View Full Version : Squad named for double header

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

livehead1
29/08/2007, 9:58 AM
I'm hoping Murphy, Long, or Alan O'Brien get injured (not seriously...just a knock!) in the vain hope that Trundle gets a call up! Where is the consistancy? These players have proved absolutely nothing yet a bet if they are injured that donkey Alan Lee, Stokes or some other moggadon will be called up!

Dr. Ogba
29/08/2007, 10:12 AM
kilbane has filled in before at left back and done well. particularly in cameroon match in wc. wouldnt be unhappy at all with that decision especially if it meant finnan going to his natural rb position

Kilbane has been awful in any match that I have seen him play left-back. He just doesn't have the positional awareness to play there. he has a tendency to drift far too much inside, nearly sitting on top of the centre halfs which gives any decent winger worth his salt a chance to look up, take his time and whip in a decent cross.

I really can't understand the clamour for his inclusion in this position. He is not, or never will be, a full-back...

as_i_say
29/08/2007, 10:36 AM
I'd seriously have more faith in Kilbane at LB than O'shea. O'shea reminds me of watching gary breen play for his clubs (not us though). always one big error per game-remember what o shea did against denmark-nearly heading the ball into his own net. I take a deep breath every time he gets the ball...

Dr. Ogba
29/08/2007, 10:39 AM
I'd seriously have more faith in Kilbane at LB than O'shea. O'shea reminds me of watching gary breen play for his clubs (not us though). always one big error per game-remember what o shea did against denmark-nearly heading the ball into his own net. I take a deep breath every time he gets the ball...

well you're looking at the lesser of 2 evils in both cases:

Would rather have O'Shea at LB than CB and Kilbane at LB than CM but ideally would rather have neither of them in the starting 11.
Worse case scenario you have O'Shea at centre-half and Kilbane ahead of him in the middle of the park and then we're fooked! :eek:

29/08/2007, 10:51 AM
I'm hoping Murphy, Long, or Alan O'Brien get injured (not seriously...just a knock!) in the vain hope that Trundle gets a call up! Where is the consistancy? These players have proved absolutely nothing yet a bet if they are injured that donkey Alan Lee, Stokes or some other moggadon will be called up!

Long scored two against Denmark and got one against Ecuador and impressed coming on against Slovakia. Alan Lee is banging in the goals for Ipswich this season. Trundle has scored 2 goals for Bristol but yet he is a shoe in for you.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 10:57 AM
Long scored two against Denmark and got one against Ecuador and impressed coming on against Slovakia. Alan Lee is banging in the goals for Ipswich this season. Trundle has scored 2 goals for Bristol but yet he is a shoe in for you.

Too bloody right he is. I do agree with your comments about Long, the point I suppose I was trying to make is he had proved ABSOLUTELY NOTHING at club level, I don't think he had even hardly played at U-21 level yet as soon as you get a game in the premiership you get a call up to the national side.

Daryll Murphy, as far as I can see, is very poor. He has had a terrible start to the season and by all accounts was hardly prolific in the Championship.

Lee Trundle, as any fan with a decent amount of knowledge will know, is a very good goalscorer. He is a shoe in, in my mind, because of his goalscoring exploits throughout the last four years. He has scored goals, admitedly in League One but has moved to the Championship and has done exactly the same. I think you are probably aware, if he stays fit this season, he is likely to get around 20 goals this season. He is also a far superior footballer than Alan Lee.

My argument is, why are players like Daryll Murphy, Alan O'Brien, (and you are right; to a lesser extent Shane Long) included in the setup when someone so high on confidence, who has started the season so brightly, is left out altogether.

29/08/2007, 11:04 AM
Yeah he was pants. He kept passing the ball to the Slovakian defence.
You didn't give us your thoughts on his performance against Denmark. How do you think he did? Also, do you want him to succeed as much as, say, Jay Tabb? He deserved critisism for his previous performances where he completely bottled it but if you're not going to give credit when he deserves it then it shows as much bias as "McGeady10" who only comes on here when McGeady plays well.

As for Ireland, is he capable of playing central midfield in a 4-4-2? He probably deserves to start but it'd have to be out wide or in front of 2 central midfielders imo.

29/08/2007, 11:04 AM
Mc Geady started that night and he was not that impressive at all.
Sorry, I was thinking of Hunt who came on

as_i_say
29/08/2007, 11:10 AM
well you're looking at the lesser of 2 evils in both cases:

Would rather have O'Shea at LB than CB and Kilbane at LB than CM but ideally would rather have neither of them in the starting 11.
Worse case scenario you have O'Shea at centre-half and Kilbane ahead of him in the middle of the park and then we're fooked! :eek:

:eek: indeed but i would be amazed if kilbane started in midfield for either game unless hunt gets injured. hopefully stan has realised that we are winning games with creativity from the younger lads recently and that its more of a gamble to start kilbane in there.

Would reckon his starting midfield against the danes is his top choice without potter

29/08/2007, 11:32 AM
Too bloody right he is. I do agree with your comments about Long, the point I suppose I was trying to make is he had proved ABSOLUTELY NOTHING at club level, I don't think he had even hardly played at U-21 level yet as soon as you get a game in the premiership you get a call up to the national side.

Daryll Murphy, as far as I can see, is very poor. He has had a terrible start to the season and by all accounts was hardly prolific in the Championship.

Lee Trundle, as any fan with a decent amount of knowledge will know, is a very good goalscorer. He is a shoe in, in my mind, because of his goalscoring exploits throughout the last four years. He has scored goals, admitedly in League One but has moved to the Championship and has done exactly the same. I think you are probably aware, if he stays fit this season, he is likely to get around 20 goals this season. He is also a far superior footballer than Alan Lee.

My argument is, why are players like Daryll Murphy, Alan O'Brien, (and you are right; to a lesser extent Shane Long) included in the setup when someone so high on confidence, who has started the season so brightly, is left out altogether.

Roy O Donovan has scored goals at a level that Trundle is at and so has Jason Byrne and so has Glen Crowe, should they not be shoe ins so.

Billsthoughts
29/08/2007, 11:32 AM
I have a sneaky feeling he will go with potter in his starting line up in one of the games. Stan seems to be a horses for courses manager. He probably has an idea of how he will approach these games(neutralise whatever he perceives the opposition threat to be primarily, create goalscoring chances second) and will pick the 11 players that best help him achieve this. So I dont expect him to pick the best 11 players available to him.

On individual selections.....
Id like to see Hunt start eventho he isnt the answer to all our prayers...when he plays well he seems to play very well and get both his team mates and the fans a bit of spur.
I dont want to see O Shea anywhere near midfield.
I also think its time to drop Kilbane, he can always be recalled or brought on if we need to shore up midfield.
I dont think Given should start even if technically he is deemed fit. He hasnt had any match practice.
Id like to see Mageady involved at some stage as he can take players on but I dont think he should start.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 1:26 PM
Roy O Donovan has scored goals at a level that Trundle is at and so has Jason Byrne and so has Glen Crowe, should they not be shoe ins so.

Don't be so pedantic!!!! We both know that Trundle would be playing for Cardiff at this moment in time, albeit with Fowler and Hasselbaink on their books, Byrne couldn't even get a game last season. I doubt any of those players you have mentioned have scored two goals of the quality Trundle scored at that level last week, he's done it for years.

29/08/2007, 1:54 PM
Not pedantic at all. I am quite serious. Trundle has been playing at a level lower than the EL and he has scored goals. Fair play to him He has now scored two goals at Championship level and you are saying he should be a shoe in. I have no problem, him getting a call up for say the America tour or something like that but I dont think he should be in this squad just because of those two goals. Did you see Joxer Kelly performance on Friday night. A thing of beauty butyou dont hear lots of Bohs fans coming on hear calling for him to be called up to the senior squad.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 2:00 PM
Not pedantic at all. I am quite serious. Trundle has been playing at a level lower than the EL and he has scored goals. Fair play to him He has now scored two goals at Championship level and you are saying he should be a shoe in. I have no problem, him getting a call up for say the America tour or something like that but I dont think he should be in this squad just because of those two goals. Did you see Joxer Kelly performance on Friday night. A thing of beauty butyou dont hear lots of Bohs fans coming on hear calling for him to be called up to the senior squad.

Trundle has just been bought for a million quid, I'm not going to get into a debate about the positives and negatives of the EL but I believe he's good enough to be in that squad.

youngirish
29/08/2007, 2:11 PM
Trundle has just been bought for a million quid, I'm not going to get into a debate about the positives and negatives of the EL but I believe he's good enough to be in that squad.
I sort of agree with you in that he's definitely a better player than Murphy (as is Alan Lee) who is at the moment the big man in the squad but I don't see him as enough of a useful addition to get too hot and bothered about. Personally I'd rather see Morrison in the squad instead of both as we know he can at least bang in a few goals at the highest level. I do think he's fairly limited though so Trundle is possibly worth a look in a friendly but I wouldn't push for him to be included for any of the qualifiers coming up in the next few weeks.

Saying that Murphy should also not be in the squad for any of the same set of qualifiers.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 2:16 PM
I sort of agree with you in that he's definitely a better player than Murphy (as is Alan Lee) who is at the moment the big man in the squad but I don't see him as enough of a useful addition to get too hot and bothered about. Personally I'd rather see Morrison in the squad instead of both as we know he can at least bang in a few goals at the highest level. I do think he's fairly limited though so Trundle is possibly worth a look in a friendly but I wouldn't push for him to be included for any of the qualifiers coming up in the next few weeks.

Sayung that Murphy should also not be in the squad for any of the same set of qualifiers.

Its more that I feels its a tremendous shame he hasn't had a chance this far, I believe he is good enough to compete with what we have at the moment, and its poor decision making that he hasn't had a chance.

29/08/2007, 3:09 PM

So people are now purely judged on the price they go for then. Just because a manager at Bristol City thought that he was worth a million pound does not mean he is a better player than Kevin Doyle who was bought for far less or Roy O Donovan who was bought for less.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 3:11 PM
So people are now purely judged on the price they go for then. Just because a manager at Bristol City thought that he was worth a million pound does not mean he is a better player than Kevin Doyle who was bought for far less or Roy O Donovan who was bought for less.

If you read my previous posts I have been judging him on the number of his goals, and the quality of his goals. It takes a very good player to score the type of goals in the quantity he scores them.

29/08/2007, 3:12 PM
why does anyone care what they name the squad? so long as they win thats all that should matter.

livehead1
29/08/2007, 3:12 PM
He should be playing tonight v Man City anyway

29/08/2007, 3:23 PM
Kilbane has been awful in any match that I have seen him play left-back. He just doesn't have the positional awareness to play there. he has a tendency to drift far too much inside, nearly sitting on top of the centre halfs which gives any decent winger worth his salt a chance to look up, take his time and whip in a decent cross.

I really can't understand the clamour for his inclusion in this position. He is not, or never will be, a full-back...
Completely agree, he was awful at left back against Holland.

Saying that I think he has been playing left back for Wigan now and doing ok so maybe if he was used to playing there he'd be fine.

29/08/2007, 3:32 PM
Completely agree, he was awful at left back against Holland.

Saying that I think he has been playing left back for Wigan now and doing ok so maybe if he was used to playing there he'd be fine.He was only at LB for a bit in the Dutch game, no? He started as left side forward in a 4-3-3 / 4-5-1 as far as I can recall, and finished up at CB. Or was that another game?

29/08/2007, 3:32 PM
If you read my previous posts I have been judging him on the number of his goals, and the quality of his goals. It takes a very good player to score the type of goals in the quantity he scores them.

And as I pointed out you other people have scored that quantity of goals at a similar if not a level above and they have not made this squad and I dont see you calling for their inclusion. So you came back with the price issue.

29/08/2007, 3:34 PM
He was only at LB for a bit in the Dutch game, no? He started as left side forward in a 4-3-3 / 4-5-1 as far as I can recall, and finished up at CB. Or was that another game?
It was that game but I'm not too sure. He did end up at centre back but I just remember him getting turn inside out during the second half.

finnpark
29/08/2007, 10:24 PM
Goalkeepers:
Nick Colgan - Barnsley
Colin Doyle - Birmingham City
Shay Given - Newcastle United
Wayne Henderson - Preston North End

Defenders:
Richard Dunne - Manchester City
Steve Finnan - Liverpool
Kevin Foley - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Stephen Kelly - Birmingham City
Paul McShane - Sunderland
John O’Shea - Manchester United

Midfielders:
Lee Carsley - Everton
Jonathon Douglas - Leeds United
Darron Gibson - Manchester United
Stephen Hunt - Reading
Stephen Ireland - Manchester City
Kevin Kilbane - Wigan Athletic
Aiden McGeady - Celtic
Alan O’Brien - Hibernian
Darren Potter - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Andy Reid - Charlton Athletic

Forwards
Kevin Doyle - Reading
Robbie Keane - Tottenham Hotspur
Andy Keogh - Wolverhampton Wanderers
Shane Long - Reading
Daryl Murphy - Sunderland

Staunton Out...NOW!

I would say team will be:

.................................. Given .........................

Finnan .............. Dunne ...... McShane ....... O'Shea

McGeady/Reid .........Caresly ......... Ireland .... Kilbane

......................... Doyle ........Keane

This is the conservative rubbish Stan collection.

I will be shocked if the team is different to the above unless there are injuries

Hope Ireland get hammered in every game so we can get a proper manager. :)

FarBeag
29/08/2007, 10:53 PM
What a ridicules post. Do you support Ireland? If so, why would you or any supporter want to see their team gets hammered, irrespective of who the manager is?

Stan is doing ok at present.Give the man a chance while he has a chance to qualify.If he fcuks up in the next two games then he deserves to be criticised.Until then why can you just support him and his team?

30/08/2007, 8:22 AM
Given played for Newcastle last night, Colgan was on the bench for Barnsley.

Dr. Ogba
30/08/2007, 8:30 AM
Staunton Out...NOW!

I will be shocked if the team is different to the above unless there are injuries

Well just don't support your country then...we don't need fans like you. For better or worse Stan's not going anywhere so now's the time to stop this sort of sh*t and get behind the young lads that are giving their all for us. If you don't want to do that then good riddance to ye...

And for the record, switch Ireland and Andy Reid and thats a pretty decent team...I'd be quite happy if he went with that!

onephillyhughes
30/08/2007, 9:19 AM
So would I. Can't really see a better selection from that squad.

Would love to see Andy Reid in the middle, but would have to wonder if he would be able to keep up with it. Stephen Ireland would still do the job IMO, but after seeing him against Denmark, Reid has that quality pass in him that could set Keane/Doyle away.

Finnpark, pick a squad and then a starting 11 til we see what you'd come up with!

Stan is improving, most peoples wishes, stan out, will not happen until at least after the WC 2010 qualifying campaign. Like it or not. The players are fully behind him anyway, its taken time but he's getting better.

Get us the points we need lads, theres no reason why we can't do it. See ya in Bratislava :D

30/08/2007, 9:25 AM
Staunton Out...NOW!

I think you support the North of Ireland or did I mix you up with someone else.

onephillyhughes
30/08/2007, 9:29 AM
Didn't even see the 'hopefully ireland get hammered...' bit

idiot.

30/08/2007, 9:30 AM
Well just don't support your country then...we don't need fans like you. For better or worse Stan's not going anywhere so now's the time to stop this sort of sh*t and get behind the young lads that are giving their all for us. If you don't want to do that then good riddance to ye...

And for the record, switch Ireland and Andy Reid and thats a pretty decent team...I'd be quite happy if he went with that!

here here. Seconded.:)

There is only thing to do here and thats attack the poster, like holiday song. idiot and thats being PC.

30/08/2007, 9:34 AM
to be honest

30/08/2007, 9:51 AM
to be honest

is that a slight on another post of mine?! :p

I didnt think you read the "off-topic" section!!! :eek:

30/08/2007, 9:53 AM
only occasionally!

30/08/2007, 9:59 AM
only occasionally!

"Only", when an intellectual such as I, posts on threads :D

Anyhow, BOT, its about getting behind the team and stan, hopefully we can get what we need to qualify, whether we know it at the time or not!!!

DeNiro
30/08/2007, 12:56 PM
I only got last 15 minutes of the City game last night? How did Stephen Ireland play?

30/08/2007, 1:10 PM
Pretty well, he seemed to be involved in most of City's attacks, and found a teammate with nearly every pass. Covered a large area of the pitch, but still needs to work on the defensive side of his game. Was down for a few minutes after a nasty collision when he stretched to receive the ball but managed to complete the 90 minutes. He did fade in the latter parts of the game, but I'd imagine this was related to his illness. Sven substituted him against Arsenal at the weekend because he said Ireland was starting to feel cramps.

30/08/2007, 1:44 PM
Very encouraging performance from McGeady too last night. I like his new found confidence on the big stage.

30/08/2007, 2:14 PM
I only saw the highlights but I thought he was top class. I think he needs to play as a replacement for Duff as we need imagination and trickery on the wings.

30/08/2007, 2:18 PM
I only saw the highlights but I thought he was top class. I think he needs to play as a replacement for Duff as we need imagination and trickery on the wings.
I agree he should play, but if he's on the left, who do we play on the right?

livehead1
30/08/2007, 2:20 PM
Very encouraging performance from McGeady too last night. I like his new found confidence on the big stage.

Watched 2nd half and e-time thought he was quite good. Has a great first touch, his final pass/cross can let him down at times and the oul shooting boots seemed to be on the wrong feet last time. That said, he appeared to be playing with great confidence and wasn't afraid to have a go, which is always a good sign.

30/08/2007, 3:23 PM
That is the question. How many realistic permutations can you make from
McGeady Hunt RM or LM
Ireland RM CM
Reid RM CM
Carsley CM
Potter CM

Not counting Kilbane there

30/08/2007, 3:25 PM
I'd play Ireland.

Earlier on in the campaign people were saying how much of a bad state we were in because you could always guess Stan's team, now we've got a selecation headache! Always good to see.

30/08/2007, 4:07 PM
I'd play Ireland.

Earlier on in the campaign people were saying how much of a bad state we were in because you could always guess Stan's team, now we've got a selecation headache! Always good to see.
We tried that against Wales and it didn't really work out, he was far more effective when he moved into the middle, where he started against Slovakia. It where he's been playing for Man City. He seemed to be involved in every attacking move last night against Bristol, I don't think that would happen if he was out on the right.

Paddy Garcia
30/08/2007, 7:07 PM

Dead on.

Billsthoughts
30/08/2007, 7:14 PM

its illusions neil....trickery is what hookers do for cash....

30/08/2007, 8:03 PM
There's debate about how to configure our full backs, i.e., who plays left or right full between Finnan and O'Shea, assuming McShane partners Dunne.

On its own, I'm reasonably indifferent.

However, I'm now beginning to think that you can't make that judgment in isolation. Assuming RM is between McGeady and Ireland, I'd far prefer to have Finnan on the same side than O'Shea.

30/08/2007, 8:07 PM
ya they are not mutually exclusive stutts, thats a very good point.

ONe can't exist or function correctly without the other.

Or to put it in YI terms, we will be screwed.

30/08/2007, 8:16 PM
its illusions neil....trickery is what hookers do for cash....

I dont know too much about hoookers bill, care to tell us more.