View Full Version : Songs for Bratislava/prague

citizenerased
21/08/2007, 10:37 AM
Lads whats the playlist for the double header...being a meath fan(no quips please) 'comon you boys in green' is truly exhausted...

onephillyhughes
21/08/2007, 10:46 AM
Just the usual few as always, but 'boys in green' is stirring when everyone sings it!

Claret Murph
21/08/2007, 11:59 AM
Lads whats the playlist for the double header...being a meath fan(no quips please) 'comon you boys in green' is truly exhausted...

Seeing as we are playing away comon you boys in White ;);)

Reddladd
21/08/2007, 3:10 PM
For the combined trip:
The Dubliners '7 drunken nights' will be appropriate.

For the Slovakian game
'We've got more fans than you Slovakia, Slovakia'

For the Czech game
'I keep on knocking but I can't get in'

Sligo Hornet
21/08/2007, 4:51 PM
For the combined trip:
The Dubliners '7 drunken nights' will be appropriate.

For the Slovakian game
'We've got more fans than you Slovakia, Slovakia'

For the Czech game

Excellent!!:D.......just a minute, why am I laughing!:(:(

Mayo_Bhoy
21/08/2007, 4:55 PM
[B]

For the Czech game

Am i thick or what?? I just dont get this.:confused:

Sligo Hornet
21/08/2007, 5:44 PM
Am i thick or what?? I just dont get this.:confused:

yes......and you will eventually!:;)

Beavis
22/08/2007, 1:01 PM
For Steven Hunt (sung in San Marino when he came on)

(to the tune of 'he's got a pineapple on his head' or whatever the original is)
He's got Cech's head on his knee,
He's got Cech's head on his knee.

citizenerased
23/08/2007, 10:01 AM
'Whats that comin over the hill...is it a monster?, or Richie Dunne?'

23/08/2007, 10:25 AM
your commies and you know you are

etc....

Reddladd
25/08/2007, 3:02 PM
To the air of the chorus of the Dubliners '7 drunken nights'

'Ah we're green we're green oh can't ya see
as green as green can be
and we'll support the Irish team wherever they may be
It's many's a day we travelled
A hundred miles or more
To clap and cheer the boys in green
Like you never saw before'

Lads if there are any budding 'Dylans' out there feel free to add or edit the above:D
Might get to make a decent song or chant out of it!

25/08/2007, 4:42 PM

etc....

Thats a terrible song.

Moscow Mule
25/08/2007, 5:30 PM

etc....

Well, it is one way of making friends!

meathkeeno
28/08/2007, 10:22 AM
'Stand up for the Boys in Green' is one great way to get everyone standing on their feet and clapping! :D

zenokelly
28/08/2007, 12:07 PM
'Stand up for the Boys in Green' is one great way to get everyone standing on their feet and clapping! :D

Do you say?

28/08/2007, 1:41 PM
Well, it is one way of making friends!

Anyone know how the locals in Bratislava would respond to

You're Czechs and you know you are

followed on Wednesday by

You're Slovaks and you know you are.

If they get stroppy we could always change it to

You're Krauts and you know you are...

That should go down well. :eek:

28/08/2007, 1:44 PM
i like that one jerry!!!

Dallasirish
29/08/2007, 3:17 AM
On Wednesday i think "Your touts and you know you are!" is going to be the song of choice as we shell out for the tickets!

Newryrep
29/08/2007, 9:17 AM

[

Sounds something the English would sing (to basically anybody on the continent who isnt German or Russian) to be honest

Mayo_Bhoy
29/08/2007, 10:58 AM
Sounds something the English would sing (to basically anybody on the continent who isnt German or Russian) to be honest

Exactly. Well said. Some of the responses on this thread are frankly an embarrassment.

29/08/2007, 11:08 AM
Mayo_Bhoy, its tongue in cheek ye flute. :D

29/08/2007, 11:13 AM
'comon you boys in green' is truly exhausted...That's a bit like telling a Liverpool fan that "You'll Never walk Alone" has been around too long.

Come on You Boys in Green is our signature tune and our best. I can't understand why people (usually the younger fans) don't rate it.

Mayo_Bhoy
29/08/2007, 11:21 AM
Mayo_Bhoy, its tongue in cheek ye flute. :D

I hope so. Ah, dont mind me, im a bit on edge at the moment. Big night ahead for Celtic and im just passing time till kick off and trying to pick a fight. Oh, sorry i shouldnt have mentioned Celltic.:rolleyes:

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2007, 11:26 AM
Exactly. Well said. Some of the responses on this thread are frankly an embarrassment.

Agreed Bhoy.....surely we want to be singing ( at both locations ) songs that bond the locals TO US....it certainly worked in Bologna before the San Marino...the locals loved us!:)

Babysis
29/08/2007, 11:47 AM
For this game it's looking like most will sing the usual ones,
"Come on you boys in green", "stand up for the boys in green" etc etc.

There were a few original ones in the Faroe Islands.
"Go on home Danish Soldiers" and "You only sing when your fishing" were my favourites. But there were not that many fans (not through chocie) at the game,so it was easier to get "new" songs going.

HolylandsMan
29/08/2007, 12:06 PM
Anybody up for adapting the Gary Breen song to suit Mr McShane? Or is it sacrilege to suggest such a thing?

Feck it - "We all dream of a team of Paul McShanes!!!"

Mayo_Bhoy
29/08/2007, 12:27 PM
Anybody up for adapting the Gary Breen song to suit Mr McShane? Or is it sacrilege to suggest such a thing?

Feck it - "We all dream of a team of Paul McShanes!!!"

:confused::confused::confused:

And ' A team of Paul Mac Shanes' rhymes with which famous Beatles song again???

29/08/2007, 12:35 PM
good man bhoy, dont be letting anyone away today :D

Mayo_Bhoy
29/08/2007, 12:47 PM
good man bhoy, dont be letting anyone away today :D

I've the bit between my teeth now.:D

Feck it, 6 hours to kick off.:(

Reddladd
29/08/2007, 1:05 PM
While we're on the Beetles theme, what about 'John O'Shea' to the tune of 'Yesterday'.

29/08/2007, 1:33 PM
John O'shea, he makes our troubles seem so far away.......

In a semi-sarcastic tone just like a team of barney breens

Reddladd
29/08/2007, 2:04 PM
Now it looks as though he's here to stay
Oh we believe in John O'Shea!

29/08/2007, 2:24 PM
deleted.

humpmeister7
31/08/2007, 11:38 PM
But do we really believe in John O'Shea???

loscherland
01/09/2007, 12:17 PM
How about a few new verses to "Stand up for the boys in green" along the lines of "Shoes off, for the boys in green" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QTKSDyLW0lk & "Shirts off for the boys in green" (Especially the girls), "Pants down for the boys in green"...

aidz1
04/09/2007, 12:16 PM
given saves for ireland hes our hero
given saves for ireland say us all
he answers irelands call
he comes from donegal
hes the greatest keeper we've ever seen
????

Sligo Hornet
04/09/2007, 12:22 PM
When we arrive in Prague......" THEY'VE got all the tickets......etc":(:(

Ireland4ever
04/09/2007, 4:46 PM

You're Czechs and you know you are

followed on Wednesday by

You're Slovaks and you know you are.

If they get stroppy we could always change it to

That should go down well. :eek:

HA HA, Excellent...

zenokelly
04/09/2007, 4:55 PM
Super Stan, Super Stan, Super Stan..........

You know you want to:D