View Full Version : GUFC 1 Drogheda 1

geezer
07/09/2007, 9:17 PM
another battling performance, Lester deservedly MOM what a thump for the goal ( a free kick for those in slovakia). Ref was blind in first half missing a very obvious handball after 5 minutes. First half wasnt great second half was entertaining. Drogheda went 1 up in the second half. The bite is definitely back in this team. Great for the 2374 crowd. I think we will put one over on rovers next week

manofthemoment
07/09/2007, 9:57 PM
Ya, Lester deserved the accolade. Derek and o'Flynn not far behind. On a negative note better stewarding needed in the new stand. There were a bunch of teens in the section i was in kept jumping over seats and running across the section behind the seats. As well as being a nuisance this could lead to a serious accident. Thats my grump over. Well worth the €15 tonight. Waterford, Bray and Longford only drew also so we didn't lose any ground

KevBGUFC
07/09/2007, 10:42 PM
Ref was blind in first half missing a very obvious handball after 5 minutes.

We've had Buttimer for the last 3 home games! It's time we were sent a new ref. He's abysmal at the best of times. Remember the Waterford game? I've never seen a ref have such a negative impact on the game!

That said, good game tonight, esp. 2nd half. Lester must have been reading the GUST forum and wants to prove he's worth his place :D

eamo1
07/09/2007, 11:09 PM
drogheda werent great really,wasnt impressed by them,maybe was expecting too much.they are big and physical but apart from baker they had no creativity.
for ourselves though i thought keane did great especially as he was left 2 on 1 down his flank in the first half coz derek wasnt tracking back.vinny was excellent when he came on and russell too.
i was going to have a moan too about teens in the stand who havent a notion of watching the game and keeping getting out of their seats and disturbing everyone around them.and the cheeky replies from them when they were told to stop.
i also seen a confrontation at the gate between a security guard and a fan coz the guard wanted the man to remove the cap from his bottle he was carrying.the mans friend got thick with the guard and the guard wasnt having it-so was nearly as entertaining off the field tonight as on it in the second half:).
that ref is a complete joke,an embarassment to the league.
5 unbeaten now,WE ARE STAYING UP.

GuisaSaigon
08/09/2007, 10:49 AM
Happy for Lester, he's had to put up with some negative rubbish this season, but he is really proving his worth now. Whole team were excellent full of passion. I'm a bit pis$ed off with only a point. Drogs were lucky not to lose.
Fair play to the lads who came down to the "standing room only" night in Fibbers, great craic.

Paddyfield
08/09/2007, 6:52 PM
Match report /drivel from official Drogheda United website..........

Friday 7 September 2007, Terryland Park, Kick Off 7:45

Galway United - Rogers,Nootimeyer,Keane,O'Halloran,Fitzgerald,Lest er,Cooke,Glynn,O'Flynn,Murphy,O'Brien

Drogheda United - Dan Connor, Brian Shelley, Simon Webb, Graham Gartland, Jason Gavin, Stuart Byrne (Paul Keegan 51), Richie Baker, Shane Robinson, Eamon Zayed, Guy Bates (Aidan O'Keeffe 80), Ollie Cahill. Subs not used: Tony Grant, Mikko Vilmunen, John Tambouras.

Sorry bout delayed report - Server down.

The Drogs roared back to top from last night in Terryland Park when all the tentative play of the last few weeks was forgotten and all the the positive things returned. Richie Baker made a brilliant return to form on the right and we had some glimpses of the form that made Ollie Cahill Eircom League player of the year last year. Ollie , as you know has been dogged by injuries this year, but he's now back to his best.

So, Richie came in on the right and Ollie on the left and Guy Bates made a telling impression in his first start. Otherwise Garto and Jason continued at the back and Robbo and Stewie continued in the middle. And straight from the start, this was a different Drogs - no tentative play in the middle or at the back, no backing off, and we delivered the ball swiftly and precisely as we know we can and .......everything as different in a positive way. And straight away the value of Richie on the right was clear...his telling deliveries and intelligent play and his aerial ability were a delight to watch and in the first half he combined well with Shellyer and Robbo to deliver a series of crosses and corners in the first half which created many chances and a series of desperate clearances and near misses prevented us from taking the lead.

The ploy of two big men up front was working well and the Galway defence were under pressure from the third minute whne Bates just failed to get onto the end of a great Garto cross ball from defence. Stuart and Robbo were mopping up everything well in the middle and the back four showed some the decisiveness which was lacking in the last few matches. Eamon, of course just keeps improving and how he didn't score last night I'll never know. Dan did everything superbly and when we came under pressure in the closing 15 minutes , he showed why he is the best keeper in the country with a string of great saves. So, despite all our first half pressure and a Guy Bates shot on 38 which struck the bar, we went in at 0-0.

And the second half was not long underway when Paul Keegan replaced the injured Stuart Byrne, but we didnt let up , indeed Keego gave us an extra attacking dimension and we pressed on and on 63 after some sustained pressure, Eamon laid the ball off to Guy on the edge of the box and he drilled an unstoppable into the corner for a deserved lead goal. And as time ticked on as Galway made efforts to get back into it we had a series of frees awarded against us which were not in the rules of soccer and on 70 from a free awarded against us in the middle former Drogs John Lester drilled in the equaliser (a poorly set up wall didn't help). It was a bit of a blow but we did not let up. Aidan O'Keeffe replaced Bates and in a piece of unbelievable foot ball magic, Ollie put Aidan through but Gary saved well with his feet. And we had more unusual frees awarded, one of which was a John Lester tackle on Aidan O'Keeffe from behind for which he was awarded not a yellow card , but a free, but the most bizarre was when Eamon was tackled by two Galway players near the half way line and had a free awarded against him !. Aidan was replaced by Tony after the Lester tackle - lets hope his injury is not serious.

And so it went, Galway pressed and we held firm for a valuable point and were unlucky not to sneak a winner. But ........a good point and we're back to form !!

eamo1
09/09/2007, 12:36 AM
what a load of rubbish.that this is on their offical site too makes it more funny or should that be sad.what a load of biased crap though,what about our chances,what about our penos,what about......oh never mind.

Paddyfield
09/09/2007, 8:47 AM
what a load of rubbish.that this is on their offical site too makes it more funny or should that be sad.what a load of biased crap though,what about our chances,what about our penos,what about......oh never mind.

...and the official GUFC website is never biased!!!

There were FOUR blatant handball incidents in the game - two for each team. At times, it was like a basketball match. The ref let us off the hook twice but he did likewise for Drogs.

I expected a bigger crowd of visiting supporters from the club that are top of the league. Dundalk brought four or five times that amount last year when we were only in the First Division. Drogheda have some great individual players but I wonder if they can sustain it as they are getting relatively small crowds of 1500 to 2000 for a team that is destined for league honours in a few months.

corbyeire
09/09/2007, 11:00 AM
great result, good performance all round - was put in my place by lester - before the free kick i was saying how when he signed he was meant to be good with the dead ball etc. - and how he in fairness has worked hard of late - but still hasn't managed to hit a ball true in ages.............BANG! what a screamer - hands up there lester - cracking strike

thought there was a bit of handball control for drogs goal as the striker broke into the box

there is plenty of fight and spirit in GUFC that wasnt to be seen there 2 months ago

lets go and beat rovers in tolka!

corbyeire
09/09/2007, 11:13 AM
oh yea those kids were fairly annoying - am in the new stand for the great view and those eejits were up and down in the middle of corners etc. - they have no interest in the match at all really

Tir Oilean
09/09/2007, 12:52 PM
What a fcuking report! Our official site is always very objective i fairness. Its not even worthy of being called a report. Drogs are poor and weve matched them every time this season.

Square Heir
09/09/2007, 4:13 PM
On the evidence of the last month or so Utd should be good to avoid the drop. Looks like the back 4 is nearly there. Fitz signing and Keane returning have been massive additions. I think Rogers is coming on leaps and bounds under the guidance of Goughie.
Wasn't inspired by utd's play going forward, but i'm sure that will come with time. Definately need to sign left and right sided 'out and out' wingers for next season. And a good striker. What chance of luring Mooney from Longford?!
Also Match day in Terryland has been a merry-go-round for hormonal teenagers for as long as I can remember.... agreed it's quite annoying. How's about assembling a large cage next to the club house? Could be stocked with clearasil & biactol to lure them in.....

pixiehead
09/09/2007, 5:50 PM
Happy with a point alright. Still think we are lacking up front.
On other matters Good night in Fibbers but not a great turn out. Fair play to the players who showed up!!! Anyway i think everyone that was there made the most of it :D and im looking forward to the nxt one already ;). (some Super dancing to be seen)

Con-Con
09/09/2007, 10:41 PM
My first post here it goes.....

I think they played really well and I think they might have deserved more than the one point.Lester's goal was top class and he deserved it,and why wasn't Wes playing against Sligo he maid the rest of them look like real aratures.I also think the reason we're lacking up front is a lot of the time hoof it up to Glynn who's normally the smallest player on the pitch and he can't get a hold of it that much.

eamo1
09/09/2007, 10:58 PM
that report was taking the pi** IMO.
keane is a future galway utd captain by the way,we have a new "quirkey" at the galway utd after an absence of a couple of years:).

Paddyfield
09/09/2007, 11:10 PM
My first post here it goes.....

I think they played really well and I think they might have deserved more than the one point.Lester's goal was top class and he deserved it,and why wasn't Wes playing against Sligo he maid the rest of them look like real aratures.I also think the reason we're lacking up front is a lot of the time hoof it up to Glynn who's normally the smallest player on the pitch and he can't get a hold of it that much.

Welcome ConCon.

I think we will see a lot more of Glynn next year. Barry Moran is out of contention lately; I wonder if he will be here next season?

GuisaSaigon
10/09/2007, 8:40 AM
It's hard to take anything on the Drogs website seriously. I'd say the webmaster is a bit fond of the gargle, and hits the keyboard after the pub;)

corbyeire
10/09/2007, 8:40 AM
hopefully not! (re moran) mind you i dont hold out much hope on vinny doing great things so i think UTD will have to buy a striker or 2 in the winter

WoodquayBoy
10/09/2007, 1:28 PM
We need a creative midfielder, but not 2 wingers as we have wonl just he is played out of position. Why not go ape altogether and play Derek on the right:eek:. Then he won't have to come inside on his stronger right foot all the time.
Think Derek Glynn has been poor the last few games I have seen, but agree, the defence looks solid right now. We're getting there, would be super to get Mooney next seaosn, priority has to bge a cracking, big striker as, with 3 going down next year, we'll need a few goals.
As for the Drogs report, thought Ollie Cahill was anonymous. Baker did have a good game, but if that is Drogheda at their fluent best, how the hell are they top of the Premier Division?

DonO'Bate
13/09/2007, 12:37 AM
We've had Buttimer for the last 3 home games! It's time we were sent a new ref. He's abysmal at the best of times. Remember the Waterford game? I've never seen a ref have such a negative impact on the game!

That said, good game tonight, esp. 2nd half. Lester must have been reading the GUST forum and wants to prove he's worth his place :D

Wrong Buttimer didn't ref Waterford game, a tosser called Towney did, agree with other post we must sign Mooney for next season, GUFC forever, Stan Out, Cousins In.