View Full Version : Slovakia 2-2 Ireland Post Game Discussion Thread
09/09/2007, 8:06 AM
When are you people not going to realise that this is what following Ireland is about. The heart ache, the pain, the ****-ups, the negative substitutions when we are leading, the falling back inviting the opposition on, the late equalisers. SO had it been, so shall it ever be.
We never kept the ball in midfield for the whole game and didn't deserve to be in front. The Slovak equaliser was a disaster waiting to happen with Hamilton as ever counting his chickens with a few minutes to go.
Stan 6: Other than the Douglas substitution, his subs were ok. Doyle was just taken off to eat up time. Robbie/Doyle wouldn't have made a difference. Douglas on the other hand said to the opposition we're falling back on defence but I have seen numerous other managers commit the same error. The choice of Ireland over Reid was strange but he did score and almost scored a second but never got on the ball. We almost won an important away game: almost :mad:
Given 7: Apart from Hamilton describing every save he made as "wonderful", he did ok but almost cost us a goal by belting the ball against one of their forwards. Swept well behind the defence. Might have saved the goal.
O'Shea 3: Poor in defence. Gave the ball away. Didn't block the shot. Played for his height. Not sure though if we have any other option.
Dunne 8: Lost his man once and they almost scored but for O'Shea covering behind but otherwise deserved motm.
McShane 7: Called by the poison dwarf as "an accident waiting to happen" but did well for the most part.
Kelly 4: Very nervous, gave the ball away a lot. Poor game.
McGeady 3: Anonymous and too lightweight.
Carsley 5: Did his defensive duties ok but seldom passed to an Irish player and often punted the ball aimlessly upfield.
Ireland 6: But for the goal, mightn't have realised he was playing which for a central midfield player says a lot
Kilbane 7: Good game for Kevin. Got on the ball a lot. Worked hard. Distribution not his strong point but was at the heart of most things.
Keane 5: Due to lack of service never got in the game but worked hard up front. Nice dummy for Ireland's goal.
Doyle 6: Great goal but otherwise as equally ineffective as Keane due to no service from midfield.
A point away from home under Stan is progress but that's from a base of being stuffed by Cyprus. 3 were there for the begging but did any us of really believe we'd get them. I expected the equaliser when Douglas came on.
09/09/2007, 8:29 AM
Anyone happy with that result needs their head examined. Slovakia were really bad, and we should have hammered them
I would have had Reid and Hunt in the starting team, (and to be fair i also would have had Mcgeady)
Kilbane just runs and runs, Carsley cant pass and was running around the centre like a headless chicken, and Ireland is too lightweight
The subs were amazing, will never forget them as long as i live..........No need to take off Doyle......bringing on Douglas who is rubbish and was caught out when he came on, and Gibson gave the ball away at least 4 times after he came on
I dont think Kelly is a good player at all, even when he is playing in his correct position, and i think he was bad in america
and we all know about O Shea
one other point that wasnt mentioned.............Given was annoying every times he got the ball he just punmped it up the field as far and as hard as he could.............once in the second half he just kicked straight over the sideline.................do you think Stan told him to do this?
i dont think i will bother watching the Czech game, it would be too painful
brine3
09/09/2007, 11:41 AM
Kelly 4: Very nervous, gave the ball away a lot. Poor game.
I thought Kelly defended well. His giving the ball away every now and then may have had to do with being on the wrong side of the pitch. I'd love to hear Stan's explanation for that one.
finnpark
09/09/2007, 11:47 AM
Anyone else think Ray Houghton and George Hamilton don't have a clue? Dunne man of the match, he was totally out of position 6 or 7 times. He doesn't defend deeply enough.
09/09/2007, 11:51 AM
Anyone else think Ray Houghton and George Hamilton don't have a clue? Dunne man of the match, he was totally out of position 6 or 7 times. He doesn't defend deeply enough.
Dunne was our best player on the pitch...by far.
Traps Cat
09/09/2007, 12:14 PM
Eh, how deeply do you want him to defend? Maybe he could put on a pair of gloves set up camp on the goal line with Given?
Dunne was in position when it mattered - by far our best player on the night , and our most reliable player in years.
Dunne for captain - keane offers nothing in this role.
09/09/2007, 12:18 PM
glad slovakia scored the equaliser as it showed up just how bad ireland where last night. tactics being the main reason for this. players out of postion, subs etc... if we had won it it would have covered up just how bad we were.
09/09/2007, 12:19 PM
Agree....Dunne for captain and stan for the door.
Knappagh Red
09/09/2007, 12:20 PM
McShane was lucky Dunne was playing so well or we would have been bet. McShane is too small and slow to be an international standard center back
Tir Oilean
09/09/2007, 12:33 PM
Stan's selection was beyond stupid.
His selection as manager of this country and the substitions he made were stupid.
While it was Douglas' fault that he let his man go O'Shea's Pansy like attempt to block the shot was unbelievable from a Premier League player. Substitions towards the end of a game always annoy me as it can ruin the flow of the game. Players will take time to settle into it so your only fcuking up your ow game. Stan is not a great manager and doubt he ever will be but lets face it Delaney put him there. :confused:
If I were a EL premier Division player Id be pretty ****ed to see the likes of Douglas on an international squad so imagine how Reid/Hunt feels being left on the bench?:mad:
Torn-Ado
09/09/2007, 1:42 PM
i dont think i will bother watching the Czech game, it would be too painful
I'm not watching it either. In fact I have made the decision that I'm going to watch the rugby team either. They're just as bad.
barney
09/09/2007, 1:51 PM
I am absolutely amazed at the abuse O'Shea is getting for the goal. McShane was ball-watching for the first goal and not a word is said about it. He was far more culpable for that than O'Shea was for the second.
McShane is a poor player with loads to learn. Okay, he is committed and he puts in 110% but he is always going to make a dreadful mistake. He cost us the goal against the Czechs, he cost West Brom the play-off final and he cost us the first goal tonight.
Just coz he runs around like a headless chicken doesn't make him a good player. There's a reason Fergie got rid of him and there's a reason that only Sunderland picked him up (along with the likes of Chopra and Harte). He's average and well out of his depth at international level. All the fist-punching and sticking his head in front of flying boots won't obscure that fact.
jmurphyc
09/09/2007, 2:00 PM
I am absolutely amazed at the abuse O'Shea is getting for the goal. McShane was ball-watching for the first goal and not a word is said about it. He was far more culpable for that than O'Shea was for the second.
McShane is a poor player with loads to learn. Okay, he is committed and he puts in 110% but he is always going to make a dreadful mistake. He cost us the goal against the Czechs, he cost West Brom the play-off final and he cost us the first goal tonight.
Just coz he runs around like a headless chicken doesn't make him a good player. There's a reason Fergie got rid of him and there's a reason that only Sunderland picked him up (along with the likes of Chopra and Harte). He's average and well out of his depth at international level. All the fist-punching and sticking his head in front of flying boots won't obscure that fact.
I wouldn't completely agree with that. I do think McShane's inadequacies are masked somewhat by his commitment but I think in time he could be a very good player for us. He's still a bit raw at the moment and a season in the premier league will hopefully help him improve alot. At the moment he's the best we've got. We have very few options at centre back at the moment. I also personally thought carsley was mainly at fault for the first goal.
09/09/2007, 2:00 PM
Don't know why you're amazed- he's everyone's favourite scapegoat, even when he plays well.
Agree with everything else you say, although I don't think McShane is well out of his depth.
barney
09/09/2007, 2:13 PM
I wouldn't completely agree with that. I do think McShane's inadequacies are masked somewhat by his commitment but I think in time he could be a very good player for us. He's still a bit raw at the moment and a season in the premier league will hopefully help him improve alot. At the moment he's the best we've got. We have very few options at centre back at the moment. I also personally thought carsley was mainly at fault for the first goal.
Fair point, he is the best we have got. But it really annoys me when people have a go at O'Shea, because he's an easy target, and don't have a go at someone else just coz he's a fan favourite.
Same with Robbie Keane. A couple of months back, people were having a pop at him saying he shouldn't even be in the side. Have a look at the first goal last night. That's what Keane brings to the table and we have no-one else with that sort of class.
I do think McShane has a lot of potential, but without Dunne alongside him, he would be more badly exposed than he is being currently. If people are going to criticise, then at least criticise all the guilty parties and don't leave some off the hook because of their reputations.
09/09/2007, 2:56 PM
As I have said from the start, McShane is definitely prone to errors, a bit like dunne was in his early career, but I stil have more confidence in him than dunne at that age. He did again make a few vital mistakes, but he also made some vital tackles at just the right time.
Dunne was superb. No need to say anymore.
Doyle held the ball up well, but again our midfield was missing and setting nothing up for the forwards. Keane was poor, but again he wasn't getting much service, though when he did he did nothing with it.
Before the corner for the 1st slovak goal, I said slovakia are going to score in the next few minutes. And bang they went in. I said after doyles goal unless we get another one and kill this off they will score within the last 10 minutes and bang 91st minute. We cannot hold onto a lead, we dont know how to play when in front.
Carsley was bypassed much of the game, I found that when we had the ball he was 5 yards behind where he needed to be and when Slovakia had the ball he was 5 yards in front of where he should have been.
Mcgeady did some good things but when we dont have possession away from home he is useless and doesnt track back. Given did very well with the swerving ball it went about 2 ft in the opposite direction from where it was originally going. All in all he had a decent game. Though I think he should have come for the corner that they scored their goal, I really wish he had more presence in the box, as it would releive the pressure from the backline and slow the game down at vital times when we need it.
Ireland was decent and did very well for his second chance of the game in the second half. I wish though reid had played as well, I honestly think keanes game improves when he is on as they have a great understanding.
JOSH was terrible, absoloutely terrible, I hope finnan is fit for wednesday.
Good atmosphere at the game, with people singing almost throughout, was great to see doyle jump the barrier and come to the fans, ye can see how much it means to him and how much of an honour it is. At the end something that will always stick in my mind, he came over to clap the fans and as he turned round he grabbed the towel tight around his neck and looked to the heavens in pure frustration and disappointment.
I honestly dont think gibson did that much to be honest. And what was staunton at bringing douglas on? Kilbane was wrecked in the second half, he did nothing, we needed hunt to hold onto possession run up and down the line and keep ireland up in the slovak end. To me it appeared staunton panicked and didnt know what he was at. By bringing another defensive midfielder on, it was a clear statement of lets defend this lead, when we needed to attack them and close out the game. Desperation type stuff.
09/09/2007, 3:15 PM
actually i must add to that, post one more thing about oshea, which some of you might not have noticed, but the slovaks had 2 players over in the right corner in the second half and oshea was over in the other corner with kelly leaving no full back one side:!: what a tw@t. And waht was even more stupid was the slovaks didnt capitalise on it.
Just waiting for EB to come on and say this results still means we can qualify....etc etc.
onceahoop
09/09/2007, 5:01 PM
McShane was at fault for the first goal. Was ball watching and lost his man. He really is very raw although you could say he keeps it simple at times. Can't fault his committment and you would expect him to improve.
09/09/2007, 5:49 PM
McShane was at fault for the first goal. Was ball watching and lost his man. He really is very raw although you could say he keeps it simple at times. Can't fault his committment and you would expect him to improve.
McShane had a part to play in the first goal but I think it is unfair to single him out. Carsley could have attacked the ball at the front post and Kelly should have stayed on the line.
Noelys Guitar
09/09/2007, 6:27 PM
No blame attached to Stan. According to Stan! Why bring on Douglas? We desperately needed someone like Reid (or Hunt)to get on the ball, invite tackles and fall around getting free kicks (which both are clever enough to do). They would have killed the game. They are match fit, and playing well for their clubs. Whereas Douglas is not getting his game for a league 1 club and might be moving to Walsall!
09/09/2007, 9:01 PM
The first goal was actually a well executed set piece, credit where it's due. I think Carsley should have attacked the ball but the guy probably would still have made the flick and those flicks are difficult to defend against. Classic George Graham set piece.
mrtndvn
09/09/2007, 9:06 PM
I think we should accept that we are a nation of chokers and will continue to do so in most sports for the foreseeable future
Dunne was immense, a man of the match performance.
Was surprised at how shaky McShane was.
The substitutions cost us last night, we didn't have the players on the pitch.
conlonn
09/09/2007, 10:24 PM
Sick after that game.
Jesus that game was there for the taking. Dominated the game for seventy mins. Oshea at fault for second goal totally, another s&ite performance by him. He is useless and should never play for Ireland again.
Why did Stan bring on Jonathon Douglas WHY WHY. I cannot understand that. Rest of the tram performed well. Doyles goal was top class. At least the performance was good, bit John O Shea has no cahunas, He has been Irelands worst player for three years and brings the whole team down. Get rid of him Stan although you wont because you have no cahunas either.
Nut I suppose no nobody died. Hopefully Wednesday will be better
craig7042
09/09/2007, 10:56 PM
glad slovakia scored the equaliser as it showed up just how bad ireland where last night. tactics being the main reason for this. players out of postion, subs etc... if we had won it it would have covered up just how bad we were.
You were GLAD slovakia equalised?? Grow up.
We didnt keep hold of the lead and of course thats a problem. We are short of top quality players and a lot of the team are still very young.
But the stupid talk about tactics from Dunphy really annoys me. Who cares which of the full backs play left or right? Has anyone got the guts to point out that Benitez put Finnan left back the other week at Liverpool?? Oh no...we just want to slag Stan for every little thing. Stan is simply mature enough to know that it depends on lots of factors why you put players in different positions. Its not just black and white. Remember Stan was a full back..maybe he knows something about those positions...? Maybe?? Perhaps?
At the end of the day we are short as a team. Thats the problem. NOt tactics or managers. Stan is doing okay..
Donal81
09/09/2007, 11:00 PM
I thought that O'Shea was at fault for the second equaliser (that hurts to write) rather than the introduction of Douglas. Why on earth didn't he get his body behind the 'tackle' that he made before the Slovak scored? He and Kilbane were particularly awful last night.
Not to detract from the silliness of the Douglas substitution. He isn't the worst player in the world and has played well for us in the past and shouldn't be blamed for being the substitute. It was Stan's call and I just cannot understand it. I just can't think of one tactical benefit Stan envisaged taking place as a result of Douglas. And Gibson, for that matter. Both were pointless substiutions that killed us.
craig7042
09/09/2007, 11:13 PM
I think we should accept that we are a nation of chokers and will continue to do so in most sports for the foreseeable future
Yeh thats a great comment. Real positive and factual. Thanks!
mrtndvn
10/09/2007, 2:51 AM
very factual actually.
there was slovakia the other day, all those leads thrown away under Kerr, Spain in the world cup, Belgium in the play offs before that....
Rugby: France in the 6 nations, the 6 nations before that... Even Munster made hard work of the European cup.
boxing: Bearnard Dunne
Its an Irish mentality, we don't believe we're good enough, until we get other this well never win anything
We used to be fairly clutchy back in Charltons time, not missing any penalty in the shootout with Romania and never losing to Engerland in the 5 times we played them. I miss those days, each manager we have gotten since Charlton has gotten progressively worse, which makes me fear what the hell are we going to get as manager after Staunton
billydoneit
10/09/2007, 7:55 AM
INot to detract from the silliness of the Douglas substitution. He isn't the worst player in the world and has played well for us in the past and shouldn't be blamed for being the substitute. It was Stan's call and I just cannot understand it. I just can't think of one tactical benefit Stan envisaged taking place as a result of Douglas. And Gibson, for that matter. Both were pointless substiutions that killed us.
Why was douglas even in the squad? I want to give stan a chance but for f**ks sake, it's getting harder..........Got one half of double up anyway, forza latvia:D
youngirish
10/09/2007, 9:30 AM
I though Kilbane had a decent game on saturday to be honest by the standards set by the Ireland team anyway. His runnign with the ball won us a few free kicks and provided a break for our defenders against the Slovakian onslaught on our goal that seemed to be a feature of the match. The midfield otherwise was dire. They created nothing for the strikers (Doyle's goal was pure magic). McGeady in particular was rubbish. He's not good enough and shouldn't be near the starting lineup. Carsley was quite poor also (he kept giving the ball back to the Slovaks).
As for O'Shea. How does he still after all this time and all his mistakes find his way into the team? He was absolutely shocking as usual. The worst Irish regular I've ever had the misfortune to watch by a distance. He adds absolutely nothing in every performance.
Look at the games he's cost us by his mistakes:
The Swiss away (Euro 2004)
Israel at home
The Czechs at home
Slovakia away
10/09/2007, 9:43 AM
another thing that i noticed and that really fecked me off, was carsley was crap and he just walked off without a care, not even bothering to applaud the fans etc.
10/09/2007, 9:48 AM
Yeh thats a great comment. Real positive and factual. Thanks!
www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com
craig you should add that link to your sig instead of having to post it in every thread
10/09/2007, 9:53 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if we got a result in Prague on Wednesday as nothing Stan seems to do has any logic to it.
Tipp Townie
10/09/2007, 10:15 AM
Most of it has probably already been said, but here are my thoughts:
Dunne- didnt think he had as good a game as some on here? But still one of our most reliable performers. Agree that he should be captain, generally i just don't see the point in having a striker as a captain. I think RobbieK would do well to be able to just concentrate on his own game too, rather than having the responsiblity of leading the lads. But am i mistaken, or did JOSH get given the armband when RobbieK went off against Denmark? While Dunne was still on the pitch???
Kilbane- far too easy a target for some on here; not sure i'd pick him to start but i thought he had a pretty good game really. Thought he was more effective than McGeady, unfortunately. I dont think his effort can ever be faulted, even if the skill comes up short.
Full backs- i figure the out-of-position thing was because Stan wanted two of our more inexperienced lads to be covered by two of our 'more' experienced. Otherewise we would have had Kelly and McGeady on the right, which could have been disasterous? Its kind of a negative tactic, but if you leave out Kilbane, his replacement on the flanks is still going to be either fairly inexperienced and/or defensively lightweight?
Doyle- not a great game, but what a goal! Grew in confidence after; hopefully that'll kick-start his season.
Subs- just unbelieveable. Again, i think its already been said. The situation looked pretty identical to when we played them in Dublin; Slovakia looked decent enough going forward, but pretty shaky at the back. At Croker both Hunt and Long came on and that took pressure off our defence. There might have been a case for Long to come on instead of Murphy, but what i really cannot understand is why Douglas came on instead of Hunt??? The Gibson sub is more debatable perhaps, but i thought Reid should have started anyway.. either way i thought we were crying out for someone to put their foot on it. With Reid so on-form you have to feel for him. Baffling.
Still gutted this morning. And yet we're still not out... Its torture.
RiffRaff
10/09/2007, 10:31 AM
I thought Dunne had a great game but there is something about him which doesnt seem to inspire the players around him like McGrath, Moran or McCarthy. I've seen the defence at Ireland and Man City disintigrate on occasions. Hopefully McShane will develop into a better leader.
cobra
10/09/2007, 10:31 AM
It wouldn't surprise me if we got a result in Prague on Wednesday
At least now on Wednesday we have to try and win and no point sitting back where as had we beaten the slovaks, stan would have all men behind the ball looking for a draw and we would probably get hammered so hopefully that slovak result turns out a blessing. Dont know why but have that feeling we are going to win on Wed night.
youngirish
10/09/2007, 10:37 AM
At least now on Wednesday we have to try and win and no point sitting back where as had we beaten the slovaks, stan would have all men behind the ball looking for a draw and we would probably get hammered so hopefully that slovak result turns out a blessing. Dont know why but have that feeling we are going to win on Wed night.
Amen to that. If there's one sure thing to come out of the result on Saturday is taht now we won't be starting with a team aiming at securing the draw (as I'm sure Staunton would have done). If this was the case I think we woudl be far mroe likely to be beaten.
The lack of the win on Saturday measn we've no choice but to go for all three points from the off. The only problem is our team under both Stan and Kerr before him keep trying to hang on when they get a goal in front (even early in the game) and I can't see us managing this against the Czechs.
Another draw I reckon with us going a goal ahead as per usual then giving away the lead.
10/09/2007, 10:41 AM
At least now on Wednesday we have to try and win and no point sitting back1 up front so. :D
McGinty
10/09/2007, 10:47 AM
disappointed after saturday like the rest of you, thought the worst thing that could have happened was us scoring so early, we hadnt a clue what to do
i'll say it yet again though, Stephen Kelly is one of the worse defenders i've seen in a green jersey (yes, including JOS, Harte et al). hes a nightmare yet stan seems to have a huge horn for him, how does this guy ever get near the team bus, even with our injury problems he should have been left at home
everything else has already been said in this thread, i have this horrible sense of disappointment but i knew this moment would come since the cyprus game..... how could we ever expect to beat the Slovaks or Cechs in their back yard when we couldnt beat a scrappy Cyprus side in Nicosia...
cobra
10/09/2007, 10:58 AM
how could we ever expect to beat the Slovaks or Cechs in their back yard when we couldnt beat a scrappy Cyprus side in Nicosia...
Germany couldnt win in Nicosia either and hopefully the Czechs will struggle to when they go out there too.
WembleyGreen
10/09/2007, 11:21 AM
Yeah and pigs will fly and we'll all find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!
Dream on Cobra I admire your optimism but time for a reality check even if that did happen it won't matter as it's their last game anyway. We have to play Germany and Wales. Both of these countries are more than capable of beating us. The Czechs still have to play the Slovaks and The Slovaks have 2 games against San Marino. It's not a case of us qualfying anymore it's a case of finishing above Slovakia. Think seedings and the optimism turns quickly to despair!
cobra
10/09/2007, 11:52 AM
Yeah and pigs will fly and we'll all find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!
Dream on Cobra I admire your optimism but time for a reality check even if that did happen it won't matter as it's their last game anyway. We have to play Germany and Wales. Both of these countries are more than capable of beating us. The Czechs still have to play the Slovaks and The Slovaks have 2 games against San Marino. It's not a case of us qualfying anymore it's a case of finishing above Slovakia. Think seedings and the optimism turns quickly to despair!
I want to think positive especially when I am going to Prague Wed morning. The czechs have to go to germany yet, have to play slovakia( a derby and the slovaks can still make it) and go to cyprus which will not be easy and play us:D. I would not rule out Slovaks for 2nd place
Thats such a losers attitude, granted the odds are against us, but to say its not about qualifying anymore is foolish, the bookies have Ireland at 23/5 to qualify and the Czechs are 1/10, so giving the bookies usual margin for profit our actual chances of qualifying are somewhere between 23/5 and 10/1(ignoring odds of Slovakia which are negligible) probably around 15/2, unlikely but there is still a slim chance.
If you are 100% sure Ireland won't qualify then why not bet everything on the Czechs qualifying, you would make a 10% profit.
I want to think positive especially when I am going to Prague Wed morning. The czechs have to go to germany yet, have to play slovakia( a derby and the slovaks can still make it) and go to cyprus which will not be easy and play us:D. I would not rule out Slovaks for 2nd place
Nah the Slovaks have virtually no chance but you can get 54-1 on Slovaks qualifying if you fancy them
Closed Account 2
10/09/2007, 1:22 PM
I think the Czechs won't beat Cyprus in Nicosia - in fact I think they might be defeated. But I think we will draw in Prague, and wont win against the Germans and probably will draw in Wales, so overall the Czechs will still go thru.
Ozymandias
10/09/2007, 1:46 PM
the czechs beat slovakia in slovakia ..Germany Beat them ...scores were 4-1 and 3-0 something we didn't do particualrly dissappointing when you see they were there for the taking
In four away games in this group we have four points...that is terrible when you look at the fact we played both San Marino and Cyprus in two of them. Our only win is against San Marino. How can we expect to beat the czechs
germany 1-0
Cyprus 5-2 (Still cant believe i wrote five there)
San Marino 1-2
Slovakia 2-2
People can talk all they want about the number of games withouit a loss but the above is dire reading in fairness
I think the Czechs won't beat Cyprus in Nicosia - in fact I think they might be defeated. But I think we will draw in Prague,
I would be thinking on them lines too and thats only 2 points gained leaving them on 19pts, taking it germany beats them(even a draw)..Slovakia have wales at home, 2 games against san marino which you would expect them to win leaving them on 19pts..so the game between the czechs and slovakia could be 2nd place for the winners..The 54/1 Morbo mentions for slovakia qualifying is worth a few bob to me
10/09/2007, 2:04 PM
in fairness to oshea, that "chance" he got was from a very tight angle. It was by no means easy lads, dont know how it looked on the camera, but i thought he did well to get it across the box. it fell awkwardly for him too.
mackannovic
10/09/2007, 2:14 PM
As with all football the blame ultimately should fall on the managers head. Yes individuals didn't perform but at the end of the day thats the gaffers job, plain and simple. It's Stans job to get the players to perform if he can't do that he isn't doing his job.