View Full Version : Keane's latest rant - direct at any Irish players?

Pages : 1 [2]

21/08/2007, 9:41 AM
Reason all these eejits are pressing the panic button is that around 50% of the posters on this forum would like nothing better but for keane to fail. in fact id say many go to bed praying for it.

But Roy'll be alrite. Ive no doubt about that. These foretellers of doom are the same guys that were laying in around christmas last year when sunderland lost three games on the bounce and were down mid-table. I take comfort in the fact that come may, after sunderland have stayed up with comfort...these guys will still be clinging on to the pathetic hope that some day roy might fail. not going to happen
My opinion is that he has a team easily good enough for 40 points.
But he has a the determination for 80.
There is a gap between the quality of the players he has signed and the amount of success he demands or expects.
There is going to be friction, ongoing changes and plenty of rants.The soap opera that has been the usual suspects of EPL managers bickering like Hyenas has changed.
So far, Roy the rookie manager,has not dissapointed.

21/08/2007, 9:52 AM
The news articles on it said that Givens rang him and he said he was injured, that Keane had promised to sort it out.

He said the club, not Roy. Roy is hardly going to be ringing all internationals, come on. There all people employed for that stuff.

21/08/2007, 10:15 AM
He said the club, not Roy. Roy is hardly going to be ringing all internationals, come on. There all people employed for that stuff.
'I told Anthony that I'd heard nothing and he said: "Well, I picked up a knock on Saturday and the boss told me twice that he'd sort it". (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0821/stokesa.html?rss)

21/08/2007, 10:35 AM
'I told Anthony that I'd heard nothing and he said: "Well, I picked up a knock on Saturday and the boss told me twice that he'd sort it". (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0821/stokesa.html?rss)

ya but surely not as in Roy, going home ringing 118 118:eek:. and ringing Don givens like.

Paddy Garcia
21/08/2007, 10:54 AM
Givens would do well to try to build a relationship with Keane. Going to the press might make him feel better in the short term but he is the one likely to suffer long-term.

21/08/2007, 11:30 AM
Roy Keane should build a relationship with Don Givens too. Should we all bow down to Roy Keane now.

21/08/2007, 11:34 AM
ya but surely not as in Roy, going home ringing 118 118:eek:. and ringing Don givens like.
Yeah maybe not, but that's not the issue here - if Keane promised to "sort it out", you'd at least expect a minion to be instructed to phone Givens.

21/08/2007, 11:38 AM
until you know all the facts I'd have thought Givens was better off keeping quiet about the matter....

theworm2345
21/08/2007, 12:08 PM
I'll say it again
Givens is a liar (we've seen it before), don't believe a word he says

SunderlandBohs
21/08/2007, 12:17 PM
shock horror the sunderland fans turn on their own pl;ayers. they have to be the worst fans in england.how many players have they done this to now?
We only turn on players who don't give 100% for the club. Stokes is one of them. That was proven yesterday when The Clown pulled out of the U21 squad. People ,including Keane, got all excited when he scored a couple of goals up in Scotland for Falkirk. A club that would finish mid-table here in Ireland.

Paddy Garcia
21/08/2007, 12:18 PM
Roy Keane should build a relationship with Don Givens too. Should we all bow down to Roy Keane now.

I don't think we should all bow down to Keane. However from a self-interest perspective Givens needs Keane on side more than the other way around. Unless he wants to be engaged in endless tensions for as long as either of them are in post.

21/08/2007, 12:18 PM

Difference is, Keane doesn't need Givens (or any Irish manager) whereas on the other hand.......

21/08/2007, 6:36 PM
until you know all the facts I'd have thought Givens was better off keeping quiet about the matter....

As per usual, Givens' tactic is to go to the media with one side of the story before checking out the facts. Anyone else get the feeling that he records every phone conversation:confused: :eek:

21/08/2007, 7:44 PM
Roy Keane clearly is not as good a manager as some people think when he thought Yorke, a 35 year forward could play central midfield in the Premeir League. :eek:

god man did you miss Trinidads games in the world cup:rolleyes:

21/08/2007, 8:02 PM
That seems a bit premature. Keane's done well so far; to suggest he's crap because he's leaned on a few players he knows is a bit rich.

Not really, it might be a tad over the top, but when you are throwing to ebb the flow of the Roy Keane Movement you tend to be. When you look at his purchases so far they haven't exactly set the world alight have they, it almost seems like he is building his Championship squad for next season already.

I also say he is more like Bruce, in that the Championship might just be his level as a manager, not the Premiership where tactical inexperience gets found out, and giving players a bollocking in the press rarely produces the same results as it does in the Premiership. Hughes knows this, has bought well, and has proven himself to be a great man manager. Again, my writing off of Keane might be a bit over the top at this stage, but when I hear ridiculous statements like he will take Sunderland into the top 4 this season than I feel I kinda have to be :)

21/08/2007, 11:58 PM
I also say he is more like Bruce, in that the Championship might just be his level as a manager, not the Premiership where tactical inexperience gets found out, and giving players a bollocking in the press rarely produces the same results as it does in the Premiership. Hughes knows this, has bought well, and has proven himself to be a great man manager. Again, my writing off of Keane might be a bit over the top at this stage, but when I hear ridiculous statements like he will take Sunderland into the top 4 this season than I feel I kinda have to be :)

I think keane is doing a good job, he has got an average team into the Premiership, and Im certain he will keep them there
But we will see:)

the thing that gets me is that many people were tipping Spurs as a top 4 team, which i found really bizarre considering they have no defence or decent midfield, or a manager who has a clue!

Billsthoughts
22/08/2007, 8:52 AM
it almost seems like he is building his Championship squad for next season already.

best put down ever......altho i disagree with you...

Fingal hoop
22/08/2007, 9:02 AM
McShane could be a absolute hero over there if he carries on th eway he started, never seen him give nothing but 100%. Fair play to him, thimk keanes comments wouldbe at the hole squad, nationality wouldnt come into it. I always get the feeling off Stokes, that he wouldnt Keanes sort of player, but the impression i get off keane hes very fond of him.

he is a donkey - against birmingham he scored an og & was woeful for the second goal
the racing post picked him out as the dud of the coming season

Fingal hoop
22/08/2007, 9:05 AM
Reason all these eejits are pressing the panic button is that around 50% of the posters on this forum would like nothing better but for keane to fail. in fact id say many go to bed praying for it.

But Roy'll be alrite. Ive no doubt about that. These foretellers of doom are the same guys that were laying in around christmas last year when sunderland lost three games on the bounce and were down mid-table. I take comfort in the fact that come may, after sunderland have stayed up with comfort...these guys will still be clinging on to the pathetic hope that some day roy might fail. not going to happen

you need to mature as a person - the walkers leprechaun suits himself & i dont know why Irish people like you have any time for him

22/08/2007, 9:09 AM
he is a donkey - against birmingham he scored an og & was woeful for the second goal
and football365 picked him out as having one of the best debuts of the opening day fixtures in the Premiership

shanman2
22/08/2007, 9:36 AM

Seen some crap talk on this site but that takes the biscuit. Mc Shane player of the year for two succesive years at west brom, capped at international level and looks every bit as promising as dunne did at his age, you obviously have not been to watch ireland recently otherwise you would have noticed his superb individual performances.... Think before you talk....

22/08/2007, 9:40 AM

I used always listen to the racing post too, thats why i spent 2 days living on the streets.:D :D

and football365 picked him out as having one of the best debuts of the opening day fixtures in the Premiership

It was definitly. He's a great player,dunno how anybody could call him a donkey(obviously not aimed at you tetsujin), Chris Kamara and Phil Thompson said Sunderland fell apart when he came off last weekend, since were quoting sources here.

22/08/2007, 9:40 AM
Seen some crap talk on this site but that takes the biscuit. Mc Shane player of the year for two succesive years at west brom, capped at international level and looks every bit as promising as dunne did at his age, you obviously have not been to watch ireland recently otherwise you would have noticed his superb individual performances.... Think before you talk....

Agree you beat me to it.

shanman2
22/08/2007, 9:48 AM
you need to mature as a person - the walkers leprechaun suits himself & i dont know why Irish people like you have any time for him

Take it your not Irish them because i think most people in Ireland what to see Sunderland succeed, not only because of Roy Keane, but because of the strong Irish contingent and the board who are made up of mostly Irish people. Not to mention a Niall Quinn who is also a Irish legend. This is an irish website and if you want to put down irish sports people go post on the english equivalent

22/08/2007, 10:03 AM
well if the racing post say so McShane must be a dud.....

cavan_fan
22/08/2007, 10:19 AM

He reminds me of Tony Adams, a player who had a reputation as a donkey but who was in fact a solid comitted defender. By the end of his career other people realised that.

SunderlandBohs
22/08/2007, 10:52 AM
well if the racing post say so McShane must be a dud.....
I wouldn't go putting the Racing Post down. It's a quailty paper & with educated readers. Just like those at the Daily Sport!:D

22/08/2007, 10:54 AM
He reminds me of Tony Adams, a player who had a reputation as a donkey but who was in fact a solid comitted defender. By the end of his career other people realised that.

Thats a very good point!

cheifo
22/08/2007, 4:32 PM
McShane is no dud but imo he is an exception in the Sunderland camp in that he is up to the standard required.I fear he and their keeper Gordon could be in for a busy time.I hope Quinn and Keane do well but I honestly dont feel they have bought good enough players.I hope I am proved wrong.

22/08/2007, 11:54 PM

funny, you only have to look at Mcshane once or twice to know he is a class act
and the Racing Post are consistently bad when it comes to football tipping

23/08/2007, 12:20 AM
Take it your not Irish them because i think most people in Ireland what to see Sunderland succeed, not only because of Roy Keane, but because of the strong Irish contingent and the board who are made up of mostly Irish people. Not to mention a Niall Quinn who is also a Irish legend. This is an irish website and if you want to put down irish sports people go post on the english equivalent

Seriously get over yourself.

Disliking an English club now somehow makes you not Irish....cos they've a few Irish players :eek:

I think you'll find plenty of Irish people do not want Sunderland to succeed. Try our forum if you want a few examples.

Personally I hope their Irish contingent play well, Roy O Donovon breaks into the team, they get relegated, he gets sold on and we get money.

If the players are good enough they'l stay in the Premiership, I don't have t want Sunderland to do well for that to happen.

23/08/2007, 12:20 AM
What about the players that do give 100% for their clubs, play brilliantly and still can't get a game at any level for their country. I'm talking about Owen Garvan, who was back in Dublin at the weekend, still confused as to why he hasn\t being selected for the ROI at U19, U21 or senior level.

23/08/2007, 12:21 AM
What about the players that do give 100% for their clubs, play brilliantly and still can't get a game at any level for their country. I'm talking about Owen Garvan, who was back in Dublin at the weekend, still confused as to why he hasn\t being selected for the ROI at U19, U21 or senior level.

I'm guessing he somehow ****ed off the wrong people

cheifo
23/08/2007, 12:23 AM
Have you any knowledege as to why Garvan is being treated like this DB.?