View Full Version : Clive Clarke collapses

Gaillimh Al
28/08/2007, 8:16 PM
Forest v Leicester League Cup game abandoned as Clive Clarke collapses in dressing room at half-time and has to be taken to hospital in an ambulance.

Hope he's ok. Fella on Sky Sports News at least said he was conscious as he left the ground. Shocking.

Hibs4Ever
28/08/2007, 8:20 PM
Forest v Leicester League Cup game abandoned as Clive Clarke collapses in dressing room at half-time and has to be taken to hospital in an ambulance.

Hope he's ok. Fella on Sky Sports News at least said he was conscious as he left the ground. Shocking.

The seville player was consicious walking off the pitch at the weekend.

Fingers crossed

Gaillimh Al
28/08/2007, 8:26 PM
On the BBC website they're now saying it's "serious illness", whatever that means.

28/08/2007, 8:27 PM
hope the lad is ok. I've never heard of them abandoning a game at the interval because of illness. Hope it isn't anything serious.

Armando
28/08/2007, 8:31 PM
He's a Dublin lad isn't he? Please God it's not life threatening.

If anyone gets any new info, please keep us informed.

Gaillimh Al
28/08/2007, 8:32 PM
Supposedly the other Leicester players had to come back out of the dressing room as he was attneded too and the manager was having his team talk on the sideline. The 2nd half was pushed back 15 minutes, but it seems the Leicester players were too upset to carry on playing.

beautifulrock
28/08/2007, 8:35 PM
shocking news following on from what we seen in Spain. Fingers crossed.

28/08/2007, 8:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/league_cup/6963502.stm

Sligo Hornet
28/08/2007, 8:45 PM
shocking news following on from what we seen in Spain. Fingers crossed.

And that poor QPR lad killed in the car crash!!....seems to be bad news around every corner at present!:(

qwertyui
28/08/2007, 8:47 PM
Jeeze lads this is scary stuff. Hope he's ok. Is it just me or has this only started to happen recently? Cormac MacAnallen was the first i can remember then marc vivien foe, a young irish rugby player in south africa i think? It's just crazy

28/08/2007, 9:31 PM
i got a gift of a World Soccer magazine last year which featured a list of the players this has happened to in soccer. Ill see if i can root it out and post it up. This is a phenomenon that has increased in regularity over the last 10 years it seems to me...

hope to god Clarke is alright.

Seagull
28/08/2007, 9:46 PM
He's a Dublin lad isn't he? Please God it's not life threatening.

If anyone gets any new info, please keep us informed.

He's from Wicklow- he's on loan from Sunderland afaik. Hope he's ok...

CraftyToePoke
28/08/2007, 10:03 PM
was listening to this one on bbc leicester, seems it got very serious very quickly, he walked off at h.t. with the rest and down the tunnel, and soon after the leicester coaches came running out looking for the on duty medical crew.

he collapsed in the dressing room, and according to reports on the radio, did lose conciousness and did at one point stop breathing and needed mouth to mouth and a de-fibulator (spelling?) to revive him,

he had however, regained his senses and was talking to those around him by the time they put him in the ambulance.last report i heard he was being treated in A+E in a nottingham hospital and had at this point not been put in intensive care or the like.

both managers came out to announce the game was off to the crowd but leicester boss Allen was too distressed to speak, and it seems he was bawling his eyes out at what he had wittnessed.

horrific stuff, lets hope this is as bad as this story gets.

Topman
28/08/2007, 10:22 PM
http://www.skysports.com/video/0,20285,12606_2692221,00.html

Just hope is ok.

28/08/2007, 10:27 PM
****. So soon after the Sevilla players too. Hope to God he's ok.

28/08/2007, 11:34 PM
Manager Speaks
Posted on: Tue 28 Aug 2007

I have just left the hospital in Nottingham with Dave Rennie and Damien Doyle after visiting Clive Clarke.

We do not know how it happened or why it happened, but at this moment in time he is sitting up absolutely exhausted and very grateful to our medical team.

It would be wrong at this moment in time to enter into anymore details until further tests have been carried out.

Lastly, I must say Dave Rennie and Damien Doyle were absolutely outstanding in coping and dealing with what was a traumatic and difficult situation.

We are lucky both members of staff were on hand at such a difficult and testing time.

Take care,

Martin

co. down green
28/08/2007, 11:53 PM
Manager Speaks
Posted on: Tue 28 Aug 2007

I have just left the hospital in Nottingham with Dave Rennie and Damien Doyle after visiting Clive Clarke.

We do not know how it happened or why it happened, but at this moment in time he is sitting up absolutely exhausted and very grateful to our medical team.

It would be wrong at this moment in time to enter into anymore details until further tests have been carried out.

Lastly, I must say Dave Rennie and Damien Doyle were absolutely outstanding in coping and dealing with what was a traumatic and difficult situation.

We are lucky both members of staff were on hand at such a difficult and testing time.

Take care,

Martin

Encouraging news that he is now sitting up & conscious.

He seems to have been very lucky to have experienced medical people round him.

Forest chief executive summed it up pretty well "I think football is secondary to human issues.

Paddy Garcia
29/08/2007, 8:30 AM
Suspected heart attack.

29/08/2007, 8:41 AM
Jeeze lads this is scary stuff. Hope he's ok. Is it just me or has this only started to happen recently? Cormac MacAnallen was the first i can remember then marc vivien foe, a young irish rugby player in south africa i think? It's just crazy

It happened to my best mate too...

Fcuking hate hearing stories like that, especially seeing as i know Clive to say hello to.

Thanks god he seems ok now though, fair play to all involed in helping Clive.

MyTown
29/08/2007, 9:20 AM
By all accounts Nottingham Forest who were hosting the game did a brilliant job reacting quickly to the scenario as it unfolded and agreeing quickly to a cancellation of the match when they were 1-0 up.

Best wishes to Clive for a full recovery

livehead1
29/08/2007, 9:38 AM
On local news this morning his heart stopped twice but staff were superb and reacted very quickly. All sides were in agreement to cancel the match. I have a few friends at the game, one of whom had a go at a few forest fans who felt Leicester wanted to cancel the game because they were 1-0 and by all accounts Forest had been by far the better side. That said, in their defence, those present at the ground would not have been furnished with the full facts as the event occurred in the dressing room. There were also a few chants from the Forest fans doing the rounds which is quite dissapointing.

antrimgreen
29/08/2007, 9:50 AM
Fair play to all those involved in his medical attention and the club in their prompt reaction to cancel the game, hopefully he makes a 100% recovery, good luck Clive.

29/08/2007, 10:27 AM
i got a gift of a World Soccer magazine last year which featured a list of the players this has happened to in soccer. Ill see if i can root it out and post it up. This is a phenomenon that has increased in regularity over the last 10 years it seems to me...

hope to god Clarke is alright.
Miklos Feher

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQiowMFIw14

livehead1
29/08/2007, 10:37 AM
That video has just ruined my day

CraftyToePoke
29/08/2007, 11:18 AM
FROM THE LCFC 'BLUEARMY' SITE, TODAY:

"Heart attack" ends City game

By Bill Anderson

Leicester City defender Clive Clarke was in a stable condition in hospital today after a suspected heart attack during last night's Carling Cup clash with Nottingham Forest.

The 27-year-old Republic of Ireland international, on loan from Sunderland, collapsed in the dressing room at half time.

City's medical team attended to the player before paramedics rushed to help.

City manager Martin Allen and his team, who were on the touchline as the medics came to Clarke's aid, were visibly shaken by the incident.

It quickly became clear Clarke's condition was more serious than initially expected.
The restart, which had already been delayed, was put back a further 10 minutes and concern spread among the 15,000 crowd, including 5,000 of the Foxes faithful.

Soon after, Forest manager Colin Calderwood, in a halting voice, read out a statement that both clubs had agreed to abandon the match because of “a serious illness to one of the Leicester players”.

Allen, alongside the Forest boss, was too choked to speak, wiping tears from his eyes as he walked off. There was to be no comment from staff or players afterwards.

Allen later said: “We do not know how it happened or why it happened but, at this moment in time, he is sitting up absolutely exhausted and very grateful to our medical team.”

The players all made for the team bus grim-faced and silent.

Clarke, who regained consciousness and was given oxygen, was taken by ambulance to the Queen's Medical Centre, in Nottingham.

Leicester City chief executive Tim Davies said Clarke “did offer a few words in the ambulance”.

Nottingham Forest had been leading the game 1-0 following a goal by Junior Agogo. The game will be replayed at a date yet to be set.

City chairman Milan Mandaric said as he left the City Ground: “At times like this, you realise what is more important and tonight it was not the football.”

Former City favourite Neil Lennon, now Forest skipper, revealed the home camp had been just as shaken by events as his former club.

He said: “The lad looked in a bad way and we just all hope that he recovers well.”

* Yesterday, Sevilla defender Antonio Puerta, 22, died from “irreversible injuries” following a heart attack during a game on Saturday.
Sevilla's Champions League qualifier against AEK Athens, due to have been played in Greece last night, was abandoned.

CraftyToePoke
29/08/2007, 11:24 AM
BLUE ARMT SITE AGAIN, IN RELATION TO THE REACTION OF MEDICAL STAFF.

Our heroes

by Andy Mann

Martin Allen has hailed Leicester City's medical staff for the way they handled last night's traumatic events at Nottingham Forest.

Head physio Dave Rennie and fitness coach Damien Doyle reacted after City defender Clive Clarke collapsed with a suspected heart attack.

City boss Allen said: “We do not know how it happened or why it happened but, at this moment in time, he is sitting up absolutely exhausted and very grateful to our medical team.

“It would be wrong at this moment in time to enter into anymore details until further tests have been carried out.

“I must say Dave Rennie and Damien Doyle were absolutely outstanding in coping and dealing with what was a traumatic and difficult situation.

“We were lucky both members of staff were on hand at such a difficult and testing time.”

The game was abandoned after Clarke was taken “seriously ill” during half-time in the City dressing-room.

The left-back, who is on loan from Sunderland, was treated by City's backroom staff and paramedics, and had regained consciousness before he was taken by ambulance to the Queen's Medical Centre in Nottingham.

Clarke was visited in hospital by Allen, Rennie and Doyle. He was kept in overnight, and his condition was described as “stable”.

Clarke had not looked in discomfort during the first half of the Carling Cup second-round tie, which City were losing 1-0.

The first indication that something was wrong occurred shortly after the half-time whistle when a group of paramedics raced down the touchline in front of the main stand and into the players' tunnel.

Around the same time, Allen took his players on to the pitch and it initially appeared he was conducting his team-talk on the half-way line.

However, some of the City players looked shaken and were holding their heads, hinting at the seriousness of the situation inside the dressing room.

It was announced over the PA system that the second half would be delayed for 15 minutes.

As rumours began to circulate, both sets of supporters realised something was seriously wrong when another announcement told them the kick-off would be put back a further 10 minutes.

City players Mark de Vries and Sergio Hellings, who had been watching the game among the 5,300 travelling supporters, were called from their seats and into the tunnel.

Shortly afterwards, Colin Calderwood, the Forest manager, and a visibly shaken Allen appeared together on the pitch to announce that both sides and the match officials had agreed to abandon the game.

Calderwood said: “Unfortunately, the match is being called off because of a serious illness to a Leicester player.

“The important thing is that the player concerned gets the best possible treatment so we would appeal to all fans that they leave the ground quietly.”

Dr. Ogba
29/08/2007, 11:26 AM
Jaysus, heart attack at 27, that's some scary sh*t alright...best of luck to him, hope he makes a full recovery...

29/08/2007, 11:38 AM
what causes this though? surely there cant be that many people around with this cardiac problem and/or it has to be related to over doing it or being super-fit?!

livehead1
29/08/2007, 11:44 AM
what causes this though? surely there cant be that many people around with this cardiac problem and/or it has to be related to over doing it or being super-fit?!

One possible cause is that the heart, being a muscle, grows too large. If it grows over 1 1/2 times is normal size then this can cause serious problems. I believe it is for this reason, that rowers are closely monitored.

SunderlandBohs
29/08/2007, 11:50 AM
Thank God Clive is ok. I was never his biggest fan but you never want to see anything like that happen to someone. All the best Clive, get well soon mate. I doubt you read this website!

29/08/2007, 11:52 AM
Friend of mine is CONVINCED it has to do with energy drinks

michaelguineys
29/08/2007, 12:26 PM
Miklos Feher

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQiowMFIw14

Jesus that is one of the saddest things i have ever seen.

29/08/2007, 12:27 PM
Does your friend have anything to back this up?

youngirish
29/08/2007, 12:30 PM

Are you mates with Daley Thompson?

29/08/2007, 12:52 PM

Source?! ( Not that you have any friends ) but of why he believes this?

What kind of "energy" drinks?

29/08/2007, 12:55 PM

Nope, just a crackpot theory. he might have proof, but I couldn't listen to his theory again..

29/08/2007, 12:57 PM
I've been using energy drinks as part of my triathlon and running training. Heart feels fine (please God) but they've fcuked my teeth up.

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2007, 12:58 PM
I'm more worried about Paul O'Shea's suggestion, that it's to do with "Sauce":o

michaelguineys
29/08/2007, 1:04 PM
There has to be some common factor here.
Cormac McAnallen, that young Irish rugby player that died in South Africa i think, Marc Vivien Foe, Miklos Feher, Puerta, and now Clive Clarke collapsed too. Thank god he seems to be making a recovery.
Didnt Charles Livingstone Mbazi retire over a heart complaint too?

It is very scary and something has to be done to find out why it is happening

29/08/2007, 1:05 PM
fai are handing this out to all clubs in Ireland. if you play sport its worth a look...

http://www.fai.ie/pdf/Grassroots_Cardiac_Screening_Questionnaire.pdf

29/08/2007, 2:33 PM
One possible cause is that the heart, being a muscle, grows too large. If it grows over 1 1/2 times is normal size then this can cause serious problems. I believe it is for this reason, that rowers are closely monitored.
How could the heart get bigger? Would creatine or other muscle building steroids be the only way?

fai are handing this out to all clubs in Ireland. if you play sport its worth a look...

http://www.fai.ie/pdf/Grassroots_Cardiac_Screening_Questionnaire.pdf
****, I'd answer yes to a lot of those questions, and I'm only 18.

29/08/2007, 2:34 PM
How could the heart get bigger? Would creatine or other muscle building steroids be the only way?
All muscles get bigger with exercise.

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2007, 2:51 PM
Having suffered something related, i.e. LVH Left Ventricular Hypertrophy ( slight thickening of one chamber..usually caused by hypertension, but occasionally by over excercise )...I did some research.

Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy, a genetic disease relating to a weakness of individual muscle fibres of the heart, causes deaths in 1 in 500, and is the most common cause of sudden death in young athletes.

MyTown
29/08/2007, 3:08 PM
I was amazed to see that the late Antonio Puerta of Sevilla was the second player from the club to die in such tragic circumstances.

A Seville player died of a heart attack on the pitch in 1973. In another sad coincidence, his wife was expecting a baby at the time of his death.

The son he never saw grew up to play soccer in the Spanish lower leagues.

Sorry if this should be in the world football thread, but I thought the similarities to Clive Clarke's plight made it relevant.

Seagull
29/08/2007, 4:16 PM
Every club/ ground should be equipped with a defibrillator and trained people to use it. Obviously saved Clive Clarke's life last night...

29/08/2007, 4:29 PM
Super stuff by the medical team. Also hats off to Colin Calderwood who handled the situation superbly.

michaelguineys
29/08/2007, 4:31 PM
Every club/ ground should be equipped with a defibrillator and trained people to use it. Obviously saved Clive Clarke's life last night...

Definitely agree with you .
Defibrilators are essential and can be the difference between life and death.

Cork City were given one a few weeks ago by a guy callled Stephen Comerford, he presented it to the club on the pitch at half time
Stephen's brother died from a heart attack when he was only 15 while he was playing a football match in Cork.
Very sad

Torn-Ado
29/08/2007, 4:44 PM
Super stuff by the medical team. Also hats off to Colin Calderwood who handled the situation superbly.

What did he do?

29/08/2007, 4:52 PM
I've been using energy drinks as part of my triathlon and running training. Heart feels fine (please God) but they've fcuked my teeth up.

Thats basically because they are basically sugar and water in an expensive bottle.
Anyway I do hope the guy is OK.

29/08/2007, 6:43 PM
Jesus that is one of the saddest things i have ever seen.

so true. :(