View Full Version : Shelbourne 25th August
We play Shels on the 25th, no game next w/end due to FAI Cup. Yes it's regatta time, anyone interested in helping out with freshening up Maddens Window? Putting out posters, handing out flyers etc. Shels are coming so the stand will be closed for them. Your help would be appreciated lads.
12/08/2007, 10:16 PM
We play Shels on the 25th, no game next w/end due to FAI Cup. Yes it's regatta time, anyone interested in helping out with freshening up Maddens Window? Putting out posters, handing out flyers etc. Shels are coming so the stand will be closed for them. Your help would be appreciated lads.
Jesus let us get over today first, long day:D:D:D
Rams-07
13/08/2007, 4:52 PM
No bother Marco what you want us to do?
good chance now to promote the match with us beem on top..might be a good idea to put up plenty of signs on approach roads this weekend with so many people due in for the regatta....
MojoPin
13/08/2007, 5:39 PM
pm me no problem lending a hand
No bother Marco what you want us to do?
good chance now to promote the match with us beem on top..might be a good idea to put up plenty of signs on approach roads this weekend with so many people due in for the regatta....
Ya that's one idea, must be carefull with those sign as the Council normally take them down, but they have been ok for last game. Match poster should be ready by Thur, I contacted The Sun and they will do a preview next week on the game. I want to have tons of flyers out during the regatta. I might get the U2 Tribute band to wear a Rams jersey, do u know anyone in the Regatta Commitee? We should have the place hopping for this game, as Limerick will have Dundalk the day before. Thanks
13/08/2007, 7:48 PM
Make sure you leave leaflets in Mimmos and all the pubs. It sounds like a great idea with the U2 band, it should draw some attention to the team.
Have you tried to get one of the team or Hendo to judge for the regatta queen or even get one of the lads to host the regatta queen segment. That usually draws the biggest crowd out and if we had someone from Ramblers on the stage every night they could keep asking for support and it may get people interested in Ramblers.
don ramo
13/08/2007, 9:44 PM
a custom firework explode at the end a big rams crest, imagine (i how much it'd cost:D), but the regatta will be great advertising, any players in any races or anything, i assume theres a run on as usual,
13/08/2007, 9:48 PM
a custom firework explode at the end a big rams crest, imagine (i how much it'd cost:D), but the regatta will be great advertising, any players in any races or anything, i assume theres a run on as usual,
its there weekend off, i say they'll all head out of town. The cork fellas surely wont be around. they deserve a breakanyway.
MojoPin
13/08/2007, 11:22 PM
im doing the fun run any rams mascot suit or anything?????????
Would love to have one also for the games! The Regatta Commitee will help out in promoting the Shels game as much as we like fair play to them. Would love the U2 Tribute band to mention it also with the sounds of Bloody Sunday playing in the background! the place would be hopping!!
15/08/2007, 1:07 PM
Seen John Kearney back training what a boost it would be to have him back in the squad for Shelbourne.
Rams-07
15/08/2007, 4:57 PM
Great to hear Kearney back training...he`s badly missed...Marco you might ask Noel Maguire about the U2 tribute band..he might know someone...
Rambler1
15/08/2007, 6:23 PM
Ya that's one idea, must be carefull with those sign as the Council normally take them down, but they have been ok for last game. Match poster should be ready by Thur, I contacted The Sun and they will do a preview next week on the game. I want to have tons of flyers out during the regatta. I might get the U2 Tribute band to wear a Rams jersey, do u know anyone in the Regatta Commitee? We should have the place hopping for this game, as Limerick will have Dundalk the day before. Thanks
Marco, any point in having a special promotion for the shels match for Rams fans to get more fans than ever to go to this game e.g 1 adult ticket purchased from clubhouse prior to matchday gets 1 free adult pass or two free kids tickets for this game only. We might loose a bit of revenue on this match but would possibly encourage more people to come to games if they enjoy it and be better for our attendances in the long run.
don ramo
15/08/2007, 7:00 PM
i think, from what i've heard, a lot of revenue has already been lost with these free passes, were well over half way now, if people don't want to pay to see a winning team let them off, i want big attendances but they just take the freebie and thats it,
marco do you actually have figure on how many passes you've given out this season,
don't get me wrong, id say some have come afterwards and payed, but i would like a figure to judge our recent attendances,
i remember davey hills time we had 2,000 plus in a midweek game, so whats wrong this time, not having pop, but whats different now, it was only 4 years ago, have people just given up or what.
MojoPin
16/08/2007, 2:03 AM
ive mentioned free passes already but was shot down.. surely a loss on one weeks revenue is worth alot less than potential customers? and i say customers because thats wat fans are these days
Rams-07
16/08/2007, 5:17 PM
Dont think yhave to be a brain surgeon to figure out why people are not going to matches.....
As for free passes,i always thought tha this was a good idea..speculate to accumalate comes to mind..suppose it depends on who you give the passes to...
Dont think yhave to be a brain surgeon to figure out why people are not going to matches.....
As for free passes,i always thought tha this was a good idea..speculate to accumalate comes to mind..suppose it depends on who you give the passes to...
Love to know why?
16/08/2007, 6:49 PM
Why not, nobody should have any excuses as far as im concerned, Top of the table, good football, sat night,season ticket very reasonable price and the most cobh players involved in very long time, tam are great to suporters too. Why not? We get more at games than UCD!:eek:Little fact i spotted during the week, and there was more at our game with dundalk than city bohs (2 of irelands biggest clubs) same weekend, and our match was a sunday afternoon(known for less attendances, and chelsea and man u were on tele)
Super-rams
17/08/2007, 7:09 AM
Dont think yhave to be a brain surgeon to figure out why people are not going to matches......
Maybe you do cause I haven't a clue.
don ramo
17/08/2007, 7:27 AM
doesn't matter if we have more than UCD, cause 4 years ago we had around 2-3000 at games, on a wednesday night, what we need to figure out is why these sunshine supporters aren't coming back now, marco is doing his best with the resources he has, and games are well advertised loads of signs an so on, im just baffled as to why the sunshine supporters still hevn't shown there faces,
17/08/2007, 7:51 AM
doesn't matter if we have more than UCD, cause 4 years ago we had around 2-3000 at games, on a wednesday night, what we need to figure out is why these sunshine supporters aren't coming back now, marco is doing his best with the resources he has, and games are well advertised loads of signs an so on, im just baffled as to why the sunshine supporters still hevn't shown there faces,
what is it with you and the wednesday night, i go to all games cant say we've had that many wednesday matches, usually city or cup games during hills time, so maybe thats why.
I think attendances are up on last year so theres a fair few "sunshine" supporters around from last year but i understand where your coming from alright we should be gettin more, if only we could crack east cork
thegafferman
17/08/2007, 11:55 AM
i am not a brain surgeon so tell me rams o7 why arnt people going to matches
Rams-07
17/08/2007, 4:51 PM
Would probably get myself into a lot of bother by posting it here...pm me and i will give you my opinion....
I think that on a public forum you should be allowed to say what you want without getting into trouble, if you know the answer then enlighten us newbies! We need to go forward with this club not back, the negative, the grudges and the so called politics should be set aside. Look what the Fun Run group done, plenty of energy and forward thinking, breadth of fresh air.
19/08/2007, 5:20 PM
I think that on a public forum you should be allowed to say what you want without getting into trouble, if you know the answer then enlighten us newbies! .
Agreed, you said your see few weeks back about free speech, and a public forum.
Rams-07
19/08/2007, 6:09 PM
Well like yourselves I was baffled why so many Cobh people dont go to matches and asked around...i went out of my way to ask people who used to support ramblers over the years including ex players and ex committee members..I never realised there was so much "anti-rams"out there..people have turned against the club bigtime..a lot of the criticism was at the way the clubs has been run over the last no of years...
when i asked why, most of the reason given was the way people were treated over the super draw fiasco..people sold and bought tks and were misled as to when the draw was tken place..a lot of damage done there..
also the way people were treated at AGM`s..people felt they were been looked down on by certain people..also the fiasco with the stand was another gripe..people also said they didnt feel welcome in the club not like years ago when the club was one happy family..these are not my opinions by the way..some i agree with and some i dont..a lot of good things have happened too but also a lot of damage done...
Well like yourselves I was baffled why so many Cobh people dont go to matches and asked around...i went out of my way to ask people who used to support ramblers over the years including ex players and ex committee members..I never realised there was so much "anti-rams"out there..people have turned against the club bigtime..a lot of the criticism was at the way the clubs has been run over the last no of years...
when i asked why, most of the reason given was the way people were treated over the super draw fiasco..people sold and bought tks and were misled as to when the draw was tken place..a lot of damage done there..
also the way people were treated at AGM`s..people felt they were been looked down on by certain people..also the fiasco with the stand was another gripe..people also said they didnt feel welcome in the club not like years ago when the club was one happy family..these are not my opinions by the way..some i agree with and some i dont..a lot of good things have happened too but also a lot of damage done...
Well like I said you are entitled to your opinion, that's what this forum ia about and I think there could be a lot more that you could have added but to ask a harder question, how can it be put right?
Rams-07
19/08/2007, 6:40 PM
Cant answer that one tbh...
Has any one drums, flags scarves or anything in Ramblers colours that they can bring to the Shels game. There is a website in the UK called Barmyarmyflags that you can design your own flag, in any colour and put lettering on also.
Battery Rover
19/08/2007, 10:36 PM
Far better quality stuff and cheaper can be got. I bought 2 rolls of 30 metre by 1.5 metre flag material from http://www.supporters-art.de/v2/kurvenshow_uk.htm
The will also print flags of any size and colour
Just email them for a quote
ramladies
20/08/2007, 3:26 AM
[quote=Rams-07;749742]I never realised there was so much "anti-rams"out there..people have turned against the club bigtime..a lot of the criticism was at the way the clubs has been run over the last no of years...
people felt they were been looked down on by certain people.quote]
have to say dat as part of the club for past number of years never b4 had we not felt part of a club... we send players up stewardin every week but yet hav problems gettin the pitch for matches n other things alike but yet other teams to do wit the ramblers do nothin n get everythin..not one to argue jus wanted to point somethin out.
but even to kick our own fans out of the top stand for away supporters.they say it was cause of da young people causin trouble ya there was a few but they werent part of the loyal young group who come week in week out to support da rams so y should they all b punished for 1's wrong doin.as there sayin on bebo they "want there stand back"
Of course people will stop comin to matches if there to b treated lyk tat. da clubs own supporters should come first then think about away supporters
20/08/2007, 7:46 AM
[quote=Rams-07;749742]have to say dat as part of the club for past number of years never b4 had we not felt part of a club... we send players up stewardin every week but yet hav problems gettin the pitch for matches n other things alike but yet other teams to do wit the ramblers do nothin n get everythin..not one to argue jus wanted to point somethin out.
but even the 21s and youths are struggling to get the pitch these days, i heard they struck a deal with pfizers for the use of there pitch, if its true its a great catch for the youths or whoever will use.
I think these people would want to build bridges, do they write these things down on wallchart or what. Forgive and forget.
Far better quality stuff and cheaper can be got. I bought 2 rolls of 30 metre by 1.5 metre flag material from http://www.supporters-art.de/v2/kurvenshow_uk.htm
The will also print flags of any size and colour
Just email them for a quote
Cheers for that
20/08/2007, 7:53 AM
On the message above it shouldnt say quote rams 07, should be quoting ramladies, i must have done something wrong
thegafferman
20/08/2007, 10:37 AM
lets all dig up the past and stick our heads up our ass's... for f--ks sake let go get on with it move forward ... i am not happy with enda kenny or bertie ahern ... but i let them get on with their job... fellows are still talking about charlie haughey .... he is dead for christs sake ...stop bitching and get on with life .....just look forward not back... nothing to be gained with old grudges, power struggles, family control, the only thing that suffers is the club ye claim to love so much...
20/08/2007, 10:49 AM
lets all dig up the past and stick our heads up our ass's... for f--ks sake let go get on with it move forward ... i am not happy with enda kenny or bertie ahern ... but i let them get on with their job... fellows are still talking about charlie haughey .... he is dead for christs sake ...stop bitching and get on with life .....just look forward not back... nothing to be gained with old grudges, power struggles, family control, the only thing that suffers is the club ye claim to love so much...
Agreed. Fair play
don ramo
20/08/2007, 12:22 PM
singing to choir here, thought thats the prob, i couldn't care less if i didn't talk to the commitee, for what there worth, but at the end of the day the club is being run better than ever, we're good finacially, were even better on the pitch, the ongoing (currently at a stand still, but hey) development, all the off pitch stuff is great, and you cant argue as we have a premier licence to back it up, who cares how nice the commitee is, you come to rams for the people who follow rams, not to ones who run it let them off as long as there doing there job i don't really care, and i'm a member i voted in the commitee selection as did all the members so if any members are badmouthing the club they'd wanna take a good look at themselves, i would love to get the point through to people but as we all know here, its like talking to a brick wall,
shells will tell a lot, if the sunshine people will come back, it will more than likely be this game,
20/08/2007, 12:29 PM
singing to choir here, thought thats the prob, i couldn't care less if i didn't talk to the commitee, for what there worth, but at the end of the day the club is being run better than ever, we're good finacially, were even better on the pitch, the ongoing (currently at a stand still, but hey) development, all the off pitch stuff is great, and you cant argue as we have a premier licence to back it up, who cares how nice the commitee is, you come to rams for the people who follow rams, not to ones who run it let them off as long as there doing there job i don't really care, and i'm a member i voted in the commitee selection as did all the members so if any members are badmouthing the club they'd wanna take a good look at themselves, i would love to get the point through to people but as we all know here, its like talking to a brick wall,
shells will tell a lot, if the sunshine people will come back, it will more than likely be this game,
Cant believe im saying this but, i agree with you don ramo.:D. I think out of this current period the biggest thing to hold on to (off field,since this is clearly the problem that the people who rams-07 was referring to) is the fact we have the Premier licence, clubs who dont have it are going no where! it was a massive achievement by Barry and the committe at the time, it was said we'd get one and we did. These people who wont go and will sit in the pub and crib about the points Rams-07 said i feel are better off stayin in the pub. I certainly dont want them ruining what we have going on at the moment. :mad:
Super-rams
20/08/2007, 12:40 PM
As far as I can see people are very blinkered when it comes to the running of the club. They only see what they want to see and all the bad points (in their opinions) get thrown around to discredit the current setup. The current chairman and commitee are doing a fine job and should be given our support to keep driving us forward. Don't let our club start going backwards. The club is the most important thing not peoples own agenda's. In my opinion of course :D:p
20/08/2007, 12:43 PM
As far as I can see people are very blinkered when it comes to the running of the club. They only see what they want to see and all the bad points (in their opinions) get thrown around to discredit the current setup. The current chairman and commitee are doing a fine job and should be given our support to keep driving us forward. Don't let our club start going backwards. The club is the most important thing not peoples own agenda's. In my opinion of course :D:p
Well going by this forum the good seem to be out weighin the bad, by the last few AGM's, seems the votes are going the positive way aswell
thegafferman
20/08/2007, 4:56 PM
Well going by this forum the good seem to be out weighin the bad, by the last few AGM's, seems the votes are going the positive way aswell
yes thank god ( no not you george ) for new blood to drive this great club to where it should be ... lets all go forward and march on the premier league....
comon u rams
Marco
20/08/2007, 10:01 PM
[quote=Rams-07;749742]I never realised there was so much "anti-rams"out there..people have turned against the club bigtime..a lot of the criticism was at the way the clubs has been run over the last no of years...
people felt they were been looked down on by certain people.quote]
have to say dat as part of the club for past number of years never b4 had we not felt part of a club... we send players up stewardin every week but yet hav problems gettin the pitch for matches n other things alike but yet other teams to do wit the ramblers do nothin n get everythin..not one to argue jus wanted to point somethin out.
but even to kick our own fans out of the top stand for away supporters.they say it was cause of da young people causin trouble ya there was a few but they werent part of the loyal young group who come week in week out to support da rams so y should they all b punished for 1's wrong doin.as there sayin on bebo they "want there stand back"
Of course people will stop comin to matches if there to b treated lyk tat. da clubs own supporters should come first then think about away supporters
I think your wrong in what you are saying, firstly the pitch, it's just 1 pitch and several teams want to use it, so how long do you think the pitch will hold up if everyone trains and plays on it, not too long I think ... solution we need more pitches. As for the stand, take a look at the ground and tell me where you would put the Shels supporters on Saturday nite?(if the game goes ahead, Ollie Byrne seriously ill) by the rules they have to be segregated from home fans, simple as that, so the only option is the small stand. It isn't some vendetta against the fans, it's not punishment of any sorts, it's simple security measures.
Marco
20/08/2007, 10:08 PM
Fair Comment and well said, by the way as for the stand .... there back!!:eek:
Picture this ... were still top come October 30th, stand finished and Dundalk visit, the place is hopping, athmosphere is electric and the Barbie Doll song leads out the team onto the pitch!!;) Deadly
don ramo
20/08/2007, 11:06 PM
if i hear barbie someone will be shot FACT:D,
are the builders back for definate now,
why don't they use springers pitch, as were together now, or do springers still own it at all.
MojoPin
21/08/2007, 1:33 AM
was with the builders for the stand tonight found out some very very interesteing facts about the new stand....... one word..... BAD.. oh and by the end of september it will be finished they say....
21/08/2007, 7:47 AM
Fair Comment and well said, by the way as for the stand .... there back!!:eek:
Picture this ... were still top come October 30th, stand finished and Dundalk visit, the place is hopping, athmosphere is electric and the Barbie Doll song leads out the team onto the pitch!!;) Deadly
But if its ****ing rain theyll be in the stand laughin at all the home fans gettin soaked. Opposite of Dundalk where we were stuck in the place with the worst view no cover and it was ****ing rain. We managed to get to the stand for the 2nd half mainly because their stewards were so bad.
if i hear barbie someone will be shot FACT:D,
are the builders back for definate now,
why don't they use springers pitch, as were together now, or do springers still own it at all.
Springers pitch belongs to Springers, Rams dont have a hope of gettin it.
was with the builders for the stand tonight found out some very very interesteing facts about the new stand....... one word..... BAD.. oh and by the end of september it will be finished they say....
End of September thats only 5-6 weeks? doubtful, hopefully, would be great if it was done by Dundalk.
don ramo
21/08/2007, 11:17 AM
Springers pitch belongs to Springers, Rams dont have a hope of gettin it.
ya but all the underagers could use it as they are springfield ramblers, or is there a cutoff age, if up to 21s use it it would be great, a lot less use of ramblers would be great, as all the use will take its toll
21/08/2007, 11:21 AM
ya but all the underagers could use it as they are springfield ramblers, or is there a cutoff age, if up to 21s use it it would be great, a lot less use of ramblers would be great, as all the use will take its toll
16 is the cut off age, 17's 18's and 21s are Cobh Ramblers.
don ramo
21/08/2007, 11:25 AM
ok we need a pitch, anyone got a big back garden that they could rent to the club:D
is there any talk of possible sites for a new training pitch yet, or does anyone know
Super-rams
21/08/2007, 11:29 AM
16 is the cut off age, 17's 18's and 21s are Cobh Ramblers.
It would be difficult to decide who uses the pitch and why. In an ideal world it should only be the Seniors and maybe 21's as they feed the Seniors. But without a second pitch you can't tell another team not to use it as they are all Cobh Ramblers and the club need to provide facilities for them. Hopefully something will get sorted out with another pitch. Oh by the way, the pitch is being kept in really good condition considering the use on it and the weather. Fair do's to all involved.
21/08/2007, 12:15 PM
It would be difficult to decide who uses the pitch and why. In an ideal world it should only be the Seniors and maybe 21's as they feed the Seniors. But without a second pitch you can't tell another team not to use it as they are all Cobh Ramblers and the club need to provide facilities for them. Hopefully something will get sorted out with another pitch. Oh by the way, the pitch is being kept in really good condition considering the use on it and the weather. Fair do's to all involved.
I disagree i think it should be just 21s and seniors, and hopefully let the youths(17s and 18s) and the ladies use pfizers(bar the big games, or cup games),i played there twice last year very good pitch.
Agree wtih ya on the pitch there doing a great job.