View Full Version : Eircom League Weekly
Tir Oilean
27/08/2007, 10:47 PM
Just seen Andy Myler kicking the corner flag after scoring against UCD. Violent Conduct maybe:D Then one of the Rovers lads blew the refs whistle after he (the ref) was knocked to the ground after colliding with a player it reminded me of Gazza showing the ref the red card then getting booked himself!
27/08/2007, 10:49 PM
A few mistakes already this week. Conor Sammon fired past Darren Quigley and Conor Kenna was constantly referred to as Brian Shorthall. Dissapointed to see that Pete gave in and spoke to TV3.:D Trevor Welch's favourite manager in the league apparantly.:D
Also Longford-Pats could not be shown due to logistical reasons*.
*****ing incompetence more like.:rolleyes:
Aaron
27/08/2007, 11:12 PM
A few mistakes already this week. Conor Sammon fired past Darren Quigley and Conor Kenna was constantly referred to as Brian Shorthall. Dissapointed to see that Pete gave in and spoke to TV3.:D Trevor Welch's favourite manager in the league apparantly.:D
What happened with Mahon and TV3. I think the show is steadily improving. It does give highlights of most games and shows a little video at the end of all the highlights of the weekend. I think if we should give them a little credit rather than cry at different things each week, because not so long ago we didnt have a highlights programme.
27/08/2007, 11:25 PM
What happened with Mahon and TV3.
Hope he doesn't get fined because of me posting this but it's a good rant all the same (from his programme notes vs Rovers).
...Our recent form has been good and our cup win in Dundalk was well merited.........
However you would never think that we had played at all according to TV3's eircom league weekly. Not once during the course of the programme were UCD mentioned, not even the result of our game was given and this is not the first time this has happened.
If asked to give a post match interview in future, I will gladly decline, and if I had my way I would not allow their camera people into the ground. We, like all clubs, are craving publicity but this station seems to have a problem, or maybe they suffer from selective amnesia when it comes to us.
Better still we could move to Cork and then Trevor might remembe us, but I couldn't allow this to go unnoticed.....
Bit of history with this as well- http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=42947
A few other programme rants earlier in the season which I'll dig out, if I'm arsed.
27/08/2007, 11:27 PM
Looked like a right clown tonight then after that rant!:D
27/08/2007, 11:31 PM
Looked like a right clown tonight then after that rant!:D
I'd say it was only because he wanted to give out about our defending, seems to be a recurring theme.:D
HulaHoop
27/08/2007, 11:44 PM
Just before they break they had coming next on screen Cork City V Bray Wanders
27/08/2007, 11:51 PM
scully never changed. 'great finishes for our goals'. 2 penaltys and one from a yeard out. myler's 2nd was unreal though. sammy morrow also looks a player!
just think they drag on the analysis too much sometimes. you also wouldnt hear gary lineker saying we cant show you a match due to logistical reasons. also, he just apologised to the longford fans for not showing the game, must not like pats anymore
DonO'Bate
27/08/2007, 11:54 PM
Its no wonder UCD lost 4-2 as Darren Quigley was playing in goals for both UCD and Rovers according to the TV3 reporter, is it any wonder Pete Mahon hates the TV3 coverage?
How come they managed to show Cork City twice when they couldn't show the goals from 2-2 draw with Drogheda last Monday night.
27/08/2007, 11:55 PM
Its no wonder UCD lost 4-2 as Darren Quigley was playing in goals for both UCD and Rovers according to the TV3 reporter, is it any wonder Pete Mahon hates the TV3 coverage?
How come they managed to show Cork City twice when they couldn't show the goals from 2-2 draw with Drogheda last Monday night.
they showed galways 2 goals.......
27/08/2007, 11:57 PM
They were able to show Cork-Bray as it was live on Setanta.
They showed the Galway goals from the Drogs game last Monday.
28/08/2007, 12:07 AM
Awful challenge from Dan Connnorz.
28/08/2007, 12:16 AM
What happened with Mahon and TV3. I think the show is steadily improving. It does give highlights of most games and shows a little video at the end of all the highlights of the weekend. I think if we should give them a little credit rather than cry at different things each week, because not so long ago we didnt have a highlights programme.
I liked that wee montage at the end tonight. Looked good, and put to decent music as well. Cracking image of the moon at the end as well - they must have a seriously high-powered lens on the camera at games....... :D
For an example of the way a highlights programme could be better done, I'd suggest trying to watch the Welsh football show (Y Clwb Pel-Droed) on S4C if you can get it (Channel 134 on ROI Sky cards). They have a feature game with extended highlights, then show highlights of all the other games, and inter-mingle it with magazine-style features, fan chat etc. To top it all of, it goes out at a decent time - 7:30pm on a Saturday evening, only a few hours after the games themselves. It's then repeated on a Monday night at about 11pm. It's a much better format and scheduling than EL Weekly.
MyTown
28/08/2007, 10:49 AM
To top it all of, it goes out at a decent time - 7:30pm on a Saturday evening, only a few hours after the games themselves. It's then repeated on a Monday night at about 11pm. It's a much better format and scheduling than EL Weekly.
I can't understand why they repeat the show at 5.50am. Surely they'd get a few more viewers if they showed it even as late as the following Sunday at off peak times?
Having travelled to Drogheda, I would have been delighted to see our two late goals against the League leaders again, but I left the TV for a minute thinking they were reviewing Bohs v Drogeda and missed the Dan Connor post mortem. I arrived back in to see our lads mobbing Derek O'Brien:(
As has been said often enough on this thread, at least TV3 offer an EL highlights package. Most of RTE domestic programming is "bought in" or "contracted out" now EXCEPT in the Sports domain. Would there be any money in an independent company putting together a highlights package and selling it to RTE / TV3 / Setanta? I think TG4 can be relied on to show a few live games for the coming seasons, but they're more likely to take Ligue 1, or another European League as a composite highlights package because of the costs involved.
Trev came as near to dry wit as I thought him capable of with his "Pete Mahon my favourite manager bit". I'm tired of Oso tbh - maybe because he looks so tired himself, even Fenlon seemed to be in squirm mode, although he handled the Ollie Byrne tribute quite well all things considered.
Jeys - I've nearly gone on as long as ELW itself:p
GuisaSaigon
28/08/2007, 10:58 AM
They showed the Galway goals from the Drogs game last Monday.
No, they didn't. Probably logistical difficulties again.
It must be part of the National Media's conspiracy against Galway United :)
sonofstan
28/08/2007, 11:03 AM
Think Nutsy's been an asset - not as paro as Scully, and articulate, and apparently unprejudiced
28/08/2007, 11:14 AM
Awful challenge from Dan Connnorz.I wonder how come they never showed Gartlands challenge? :rolleyes:
Think Nutsy's been an asset - not as paro as Scully, and articulate, and apparently unprejudicedWas impressed with Fenlon last night, spoke well, though that wouldn't be hard sitting next to Osam.
GuisaSaigon
28/08/2007, 11:18 AM
It must be part of the National Media's conspiracy against Galway United :)
Were being RRS too!:eek:
bohsmug
28/08/2007, 11:20 AM
I really liked the bit at the end though I have to say. The Galway goals were shown. I'm not surprised it wasn't given too much coverage because it was nearly a week ago. I saw four Galway goals last night as did anybody who watched all of the programme.
El Weekly reminds me of the league itself. It has its moments where you think it's a decent production and then it makes a glaringly obvious mistake. It recovers slightly because said mistake was funny. It's quite unfashionable but I'm there every week watching and enjoying it. It's frustratingly close to being great but will never eradicate those nasty errors that keep coming back to haunt it.
Tis-smeee
28/08/2007, 11:28 AM
Originally Posted by Pete Mahon
...Our recent form has been good and our cup win in Dundalk was well merited.........
However you would never think that we had played at all according to TV3's eircom league weekly. Not once during the course of the programme were UCD mentioned, not even the result of our game was given and this is not the first time this has happened.
If asked to give a post match interview in future, I will gladly decline, and if I had my way I would not allow their camera people into the ground. We, like all clubs, are craving publicity but this station seems to have a problem, or maybe they suffer from selective amnesia when it comes to us.
Better still we could move to Cork and then Trevor might remembe us, but I couldn't allow this to go unnoticed.....
He should try and watch out for Waterford games in future so, if he managed us his head would explode waiting for highlights
GuisaSaigon
28/08/2007, 11:47 AM
The Galway goals were shown. I'm not surprised it wasn't given too much coverage because it was nearly a week ago. I saw four Galway goals last night as did anybody who watched all of the programme.
They were shown last night but not last Monday as someone suggested earlier, Its a weekly show so if they cant cover a monday night game the night it happens they should at least give it a decent slot the following Monday. RRS I tell you:rolleyes:
28/08/2007, 11:59 AM
RRS I tell you:rolleyes:Hey, get your own 3 letter abbreviation, RRS is ours and ours only.:mad:
Unless it happens on Friday night and ye can use it then but only cos it will have happened in Cork.
28/08/2007, 1:09 PM
No, they didn't. Probably logistical difficulties again.
Meant to say last night.
DonO'Bate
28/08/2007, 10:33 PM
They were shown last night but not last Monday as someone suggested earlier, Its a weekly show so if they cant cover a monday night game the night it happens they should at least give it a decent slot the following Monday. RRS I tell you:rolleyes:
No, they didn't show the Drogs V GUFC on the previous Monday night's EL weekly when they should have, instead TV3 concentrated on the FAI Ford Cup goals.
Does any Longford/St Pat's fan know why they couldn't show the goals from this game, what were the logistical difficulties, was the camera man on his holidays?
TV3 should get rid of Osam and move him into an OAP's home, he takes to long to comment on Trevor's questions and replace him with another EL journalist.
28/08/2007, 10:36 PM
30 seconds of footage for Galway Vs. Rovers. I know it wasn't that exciting of a game but ffs they could have showed a few more chances.
Great bit of PR for Drogheda as they face into their European game, you'd never think they had set out to single-mindedly kick certain Bohs players off the park. :rolleyes:
02/09/2007, 10:44 PM
Apologies for the delay, won't have the cup weekend up as the file is waaaaaay too big. Anyway, here is last week's show.
Part One (http://rapidshare.com/files/52983774/eLW_27th_August_Part_One.....flv)
Part Two (http://rapidshare.com/files/52982781/eLW_27th_August_Part_Two..flv)