View Full Version : Fao: Fai

Snoop Drog
10/08/2007, 10:51 PM
Might be an idea to start shopping around for claret and clue ribbon to put on the cup when we win the league.

Buy a bit extra and you can use the same colours on the Div 1 cup too...

Surely it's inevitable now ;)

bohs til i die
10/08/2007, 10:54 PM
Might be an idea to start shopping around for claret and clue ribbon to put on the cup when we win the league.

Surely you mean BUY the league ?

Snoop Drog
10/08/2007, 10:57 PM
Ahhh- The view is great from 8 points clear.

10/08/2007, 10:58 PM

Thats funny only cos its coming from a Bohs fan.

Congrats to Drogheda it's ye're league, not even Doolin could screw it up now.

don ramo
11/08/2007, 1:24 AM
Might be an idea to start shopping around for claret and blue ribbon to put on the cup when we win the league.

buy it now, it will increase in price sunday after we beat dundalk,
the stock price will go through the roof:D

11/08/2007, 1:27 AM
Ahhh- The view is great from 8 points clear.
That's what Shels said a couple of years back too.

10/08/10 - Drogs 1-1 Monaghan?

Snoop Drog
11/08/2007, 2:47 AM
That's what Shels said a couple of years back too.

10/08/10 - Drogs 1-1 Monaghan?

It's really eating you up Stu. Let it go mate...

11/08/2007, 6:33 AM
Congrats to Drogheda it's ye're league, not even Doolin could screw it up now.

Last time I looked, the trophy wasn't handed out after 22 games, but 33.

Drogs are favourites, but they have to win their game in hand, survive European exit, come to Tolka and Richmond and get results later in the season. Shels had a 12 point lead about this time in 2000, and still blew the league. It's not over yet.

11/08/2007, 7:26 AM

The way you went on last year the First Division was.:rolleyes:

Hibs4Ever
11/08/2007, 8:17 AM

Leave the premature bragging for a while, just incase it all goes t!ts up. Remember, Doolin is still your manager

Celdrog
11/08/2007, 8:58 AM
Remember, Doolin is still your managerThankfully.

Tir Oilean
11/08/2007, 8:58 AM

Drogs are favourites, but they have to win their game in hand, survive European exit, come to Tolka and Richmond and get results later in the season. Shels had a 12 point lead about this time in 2000, and still blew the league. It's not over yet.

Their game in hand is against us so thats a handy 3pts so the gap should be 11pts quite soon

11/08/2007, 10:05 AM
Their game in hand is against us so thats a handy 3pts

Pats, bohs, Cork, and Derry said that before they played yous at home too.

11/08/2007, 10:45 AM
still a long way to go in div1, prem looks all but over being honest.

11/08/2007, 1:23 PM

From a bohs fan :D :D

Premier division over! even if we screw up we'll still just scrape it!

Come on cobh tomorrow! Heading up for that one, should be a cracker!

11/08/2007, 3:53 PM
Premier division over!

:D:D:D

You can say that on the b/h weekend. Until then, there are 9 games to play.

When we won the league in 94, we were 8 points clear by December. It was eventually overhauled, and we were behind later on. We didn't win it until 2 games from the end. A few weeks ago, the gap was 4 points, so it shows things can change in this league very quickly. There's many more points to be won and lost.

12/08/2007, 11:35 AM
:D:D

You can say that on the b/h weekend. Until then, there are 9 games to play.

When we won the league in 94, we were 8 points clear by December. It was eventually overhauled, and we were behind later on. We didn't win it until 2 games from the end. A few weeks ago, the gap was 4 points, so it shows things can change in this league very quickly. There's many more points to be won and lost.

Youre probably right, but we've never been in this position before so we're allowed get carried away :D

13/08/2007, 11:20 AM
Youre probably right, but we've never been in this position before so we're allowed get carried away :D

Dead right too, fair play, brag away

Flexy
13/08/2007, 11:25 AM

Drogs will win the league no doubt about it, but they have no chance of repeating it next year. Drogs will go like Shels, buy the league then not be able to pay their players. Their figures dont add up, look what they pay in wages compared to the gate receipts they receive every 2nd week. Wait till the salary cap comes in. We'll see a more competitive league

Grayzer
13/08/2007, 12:38 PM
Drogs will win the league no doubt about it, but they have no chance of repeating it next year. Drogs will go like Shels, buy the league then not be able to pay their players. Their figures dont add up, look what they pay in wages compared to the gate receipts they receive every 2nd week. Wait till the salary cap comes in. We'll see a more competitive league

What clubs figures do add up? Bohs, Pats, Corks etc wage bills are very high too so if you go on that logic then are they going to be in trouble next year. Drogs have no debts that can be called in, directors took out shares against the money they invested so if Drogs go bust they lose everything, if the stadium gets built we will be self-sufficient and the diectors will recoup their cash with interest etc.

If your talking about sustainability why not talk about UCD, 280 fans at the Galway match on Friday, now that is unsustainable and a joke for a league trying to get a more postive image, they must be losing a fortune or else getting tax-payers money from the college to cover costs.

Flexy
13/08/2007, 1:46 PM
What clubs figures do add up? Bohs, Pats, Corks etc wage bills are very high too so if you go on that logic then are they going to be in trouble next year. Drogs have no debts that can be called in, directors took out shares against the money they invested so if Drogs go bust they lose everything, if the stadium gets built we will be self-sufficient and the diectors will recoup their cash with interest etc.

If your talking about sustainability why not talk about UCD, 280 fans at the Galway match on Friday, now that is unsustainable and a joke for a league trying to get a more postive image, they must be losing a fortune or else getting tax-payers money from the college to cover costs.
All im saying is that the figures don't add up. Take Jason Gavin on 2,500 euro a week plus the rest of the squad. Look at your attendances of 2000 max average per season, it just doesnt add up. I agree Pats are the same as Drogs, big wages with low gates, at least Cork get the fans through the gate week in week out, but don't have as big a squad as Drogs and Pats. And the new Stadium, WOT STADIUM has it started yet? NO. Look what happened Shels in the year after they won nothing, they couldnt pay the players wages every week, even after receiving a large lump sum from their European runs.

Flexy
13/08/2007, 1:47 PM
put your rod away no fishing allowed here mate
A bit of success gone to your head has it? Enjoy as it wont last long:p

13/08/2007, 1:53 PM

We make a profit or at least break even every year. We spend what we have, which seems a difficult concept for Drogheda to understand. Enjoy playing Kilkenny in a few years.

13/08/2007, 2:31 PM
If your talking about sustainability why not talk about UCD, 280 fans at the Galway match on Friday, now that is unsustainable and a joke for a league trying to get a more postive image, they must be losing a fortune or else getting tax-payers money from the college to cover costs.Or raise money from sponsorship and fund raising perhaps? :rolleyes: Do you think any club in the country could survive solely on gate receipts?

ndrog
13/08/2007, 4:13 PM

not sure were you popped up from or who you even support .But please go back there as all this has been done to death many times with ucd fans and other begrudgers .Give it fcukin rest will ye :rolleyes:

NavanBohs
13/08/2007, 4:59 PM
You know what would be really really funny?

If Drogheda made a balls of it all and didnt win the league :D

Cant see it happening but Id love to be able to dig up this thread and say HA!! come November...

20/08/2007, 10:53 PM
Their game in hand is against us so thats a handy 3pts

What?? :confused::D

prem looks all but over being honest.

Mad this league ain't it? Just when you think it's over, you find out that it isn't.

With Drogs still to go through "Euro exit" syndrome, currently affecting Pats atm, 9 points can, in 3 games become suddenly 0 points. :) All to play for with 11 to go.

onephillyhughes
21/08/2007, 9:56 AM
Not three months ago were we cruising in the graveyard. 'No one will catch us' people were saying. Now look.

Don't count them yet....

A question about the stadium. You say once its built, you will be self sufficient. Can I ask how? Are you talking about on gate receipts? Because if you are, stop and think. You can't get 2000 regularly into your ground that is fairly central, but hope to get huge crowds out in the middle of nowhere? Sure, there'll be big crowds for the first few games, but the novelty will wear off quick enough. Not a dig, I'm just curious!

21/08/2007, 10:15 AM
...You say once its built, you will be self sufficient. Can I ask how? Are you talking about on gate receipts? Because if you are, stop and think. You can't get 2000 regularly into your ground that is fairly central, but hope to get huge crowds out in the middle of nowhere? Sure, there'll be big crowds for the first few games, but the novelty will wear off quick enough.
They won't be paying rent any more, which will more than offset any dip in crowds.

onephillyhughes
21/08/2007, 10:17 AM
Are they paying the FAI that much?

They'll be paying even more next season for playing in Dalymout or god forbid, Oriel :O

SunderlandBohs
21/08/2007, 10:24 AM
The league is there for the taking for Drogheda. They can only lose it. It's been a long long time since the league has been this weak. With so many teams rebuilding its hard to see anyone else winning it.

Grayzer
21/08/2007, 12:50 PM
Not three months ago were we cruising in the graveyard. 'No one will catch us' people were saying. Now look.

Don't count them yet....

A question about the stadium. You say once its built, you will be self sufficient. Can I ask how? Are you talking about on gate receipts? Because if you are, stop and think. You can't get 2000 regularly into your ground that is fairly central, but hope to get huge crowds out in the middle of nowhere? Sure, there'll be big crowds for the first few games, but the novelty will wear off quick enough. Not a dig, I'm just curious!

Revenue will come from cinema, retail units, leisure centre, petrol station which are all part of planning application etc. FAI want to use it as underage ground and there was talk about holding concerts in it at one stage, not sure if this is still being considered.

Crowds will be up in the new ground I reckon, facilities will be so much better, better parking, clean toilets :eek:, bars, shop etc, will attract families who are the supporters of the future.

iceman
22/08/2007, 5:13 PM
Also heard that the club have been approached about the possibility of using the new stadium for some of these "Evangalist Rallies" - big money spinners , they bring preachers in from the USA and pack the place. These are regular occurances in Stadia across europe now. There will also be conference facilities.
BTW just see from the planning file that a decision is due in September. http://planning.meath.ie ref. SA70455

22/08/2007, 11:27 PM
Where's that?

Also, E38k of a planning fee?! That's mad expensive, no?

iceman
23/08/2007, 5:18 PM
Its just 100m off the Duleek exit on the MI. On the Drogheda side of the roundabout.
€38K fee? Dont know much about planning but I presume its proportional to the size of the development.

25/08/2007, 1:59 AM
Sorry, "where's that?" as in there's no information on the site in connection with the application.