View Full Version : Inchicore

15/08/2007, 2:29 PM
Right, for those of you in the know.

What would you consider this? Would you consider it west dublin, inner (city) dublin or south dublin?

Personally, I have always considered it inner dublin/west dublin along with cork street etc but never south dublin......

15/08/2007, 2:30 PM
It's in the South Inner City.

15/08/2007, 2:36 PM
ya thats prolly what i would call it or west inner city perhaps....

15/08/2007, 2:36 PM
It's in the South Inner City.

Its far too far out to be considered inner city.

Its the start of west Dublin. West Dublin kind of runs at a vector from Inchicore to Tallaght to Blanchardstown.

Politically speaking its gone from Dublin west to Dublin Central to Dublin South Central.

It is in the south half of Dublin though

15/08/2007, 2:41 PM
It was also guitar player Dave Evans first nick name before he became the edge.

15/08/2007, 2:55 PM
Its far too far out to be considered inner city.Basin Street Flats, Fatima Mansions are all less than a half mile from Inchicore and they are Dublins South Inner City. I would refer to it as being in the South Inner City.

Billsthoughts
15/08/2007, 3:01 PM
too far out to be inner city....inner city has to be walkable from city centre...and inchicore would be a long walk...(bout 45 mins)

15/08/2007, 3:12 PM
Inner City post codes are Dublin 1 & Dublin 2,Inchicore is Dublin 8.

15/08/2007, 4:20 PM
OK its cleared up that this wan has a bit of an air and grace about herself like i suspected. she goes round telling everyone she is from the "southside" i put her in her place though :D It being my duty and all that.

15/08/2007, 4:37 PM
Inner City post codes are Dublin 1 & Dublin 2,Inchicore is Dublin 8.Why then havs Ballybough got a Dublin 3 post code and Christchurch and Parkgate Street got a Dublin 8 code?

15/08/2007, 4:44 PM
Why then has Ballybough got a Dublin 3 post code and Christchurch and Parkgate Street got a Dublin 8 code?

I suppose the post codes have to start/end somewhere?.

Dublin 8 is the only postcode that has Streets North & South of the Liffey
for some reason.

I suppose you can pick out Roads & Streets here and there that make the numbers system look silly but I think there's no way you could say Inchicore is City Centre,imho.

15/08/2007, 5:01 PM
Why then havs Ballybough got a Dublin 3 post code and Christchurch and Parkgate Street got a Dublin 8 code?Because Ballybough is closer to the GPO than Christchurch and Parkgate Street?

And also aren't the postcodes broadly clockwise starting at the 12 O'Clock?

Those are guesses before anyone attempts to pillory me!

soccerc
15/08/2007, 5:04 PM
Dublin 8 is the only postcode that has Streets North & South of the Liffey for some reason.
No it's not.

15/08/2007, 5:11 PM
No it's not.
Chapelizod?

15/08/2007, 5:17 PM
No it's not.

Some suburbs are divided by the Liffey like Lucan,Chapelizod etc but they're areas as opposed to post codes.

What are the other ones?

soccerc
15/08/2007, 5:25 PM
Some suburbs are divided by the Liffey like Lucan,Chapelizod etc but they're areas as opposed to post codes.

What are the other ones?

Dublin 20 is on both sides of the Liffey.

Chapelizod Village to just beyond the Wren's Nest on the Strawberry Beds including one third of the Phoenix Park on the north side as well as Moutn Sackville School

From St Lawrences Road (Lr Ballyfermot Rd) to St Lomans Hospital on the south including Palmerstown

15/08/2007, 5:32 PM
South Inner City based on the fact it there is no such this as Mid-West City.

15/08/2007, 5:39 PM
Soon to be the only area of Dublin City (north, south, inner, outer, upper, whatever) with a senior football club.

15/08/2007, 5:41 PM
Soon to be the only area of Dublin City (north, south, inner, outer, upper, whatever) with a senior football club.
The Belfield Bowl's still in D4 Jerry.

15/08/2007, 7:20 PM
South Inner City based on the fact it there is no such this as Mid-West City.

But there's a South Inner City? Whats the difference

BTW POS, she is from the southside. Go and tell her she's a knacker though like the rest of us

15/08/2007, 7:30 PM
Can't be considered South (as opposed to inner-city) IMO because it's inside the canal. I'd consider it West for the spurious reason that it's West of Heuston station.

15/08/2007, 7:32 PM
Its South because its South of the Liffey, the only way to be categorised as South, despite the snobbier southsiders shame...

15/08/2007, 7:41 PM
Dublin 20 is on both sides of the Liffey.

Chapelizod Village to just beyond the Wren's Nest on the Strawberry Beds including one third of the Phoenix Park on the north side as well as Moutn Sackville School

From St Lawrences Road (Lr Ballyfermot Rd) to St Lomans Hospital on the south including Palmerstown

But they're not Streets are they?;)

15/08/2007, 7:43 PM
Its South because its South of the Liffey, the only way to be categorised as South, despite the snobbier southsiders shame...

If there's a category of places to be described as inner-city rather than South-city (which was the point of the thread I think), there has to be a dividing line between the two somewhere and the canal, for the most part, is a useful line. It's not a matter of snobbishness and obviously Inchicore is on the Southside.

15/08/2007, 7:45 PM
The point of the thread is POS looking to get one up on some burd... ;)

The canal runs through clondalkin but surely you won't consider them Inner city

15/08/2007, 7:55 PM
The canal runs through clondalkin but surely you won't consider them Inner cityOf course not, that's West (as is Inchicore).

soccerc
15/08/2007, 8:03 PM
But they're not Streets are they?;)

Both Chapelizod and Palmerston Villages have Main Streets :D

15/08/2007, 8:41 PM
BTW POS, she is from the southside. Go and tell her she's a knacker though like the rest of us

Dont be so hard on yourself Dodge. :D

I would have considered ballyfaro west dublin but kinda didnt like to call inchicore west dublin as it isnt far enough west a mon avis. whatever the definition of west dublin would be im not sure either!!

15/08/2007, 9:33 PM
The point of the thread is POS looking to get one up on some burd... ;)..

or just simply get up on some bird!!! :D

Paddyfield
15/08/2007, 10:32 PM
Personally, I have always considered it inner dublin/west dublin along with cork street etc but never south dublin......

As a Culchie :D, I would consider Cork Street to be South inner city but I always considered Inchicore to be west Dublin*

*this is probably based on spins form P Dolan when he was a Supersaint.

15/08/2007, 10:39 PM
The point of the thread is POS looking to get one up on some burd... ;)

Does he have South & West side standards? :D