4-0
Long
Save some for next month lads.:D
22/08/2007, 7:24 PM
4!! This must be some sort of record!!
carloz
22/08/2007, 7:28 PM
God i hope this doesnt give us false expectations ala beating Sweden 3-0 in Stans first game. Plenty of positives though
Hither green
22/08/2007, 7:31 PM
God i hope this doesnt give us false expectations ala beating Sweden 3-0 in Stans first game. Plenty of positives though
Yeah my thoughts exactly. The Swedish performance was a cracker and then we lose the next two.
Watched the first half tonight in the pub (before they switched over to the teutonic derby). Ireland were all over them and the sky commentator had the cheek to say Ireland's first goal was against the run of play. Don't know what game he was watching.
billybunter
22/08/2007, 7:32 PM
what odds are they offering for Ireland to win Euro 2008???
: )
22/08/2007, 7:43 PM
Arrogant *****s at the BBC
2023: GOAL Denmark 0-4 Republic of Ireland
Clever play from Aiden McGeady before a very nice turn and finish from Shane Long. That's the substitute's second of the night. Denmark are supposed to be good.
I think you're being too sensitive. I took that as us making them look poor.
Funny thing is, while I think we're playing some very nice, simple passing football, we do seem to be quite laid back.
Not a bad thing at all, as long as there is a higher tempo approach when needed!
IsMiseSean
22/08/2007, 7:51 PM
Decent result but denmark are a poor side, i hope people wont get carried away
Its good to have Reid back in Midfield, potter, gibson looked good, hunt was very poor and i think he shouldn't play in sept, i thought keogh and murphy were decent
22/08/2007, 7:55 PM
Ha ha it gets better, Germany are beating England 2:1 :D
22/08/2007, 7:58 PM
According to BBC thats Denmarks worst home defeat in 48 YEARS :eek:
FarBeag
22/08/2007, 8:01 PM
Great result but wont get too excited.Delighted they done the business for Stan considering his recent setback.
Andy Reid..What a difference this bloke makes.We have to pray he stays fit.Premership player without a doubt.Him and Ireland together how creative is this?
Aiden MaCgeady.Proved tonight that he is player we know he so hopefully will keep it up.Has to learn to defend a little better at times
Darren Potter.Another positive..Shane Long..What can you say.
Darron Gibson..Delighted for him. Some player.
Robbie..Delighted for him too. At least he will get his critics off his back for now anyway.
citizenerased
22/08/2007, 8:19 PM
delighted with mcgeady and reid, long looked clinical also
so will the goals or any highlights be available online can anyone tell me? Sounded on the radio like a very accomplished performance.
Curtains
22/08/2007, 8:26 PM
Pleased with how the night turned out. Obviously a friendly and played at that sort of pace. Glad to see mcgeady play like he was meant to be there and i liked the look of potter especially in the first half when denmark were in control-he was the only one holding on to the ball.
Im still apprehensive though at the shakey start, if we start in slovakia like that (especially henderson) i could see another russia in moscow match. Once were composed we can play good football
Does anyone else think steve finnan always look unsure when he plays for ireland and doesnt exude the confidence he does when he plays for liverpool?
carloz
22/08/2007, 8:29 PM
Beng played out of position doesnt help the guy Curtains. He is a right back and hasnt played left back since his Fulham days. I cant remember him playing left back at any time for Liverpool. I really dont understand Stans thinking. I taught he looked quite accured tonight
BBC reports description of Robbies second goal...
"On 40 minutes, keeper Jesper Christiansen's punch rebounded off Keane's back and into the net." what happened to the diving header?
they also claim the result flattered us but from the radio commentary the Danes only really threatened for fifteen minutes at the start and the end...
Maroon 7
22/08/2007, 8:33 PM
Pleased with how the night turned out. Obviously a friendly and played at that sort of pace. Glad to see mcgeady play like he was meant to be there and i liked the look of potter especially in the first half when denmark were in control-he was the only one holding on to the ball.
Im still apprehensive though at the shakey start, if we start in slovakia like that (especially henderson) i could see another russia in moscow match. Once were composed we can play good football
Does anyone else think steve finnan always look unsure when he plays for ireland and doesnt exude the confidence he does when he plays for liverpool?
Finnan is by a mile the best RB we have but he's often picked at LB for Ireland. Now he makes a decent fist of LB but he's much more comfortable at RB.
macdermesser
22/08/2007, 8:47 PM
so will the goals or any highlights be available online can anyone tell me? Sounded on the radio like a very accomplished performance.
two of the goals are online already .. looks like the work of our very own david connolly fan club (the
Worm ;-)
http://www.attachmax.com/Denmark_vs_Republic_of_Ireland_Keane.html
http://www.attachmax.com/Denmark_0_2_Republic_of_Ireland_Keane.html
Sligo Hornet
22/08/2007, 8:52 PM
I thought Keogh and Long worked well together and Keogh's strength on the ball is very encouraging....well done lads!!:)
Curtains
22/08/2007, 8:55 PM
Beng played out of position doesnt help the guy Curtains. He is a right back and hasnt played left back since his Fulham days. I cant remember him playing left back at any time for Liverpool. I really dont understand Stans thinking. I taught he looked quite accured tonight
I dont argue that at all, i think he is a great player and he should play at right back. I dont think the switch from right to left should make that much of a difference to a player of his calibre, just look at denis irwin, he had no bother. He just always looks unsure and for some reason always makes me slighty worried-i think mainly because i expect so much from him. I know oshea and carr are suspect these days but finnan shouldnt.
ken foree
22/08/2007, 9:05 PM
goals are also here (danish tv):
http://sputnik.tv2.dk/index.php/channel_id-7981643.html
22/08/2007, 9:10 PM
McGeady was excellent tonight but not as effective when he switched to the left. Andy Reid played very well and Gibson looks a promising talent. Unlucky N Iron ;) 4 nil against Denmark? I know its only a friendly but I'm one proud fan tonight and the boys deserve some praise. Keogh looked dangerous when he came on despite being put on the wing. I tell you what we have an exciting set of forwards right now.
All in all a good performance, slow tempo of a game but Denmark could play till next week and not score. It was just one of those nights for them and us. Fingers crossed we carry this forward to next month.
22/08/2007, 9:12 PM
I predict we'll be slaughtered by Slovakia and the Czechs. :D Every Irish prediction I make is wrong. :) What a result. Denmark's biggest defeat in 48 years. I don't really care what division Reid is playing next season as long as he is actually playing and not injured.
22/08/2007, 9:17 PM
BBC reports description of Robbies second goal...
"On 40 minutes, keeper Jesper Christiansen's punch rebounded off Keane's back and into the net." what happened to the diving header?
That's what happened, from what I could see of the replays.
just checked the clips now and it seems that Keane headed the ball against their keeper whom it hit somewhere and then the ball again rebounded off Keane and into the net. Who played the ball wide to McGeady for the second goal?
Also im not entirely sure if Keane meant to score his first goal the way he did. I think he meant to chip the keeper but messed it up a bit, the fraud... ;) some through ball from Reid though, he makes the game look so easy.
Long took his two goals very well.
Their keeper had a horrible game from those clips...
ken foree
22/08/2007, 9:29 PM
just checked the clips now and it seems that Keane headed the ball against their keeper whom it hit somewhere and then the ball again rebounded off Keane and into the net. Who played the ball wide to McGeady for the second goal?
looked like andy reid to me
22/08/2007, 9:32 PM
Nothing much wrong with that. Back 4 were good, midfield 2 looked like a proper pairing. Reid was class, Potter decent & not afraid to pick a pass of any distance. A few here reckon McGeady just needs a good game for Ireland to make him believe he belongs at this level and tonight it happened.
Keogh will be a quality player in time.
I thought Henderson did really well. As an ex-keeper I can't fault him for the early drop. He caught it well but when you have players between you and the ball on the way down it's impossible to hold, I've been there many times (albeit LSL Div 3 C!).
I dislike Carr but bar a terrible error in the first minute I thought he did well and I think stan may have to stick with that back 4. Very experienced, exactly the foundation we need next month, especially if Shay is out.
I thought we had a shocking first 10 minutes but, tellingly, once Reid and Potter played themselves into the game we gained control.
22/08/2007, 9:47 PM
I was expecting something like 3-3 beforehand.
God, Denmark were poxy.
Apart from Reid who is a joy and can even be sharper,
McGeady showed up well whereas Hunt was like Kilbane on an off day.
I'd say McGeady has a good enough chance of starting next month.
Keep KK away from CM, if O'Shea has to play then hide him away someplace safe.
Could we have a midfield of Reid Potter Carsley and McGeady?
I like Potter but I wouldn't want to lose Carsley from CM just yet.
cavan_fan
22/08/2007, 10:02 PM
Amazing that no-one is acknowledging Keane's performance. I now he is not flavour of the month but 2 goals is what I want from a striker.
In addition thought Finnan was a calm player in defence as always.
Henderson cannot be our No. 2, seems to be an accident waiting to happen.
Finally, there is something about Keogh whcih makes me think Doyle should be worried for his place in a year or 2
The Legend
22/08/2007, 10:04 PM
Finally, there is something about Keogh whcih makes me think Doyle should be worried for his place in a year or 2
Doyle's looks a bit off form so far this season, needs a goal to get going
Paddy Garcia
22/08/2007, 10:11 PM
I thought:
McGeady was excellent, as was Reid
Long was calm in front of goal
Gibson did very well
Not much confidence in Henderson - makes me think he will make the hard saves and then miss a cross etc & concede.
Hunt was very poor - though I was really hoping he would prove my worst fears wrong. Hurry back Duffer.
Potter - ok -but we did not dominate the CM area, so not sure yet!
Maroon 7
22/08/2007, 10:25 PM
Have to say I'm not convinced by Henderson in goal either. Would prefer to see Doyle in there in Given's absence.
22/08/2007, 10:31 PM
It'll be interesting to see if Carsley is back in the team for the matches in a couple of weeks now. I certainly think he should play but I actually think Stan will stick with Potter.
The biggest question after that is 2 players from Ireland, Hunt and McGeady. After tonight and going by previous team selections I think Hunt will be the player left out. Thankfully I'm not picking the team as I don't know what I'd do.
btw, people said our midfield was too light weight in Cyprus which is why we were destroyed. Tonight's midfield was just as light weight imo. What we did have was a tactical awareness though. Reid is just a bloody genius.
billybunter
22/08/2007, 10:31 PM
Never mind Doyle being worried . . . if I was Joe Lapira I'd be seriously worried for my place . . . .
with the forwards we now have competing, I think Ireland could do a tour of Notre dame university, and Joe wou'd'nt be invited to team up with the squad.......
22/08/2007, 10:35 PM
There is good news about Given's recuperation.
There is no option, without Given we are fecked.
You can have a bit of fun rating the players here
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/6447361.stm
The Danes hardly registered over 4/10
shaneker
22/08/2007, 10:35 PM
We scored goals! 4 of them! Away from home!
All through this campaign and the last, the two main problems have been the strikers not scoring (so many of our goals coming from midfield) and a general inability to score a couple outside of Dublin. If that particular hurdle is being overcome, we're heading in the right direction.
First half I wasn't impressed with our shape and organisation, the lack of men committed forward was also a concern, but in the second half we really started to take control for a while and finished them off (which we have always failed to do). No question they were poor but they're not THAT poor.
McGeady impressive, very quick feet and after a shaky start began to give us an end product, crossing for Robbie's 2nd. I've been itching to see him get more game time, hopefully he can push on from here.
I thought Hunt did alright, he looked the most willing to get forward and take people on in the first half, I think the lack of support up front (the central midfield players did not get far enough forward and this shortened his options) maybe made him slightly predictable, although his skill level left a bit to be desired.
Gibson, obviously ignored absolutely everything and just got on with it. Confident, assured, a class act. Has to be in the squad for Slovak/Czech games.
I'd bring McShane in and move Finnan to RB and O'Shea to LB, Carr did alright but I just don't trust him defensively.
Henderson...tough to say, lets just hope Shay's fit. Certainly 2nd in line for the keepers jersey but thats not saying much.
Potter looked good, but too early to think about starting him competitively imo. Should be in the squad though.
Doyle looks off the pace and frustrated, it doesn't help him that Robbie keeps dropping so deep looking for the ball, leaving him on his own, which is why the CM players need to take a bit more responsibility and bring the ball higher up the pitch more often (Reid struck me as looking a bit lazy first half although he did improve), Gibson seemed to be dying to take the ball forward which meant we had 2 men to aim for instead of 1 in attack, which is part of the reason we got our two second half goals.
Long proved me all wrong, I didn't rate him but I do now.
All in all, very satisfying, confidence for the side and now I do believe 6 points can be a real possibility.
22/08/2007, 10:43 PM
This is from the Danish Football Associations site (I think), translated by machine into English. The translation is very good compared to the standards of other machine translations I have seen! Probably better than the French and German translations I did when I was at school ;) although I am not to sure what "juice in" means:-
Weak national team was humiliated
The national football team was dressed off on Wednesday evening to the skin in the friendly match against Ireland on Århus Stadion.
By and large nothing worked, and especially the Danish defence with goalkeeper Jesper Christiansen in the point was staggering and U-fokuseret.
The FCK-goalkeeper looked more or less unlucky at three out of the four Irish scourings.
Neither the building up Danish game or the conclusions was juice in.
Keane put out
The depression started seriously after 29 minutes, when the Tottenham-attacker Robbie Keane got a stitching into left side of the Danish penalty kick field and smart lifted the ball over Jesper Christiansen, when however didn't yield much resistance.
11 minutes later Robbie Keane was again taken down name for a scoring.
A contribution from the Irishes' right-sided was by Jesper Christiansen boxed directly into the rushing on Keane and ended in the Danish goal.
0-2 stood on the scoreboard, and coach for the national team Morten Olsen's boys went till break accompanied by booh-shouts from the dissatisfied århusianic home audience.
The breakdown totally
The same audience went in other half from being boohingly and whistlingly to remain downright gaping and rather shocked.
The Danish fighter spirit was still non-existent, the game worked far from, and the army was open like the gate to a plane-hangar.
Also even though Morten Olsen put four cheerful players at the track immediately after the break.
After nine minutes Jesper Christiansen parried a long shot back middle for his goal, Shane Long activated had lightly by scoring on the riposte.
12 minutes later the same Shane Long secured the Irish firemålsføring, when he passed Christiansen just through the army.
Historically rings
the 0-0-4-defeat to Ireland is the national team's largest home arena humiliation for 48 years.
In August 2007 it's difficult to see how Morten Olsen has to be able to combine an effective crew to the important EM-qualifying match against Sweden in Stockholm on September September.
22/08/2007, 10:47 PM
Nice to read some enthousiasm Shanekerins.
Just Denmark were possibly the worst team we have ever played in a friendly and we have played some bad teams, mistakes all over the place.
22/08/2007, 10:52 PM
Jesper Christiansen in the point was staggering and U-fokuseret.
The FCK-goalkeeper looked more or less unlucky at three out of the four Irish scourings.
That bit sounds spot on if you take a certain meaning out of it
shaneker
22/08/2007, 10:57 PM
Don't get me wrong, we've had false dawns before in friendly matches, but we've not hit 4 away from home against a side not ranked in Europe's dustbin for a very long time, and I think that is important.
If we play as well as we did tonight in the two games, we'll probably get 4 points. However, with players to come back (McShane and Carsley will both add something I feel) and maybe a 10% boost in performance, I think we can get 6 points. Slovakia aren't that good, and the Czech team is short on matchwinners (nobody of Nedved's quality anymore; although he's dangerous, Rosicky is overrated).
I'm not expecting 6, I'm expecting 4, but there is certainly hope. Also, Germany B looked ****e tonight against England, and while they have big-game players to come back, we should be looking for a point off them also.
I was so skeptical I didn't buy EURO 2008 tickets as I was so sure we wouldn't qualify, now I'm not so sure. Which is nice!
Condex
22/08/2007, 11:14 PM
I'm not expecting 6, I'm expecting 4, but there is certainly hope. Also, Germany B looked ****e tonight against England, and while they have big-game players to come back, we should be looking for a point off them also.
I was so skeptical I didn't buy EURO 2008 tickets as I was so sure we wouldn't qualify, now I'm not so sure. Which is nice!
shanekerins, I watched most of the England v Germany match and I though Ireland will do well to get a draw with them in Dublin in October. Kuranyi looked very good throughout...
I wouldn't get too over excited by the Denmark result its a friendly, we usually do well in friendlies, then crap in the competetive matches!!
shaneker
22/08/2007, 11:31 PM
All I'm saying is that scoring goals is good. I'm not an idiot and I've seen enough Ireland games to become deeply, deeply cynical about it but the young players seem to finally developing a character and team of their own, and winning friendlies 4-0 away from home is very positive.
Chances are you'll be proved right and we won't qualify (its still more likely that we'll be at home next year watching on the telly) but a result like this can only be of benefit.
Time will tell - I just hope that we don't have to spend another bloody tournament sat on the sidelines.
22/08/2007, 11:35 PM
I saw the post match interview with Kevin McDonald. He was not getting carried away. 'Kept losing the ball, we scored 4, another day we'd score none', as if to say without the goals we were below par.
It won't do us any harm, important playing time for 6 or 7 new players.
They only know about an Ireland that doesn't lose. A good boost for the new players and for Stan.
22/08/2007, 11:41 PM
Ireland were all over them and the sky commentator had the cheek to say Ireland's first goal was against the run of play. Don't know what game he was watching.
It clearly was against the run of play. Denmark had hit the bar, had a scramble from a corner which could easily have resulted in a peno and had a couple of other (admittedly wild) chances from good areas before we scored with our first shot.
Excellent result, but it's a friendly, so no point reading much into it. Wouldn't mind being in an Aarhus pub now though! Still, a bit more confident heading off to Bratislava in 16 days' time!
craig7042
23/08/2007, 12:05 AM
[quote=cavan_fan;752880]Amazing that no-one is acknowledging Keane's performance. I now he is not flavour of the month but 2 goals is what I want from a striker.
Everyone has slated keane for so long, that it'll be a few matches before they can praise him with integrity. Same with Stan. Give them time to get over their embarrasment! After the Welsh game someone behind me in the crowd said and I quote "keane should go and die". I was fuming at the time (see my blog) and now he's coming back, so fair play to him.
It was a great performance, and I'm over the moon. Its just a friendly, and its true that we took our chances and Denmark didnt, but still Staunton continues to progress slowly and I'm delighted for him.
You dont get 100 caps for your country, and not be a survivor you know. I've said it before but I think he'll come through this, and the team is very exciting with all the youth in it....
23/08/2007, 1:51 AM
Without wanting to sound too negative we shouldn't get carried away with that performance. Denmark were poor and I thought they made us look better than we actually were. Our first three goals could have been prevented if it wasn't for mistakes by the keeper and the defending was poor for the fourth. We won't have it this easy next month but at least the result will give us confidence going into the upcoming qualifiers.
I think some of the criticism for Henderson is unfair- I thought he had a pretty good game. He didn't let his early fumble affect his confidence and pulled off a couple of good saves. The rest of the defence were pretty solid.
Andy Reid was excellent in midfield- controlled the game and provided us with what we have been missing recently. Superb pass for Keane's first goal (very similar to Gerrard's at the weekend, which left Andy Gray drooling). McGeady had a good game also, as did Potter and Gibson when he came on. Hunt was a bit quiet but I don't think he should be dropped like some people have been saying because of one poor game.
Upfront Keane and Long were clinical, Doyle a bit quiet and Keogh showed promising signs despite being on the right wing.
Also I think Stan deserves a chunck of the credit. He seems to be improving as he is gaining experience, and despite the damage he did earlier in the qualifiers he has a chance to cancel them out in the next few months.:)
Sligo Hornet
23/08/2007, 8:14 AM
a lot of people are saying not to get too carried away with this result and I'm not but I would imagine this time last year people on this forum gave the team shedloads of stick for losing 4-0 to Holland - also in a friendly. People were calling for Stauntons head but he has slowly and gradually turned things around - we're not world beaters yet! but last night was a fantastic result/performance and should be given due credit.
I thought Reid was outstanding for 45 minutes - jesus he reminded me of Chippy in his heyday. Even his body language/mannerisms on the pitch reminded me of the great man - may sound like sacrilege to Brady devotees but he weas as good as anyone I have seen in a green shirt in awhile. His pass for Keanes first was as good as Gerrards to torres at the weekend and his cross-field ball to macGeady for the second was a la Brady in his pomp.
I thought Shane Long was a hundred times better than Doyle - more lively and more options - not trying to be negative but I stll think Doyle will prove to be a one-season wonder. I hope he proves me wrong!
I say Well Done Staunton and the players - a tough week mentally and they got through it with flying colours - keep it up for the autumn lads!
Well said that man!....I concur...lets be happy with what we did last night and use the positive energy to keep smiling ahead of a couple of stressful games.
Blimey, it could be worse, ..........Engerrrland!;)
Wolfie
23/08/2007, 8:22 AM
Very encouraging team performance with some very strong individual performances from Reid and McGeady particularly.
Just to reiterate, the Danes were poor and the goalkeeper had a poor performance. That said, you need to be doing the right things and committing the opposition in order to force such mistakes and punish the mistakes.
Reid has staked a huge claim for a starting spot against the Slovaks. I was hoping he'd step up and take his chance and he certainly impressed for the 45 he was on the pitch. Precision through ball for the first goal and a another great ball to McGeady to cross for the second.
What's encouraging also is the confidence in their ability that the young players exhibit - Keogh, Long, Potter, Gibson - all of these lads were confident on the ball.
Can't get carried away as it only really matters in September - but that win should boost confidence and bond the team.
23/08/2007, 8:48 AM
Didn't realise Denmark were that rubbish...
Seems Scandinavian football as a whole is in a bit of a decline