View Full Version : Mooning in Senegal
Thunderblaster
25/08/2007, 3:43 PM
Anyone following that case in Senegal where an Irishman got arrested for mooning following a dare. The case went to court yesterday and he was released on unconditional bail to appear again next week for trial. The prosecution wants a six month jail sentence and the maximum for mooning is two years.
25/08/2007, 3:52 PM
unconditional bail.
RUN PADDY! Quick
Heard that story a couple of weeks ago. Idiots.
kingdom hoop
25/08/2007, 10:04 PM
The prosecution wants a six month jail sentence and the maximum for mooning is two years.
Weird that there is actually provision made for the offence eh ('offence' in a very literal sense) . You'd have to feel very sorry for the guy though, he's already spent a month in the same cell as forty others. How hard would that be? He's only nineteen too so I'd imagine he must be in an extremely fragile mental state.
he's old enough to know better. After being in cell with fourty guys, i'd say he wasn't waving his ar$e around in there;).
A lot of countries have offences for public exposure. I suppose it just happens they actually enforce it in Senegal.
26/08/2007, 10:59 PM
Stupid law.
He probably should have known better.
kingdom hoop
26/08/2007, 11:56 PM
Stupid law.
He probably should have known better.
Hmmm, probably is probably right. I did many, many, foolish things as a nineteen year old. I'm siding with the kid on this one.
kingdom hoop
26/08/2007, 11:58 PM
Irish Teen, dubbed, 'The New Vieira', as Senegal Strain to Capture His Future, and Behind.
Ahhemmm:)
27/08/2007, 12:22 AM
What was the exact charge?
.Arson?
kingdom hoop
27/08/2007, 12:38 AM
Ah Richie I thought you'd have something more tasteful!
Ironic story of the week; Irish, 'I was never taught how to swim,' Teen Flails in Senegalese Sea of Tranquility. Friend asks; 'why he didn't run I do not know'.
kingdom hoop
27/08/2007, 12:49 AM
A lot of countries have offences for public exposure.
Funny, now that I read your post it's made more sense. I remember often being abroad and told that sex and peeing in public are the worst sins. Drink away anywhere, but keep it in your bladder after, kind of thing, I guess. I almost got arrested once doing said offence(not sure which??!) but wormed my way out of it without even a bribe. Made me wonder if its just Irish that have the congenital penchant for 'performing' in public, but then I realised that we drink more than most.
I think the only difference in Ireland is the law is not enforced.
I think the British/English are the worlds greatest/worst public streakers. It seems to be a thing there that if you happy you strip.
Since he was working out there he should have known that indecent exposure is really frowned upon in Senegal, so I have no sympathy. He should also have thought twice about who he was waving his arse at, as I can see why the Senegalese may view it as a direct insult to them
galwayhoop
27/08/2007, 2:27 PM
he's old enough to know better. After being in cell with fourty guys, i'd say he wasn't waving his ar$e around in there;).
i would think you are right!
27/08/2007, 3:10 PM
I don't really get the sympathy for him here. Sure, the conditions in jails over there are nasty, and the proposed sentence is harsh, but it's an offence nearly anywhere you go, and it's up to the locals to enforce their laws as they see fit. It's not like they're going to stone him to death or something.
27/08/2007, 3:30 PM
Bit of a bummer for him,
Sounds lie he got a bum deal
Anymore.
Seriosly though no sympathy for him at all.
27/08/2007, 3:35 PM
he's old enough to know better.
Agreed.
Since he was working out there he should have known that indecent exposure is really frowned upon in Senegal, so I have no sympathy.
Agreed.
it's an offence nearly anywhere you go, and it's up to the locals to enforce their laws as they see fit.
Agreed.
Senegal is 95% Muslim.
And from Wikipedia :
Islam on the other hand has a much more conservative and modest view regarding nudity. In Islam the area of the body not meant to be exposed in public is called the awrah, and while referred to in the Qur'an, is addressed in more detail in hadith.
* For men, the awrah is from the navel well to well below the knees, which mean that in public Muslim men have to cover themselves at least from navel down below the knees.
Given that I managed to find this in 5 minutes on the internet, and that asking anybody in Senegal would have told him what would likely happen, I have little sympathy for him.
I'd say he's learning a valuable lesson about doing a bit of research and respecting other cultures .
Docboy
27/08/2007, 10:53 PM
Lads I feel that you're being a bit harsh there, not nice to see anyone rotting away overseas, nevermind for something so trivial
27/08/2007, 11:25 PM
Lads I feel that you're being a bit harsh there, not nice to see anyone rotting away overseas, nevermind for something so trivial
Listen, some countries just don't like arseholes!:D
27/08/2007, 11:52 PM
Down the line, he'll flash back to the mooning he was put in the hole.
An us here laughing about it.
28/08/2007, 8:24 AM
I remember when I was 20 I did something similar in the Costa Del Sol outside a pizzeria where a lot of people were giving out about us kicking a ball around. I was totally bulletproof after a lot of San Miguel and mooned in the window before going upstairs to bed.
Around three hours later, armed police burst into the apartment, cuffed me, and hauled my ass down to the local nick. Just as I was about to be dumped in a huge cell with a lot of 'Bubba' type gentlemen, they saw that I was Irish, not English as originally thought, and let me go with a €30 fine...
Moral is; Don't moon in Malaga if you're British...;)
galwayhoop
28/08/2007, 10:04 AM
Given that I managed to find this in 5 minutes on the internet, and that asking anybody in Senegal would have told him what would likely happen, I have little sympathy for him.
I'd say he's learning a valuable lesson about doing a bit of research and respecting other cultures .
well said.
i'm sure you are unable to do some things you would take for granted at home while living in japan!
including: closing taxi doors!!!!
Around three hours later, armed police burst into the apartment, cuffed me, and hauled my ass down to the local nick.
Well it was your asses fault.
kingdom hoop
28/08/2007, 5:04 PM
I'd say he's learning a valuable lesson about doing a bit of research and respecting other cultures.
:) Wouldn't you be fun to play dares with!!
Scene; a moon-lit beach in the south of Spain. A wonderful air of inebriety enshrouds the three youthful Irishmen and their new best friends, four local femmes fatales. A game of dares is suggested
Kingdom Hoop; Osarusan, I dare you to spark this joint.
Osarusan(slightly distressed); Er, yeah, I don't know, just give me a few minutes while I consult my internet-ready phone to determine the social fallout that might ensue as a result. I mean, is it ok to do this? What if the authorities see me and it's strongly against local custom? Did you think about that before asking me? This doesn't feel right.
Others(in chorus); Shut up and do it!
Osarusan(sheepishly); Oh ok then. What's the worst that could happen...
------------
Moral; its hard, despite best instincts, to say no to a dare given group pressures. (especially if members of the opposite sex are present!)
Are you 14?
kingdom hoop
28/08/2007, 6:20 PM
Are you 14?
Yeah, fourteen inches. :)
Admittedly I haven't been involved in dares for a few years now but I would still venture (as confidently as I can after that affront on my maturity!!) that peer pressure is, at least on a subconscious level, the prominent force in the game and not the relative desirability of the given task, up to a certain point of course. I would see mooning as being in and around the threshold where you feel you can placate the mob and at the same time your right/wrong beacon isn't, ahem, flashing alarmingly. (apologies if that sounds like fourteen year old logic:))
Aberdonian Stu
29/08/2007, 9:43 AM
Apparently he's back home.
29/08/2007, 9:45 AM
Due in court today in Senegal too...obviously used his 'unconditional' bail to skip town. I'd be very surprised if there's any calls for his extradition.
29/08/2007, 9:56 AM
It might be trivial to you but in a Muslim country it is anything but trivial, as has been pointed out here previously. You may remember the Leeds United fans episode in Istanbul a few years ago which resulted in a fatality. That incident was sparked by a mooning incident in a bar in a Muslim country.
Agree it is not nice to see anyone rotting away overseas (or at home either!) but it was as a result of his own stupid behaviour. I hope he has learned his lesson, harsh as it may seem.
galwayhoop
29/08/2007, 11:06 AM
RUN PADDY! Quick
apparently he read your post!!!! who would have thought that a lad like him would be on this very site!!!!
29/08/2007, 1:08 PM
I finished your story for you.
Scene; a moon-lit beach in the south of Spain. A wonderful air of inebriety enshrouds the three youthful Irishmen and their new best friends, four local femmes fatales. A game of dares is suggested
Kingdom Hoop; Osarusan, I dare you to spark this joint.
Osarusan(slightly distressed); Er, yeah, I don't know, just give me a few minutes while I consult my internet-ready phone to determine the social fallout that might ensue as a result. I mean, is it ok to do this? What if the authorities see me and it's strongly against local custom? Did you think about that before asking me? This doesn't feel right.
Others(in chorus); Shut up and do it!
Osarusan(sheepishly); Oh ok then. What's the worst that could happen...
The joint is smoked and enjoyed by all. Having received this additional stimulation, Kingdom Hoop decides that a little fun can't hurt anybody, and starts removing his clothes.
Femme Fatales ; Ah, that's not such a good idea. People around here might think it is pretty rude.
Kingdom Hoop; ****** to that, it's only a bit of fun. Where's the harm in it?
Osarusan; I'd listen to them if I were you.
Kingdom Hoop; Jaysus, what's the problem? Who cares?
Femme Fatales; This isn't the same as Ireland you know.
Kingdom Hoop; Whatever.
The police enter the scene.
Police; What the hell do you think you're doing?
Kingdom Hoop; Just having a laugh.
Police; Not like that you don't.
Kingdom Hoop; Ah come on, take it easy. I was just mooning a few people. No harm done, right?
Police; Put your clothes back on please.
Kingdom Hoop; What's all the agro about? It was only a laugh.
Police; Put your clothes back on please.
Kingdom Hoop; Ah for f**k sake.
Police; Ok, you'll have to come to the station.
Kingdom Hoop is led away by the police...
Femme Fatales; It's true what they say about Kerry people, isn't it...........
Osarusan; Still plenty to go round, ladies.
29/08/2007, 1:19 PM
apparently he read your post!!!! who would have thought that a lad like him would be on this very site!!!!
Harps fan, maybe.
Come out Paddy.
kingdom hoop
29/08/2007, 2:16 PM
Touché Osarusan:)
But the context of my faux pas was that it was of my own volition, an independent choice to follow my heart. You, on the other hand, meekly bowed to the demands of the intimidating group, succumbing to the mental strain of a game of dares! You just got lucky that the police were just polishing off their doughnuts as you sparked the joint. Prison isn't too bad though, the internet is keeping my sane.
*As it happens, I think I'd have made up a great excuse on the spot for the police, it's one of my few talents. My favourite recent example was when a guard pulled my friend over for erratic driving. He looked into the back seat and spotted I wasn't wearing a seatbelt. I quickly snapped that there is no point having a seatbelt on when the car is stopped!;)
shedite
31/08/2007, 12:13 PM
Does this story remind anyone else of the Simpsons episodewhen Bart is wanted In Australia for reverse-charging a long distance phone call?
Aberdonian Stu
31/08/2007, 1:03 PM
It didn't but it does now. Good work shedite.
Torn-Ado
31/08/2007, 2:46 PM
It was only a bit of craic.
Pardon the pun.
kingdom hoop
31/08/2007, 7:55 PM
Pardon the pun.
You have not been pardoned. Your punishment, pending a full hearing, is that you, and you alone, must hold the fort for our side on the Darron Gibson front in what is a perverse and culturally disparate area.
Be warned, this is unfamiliar territory for you, don't think you understand the way they think, do your research and you'll discover that things you say or do which you may consider reasonable will be received with hostility, and, in particular, do not under any circumstances reveal your backside to them as this will cause great offence and may well result in serious repercussions. Sentence passed.
31/08/2007, 11:04 PM
I think the only difference in Ireland is the law is not enforced.
I think the British/English are the worlds greatest/worst public streakers. It seems to be a thing there that if you happy you strip.
The Yanks - especially their women - are the worst for randomly stripping off whilst under the influence. Even at places like DisneyWorld they keep jumping in the fountains half-cut and half naked.
Mooning is treating seriously in European countries like Greece (when they can be bothered to deal with the ****s doing in)
31/08/2007, 11:09 PM
The Yanks - especially their women - are the worst for randomly stripping off whilst under the influence. Even at places like DisneyWorld they keep jumping in the fountains half-cut and half naked.
Shouldn't that be-are the best?:D
01/09/2007, 1:38 AM
If it's a suspended sentence, is he sort of out on probe-ation?
Nah?
galwayhoop
03/09/2007, 5:34 PM
Even at places like DisneyWorld they keep jumping in the fountains half-cut and half naked.
gotta get me to DisneyWorld!!!
I uesta think Donald Duck - Random Fcuk more like!!! Oooohhhh Yeeeaaahh! :D:D:D