View Full Version : U21'S Win again
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/fixtures-and-results/u21s-hit-five-in-castlebar.html
Well done to Billy and the Lads.
WoodquayBoy
15/08/2007, 7:25 PM
Future United manafer in the making I reckon.:ball:
(First time poster, was only directed to the site recently, so hi y'all)
gufcfan
15/08/2007, 9:09 PM
Welcome!
Claret Murph
16/08/2007, 6:22 AM
HI WOODQUAY
Welcome ,you can take a seat at the back of the bus .
WoodquayBoy
16/08/2007, 7:20 AM
Ta, didn't think id be allowed on the bus this quickly. Who has the casette of music for the driver.
Seriously think Billy would make a great manager, or even Mike Quirke - two young former United players who are making waves in management and have the respect of fans. By the way, a little off topic, but is UtdvUtd on Setanta or Tee Gee Four on Monday
GuisaSaigon
16/08/2007, 11:17 AM
Ta, didn't think id be allowed on the bus this quickly. Who has the casette of music for the driver.
Seriously think Billy would make a great manager, or even Mike Quirke - two young former United players who are making waves in management and have the respect of fans. By the way, a little off topic, but is UtdvUtd on Setanta or Tee Gee Four on Monday
Dont think it's televised. unless you count aertel!
damoGUFC
16/08/2007, 2:57 PM
Well done to the under 21's, there doing the busniess under Billy!:D next up for them is Monaghan United on sat in Terryland at 2pm.
16/08/2007, 3:06 PM
Yer U-21's are supposed to be playing us this weekend in the Showgrounds? What's going on?
damoGUFC
16/08/2007, 3:13 PM
Well it says on the website..
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/fixtures-and-results/monaghan-visit-terryland.html
Tir Oilean
16/08/2007, 4:04 PM
Welcome Woodquay Boy! By the way Quirke couldn't organise a **** up in Castlbar or organise the bus to get there! Isnt that right Terry!:-) :-)
WoodquayBoy
16/08/2007, 4:25 PM
The way the U21s are playing, let them split up an take on both the Mons and the Poetry Boys
thinking about putting money on GUFC u21's to win either the league or cup this year, anybody know a bookies that would have odds on them?
Paddyfield
16/08/2007, 7:34 PM
Welcome Woodquay Boy! By the way Quirke couldn't organise a **** up in Castlbar or organise the bus to get there! Isnt that right Terry!:-) :-)
Quirkey was in the Showgrounds at the Shligo V.GUFC game. He is currently coaching Salthill U21's. They should name the new stand in Terryland the Quirkey Stand
Tir Oilean
16/08/2007, 9:16 PM
We should make an effort to head up to Terryland on Saturday. Its free and as I posted weeks ago you will see the best football youve seen since the early days of the season.
gilberto_eire
16/08/2007, 10:42 PM
i have plans to go....whether or not they change is another thing after friday night!!... we should get the drums going and all :D
WoodquayBoy
16/08/2007, 10:44 PM
Billy is a ledge, pity he has hung up his boots, could do with him against the likes of Drogs, WB's shower and **** Boy in the next three games
16/08/2007, 10:45 PM
Heard ye are playing us Wednesday night instead.
gilberto_eire
16/08/2007, 10:57 PM
well the fixture list is f*cked up...sure it said for the last game against castlebar was on sunday at home, but then it was away on a differant day!!... can someone confirm the game?
from the Official Site http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/fixtures-and-results/monaghan-visit-terryland.html
pixiehead
17/08/2007, 5:03 PM
WENT UP TO WATCH THE first half of the game. United have some very good individual players. Lovley touches and vision. With no physical presence in the team foley was in the middle. Maybe its because he was older and bigger but i have to say he had a great game. Id like to see him and robinson get the start in Cork. they both have a bit of heart
gilberto_eire
18/08/2007, 9:24 AM
WENT UP TO WATCH THE first half of the game. United have some very good individual players. Lovley touches and vision. With no physical presence in the team foley was in the middle. Maybe its because he was older and bigger but i have to say he had a great game. Id like to see him and robinson get the start in Cork. they both have a bit of heart
taught it was today??!!:confused:
Patrick Dunne
18/08/2007, 11:40 AM
Pixiehead is talking about the game versus Castlebar Celtic on Tuesday.
GUFC are playing Monaghan today (Saturday 18th) in Terryland at 2.00pm.
GuisaSaigon
18/08/2007, 1:58 PM
GUFC are playing Monaghan today (Tuesday 18th) in Terryland at 2.00pm.
Feck, I thought today was Saturday! I should be at work:eek::rolleyes:
Tir Oilean
18/08/2007, 3:18 PM
Finished one all against monaghan. Keith Ward with the goal in the first half. The wind blew up in the second half and made a mess of the game really. There were claims from the defence that the ball didnt cross the line but the linesman was pretty sure of it when he called it. Utd could have scored 3/4 in the first half
22/08/2007, 9:10 PM
Bottom of the league Rovers bet Galway 6-2 tonight to give them their first win of the season:eek:.
25/08/2007, 6:23 PM
well the fixture list is f*cked up...can someone confirm the game?
According to our club site, our U-21 game in Galway tomorrow is at 3pm. :confused: True or false??
Olander
25/08/2007, 6:30 PM
true
http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/match-previews/u21-quarter-final.html
anybody have directions to the match?
Demoshield
26/08/2007, 8:20 PM
Cup1/4 final: GUFC 2 - Rovers 1 AET
1 up first half Ronan O'Boyle.
winner in ET from Vinny Faherty
Tir Oilean
26/08/2007, 9:17 PM
Great news. The club are on track for some silverware for the first time in ages. Very exciting times for our youth set up. Hopefully Billy Clery will be able to bring these lads through to the next level, we might even produce our very own local talent like Cork City have.
Great performance against a very good Rovers Team. We lost it a bit when Jason Molloy had to go off and Keith Ward who had been outstanding on the left went into central midfield and Rovers bossed the game for the second half.
Uniteds back four were excellent with Right Back Davin Dowling My Man of the Match. Super Sub Alfredo Beto set up the winner for Vinny Faherty with a stinging 25 yard volley that the keeper could only parry and Vinny finished well from Six yards. Congrats to Billy,G and the lads on an excellent win and a great entertaining game and thanks to Athenry F.C. for use of their superb facilities.
where did alferdo beto sign from?
Gaillimh Al
28/08/2007, 4:02 PM
He's not the Brazilian who used to play in lower leagues in Galway junior football, is he?
No i guess he is Spanish or Italian and its Alfredo not Alferdo!!!!!!!!!!
Gaillimh Al
28/08/2007, 4:28 PM
OK. maybe just a coincidence this fella was called Beto too. Tall, strong, very talented, very little English. Played up front or attacking midfielder.