View Full Version : Cork
GuisaSaigon
28/08/2007, 11:17 AM
Heading down to Cork for the weekend, although i used to visit the City regularly, it's been a few years since my last visit. What decent bars in the City Center have a relaxed dress code? Do most bars have extensions or do you have to hit clubs, if so what clubs are decent? Do Shane or Greg from fishgodeep play anywhere on Friday nights? Cheers in advance.
28/08/2007, 1:43 PM
They might play Fast Eddies. What kind of pub are you looking for?
Music-wise?
GuisaSaigon
28/08/2007, 1:53 PM
Somewhere thats not pretentious, doesn't have a ridiculous dress code, preferably allow punters wear trainers. decent deep house music would be nice but not essential.
Jaime
29/08/2007, 12:50 PM
I think we usually go to a place called Havana Brown's although I usually can't remember the names of the places. The area it's in is a lively spot though.
29/08/2007, 12:57 PM
ah ya. That's by
Cubins, Rafterz etc etc.
Also by Reardens which is Corks generic crap pub built for people like yourself down for the weekend.
Are there 'deep house' clubs with a 'no shoes, no tie, no entry' door policy?
GuisaSaigon
29/08/2007, 1:29 PM
Are there 'deep house' clubs with a 'no shoes, no tie, no entry' door policy?
There were, getting scarcer but Cork used to be full of decent pubs and clubs playing house to non shoe wearing people like myself. :)
29/08/2007, 2:33 PM
As an aside I find bouncers in Cork verge on the ridiculous.
Still laugh at the doorman in Cubins opening gambit of "have you been drinking?"....
Is there a right answer to this?:confused:
29/08/2007, 5:47 PM
Bang on ORA.
I don't go clubbing mainly because I don't get dance, house music or even danceing itself for that matter but anytime I do some bouncer seems to **** me or someone in my group off.
Some people might be tossers, dressed "inappropriately" or whatever but I have seen many times people refused without any reason whatsoever. About 95% of bouncers imo are scumbags.
kingdom hoop
29/08/2007, 7:00 PM
I don't go clubbing mainly because I don't get dance, house music or even danceing
You better get practicing for the wedding though eh:)
29/08/2007, 7:06 PM
Stop kingdom.
I'll take those jokes in 4 years when its any time close.
Somewhere thats not pretentious, doesn't have a ridiculous dress code, preferably allow punters wear trainers. decent deep house music would be nice but not essential.
Haven't been out in Galway but didn't realise banning trainers was a ridiculous dress code. :eek:
Was out in Cork City recently & had forgotten that most clubs close at 2am. :eek:
MojoPin
30/08/2007, 11:14 AM
go to preachers.. cheap pitchers 9 euro for anything goods music but it aint house.. fish go deep are playing fast eddies next saturday nothing this weekend i dont think...
GuisaSaigon
30/08/2007, 12:13 PM
go to preachers.. cheap pitchers 9 euro for anything goods music but it aint house..
Cheers Mojopin, read a review there, sounds good, whats the dress code like? does it have a late license?
30/08/2007, 12:24 PM
Best pubs in Cork are the Slate, the Oval, Sin E, the Hi B and Mutton Lane. Clubs are muck down there though, so just head to one of the late bars (the Slate, the Quad, the Brog) instead
MojoPin
30/08/2007, 4:10 PM
dress code in preachers isnt really there cause theres no door man till about 9:30 but its very casual as is all of cork i find..... jeans tee and a pair of runners always does it for me.. just dont be wearing a pair of nike air max 180 they scream knacker with jeans ha.. it closes very early though last drink at 11.. head to an brog then.. no dress code at all melting pot of forigners students and those who enjoy good crack...
GuisaSaigon
30/08/2007, 5:57 PM
Nice one! I'll leave the Air Max at home so:rolleyes: Roll on Cork, should be a good night!
MojoPin
31/08/2007, 2:37 AM
is it this weekend ur in town?????? u around sunday night?
exiled_gufc_fan
31/08/2007, 8:14 AM
dress code in preachers isnt really there cause theres no door man till about 9:30
Well if it's Friday night the match won't be finished by then! :ball:
rebs23
31/08/2007, 8:57 AM
If its not too late try some of the links below;
http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/eventguide/
http://www.whazon.com/cork/clubbing.php
For clubs on Friday the biggest would probably be Bodega (Soul/Funk) and the Savoy (Indie-ish). Not sure if either are your cup of tea the Liquid Lounge has Miss Motif this Friday (not sure what she's like, House/Techno/Electro) and Fast Eddies as usual has dance stuff on a Friday (better on a Saturday with Fish Go Deep), City Limits is an indie greatest hits night (yawwwn) and there is a Techno night in the Tikki Lounge, so all in all something there for everyone. Casual Dress Code for some of the above though could be a non runner especially the Bodega and Liquid Lounge (excuse the pun!!).
Hope you have a good night lads except for the result of course.
rebs23
31/08/2007, 9:05 AM
Best pubs in Cork are the Slate, the Oval, Sin E, the Hi B and Mutton Lane. Clubs are muck down there though, so just head to one of the late bars (the Slate, the Quad, the Brog) instead
Jebus all the above are indie type places, not the best pointers for someone looking for house/dance music. As for clubs being "muck down there" just shows you how little you understand, appreciate or know about the club scene in Ireland. Next you'll be trying to convince that Limerick really is a nice city.
31/08/2007, 9:22 AM
Haven't been out in Galway but didn't realise banning trainers was a ridiculous dress code. Its the fact that you could put on a nice, trendy pair of trainers and get turned away whilst some culchie with a pair of othopaedic-type clodhoppers with dirty big buckles on them gets in.
GuisaSaigon
31/08/2007, 10:00 AM
If its not too late try some of the links below;
http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/eventguide/
http://www.whazon.com/cork/clubbing.php
For clubs on Friday the biggest would probably be Bodega (Soul/Funk) and the Savoy (Indie-ish). Not sure if either are your cup of tea the Liquid Lounge has Miss Motif this Friday (not sure what she's like, House/Techno/Electro) and Fast Eddies as usual has dance stuff on a Friday (better on a Saturday with Fish Go Deep), City Limits is an indie greatest hits night (yawwwn) and there is a Techno night in the Tikki Lounge, so all in all something there for everyone. Casual Dress Code for some of the above though could be a non runner especially the Bodega and Liquid Lounge (excuse the pun!!).
Hope you have a good night lads except for the result of course.
Nice one, cheers rebs. Don't know where I'll end up but it should be a good one. haven't been out in Cork much since the days of the Donkeys Ears and Henry's :eek: Always enjoyed the buzz about the real capital tough, looking forward to it.
rebs23
31/08/2007, 10:45 AM
..the days of the Donkeys Ears and Henry's
I had forgotten about the Donkeys Ears, memories of long gone hazy nights.:)
31/08/2007, 10:59 AM
Think Goldsounds is still on in the Savoy on Fridays. Great Music, chilled out atmosphere, and open untill 3am! What more do you want!
13/09/2007, 9:54 AM
Can anyone recommend any accomodation and/or things to see and do in Cork? heading there next week for a day trip with the better half.
13/09/2007, 1:56 PM
For a hostel, try Sheila's, just off MacCurtain St.
For a hotel, Jury's is the most popular option for Derry fans.