View Full Version : Quigley, McFaul and Sammon in U-21 squad

23/08/2007, 4:09 PM
From IrishFootballOnline (http://www.irishfootballonline.com/news_story.php?newsid=7177):

Givens names under-21 squad for Portugal

Don Givens has named his squad for next month's Under-21 European Championship qualifier with Portugal in Cork. There are four domestically based players in the squad.

Ireland take on Portugal at Turner's Cross on Tuesday, 7th September in the opening game of the group. Ireland will then take on England at the same venue in October.

Amongst the 18 strong squad are three players from UCD including goalkeeper Darren Quigley, midfielder Shane McFaul and striker Conor Sammon. Bohemians' Conor Powell retains his place.

It is Sammon's first call-up and he is joined by Darren Dennehy of Everton and Keith Treacy of Blackburn Rovers who are also new to the under-21 setup.

Although Givens hasn't commented on the decision, Anthony Stokes has been omitted after apparently angering the manager with his late withdrawal ahead of this week's friendly in Germany.

Givens expects a difficult time ahead in qualifying, "We are in a difficult group and we have some very interesting games. Both Portugal and England are extremely good sides with some excellent players, but we are confident going into both games."

Givens is hoping to be cheered on by a passionate home crowd, "We are delighted to be playing the matches in Turner's Cross because the people of Cork have always been very good at supporting underage football. We are looking forward to a full house at Turner's Cross, which would really give the lads a massive boost."

The under-21 boss believes this week's friendly in Germany has set them up perfectly for the qualifying campaign, "We were very happy with the performance and the result in Germany. We had four new faces in the squad for that game, all of whom are in the squad again for the Portugal match. We have also introduced another three new players into this squad, so that shows the talent that is coming through."

The FAI have announced ticketing details for the games against Portugal and England (16th October) and have offered a deal for fans wishing to purchase tickets for both games. Tickets for each of the matches will cost €25 for an adult and €10 for Under-16s and OAPs. A discounted package of €40 will apply for adults who purchase tickets for both games.

Tickets go on sale through Ticketmaster outlets at 10am on Monday, 27th August.

Ireland under-21 squad (to play Portugal)
Darren Randolph (Charlton Athletic)
Darren Quigley (University College Dublin)
Eddie Nolan (Blackburn Rovers)
Darren O'Dea (Glasgow Celtic)
Richard Keogh (Bristol City)
Darren Dennehy (Everton)
Stephen O'Halloran (Aston Villa)
Conor Powell (Bohemians)
Stephen Gleeson (Wolverhampton Wanderers)
Patrick Cregg (Falkirk)
Stephen Quinn (Sheffield United)
Shane McFaul (University College Dublin)
Michael Collins (Huddersfield Town)
Keith Treacy (Blackburn Rovers)
Adam Rooney (Stoke City)
James O'Brien (Glasgow Celtic)
Billy Clarke (Ipswich Town)
Conor Sammon (University College Dublin)

Fair play to Sammo, just shows what games on telly can do for you! Wonder will he be able to fill the boots of Anthony Stokes...:D

23/08/2007, 7:43 PM
We offer Irish football nothing, don't you know?

With Dicker and Kenna that's 5 UCD players called up to the U-21s since 2005. Pity Conor got that injury that time.

25/08/2007, 1:29 AM
Sammon nearly withdrew from the squad this evening, stupidly vaulting over the middle of the fence just where you draw it back to let random half time teams on. The top part gave way, then the bottom part gave way, and let's just say things could well have been nastier than they ended up!

Also, 6 UCD players getting the call up in the last 18 months, not 5. I assume you forgot Ronan Finn, capped in February.

26/08/2007, 12:07 PM
Also, 6 UCD players getting the call up in the last 18 months, not 5. I assume you forgot Ronan Finn, capped in February.

How small minded of you to note such things. As long as you pay such close attention to international call ups and the likes we'll never progress as a club. How many call ups have we rejected in the same time period? Now there's the measure of a real progressing club.

07/09/2007, 11:04 PM
The legend's status grows...

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2390

Ireland's substitutions helped them get into the game - Owen Garvan took control of central midfield and used the ball well while Conor Sammon livened up the forward line with his vigorous play.

Guaranteed fee of €120k if he goes to Derry...

Quigley and McFaul didn't play. Quite sad that one game pushed Randolph ahead of Quigley in the pecking order...

JR_Ewing
08/09/2007, 12:55 AM
was at the game - just back in dublin now. portugal miles ahead. Smmon didn't do much when he came on but it was stillmore than we'd given since half time. Certainly put himself about.

From what I've seen Quigley is easily a better keeper, even if he's not as big.

08/09/2007, 2:38 AM
Guaranteed fee of €120k if he goes to Derry...

Good luck getting that off Jim Roddy.

He was a much better option than that Adam Rooney fella anyway.

08/09/2007, 12:06 PM
Good luck getting that off Jim Roddy.
Yeah, should have said what we're entitled to.

08/09/2007, 2:49 PM
The legend's status grows...

.... and grows.

http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20251&view=findpost&p=372117

08/09/2007, 4:43 PM
LOL at him thinking he would get goals.