View Full Version : League Cup Final Teams Confirmed

28/08/2007, 9:04 PM
City v Bohs.

Second year in a row we've had 2 big teams in the final, which is good for the League Cup.

I'd say a lot will hang on the choice/toss of venue in this one, but I think Bohs will pip it. City aren't up-to-speed yet.

28/08/2007, 9:06 PM
Second year in a row we've had 2 big teams in the final, which is good for the League Cup.5th and 7th in the league. Hardly 2 big teams this season tbh.

Saint MacDara
28/08/2007, 9:09 PM
It will be a full house anyway

What more can you ask for?

28/08/2007, 9:15 PM
5th and 7th in the league. Hardly 2 big teams this season tbh.

Dry yer eyes, ffs......:rolleyes:

28/08/2007, 9:37 PM
5th and 7th in the league. Hardly 2 big teams this season tbh.

Sleeping Giants. :p

LeixlipRed
28/08/2007, 9:46 PM
Jesus Steve, you don't stop for one minute do you :p

Aaron
28/08/2007, 9:53 PM
Our 17th final in 21 seasons, not bad.:)

Shiba
28/08/2007, 9:54 PM
[QUOTE=dcfcsteve;757324]City v Bohs.

[QUOTE]

Did Cork beat Bray last night in a league cup semi ? :confused: I thought it was a draw :confused:

That was a league game not league cup

lofty9
28/08/2007, 10:03 PM
City v Bohs.
City aren't up-to-speed yet.

I think we are unbeaten domestically since Robinson came in. Starting to play very well in stages. Morrow and McHugh are starting to gel into a great partnership. We'll be well up to speed by the time the final comes.

Aaron
28/08/2007, 10:11 PM
I think we are unbeaten domestically since Robinson came in. Starting to play very well in stages. Morrow and McHugh are starting to gel into a great partnership. We'll be well up to speed by the time the final comes.

Its seems to be a case of a game of 2 halfs with us at the minute. Poor in the first half and excellent in the 2nd. Robbo must give them a serious boot at half time:D

28/08/2007, 10:16 PM
That was a league game not league cup

:eek: He takin' the p!ss. He's just vexed that when people say Rovers they seldomly mean Shligo, so he's trying the same with Derry and Cork.

I think we are unbeaten domestically since Robinson

No idea who this Robinson person is, but if we're unbeaten since he got here, I think i like the guy.

lofty9
28/08/2007, 10:19 PM
No idea who this Robinson person is, but if we're unbeaten since he got here, I think i like the guy.

:D Robbo then, eagle eye!!;)

28/08/2007, 11:14 PM

We sounded poor in the first half tonight though - as we have a tendancy to do these days !

You can afford to be poor for a half against the likes of UCD or Bray (unless you're Cork, of course.... ;) . But Bohs are much more likely to punish us if we're asleep for half the game.

If it's in Dalymount, I'd make Bohs favourite. I'd make us favs if it's at the 'randy.

bohsmug
29/08/2007, 12:09 AM
If it's in Dalymount, I'd make Bohs favourite. I'd make us favs if it's at the 'randy.

100% agree.

Our home form is among the best in the league, still unbeaten. Our away form is best talked about when I'm not around. So for me the biggest thing wasn't who'd win tonight but whether we'd get a home draw or not.

Looking forward to it, could be a good game. Both Bohs and Derry may be good enough to challenge for a title next year but are way off the pace this season. This offers a great chance for both clubs for Setanta and a bit of Silverware. As I said, looking forward to it!

29/08/2007, 9:13 AM
Can anyone confirm where the final is to be played??

29/08/2007, 9:28 AM
Can anyone confirm where the final is to be played??

A toss of the coin decides. Apparently due to take place in next 2 days.

Fingers crossed for the 'randy...

Jaime
29/08/2007, 9:29 AM
Toss of a coin today or tomorrow I believe?

Whoever gets the home advantage should expect to win it.

Mad Moose
29/08/2007, 10:22 AM
Not a great game last night but McCourt was worth the admission fee alone much as it galls me to pay in to the Brandywell. He never fails to impress me and was his usual skilkul tricky self last night against UCD. What a goal that was. He beat about 4 or 5 players and slotted in from an impossible angle or seemingly impossible angle.

Good goal by Kevin McHugh as well. Where all good strikers should be he was in the 6 yard box to meet a lovely cross.

Never expected any other result. My last League of Ireland game for the forseeable future. Happy memories. Pity it was to see Derry City but there ya go.

29/08/2007, 2:48 PM
A toss of the coin decides. Apparently due to take place in next 2 days.

Fingers crossed for the 'randy...
Sometime today I believe.

29/08/2007, 4:05 PM
Sometime today I believe.

Really ?!?!?

Now you've got me all excited after a day full of problems......! :D

29/08/2007, 4:29 PM
Really ?!?!?

Now you've got me all excited after a day full of problems......! :D
So say BBC NI, so if they're wrong don't blame me for getting your hopes up.;)

29/08/2007, 6:56 PM
The final is to be held in the Brandywell :D

CharlesThompson
29/08/2007, 7:02 PM
Where did you hear that?

Aaron
29/08/2007, 7:07 PM
Board member on our forum

29/08/2007, 7:11 PM
lump on derry:)

29/08/2007, 7:51 PM
Brandywell to host eircom League of Ireland Cup final

The final of the eircom League of Ireland Cup will be held in the Brandywell Stadium on Tuesday October 9th. The venue was decided in a draw between the two clubs participating in the final, Derry City and Bohemians.

The match will kick-off at 8pm and will be broadcast live on Setanta Sports.

29/08/2007, 9:56 PM
Brandywell to host eircom League of Ireland Cup final

The final of the eircom League of Ireland Cup will be held in the Brandywell Stadium on Tuesday October 9th. The venue was decided in a draw between the two clubs participating in the final, Derry City and Bohemians.

The match will kick-off at 8pm and will be broadcast live on Setanta Sports.

There is a God......!!!!!!

YEEEESSSSSSS ! :D

btid1
30/08/2007, 10:07 AM
Thats the last two times now that Bohs have been in the League Cup final that we have lost the toss!!Grrrrr!!!!

30/08/2007, 10:12 AM
Thats the last two times now that Bohs have been in the League Cup final that we have lost the toss!!Grrrrr!!!!

Second time in-a-row that we've won the toss.

Hopefully third time in a row that we'll lift the trophy.......! :)

btid1
30/08/2007, 10:17 AM
Second time in-a-row that we've won the toss.

Hopefully third time in a row that we'll lift the trophy.......! :)

The only saving grace is that its on Setanta but I hate the fact that its a Tuesday night.Im sure this argument has been done to death but it really shows the importance the FAI attach to the competition that they put one of their showpiece finals on a Tuesday night!

I know the Derry fans will turn out in large numbers but it gives no consideration to travelling fans.

lofty9
30/08/2007, 10:35 AM
The only saving grace is that its on Setanta but I hate the fact that its a Tuesday night.Im sure this argument has been done to death but it really shows the importance the FAI attach to the competition that they put one of their showpiece finals on a Tuesday night!

I know the Derry fans will turn out in large numbers but it gives no consideration to travelling fans.

We brought 1,000+ to the League Cup Final in Belfield a few years ago. It was on Setanta and a Monday night game. No excuses.

30/08/2007, 11:09 AM
We brought 1,000+ to the League Cup Final in Belfield a few years ago. It was on Setanta and a Monday night game. No excuses.

Exactly. And it's not as if a League Cup Final was a novelty for City fans, whilst it will be for Bohs. You haven't won the trophy in over 25 years, and I don't think you've even been in a final since then, so that's reason enough alone for a decent travelling support..

So no excuses. We'll see who the Big Club is on 9th October...... :D :p

alltogethernow
30/08/2007, 11:18 AM
You haven't won the trophy in over 25 years, and I don't think you've even been in a final since then, so that's reason enough alone for a decent travelling support..

Longford in the league cup final under Farrelly.......Didnt end well though:(

headtheball
30/08/2007, 11:24 AM
Great stuff, hopefully we can use 11 men to win it this time instead of only 9 last season.:p

londonhoop
30/08/2007, 11:28 AM

Champions league final is on a wed night,do you think Uefa dont rank this as an important event?

btid1
30/08/2007, 11:43 AM
Champions league final is on a wed night,do you think Uefa dont rank this as an important event?

Thats a ridiculous comparison.Its not like CL games have a problem with small attendances where as the EL has.So how do we encourage a large attendance ?.......I know we will put it on a Tuesday night!!Genius!

To all the Derry fans saying there is no excuse for not travelling I want you all to come into my office and tell my boss that.Hes not that fond of giving time off for matches when you've no holidays left!!!

lofty9
30/08/2007, 11:45 AM
To all the Derry fans saying there is no excuse for not travelling I want you all to come into my office and tell my boss that.Hes not that fond of giving time off for matches when you've no holidays left!!!

When you are a fan of a big team you keep your annual leave for possible finals. ;)

30/08/2007, 12:12 PM

The boss of a fan of a Big Club would understand.

In fact - the boss would probably be going to the game himself..... :D

I remember in the 80's and 90's before we had floodlights at the Brandywell - the schools in Derry would have to shut for the afternoon when we had mid-week games on (European matches, friendlies) as too many of the kids and teachers wanted to go..... :eek:

btid1
30/08/2007, 1:05 PM
Unfortunately lads the big club religion has not spread as far as this office yet and like all major religions there are some doubters out there!!!!

30/08/2007, 3:29 PM
No harm having a Cup Final midweek but one team having home advantage is a farce. Finals should be at neutral venues.

This game could have been held in Longford. Almost 6,000 seats which would do and about equidistant for both sets of fans.

30/08/2007, 3:33 PM
No harm having a Cup Final midweek but one team having home advantage is a farce. Finals should be at neutral venues.

This game could have been held in Longford. Almost 6,000 seats which would do and about equidistant for both sets of fans.

How much does the new Athlone Stadium hold?

30/08/2007, 3:46 PM
How much does the new Athlone Stadium hold?

Think its only 3,000 Alan. And a one sided ground wouldnt be suitable for a domestic Cup Final anyway.

30/08/2007, 3:49 PM
Fair enough - agree with the Longford thing though.

But then again the FAI still played FAI Cup Finals involving Shels at Tolka...

red bellied
30/08/2007, 4:02 PM
Same in Sligo with Summerhill they were great days, superb craic all down with the uniforms to the game. Actually i remember one days it was Derry we played i think it was 0-0 or 1-1 and went to a second replay in the Brandywell.

That was early nineties. First game ended one one in the Brandywell, Ski getting the goal. Think the replay was two all. Derry won the toss for replay and won the last game two one. Remember my first afternoon match and St Johns school closing for the afternoon. It was a replay in the cup against UCD in 1982. UCD won three one, Brendan Bradley scored for Rovers.

30/08/2007, 4:41 PM

I agree that finals should be held at neutral venues, but Longford isn't even CLOSE to being equi-distant. Derrys nearly 160 miles away FFS, compare to Dublins 80 miles!!!.

Monaghan, it should be then :D

30/08/2007, 4:53 PM
I agree that finals should be held at neutral venues, but Longford isn't even CLOSE to being equi-distant. Derrys nearly 160 miles away FFS, compare to Dublins 80 miles!!!.

Monaghan, it should be then :D

Maybe not equidistant then but the only suitable ground in the midlands is Longfords. Maybe Galway then?

30/08/2007, 9:43 PM

As much as I love winning it, I don't think the League Cup warrants a neutral venue.

Putting that game in Longford on a Monday night would only attract a crowd of 2-3,000. If it had been in Dalyer I'd have expected 3-4,000, and 4,000+ at the Brandywell (depending on how many fans the Small Club bring with them :D)

Only giving the LC a Euro spot, shifting it to a weekend night - or possibly doing both - would create sufficient interest to get a decent crowd at a neutral venue.

30/08/2007, 9:44 PM
Maybe not equidistant then but the only suitable ground in the midlands is Longfords. Maybe Galway then?

Galway for a game with teams from Derry and Dublin...!?!?! :eek:

If it really had to be a neutral ground, Dundalk would probably make the most sense.

31/08/2007, 4:08 AM
Galway is a damn side more "equi-distant" (hate that word now :mad: ) for both sides than Longford though Steve. 160 or so miles from Derry, and 130 odd mile from Dublin

31/08/2007, 8:25 AM

KOHSligo or Dundalk only grounds remotely equidistant.

Galway means everyone travels further than they should.