View Full Version : fai cup quarter final draw...
19/09/2007, 2:54 PM
Unfortunately as I now live in trim getting home could be a problem I could drop you off in Drogheda or Slane or somewhere!
I assume you have a floor/couch, no problem then. :D
I'm not going to make it to this one BTW.
Aberdonian Stu
19/09/2007, 3:12 PM
I shan't be there either.
19/09/2007, 3:19 PM
I shan't be there either.
Me three, for the reasons not stated by Schumi.
19/09/2007, 10:27 PM
cant see anything but a home win sorry lads, all the travellin must be killin ye
Slight chance I will be able to get off work early for this one and if so I will be driving up - any of ye ucd guys are welcome to a lift - will be going from dublin and will know by 11 or so tonight if i can make it
Really need some injuries to clear up or its going to be a very under strength line up
Derry missing a good few also though - tidman, moore, beckitt, mccrystal and morrow all out for certain
Mccourt is a doubt - as are mchugh, farren, and mccafferty
Deery returns from suspension
cant see anything but a home win sorry lads, all the travellin must be killin ye
Yes, we were all very surprised (!!) to see us drawn away from home in 5 of our 6 cup games this year. It was a real surpirse, which nobody predicted and nobody could have foreseen, that we would get away to Derry twice in the quarter finals of both competitions.
The fact that these away games are tricky and are likely now to both result in defeats is just unfortunate. It also means the big clubs will be left in the semis which is good for the profile of the cup competitions.
So these completley unpredictable draws result in lots of travel and likely defeats for us.
A tremednous pity because we have played very well in patches this season and if we gotten a kinder draw, who knows. But such is the vagaries of a draw in football cup competitions where it is just simply impossible to predict who you will draw.
20/09/2007, 5:37 PM
Derry missing a good few also though - tidman, moore, beckitt, mccrystal and morrow all out for certain
Mccourt is a doubt - as are mchugh, farren, and mccafferty
Good that Morrow is out but McCourt, McHugh and Farren look set to be available.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/7005330.stm
Also don't know what makes Roberston think we play 4-5-1.
20/09/2007, 5:44 PM
YIt was a real surpirse, which nobody predicted and nobody could have foreseen, that we would get away to Derry twice in the quarter finals of both competitions.
Drew them in the semis in the League Cup. ;)
Same injuries as Sligo, it appears. King and McMillan to play. Not looking good...
20/09/2007, 5:51 PM
Quigley
Mahon
Shorthall
McMillan
Kenna
Conan
King
McFaul
McWalter
Finn
Sammon
Interesting to see how McMillan will do now that he won't be playing alongside McNally.
20/09/2007, 5:56 PM
Don't really have much choice, do we?
Want to hazard a guess at the bench?!
Gregg
Timmy
Murphy/Hynes
Bolger (where's he gone?)
Moran?
20/09/2007, 5:58 PM
Interview with Timmy on the FAI website (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2431&Itemid=9).
20/09/2007, 6:15 PM
Gregg, Timmy for sure. Hopefully Murphy will be ahead of Hynes and we never see him again. Need some defensive cover but King can drop back if someone gets injured (!!), with a potential defence of him RB, Mahon LB and Kenna CB if one of the centre backs get injured! Bolger has to be on the bench- no one else really (on the bench for last cup game (which reminds me 7 subs- ******, Hynes)). Moran/O'Callaghan will cover the wings (or both even) and after that who knows.
20/09/2007, 6:30 PM
Seven subs - God yeah, we'll be struggling!
Can see a debut being given in this match.
Moran, Last, Gallagher, Kelly, O'Sullivan, Forsyth?
Paul Byrne??
20/09/2007, 8:12 PM
Seven subs - God yeah, we'll be struggling!
Can see a debut being given in this match.
Moran, Last, Gallagher, Kelly, O'Sullivan, Forsyth?
Paul Byrne??
I think Last and Kelly have left the club, not too sure though. Gallagher hasn't been starting for the U-21s the past few games so doubt he will get called up. Moran and O'Sullivan definitely possibilities. We need some defensive cover though (in case two get injured!) so O'Donnell should get a place, if Angus' praise is anything to go by. Paul Byrne is still out.
Forgot that Hynes is cup-tied!:)
21/09/2007, 4:12 PM
Lads,
The game is available online via Radio Foyle so we'll not be doing a CMA tonight.
21/09/2007, 8:50 PM
If we play like we did against Drogs youse will have every chance of progressing.
You seem to have forgotten how we played against youz last month!.
You were saying?
Fair play lads, your team was gutted with injuries and ye still took it fair play. Hope yis win the thing now.
21/09/2007, 10:29 PM
You were saying?
Fair play lads, your team was gutted with injuries and ye still took it fair play. Hope yis win the thing now.
Cheers, good luck in the League Cup final.
Can't believe we won the tie.:eek: Let's hope this FAI Cup semi goes like the last one.:D
21/09/2007, 11:23 PM
Well I have to say I wouldn't have believed it possible given all the players we had missing for the game... but WE WON :D And of course as we have never lost an FAI Cup semi-final we could be in the RDS in December.