View Full Version : GUFC v Drogheda

Tir Oilean
03/09/2007, 8:13 PM
Well I'm gonna go for a home win here. TC was ****ed by his old collagues comments about Utd after the last meeting of the two sides. So I reckon he'll have the lads well fired up. We werent that far off them when we played them in Terryland earlier in the season. Its time for revenge! Come on United!:ball:

Tir Oilean
03/09/2007, 8:15 PM
Mind you UCD have just taken the lead in United Park so they might be fired up themselves!

KoemansCC
03/09/2007, 8:19 PM
UCD have just taken the lead against them, it'll be a tough game but any result will do, I reckon 8 more points from the remaining games will see us safe...pity I'll be missing the game as I'll be in Slovakia :(:D

KoemansCC
03/09/2007, 8:20 PM
Mind you UCD have just taken the lead in United Park so they might be fired up themselves!

Typical, I backed the Draw HT/Drogs FT at 3.75...

Tir Oilean
03/09/2007, 8:29 PM
Typical, I backed the Draw HT/Drogs FT at 3.75...

Well they could come back you know still another 15mins in it.

KoemansCC
03/09/2007, 8:31 PM
Well they could come back you know still another 15mins in it.

Ah who are you kidding TO, they're not GUFC :p

Gaillimh Al
03/09/2007, 9:19 PM
We werent that far off them when we played them in Terryland earlier in the season.

We were 2-0 down in no time and only got back into it when they had Byrne sent off, and still managed to lose. :confused:

damoGUFC
03/09/2007, 9:27 PM
Another tough test for United on Friday. Lets hope they stay unbeaten for another while anywayz! im goin for a United win...2-1. thats a Galway United win!

Tir Oilean
03/09/2007, 10:01 PM
We were 2-0 down in no time and only got back into it when they had Byrne sent off, and still managed to lose. :confused:

I know but our play that night was pretty good if I remember correctly. Plus I reckon we have a stronger squad now.

eamo1
03/09/2007, 11:22 PM
the last time we played them at home at the start of the season was one of the best games i can remember in a long time.great atmosphere,great tempo to the game and from being 2-0 down to get it back to 2-2 was brilliant.the roar when murph equalised was something else.then again,the silence when zayed scored at the death was also something else.
my prediction is a draw.g.u have been great for draws this season in the bookies,another handy few quid made last friday night at 11/4 for the draw.
longford are making an unreal late bid for survival,u.c.d won tonight too so the pressure is still piling up despite our unbeaten run.

Claret Murph
04/09/2007, 6:42 AM
I will go for a win here too , I see Glynn scoring in the 80th minute and winning 1-0

ooohh yer can someone text Koemans the scores as I will be in the same coffee shop , sorry bar as him ........

MyTown
04/09/2007, 9:23 AM
College saved themselves last night IMO. There may well be a Drogheda back lash on Friday, following their two dismal Monday night performances.

Having used Grant as a sub for most of the season, Doolin started him against us and promptly withdrew him as the game progressed. Also, local support was forever on the backs of Keddy and Whelan.

So the good news is that all is not well in the Drogheda camp. The bad news is they're not so far ahead in the table without showing more ability and back bone than any of the other 11 teams. So the questions for us are:

Are we ready for it?

Are we 'up' for it?

I certainly hope so and will be giving the lads as much support as I can on the night. I expect to hear all of you heading for Bratislava & Prague shouting loudly enough to be heard in Terryland. :D

04/09/2007, 11:29 AM
I tipped us to get 4 out of 6 in the Cork and Drogheda games and im not going to change now. Tony just needs to remind the players of Doolins comments about us after the Game in United Park.

Only change could see Murph heading to the bench although Daryl wasnt great against Cork he had a family bereavement the week before and was in England all week. Im raging im missing this one as I expect a cracker with Galway making Doolin eat his words and Droghedas Bubble to Burst.

corbyeire
04/09/2007, 3:33 PM
it would be sweet to win this one - get them back for the 3-2 - god i was so sick that day leaving terryland - the buzz was great then

id say why not beat them - we have been riding our luck a bit away from home - the monkey is off the back - so why not put in a good performance and win at home

Paddyfield
04/09/2007, 3:40 PM
Tony just needs to remind the players of Doolins comments about us after the Game in United Park..

What did Doolin say?

04/09/2007, 4:11 PM
Tut Tut and where do you work.

pixiehead
04/09/2007, 4:48 PM
Ya What did Doolin say?? :confused:

04/09/2007, 6:14 PM
ooohh yer can someone text Koemans the scores as I will be in the same coffee shop , sorry bar as him ........

no problem

JC_GUFC
04/09/2007, 9:18 PM
Doolin said that Drogheda dominated that game and that no-one could honestly say that we deserved anything out of the game.

There's a whole other thread debating whether we deserved anything from it though....

Gavin Whelan is a very average player on their rightside. When he was taken off and Shane Robinson was put on the right it resulted in their first goal.
I'd be surprised if Robinson doesn't start on the right on Friday but I think we're high in confidence at the moment and could get at least a point.

Flano
05/09/2007, 6:20 AM
Hope I'm wrong but I've a bad feeling about Friday night and think we'll suffer a Drogheda backlash.

Bottom line is we're not really that good - just an average side with limited options up front and pretty solid across the back.

Reckon Drogheda to win 2-0 - hope I'm wrong

Tir Oilean
05/09/2007, 10:47 AM
According to soccerbot.com's prediction of the league table we are are only going to get 6 points before the end of the season and finish fourth from bottom. We've got 9 games left and we'll definitely get more than 6pts from 18 to play for. Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?

WoodquayBoy
05/09/2007, 11:29 AM
Tir Oilean, it is 3 point for a win so there is still 27 points left to play for, not 18. Not sure where we will get much more than 6 points from, but a 9th place finish would be fine and dandy

05/09/2007, 11:34 AM
Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?Bray v Derry and UCD v Cork.

Drogheda were poor on Monday so you might get something out of them.

Tir Oilean
05/09/2007, 11:51 AM
Tir Oilean, it is 3 point for a win so there is still 27 points left to play for, not 18. Not sure where we will get much more than 6 points from, but a 9th place finish would be fine and dandy

Thanks for highlighting my mathematical shortcomings Woodquay Boy!

And Shumi I know ye ( most UCD fans) dont agree with our presence in the League (under the circumstances) but we would be greatful if ye could do us a favour in that clash!:)

05/09/2007, 11:54 AM
tir were you on the beer UCD are Playing Cork !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tir Oilean
05/09/2007, 1:29 PM
tir were you on the beer UCD are Playing Cork !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jeez I'm havin a bad today work is disrupting my internet activities cant give them my full attention clearly!!!!!:(

05/09/2007, 4:04 PM
Just getting ready to head to Dublin for the flight to eastern europe tomorrow. We need everyone up for it Friday night and that includes the supporters who were brilliant against Sligo and all the away games. More of the same Friday night and the team will respon. Ill be listening in hopefully in an internet cafe if i can get one.

Paddyfield
05/09/2007, 9:19 PM
FROM DROGS OFFICIAL WEBSITE....

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Preview.asp?FixtureID=681

After our unexpected home defeat to UCD, we head West on Friday afternoon (what do you mean, 'you're not goin'?, if Johnny and the boys can drive to Helsingborgs, there's no possible excuse to miss any more away matches,) eager to make amends for this mini Euro 'hangover'. The manner of the UCD defeat showed a few tired limbs and in reality, UCD were more 'up' for it than we were, but as I've told yiz plenty of times already, that's fupall for yiz.

We will approach Galway in the same professional manner as always safe in the knowledge that we will have occasional dips in form in this momentous season and that our squad did not get bad overnight.

On the injury front we will have to mark Stuart Byrne and Shane Robinson as doubtful for the Galway trip. Stewie took a heavy knock on his shin and is extremely doubtful. Shane Robinson’s foot injury, incurred in the home game with Galway a few weeks ago, has still not cleared up and he was due for a CAT Scan today (Wednesday) to confirm the extent of the problem. I'll keep yiz posted.

The good news for the Drogs is that Richie Baker is back to full fitness and will probably make his return. Paul Doolin has already stated that the league is far from over and there will be no easy games in the title run-in.

Tony Cousins is a good manager etc etc etc (add cliches here as necessary), but the double incentive of making amends for the draw 2 weeks ago and the UCD display should prove irresistible. And irresistable is what we are !. See yiz above !! (or is it below? , or is it 'ithout ?) .

05/09/2007, 9:44 PM
Embarassing stuff from the Drogs website.

KoemansCC
05/09/2007, 11:13 PM
According to soccerbot.com's prediction of the league table we are are only going to get 6 points before the end of the season and finish fourth from bottom. We've got 9 games left and we'll definitely get more than 6pts from 18 to play for. Does anyone who Bray's game in hand is against? Derry, Cork or UCD?

No deal, I mean DEAL...**** off Noel Edmonds...

GuisaSaigon
06/09/2007, 8:31 AM
FROM DROGS OFFICIAL WEBSITE....

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Preview.asp?FixtureID=681

After our unexpected home defeat to UCD, we head West on Friday afternoon (what do you mean, 'you're not goin'?, if Johnny and the boys can drive to Helsingborgs, there's no possible excuse to miss any more away matches,) eager to make amends for this mini Euro 'hangover'. The manner of the UCD defeat showed a few tired limbs and in reality, UCD were more 'up' for it than we were, but as I've told yiz plenty of times already, that's fupall for yiz.

We will approach Galway in the same professional manner as always safe in the knowledge that we will have occasional dips in form in this momentous season and that our squad did not get bad overnight.

On the injury front we will have to mark Stuart Byrne and Shane Robinson as doubtful for the Galway trip. Stewie took a heavy knock on his shin and is extremely doubtful. Shane Robinson’s foot injury, incurred in the home game with Galway a few weeks ago, has still not cleared up and he was due for a CAT Scan today (Wednesday) to confirm the extent of the problem. I'll keep yiz posted.

The good news for the Drogs is that Richie Baker is back to full fitness and will probably make his return. Paul Doolin has already stated that the league is far from over and there will be no easy games in the title run-in.

Tony Cousins is a good manager etc etc etc (add cliches here as necessary), but the double incentive of making amends for the draw 2 weeks ago and the UCD display should prove irresistible. And irresistable is what we are !. See yiz above !! (or is it below? , or is it 'ithout ?) .

The usual illiterate sh!te from the Drogs website. I'd say the lads who commentate on Dundalk games on Dundalk FM, double as webmasters for the Drogs website!

Tir Oilean
06/09/2007, 9:09 PM
Jeez its eerily quiet on here today. The calm before the storm of tommorrow night.

Paddy Power odds for tomorrows game

Galway 11/4
Draw 21/10
Drogheda 10/11

pixiehead
06/09/2007, 11:09 PM
Jeez its eerily quiet on here today. The calm before the storm of tommorrow night.

Paddy Power odds for tomorrows game

Galway 11/4
Draw 21/10
Drogheda 10/11

Draw looks Quite tasty!!!

eamo1
06/09/2007, 11:42 PM
utd have been nicely priced for draws lately and vrs U.C.D,Drogs and Cork away ive won a handy bit of dough going for draws.id take the win tomorrow obviously but i hear richie baker is back to torment us again so ill go with a draw.

Tir Oilean
07/09/2007, 7:39 AM
No Robson tonight and I think he will be missed. Inthestand do you have the team!?! Think we'll get something from this game alright but its going to be tight and its not going to be the goal fest like the last two games against the Drogs

MyTown
07/09/2007, 9:18 AM
No Robson tonight and I think he will be missed. Inthestand do you have the team!?! Think we'll get something from this game alright but its going to be tight and its not going to be the goal fest like the last two games against the Drogs

Agree TO. I think Daryl had added a lot of ability and passion to our performances in recent weeks, so I hope some of the other lads will follow his lead tonight.

Apparently he's out due to a family bereavment, so my sympathies go to him and his family.

Best of luck tonight lads. Keep going to right to the final whistle.

corbyeire
07/09/2007, 10:40 AM
should be a nice crowd down with the fine day thats in it!!!

GuisaSaigon
07/09/2007, 10:45 AM
Yeah, looking forward to sipping some pear cider in the sunshine outside Fox's. Summer football at last:cool:

Tir Oilean
07/09/2007, 10:52 AM
Dont you think Mixed Fruits would be more appropriate Saigon!!

GuisaSaigon
07/09/2007, 11:03 AM
A combination of both fed through a drip would be ideal!

Bunny Kelly
07/09/2007, 3:53 PM
Is this game on the radio? And if so can you listen to it outside Ireland?

Trainee
07/09/2007, 4:20 PM
game will be live on galway bay fm from just after 8

u prob can listen to it on www.galwaybayfm.ie