View Full Version : Tayto or King?

14/08/2007, 10:08 PM
This poll was requested by Anto McC. Which Cheese and Onion crisps do you prefer? No other option included at it's just a simple question if you had to choose between the 2 of them, which would it be?

gilberto_eire
14/08/2007, 10:10 PM
all TAYTO are rotten....id barely eat them if there in the press...especially the cheese and onion ones!!

soccerc
14/08/2007, 10:12 PM
This poll was requested by Anto McC. Which Cheese and Onion crisps do you prefer? No other option included at it's just a simple question if you had to choose between the 2 of them, which would it be?

Both have exactly the same potato variety and flavour recipe. :)

Edit: I should have mentioned King had a different flavour recipe up to 1986ish. Info supplied by a former senior executive of Eurosnax/King Foods.

14/08/2007, 10:25 PM
Cheers for the Poll Sligoman. I should have specified that i'm talking about Cheese and Onion flavour.

Tom Dunne made mention of King crisps on the radio today and you wouldn't believe the debate that ensued within my job. It seemed that the Dubs tended to favour King.

I had the debate with a few posters on here via text too.

14/08/2007, 10:38 PM
The King can't be overthrown by his inferiors. :)

14/08/2007, 11:09 PM
Both have exactly the same potato variety and flavour recipe. :)

Edit: I should have mentioned King had a different flavour recipe up to 1986ish. Info supplied by a former senior executive of Eurosnax/King Foods.Somehow I doubt it, they taste totally different. Tayto are much saltier for a start.

soccerc
14/08/2007, 11:17 PM
Somehow I doubt it, they taste totally different. Tayto are much saltier for a start.

I was stores manager of King Foods at one stage of my life. Part of the job was maintaining the barrels of flavour ingredients and mixing them to the recipe. It was not as precise as you'd imagine. Basically it was powdered onion, cheddar cheese flavour whey powder, salt and msg.

The Tayto recipe was similar but their ingredients came from completely different suppliers.

gilberto_eire
14/08/2007, 11:51 PM
I was stores manager of King Foods at one stage of my life. Part of the job was maintaining the barrels of flavour ingredients and mixing them to the recipe. It was not as precise as you'd imagine. Basically it was powdered onion, cheddar cheese flavour whey powder, salt and msg.

The Tayto recipe was similar but their ingredients came from completely different suppliers.

<<<<what are the odds!! :D

FarmHoop
15/08/2007, 12:11 AM
Theres always one

15/08/2007, 12:12 AM
Hunky Dorys are the best Cheese and Onion.

15/08/2007, 12:49 AM
Tayto! Game over. Have a nice day.

15/08/2007, 7:55 AM
Hunky Dory for me too but Tayto are the only crisps to make a sandwich with. Really fresh white bread, smothered in REAL butter, half a pack of Tayto cheese & onion crushed down with other slice of bread.

Dam ya am on a health kick & only had a smootie for breakie now want a crisp sandwich!

Wolfie
15/08/2007, 8:05 AM

King crisps for me.

Neish
15/08/2007, 8:14 AM
Don't like Cheese & Onion but Tayto for Salt & Vinegar

15/08/2007, 8:15 AM
Tayto, but king has a fierce taste off them too. Nicest pack of crisps for me- Tayto Salt and vinegar, cant be beaten.

15/08/2007, 8:18 AM
Tayto have gone to the dogs since they were taken over and moved production to Largo Foods.

Northern Tayto (separate company) all the way.

15/08/2007, 8:20 AM
Yuck Northern Tayto are minging. Always felt sorry for my cousins in Enniskillen having to eat them. Used to bring them the real Tayto when we visited!

aido_b
15/08/2007, 8:36 AM
King ... The little man on the Tayto packet has freaked me out since I was a kid!

15/08/2007, 9:03 AM
always thought the tayto over here that were made in antrim or somewhere were frauds. horrible.

actually id love a packet of kings salt n vinegar now. But i prefer tayto, they are hte bestest by far.

GuisaSaigon
15/08/2007, 9:21 AM
Has to be Tayto. Never get those King crisps.

Babysis
15/08/2007, 10:00 AM
Tayto. But for salt and vinegar it's Hunky Dory

15/08/2007, 10:11 AM
Tayto for the sandwiches.
King Crisps for the pub.

Neish
15/08/2007, 10:27 AM
Tayto, but king has a fierce taste off them too. Nicest pack of crisps for me- Tayto Salt and vinegar, cant be beaten.

And a great colour on the packets too, when i see it I think 2007 1st Div Champions ;)

15/08/2007, 10:53 AM
And a great colour on the packets too, when i see it I think 2007 1st Div Champions ;)

ah come on like, cant even talk about crisps now. :D

steno
15/08/2007, 11:03 AM
Tayto for me King looks like a dub thing here in work everyone from outside the big smoke eats tayto

15/08/2007, 11:30 AM
Haven't we had this conversation before? I definitely voted for McCoy's at some point.

15/08/2007, 11:35 AM
Tayto all the way...tayto sandwiches, tayto and tea, tayto and water!! :p

15/08/2007, 11:41 AM
tayto salt and vinegar and tea. savage.

15/08/2007, 11:41 AM
damn ye feckers have made me want tayto badly and i cannae get them anywhere :( will someone send them down the wire?

15/08/2007, 11:59 AM
If my brother ever gets in touch ask him for a packet. We sent him some for his birthday a week or so ago. They are prob all gone tho!

15/08/2007, 12:17 PM
Hunky Dory for me too but Tayto are the only crisps to make a sandwich with. Really fresh white bread, smothered in REAL butter, half a pack of Tayto cheese & onion crushed down with other slice of bread.

Dam ya am on a health kick & only had a smootie for breakie now want a crisp sandwich!

Crisp and tomato sandwich is a favourite of mine. If you've never tried it I recommend it heartily. Works best with Cheese & Onion. Don't really like salt 'n'vinegar crisps. Oh, and King all the way. (Walkers are nice though- less greasy)

15/08/2007, 12:20 PM
Definitely King (luxury if possible) of the Cheese and Onion. Tayto tastes nicer as an export I think - used to love getting hold of packs in Manch.

Tayto Smokey Bacon beats King Cheese and Onion though.

Armando
15/08/2007, 12:42 PM
I voted King.

Haven't had a bag of crisps in a while, but damn I remember as a kid getting a pack of King and a Club orange(in the brown glass bottle) in the pub.....those were the fecking days!

DaveyCakes
15/08/2007, 1:32 PM
King. By a mile

declan hide
15/08/2007, 1:42 PM
King.

Two many burnt bags of tayto knocking about.

15/08/2007, 1:42 PM
This is probably the closest poll we've ever had :)

biscuit
15/08/2007, 3:43 PM
tayto v king!
its a real country v dubs thing. my cousins used to complain when they came down from talla to "de cuntry" cause they hated "dem culchie crips"!! id actually have to go for king now myself, a beauty with a pint of the balck stuff out in the pennier in talla!

Wolfie
15/08/2007, 3:51 PM
tayto v king!
its a real country v dubs thing. my cousins used to complain when they came down from talla to "de cuntry" cause they hated "dem culchie crips"!! id actually have to go for king now myself, a beauty with a pint of the balck stuff out in the pennier in talla!

Nice one Biscuit. Are Crisps not your arch enemy?

biscuit
15/08/2007, 3:53 PM
na, they think they are all that, but you cant dip crisps in a cup of tae now can you! run along now mr crispy!! :D

15/08/2007, 3:58 PM
Have to go with King too. I've never been a Tayto fan, flavour is a bit too sharp or something. Get the odd urge for a bag now and again though. Probably prefer Walkers to both of them.

P.S. All non cheese and onion flavours are just wrong. Apart from maybe Waffles, and old school Monster Munch.

What flavour are Snax? Always had a soft spot for them too.

biscuit
15/08/2007, 4:03 PM
snax are a strong cheese and onion flavour. my favs would be waffles, monster munch, meenies (ohh semi:D), king,walkers cheese n onion, banshees, snax, burger bites, chickaroos, rancheros, onion rings! i like all those cheapy flavoured "corn snacks", lucky i have some sort of self control or id be a feckin whale by now!!

ollie
15/08/2007, 4:04 PM
King Salt and Vinegar are the best crisps ever. Tayto Cheese and Onion though are better than King's equivilant.

15/08/2007, 4:58 PM
Tayto Smokey Bacon rule over both. And are much more difficult to get:mad:

I have heard from a reliable resource that the difference between the two brands is one uses flour, the other doesn't..

ger121
15/08/2007, 5:00 PM
Got to be King for me the taste is more subtle

15/08/2007, 5:03 PM
It is a tight poll alright!

In my school in rooorul Oirlind King was the crisp (or should one say "Crips"?) of choice - no jackeen connotations.

dcfc1985
15/08/2007, 5:11 PM
Northern Tayto (separate company) all the way.

Have to agree with ORA too...esp cheese & onion inside a floury bab and washed down with a mug of tea! (must be a Derry thing!?)

The girlfriend swears by northern tayto too..i would have to bring her a multi pack when she lived in Glasgow ;) but i'd end up eating half of them anyway on her! Ah well since shes in Galway now she only has to go up the road for them herself! ;):D

15/08/2007, 5:52 PM
At the moment it's 28-27 in favour of Tayto. As close as a poll as i've ever seen. I made a similar poll on Shelsweb and it's also a tie at the moment.

couchy9
15/08/2007, 6:27 PM
king for me
although tayto own king crisps

15/08/2007, 6:29 PM
Can't understand how anyone can go for King.

15/08/2007, 6:31 PM
I just had to have a packet of Tayto there to check them out coz of this feckin thread and have to say was very disappointed in em. Back to the Hunky Doreys for me!