterate the eircom logos on supporters shirts would stand a better chance of being noticed on TV and would almost certainly be picked up by the papers.
I appreciate you have a different point of view, unlike previous posters who put two and two together and got fortyfour.Assuming I'm either prawn sandwich or ole ole material on the basis of a thread typed in frustration is both pathetic and infantile.I have been a blockbooker since day one, going to every competitive home game in the interim,plus one away game in each series, and every tournament except 2002.As previously stated "THE EMPEROR IS WEARING NO CLOTHES", 2004 is down the toilet, am I alone in feeling 2010 is heading the same way unless Stan goes?Fair enough empty seats may not cut the mustard, but we need a real manager, our players are so much better than their form suggests
billybunter
11/09/2007, 11:53 PM
I appreciate you have a different point of view, unlike previous posters who put two and two together and got fortyfour.Assuming I'm either prawn sandwich or ole ole material on the basis of a thread typed in frustration is both pathetic and infantile.I have been a blockbooker since day one, going to every competitive home game in the interim,plus one away game in each series, and every tournament except 2002.As previously stated "THE EMPEROR IS WEARING NO CLOTHES", 2004 is down the toilet, am I alone in feeling 2010 is heading the same way unless Stan goes?Fair enough empty seats may not cut the mustard, but we need a real manager, our players are so much better than their form suggests
looks like the beer is wearing off from your prior rants. warm up sub, you're getting a run-out, so dont blow it.
SUB of the day
12/09/2007, 9:39 PM
Forced by injury, into the bleedin' obvious, our national manager comes out with this gem.If empty seats aren't the way to go, which is?Wales score 5 in Slovakia, Scots win in Paris.If he fell on his sword, at least we could move forward, as it stands ineptitude reigns:(
billybunter
12/09/2007, 10:29 PM
sub - back up your word. give up your tickets. you are dying to see your empty seats on camera - this is your chance!
co. down green
12/09/2007, 11:53 PM
you know what, Sub of the day? I'll be glad to see the back of you
Why dont you join the rest of the day tripping, corporate, prawn sandwich eating barstoolers, and when the team improves and you come crawling back for tickets to whatever big game is selling out Croke Park or the new Lansdowne, we'll all laugh and point at the real fan who had to wait for one more wannabe to drop out of the block booking scheme to get a ticket. Good riddance.
Support the team, not the management, not the players, not the FAI, the team. And if you can't see the difference, there's a bunch of like minded people currently leaving a whole load of empty seats around the entrance tunnel in Wembley Stadium you can hang out with.
If nothing else comes out of our defeat this evening, hopefully we will get rid of some of the rugby shirt wearing tossers & their ilk. The passion, pain & turmoil suffered by 'real' fans is paramount in my thoughts. Stan's will come and go, but true supporters remain through thick and thin.
I remember doing the Riga/Vilnius double header in 93 and coming away with 6points, the Mexicans doing us in the heat of Orlando in 94 & my despair, the Dutch 2.0 in Anfield, Skopje in 99 etc...
I'm gutted this evening, but i'll be at Croker next month & Cardiff in November supporting my team, cheering my players, surrounded by real supporters. Managers and players come and go but i'm f**ked if some part time keyboard pundits will change my love and passion for my team.
Gutted for the supporters, a tough week and a long trip home.
antrimgreen
13/09/2007, 7:30 AM
Great post Down green well said.
I'm gutted this evening, but i'll be at Croker next month & Cardiff in November supporting my team, cheering my players, surrounded by real supporters.
I still expect large amount of whoppers at CP. However I cannot wait for Wales away. I expect about 3,000 or so of our proper fans travelling. The rest will stay at home which is just the way Id have it.
SUB of the day
13/09/2007, 1:10 PM
If nothing else comes out of our defeat this evening, hopefully we will get rid of some of the rugby shirt wearing tossers & their ilk. The passion, pain & turmoil suffered by 'real' fans is paramount in my thoughts. Stan's will come and go, but true supporters remain through thick and thin.
I remember doing the Riga/Vilnius double header in 93 and coming away with 6points, the Mexicans doing us in the heat of Orlando in 94 & my despair, the Dutch 2.0 in Anfield, Skopje in 99 etc...
I'm gutted this evening, but i'll be at Croker next month & Cardiff in November supporting my team, cheering my players, surrounded by real supporters. Managers and players come and go but i'm f**ked if some part time keyboard pundits will change my love and passion for my team.
Do you want a medal or something?.Don't equate my support for the team with my frustration with the manager.The upcoming fixtures are meaningless, we're safe enough in pot 3 for worldcup draw,ok? agreed?.Stan is useless, must go ,agreed?.If you take the time to read previous posts, you will see trips all over Europe.If your definition of a true supporter is a sheep, well thats your perogative.By the way, as for rugby shirts? wrong again!!!...Green and white Cork City shirt works just fine........
TheJamaicanP.M.
13/09/2007, 7:09 PM
Great post. I echo your sentiments.
The person who started this thread just sold his tickets for the next two games at Croker as a special offer on the main Ireland thread. In the process, he bypassed the foot.ie waiting list for tickets.
This is the same person who was encouraging us to boycott the games in Croker as a means of protest. Its a bit hypocritical selling tickets after encouraging fans to leave Croker half-empty. It would simply appear that this chap has no interest in following a team that is not winning.
I'll be happy in Croker next month because there will be less of the bandwagon supporters present.
SUB of the day
13/09/2007, 7:26 PM
Yet another sheep jumps the gun.Read the posts properly.Pound to a penny you were one of the muppets jeering ex Rangers players.By the herds reckoning, it was a hanging offence not to go,a hanging offence to deprive a "real" fan.Well I might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb....baaaa baaaa:D:D
TheJamaicanP.M.
13/09/2007, 7:36 PM
Yet another sheep jumps the gun.Read the posts properly.Pound to a penny you were one of the muppets jeering ex Rangers players.By the herds reckoning, it was a hanging offence not to go,a hanging offence to deprive a "real" fan.Well I might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb....baaaa baaaa:D:D
Supporting my country is not akin to being a sheep. Also, I never jeered Rangers players.
We dont need "fans" like you anyway, so hopefully when the next campaign comes around, you'll be back where you belong (i.e. outside the stadium).
I have no time for those on the bandwagon.
SUB of the day
13/09/2007, 8:12 PM
Supporting my country is not akin to being a sheep. Also, I never jeered Rangers players.
We dont need "fans" like you anyway, so hopefully when the next campaign comes around, you'll be back where you belong (i.e. outside the stadium).
I have no time for those on the bandwagon.
"Supporting my country is not akin to being a sheep" Again! read the post properly.BTW for your information, my "bandwagon" tour includes....Berne, Glasgow,Zagreb,Tallinn,Amsterdam, Cagliari,Palermo,Genoa,Rome,Stuttgart twice,Hanover,Gelsenkirchen,New York(twice) and Orlando not to mention every ground in the EL except Finn park (Ballybofey) and Brandywell(Derry)
theworm2345
13/09/2007, 11:38 PM
I'm from the US and have never been to an Ireland game. Going to an Ireland game is at the top of my list of things to do right now, but its not that easy to just pop over there. Don't just not go to a game just because we have a dumbass manager, and don't take the ability to go to a game for granted.
14/09/2007, 7:26 AM
If you want to make a point, can you do so without assuming stuff and hanging your entire "argument" on that? It's not far off trolling.
Thank you.
just because someone has a pop at the manager doesnt mean he isnt a true supporter,that logic is pure nonsense;sub is entitled to his point of view and is most probably correct about stan;my everlasting memory in the days after he was appointed was mersons reaction to it on the sports news,he had this air of incredulity that was top class;expectations at the moment are unfounded with the players we have available,physically and mentally they are children save for 3\4 exceptions;we never won away from home in the good times but we never lost either;we just won all of our home matches;stans problem is continuing to play 4-4-2 with 2 wide men away from home which leaves us exposed through the middle;robbie keane should be turned into a 3rd centre mid player and at least one of the wingers jetisoned;good god but mcgeady is rubbish!!
galwayhoop
14/09/2007, 9:44 AM
For what it's worth Sub i think you are misunderstood on this thread.
from the list of games you have gone to (home and away) you couldn't be classed as a fairweather/barstool supporter imo.
i understand your frustration, looking at the likes of scotland and NI (under Sanchez) who are punching well above their weight with decent managers while we are not, even though we have a far better squad at our disposal!
is the answer not supporting the team anymore? No.
What can we do? i haven't a monkies, probably nothing, except support the lads and HOPE that either Stan learns his trade or decides to walk away! as neither seems likely i think it will just be a case of grin and bear it for a few more years!
antrimgreen
14/09/2007, 9:59 AM
Your spot on the money there Galwayhoop, look what happened when Sanchez left, 2 defeats with the same squad, the manager motivates.
Grin and bear it for 2 to 3 years jesus this will be a long few years.
jimbo
14/09/2007, 10:23 AM
grin and bear it and hope that we draw the dutch in the qualifiers as that will certainly numb the pain!!
14/09/2007, 11:37 AM
"Supporting my country is not akin to being a sheep" Again! read the post properly.BTW for your information, my "bandwagon" tour includes....Berne, Glasgow,Zagreb,Tallinn,Amsterdam, Cagliari,Palermo,Genoa,Rome,Stuttgart twice,Hanover,Gelsenkirchen,New York(twice) and Orlando not to mention every ground in the EL except Finn park (Ballybofey) and Brandywell(Derry)
From your last sentence there you are a real fan. Fair play.
FAO theworm we did play in NY and Boston in May and apparently will be back there next may again. See you then!!!
14/09/2007, 1:10 PM
If it's true...
SUB of the day
14/09/2007, 4:53 PM
If it's true...
:eek:......bit harsh
SUB of the day
14/09/2007, 5:27 PM
If you want to make a point, can you do so without assuming stuff and hanging your entire "argument" on that? It's not far off trolling.
Thank you.
but would it also be fair to say that assumptions were flying in both directions? ie that I wear a rugby shirt, eat prawn sandwiches, and gotta be part of the ole ole brigade and bandwagoner to boot?:)
billybunter
14/09/2007, 6:19 PM
FAO theworm we did play in NY and Boston in May and apparently will be back there next may again. See you then!!!
whats the word with next may? Are Ireland coming back stateside?
theworm2345
15/09/2007, 3:02 AM
I know, I had prior commitments for the game on the 23rd and the other game (the 26th?) was only about $75 less than it would've been to go to Ireland (In March at least). Maybe I would've paid it, but then I saw then name Lapira and decided to save that money for a trip to Ireland to watch the next game (That falls in March I guess, when the airfare is cheap). I'm a student, I have to save my money :o
15/09/2007, 7:14 AM
just because someone has a pop at the manager doesnt mean he isnt a true supporter,that logic is pure nonsense;sub is entitled to his point of view and is most probably correct about stan;my everlasting memory in the days after he was appointed was mersons reaction to it on the sports news,he had this air of incredulity that was top class;expectations at the moment are unfounded with the players we have available,physically and mentally they are children save for 3\4 exceptions;we never won away from home in the good times but we never lost either;we just won all of our home matches;stans problem is continuing to play 4-4-2 with 2 wide men away from home which leaves us exposed through the middle;robbie keane should be turned into a 3rd centre mid player and at least one of the wingers jetisoned;good god but mcgeady is rubbish!!
agree 100%
To sit and clap the team, Robbie and the boys my a rse.
Im going to forget about this team for a while at least as there is no point in supporting Ireland at the moment, not when there is sheep in charge.
I might as well support Scotland
head the ball
15/09/2007, 12:02 PM
I think its ridiculous the way some people are saying there is only this way or that way to support your team/country and if you dont do it THEIR way you are not a proper supporter.
Well I am a die hard supporter for many years, going to as many home and away games as funds permit.
I also regard it as my god given right to slag off the manager /fai /or indiv players for that matter if I think they are not doing a good job for MY country.
I will be at Germany Cyprus and Wales games too PG.
By the way if any of those teams had rangers players I would not be doing my duty to my country if I did not slag them off!
Thats my opinion. Feck this pc stuff!
Get Stan out!