View Full Version : Directions/Route Planner

16/08/2007, 8:24 PM
AA Route planner (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/) not working for me. Looking for directions from M50 at Lucan to Waterford ASAP. Anyone know any other route planner sites which cover Ireland?

16/08/2007, 8:27 PM
AA Route planner (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/) not working for me. Looking for directions from M50 at Lucan to Waterford ASAP. Anyone know any other route planner sites which cover Ireland?

Works for me. Just enter Dublin & Waterford. Head out the N7 & follows the directions from AA.

Darco Ooragnak
16/08/2007, 8:31 PM
Google Maps (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=&saddr=Lucan,+South+Dublin,+Ireland&daddr=Waterford,+Ireland&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=26.812565,59.765625&ie=UTF8&z=8&om=1)....not sure how accurate it is though..

16/08/2007, 8:31 PM
Try the RAC or Google Maps

16/08/2007, 8:36 PM
Do ye know if ya have to go through Kilkenny to get to Waterford from M50?

Darco Ooragnak
16/08/2007, 8:38 PM
Don`t think so, zoom in on the map.

16/08/2007, 8:40 PM
Don`t think so, zoom in on the map.Ok sound. Just checked route on RAC website and they said about entering Kilkenny. We're trying to avoid that tomorrow due to heavy roadworks and some arts festival, should be busy.

Darco Ooragnak
16/08/2007, 8:41 PM
Ok sound. Just checked route on RAC website and they said about entering Kilkenny.

..probably meant the county...

16/08/2007, 8:41 PM
I thought googlemaps gave exact road directions.

AA isn't giving a route from Lucan to City centre.
Does this (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/route.asp) link work for you?

16/08/2007, 8:44 PM
AA isn't giving a route from Lucan to City centre.
Does this (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/route.asp) link work for you?Yeah it does, is that for entering the M50 at Lucan?:confused:

16/08/2007, 8:53 PM
Do ye know if ya have to go through Kilkenny to get to Waterford from M50?

You go via Kilkenny or you go via Wicklow on the N11 on the coast. There is a ring road around Kilkenny.

16/08/2007, 8:55 PM
You go via Kilkenny or you go via Wicklow on the N11 on the coast. There is a ring road around Kilkenny.Which way is quicker so?

16/08/2007, 8:58 PM
Which way is quicker so?

Well I wouldn't start in Lucan :D

I would guess via Kilkenny but no personal experience recently. Try the via option on AA Routeplanner.

16/08/2007, 9:02 PM
Well I wouldn't start in Lucan :DWell the bus is going from Sligo-Lucan-Waterford, just to avoid Kilkenny, all because of roadworks:D
I would guess via Kilkenny but no personal experience recently. Try the via option on AA Routeplanner.Will check it.

Thanks guys!

16/08/2007, 9:26 PM
sligoman i would go down via laois if i were you, dont go as faras dublin.

you dont need to go via kilkenny though if you go m50. It will be signposted anyhow. Have you not left sligo county and environs before?!?! :D

BTW if you are looking for general directiongs major roads etc use google. IF not DONT! I cant stress that enough.

16/08/2007, 9:27 PM
sligoman i would go down via laois if i were you, dont go as faras dublin.

you dont need to go via kilkenny though if you go m50. It will be signposted anyhow. Have you not left sligo county and environs yet?!?! :DIt's the guy running the bus that wants directions, not me:p

16/08/2007, 9:30 PM
Why don't you do it old fashioned and get out the roadmaps. Of course, if you're REALLY stuck you could take the M50 out to Cherrywood and then the M11 down to Wexford.

soccerc
16/08/2007, 9:48 PM
You don't have to go into Kilkenny City going to Waterford.

Turn left onto N9 at Paulstown and go via Gowran.

16/08/2007, 9:51 PM

Turn left onto N9 at Paulstown and go via Gowran.Yeah I used AA's directions in the end and that's the way they suggested.

Thanks all, appreciate it!

Paddyfield
16/08/2007, 10:46 PM

Don't over-depend on the AA website, Sligoman.

I printed off directions to an address in D6 and the AA sent me on a wild goose chase. I should've known better as I lived in Rathmines for a year.

I was travelling parallel to the Grand Canal from Inchicore D8 when I missed my right turn onto Rathmines Road and all because I couldn't take a right turn which us culchies tend to do despite warning roadsigns! Instead, I followed the directions which added a few KMs on to my trip via Ballsbridge D4 in a circle which added over half an hour to my trip.

Also, I printed directions to Adare, Co Limerick for my Dad which sent him through Limerick City as the AA site wasn't familiar with the Limerick By Pass dual carraigeway :mad:

16/08/2007, 11:34 PM
For what its worth last time I travelled to Waterford we went down the N11 to New Ross (nice new road there...) and then turned for Waterford. Got there in about 3 hours on a poxy rainy friday evening with oxygen traffic holding up the N7

stann
17/08/2007, 12:03 AM

Turn left onto N9 at Paulstown and go via Gowran.

Correct, that's actually the main road (i.e. not a bypass or shortcut or anything), though from there onwards you wouldn't think it.

The N11 is often the best bet, although the southern ends of both routes are p!ss-poor. An uncharitable chap might think the Wexford and Kilkenny county councils had little interest in smoothing the passage of traffic going to Waterford through their counties. :D