View Full Version : Salou

17/06/2007, 8:02 PM
just thought iŽd log on and say hello been over here since tuesday heading back this tuesday a lot lighter in the wallet and with a lot less skin

inexile
28/08/2007, 9:09 PM
heading there on holidays next week, anyone know anything about the place, pubs, clubs etc?

16/07/2010, 2:20 PM
Hi everybody,

Did a search for this and without having to go through loads of different threads i could only find one specific Salou thread from years ago with no replies. If there is already one with details could someone point me in the right direction please.

Basically i'm thinking of heading over there in the next few weeks to maybe take in a bit of sun and the theme park. Can anybody suggest somewhere decent to stay for myself and herself? What are your impressions of the place and the theme park? Probably going to be flying Cork to Rues. Any help will be much appreciated cheers.

16/07/2010, 2:29 PM
Salou is grand if you're looking for cheap and cheerful. Have been a couple of times and had a ball both times.

Seach for the Cordoba Apartments. Just off a roundabout about 5 minutes from beach. You have your own garden/terrace and fully functioning kitchen. Should cost about €250 for the week.

Reus airport is literally 10 minutes away. You can get the local buses for about €2 and they'll drop you near enough to the door of your apartments/hotel

Go up to Barcelona for a day. You can get a bus for about €15 (loads of them) or you can go on the combined nou camp tour/3 hours in Barcelona city centre/montjuic fountains tour for about €28 (set times)

Portaventura is great. Look for deals around the town as you might get 2 for 1. Its worth every penny though. The "Furio" ride is superb.

The beaches are great but try and hit the smaller beach in Cap Salou if you're looking for a quieter area.

16/07/2010, 8:54 PM
Cheers Dodge,

I looked up that hotel but sadly it is booked out for the dates i want to travel. I have managed to get together flights and accommodation for €466pp for 1 week in August. Will probably book tomorrow. Flights with Ryanair from Cork and staying in Internacional II (http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g562814-d291895-Reviews-Internacional_II-Salou_Costa_Dorada_Catalonia.html) which seems to have good reviews as value for money. Only downside to the Hotel is they want a €100 deposit when you arrive that you get back when leaving. A few hotels seem to be looking for this so it must be common practice in Salou/Mainland Spain. Haven't been to mainland Spain in a while so not sure.

16/07/2010, 9:22 PM
Yeah, I think both places we went to in salou did it. handy enough as I look at it as car parking when we get home and money in theairport to spend

I actually stayed on that street the first time I went there. Its slightly up hill but at the top of it is that small beach i was posting about (there's loads of steps down to it). A bus goes right past your hotel. The street is made up of hotels, apartments and a couple of the side streets have pubs, restaurrents etc but nothign to write home about. There's a decent chinese we went to there too

At the bottom of the hill, when you turn left is the main street (Something like c/Carles Bugos) which has loads of bars, clubs, restaurents and tacky, tacky shops. Its now high brow but safe and busy. Continue walking down that and yo'll reach the nice treelined beach side street. Some lovely restaurents mix in witha McDonalds etc

Anyway, don't expect 5 star holidays and enjoy

16/07/2010, 9:49 PM
Ya i'm not expecting too much from the holiday. Just a week away with hopefully a good day or two out at portaventura theme park and a few more relaxing. Never that picky about the hotel once it is clean and not too out of the way.

Cheers again :good:

18/07/2010, 12:03 PM
Salou for a lads holiday, yay or nay?

EDIT: What is Girona like for a week's **** up?

18/07/2010, 3:50 PM
Salou for a lads holiday, yay or nay?

Depends on time of year. I'd sway towards nay. There's a few clubs there (a place called Shnoopys was the biggest when i went) but nothing too crazy.

Mates of mine went and had a great time about 4 years ago. Others went on a stag around October (few years ago) and nothing was open. If you went during the football season and combined a trip to a Barcelona game (as I've done) that'd make it alright for some lads. Drink is dirt cheap too.