View Full Version : UCD v GUFC

Tir Oilean
10/08/2007, 8:37 AM
Predictions for tonight lads? I reckon were not going to get anything from this one even though UCD arent up to much. I'll still hope and migt even throw a few quid on us.

Some odds from Paddy Powers, Half time Full time United/UCD is 30/1 good odds seen as we are expects at throwing away late goals, GUFC/Draw is 13/1 If you had a few bob on this for every game you would have done alright this season. Barry to score in 90 mins ......3/1!!!!!!!!!!!!!:confused: Should be more like a million/1!!!!!

Is it on the wireless or have they given that up?

galwayhoop
10/08/2007, 8:54 AM
don't know why but i've felt all week that we'll draw this one. 0-0

Claret Murph
10/08/2007, 8:57 AM
I would say we will be all smiles by 9:45 pm tonight , I am going for 1-0 and Glynn to score in the second half ......:D:D:D

galwayhoop
10/08/2007, 9:00 AM
is o'flynn back tonight???

GuisaSaigon
10/08/2007, 9:00 AM
Connolly is the ref. Is that the same sad excuse for humankind that reffed against Waherfurd?

GuisaSaigon
10/08/2007, 9:01 AM
is o'flynn back tonight???
I think himself and Russell are in contention.:)

Tribesman
10/08/2007, 9:26 AM
Tomney was the ref for the Waterford game.

GuisaSaigon
10/08/2007, 9:28 AM
Tomney was the ref for the Waterford game.

Phew !

Tir Oilean
10/08/2007, 9:39 AM
If O'Flynn is back i'd be much more optimmistic and would go with that one nil Glynn to score.

Sumac
10/08/2007, 9:59 AM
i'd say UCD to win by 2. I think the result last friday will have been a big hit to the morale in the squad

corbyeire
10/08/2007, 10:43 AM
i think we are still more than likely going to win away than at home - the tension in terryland is very obvoius - whereas i think away they dont feel the pressure as much

we have a terrible record against ucd - we will still probably loose - but hopefully put in a decent performance - with oflynn and russell getting a run

would like to see moran, wes and murph dropped

looping
10/08/2007, 11:36 AM
i think we are still more than likely going to win away than at home - the tension in terryland is very obvoius - whereas i think away they dont feel the pressure as much

we have a terrible record against ucd - we will still probably loose - but hopefully put in a decent performance - with oflynn and russell getting a run

would like to see moran, wes and murph dropped

i wouldn t drop wes in belfiel though i haven t seen him playing lately but anyway belfield is a small pitch where u need physical presence
i d go for a draw 1-1

corbyeire
10/08/2007, 11:39 AM
think regi and fitz are a better pair of centre halfs - and can actually distribute the ball

maybe your right about the physical thing - but that didnt count for anything with waterford doing all the bullying the last day

Torn-Ado
10/08/2007, 11:43 AM
1 - 1

10/08/2007, 12:05 PM
...belfield is a small pitch where u need physical presence...
I doubt that's a big deal. The closest we have to a physical presence is Sammon up front. For the most part, UCD has a small team.

Do you folks have a bus coming up?

10/08/2007, 1:07 PM
I doubt that's a big deal. The closest we have to a physical presence is Sammon up front. For the most part, UCD has a small team.

Do you folks have a bus coming up?
Don't forget about Hynes.;)

They do.

Ceirtlis
10/08/2007, 1:13 PM
A draw. Our away results have been as good as their home results. Think the players will be really keen to make up for last week as well.

inthestand99
10/08/2007, 1:20 PM
:ball:Both Flynner and Russler are starting tonight. A draw wouldn't be the end of the world. Waterford wont have it easy against the Shams.

corbyeire
10/08/2007, 1:24 PM
good!

Tir Oilean
10/08/2007, 1:39 PM
:ball:Both Flynner and Russler are starting tonight. A draw wouldn't be the end of the world. Waterford wont have it easy against the Shams.

Great insider info inthestand!

inthestand99
10/08/2007, 1:56 PM
Tir O. It's no secret. Hope it has the desired effect.

Flano
10/08/2007, 2:48 PM
big test of TC's management ability tonight -we badly need a win.

If flynn's up front then that gives us a physical presence and fancy us to score.

Then it's down to the back 4 and some decent cover in midfield.

I'll go 1-0 united.

Any truth in rumour Utd were offered Hynes on loan during transfer window but he ended up at UCD

10/08/2007, 3:12 PM
Any truth in rumour Utd were offered Hynes on loan during transfer window but he ended up at UCD
Not unlikely. I would imagine he got offered to most of the bottom half of the table.

Ceirtlis
10/08/2007, 9:34 PM
Not a bad night for us, get in there Stephen O'Flynn.

corbyeire
10/08/2007, 10:02 PM
knew he would do something for us once he was back in - sweet!

10/08/2007, 10:25 PM
we said we needed goals, and on his return, not only does stevo score but Glynny finds his scoring boots also !!!!!

geezer
10/08/2007, 10:48 PM
i have to say they battled really well tonight. Lester just kept going, Robson was excellent when he came on. It was the midfield in the first half that was a problem again. Fagan does to little. Still a valuable point with waterford and longford losing

Tir Oilean
10/08/2007, 10:55 PM
I heard Lester the Jester was **** poor and that Robson really gave it socks! Just saw the goals on TV3, another dinger from Glynn and O'Flynns header was class too. Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre. Onwards and upwards lets hope that this is the begining of our traditional end of season push. Last seasons came too late but with 13 games left now is the time to find some form before the wheels fall off altogether.

geezer
10/08/2007, 11:08 PM
Lester was lester, gave 110% I think he has mobility problems but you had to admire him tonight he epitomised never say die attitude and i think it sunk in with the rest. Watch fagan when our full back takes throws he goes hiding and doesnt want to receive ball. Robson was fantastic and i wouldnt say that lightly

10/08/2007, 11:24 PM
Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre.
In fairness it was hit like a bullet.

Tir Oilean
10/08/2007, 11:34 PM
In fairness it was hit like a bullet.

it was but I still think he couldve got to it. He is a good shot stopper.

11/08/2007, 1:34 AM
My God, Galway were awful. Worst team I've seen this season.

Took advantage of us regrouping in defence early on to score, but then did nothing for 70 minutes as we walked through at will. Scored twice and would have had more but Sammon was on an off day (read, standard day). Then up pops O'Flynn - from a situation where we clearly had a free in after Murphy was hung out of - and score a completely undeserved equaliser. Should have had a penalty too for a foul on Sammon.

Still, such is football. :mad:

Maroon 7
11/08/2007, 2:33 AM
My God, Galway were awful. Worst team I've seen this season.

Took advantage of us regrouping in defence early on to score, but then did nothing for 70 minutes as we walked through at will. Scored twice and would have had more but Sammon was on an off day (read, standard day). Then up pops O'Flynn - from a situation where we clearly had a free in after Murphy was hung out of - and score a completely undeserved equaliser. Should have had a penalty too for a foul on Sammon.

Still, such is football. :mad:

Now you know how we feel after all our home games.:D

Although even Pete Mahon thought it was a fair result (as much as you can after a last minute equaliser).

Tir Oilean
11/08/2007, 7:22 AM
Hope it has the desired effect.

Well it worked as far as getting a result is concerned but the desired effect would have included a good performance and I dont think that was the case.

corbyeire
11/08/2007, 9:37 AM
I heard Lester the Jester was **** poor and that Robson really gave it socks! Just saw the goals on TV3, another dinger from Glynn and O'Flynns header was class too. Think Rodgers shouldve saved the second from UCD his effort to stop it reminded me of Declan McIntyre. Onwards and upwards lets hope that this is the begining of our traditional end of season push. Last seasons came too late but with 13 games left now is the time to find some form before the wheels fall off altogether.

was that the sports tonight show that you saw the goals on?

inthestand99
11/08/2007, 4:50 PM
:ball:Not far off on the speculation about the starting 11. Good result and a welcome bit of relief. 15 goals better off than W'ford also. Flynny was chomping at the bit and took his goal well. Himself and Derek were getting their buzz going when he got injured so hopefully it will develop. Robson earned his spurs tonight. I was a bit unsure up to now but he came good. The important thing here tonight lads is that we got something out of the game....... 2 goals, a point, Flynny back and a decent performance considering all the bs and giving out we did since W'ford. The sixty four thousand dollar question still remains !!!! Why cant we produce this form at home???????? Two biggies coming up now with Drogheda away and the Bit o Red at home. What points haul do ye think that will yield?

Claret Murph
12/08/2007, 5:25 AM
Inthestand
I will go for 3 as this could be the result we have all been looking for a win againist Sligo at home , but we will come up short at Drogs and I would be happy with that to be honest :) with the 3 points .

12/08/2007, 6:19 PM
Whoever told you Lester was ****e is having a laugh.It was a toss up for him or Fitzgerald for man of the match and as geezer said he gave it everything and was by far our most dangerous player from Corner and Free kicks.

Cant believe no one has mentioned the refs part in the second goal for UCD where he played a perfect defence splitting pass to Fitzgerald which gave the defence and Rogers no chance.

We fully deserved the draw and the battling to the last minute shows their is still great heart in the squad despite all the knockers.I feel we can get a result next monday.

Tir Oilean
12/08/2007, 6:31 PM
Ya twas on the sports tonight show alright. That may be the case regarding Lester. There were some UCD fans that said they were robbed some United fans reckoned we had the chances to win it. Pete Mahon seemed to think the result was fair. Cant see us getting anything out of the next two games to be honest. Both Sligo and Drogs are on a good run and it'll take something very special to take points from them.

12/08/2007, 6:37 PM
Cant believe no one has mentioned the refs part in the second goal for UCD where he played a perfect defence splitting pass to Fitzgerald which gave the defence and Rogers no chance.Slight exaggeration. The ball off the ref fell nicely for someone in midfield who played the ball nicely out for Fitzgerald. Still poor from the ref though obviously, he got in the way of another pass earlier too and should have given us a penalty when Sammon was taken out in the box.

12/08/2007, 7:02 PM
Cant believe no one has mentioned the refs part in the second goal for UCD where he played a perfect defence splitting pass to Fitzgerald which gave the defence and Rogers no chance.

Not quite accurate but he was the architect of our first goal and I'd be livid if I was a Galway fan. If it's any consolation your first goal was the result of your left winger ripping apart our right back who was a centre half standing in for our proper right back who got injured in the warm up. We had to rejig the defence another time to come up with a solution to that problem and only then did we find our feet. Fair play to Galway for picking it up at the end and pressing on until the death. We've conceded too many dying minute goals for my liking this season.

12/08/2007, 7:05 PM
We've conceded too many dying minute goals for my liking this season.
We've lost five points in the 90th minute, and gained four. Nett loss of one point. What goes around, comes around.

12/08/2007, 8:45 PM
It's football, not accountancy. Your net point difference of minus one is in fact 5 points lost. The last minute equalisers and winners don't cancel the others out. Wins and losses in soccer don't cancel each other out. If you have an equal amount of wins and losses chances are you won't be too high in the table. Late goals are not random occurances to balance out, ask Drogheda.

12/08/2007, 8:48 PM
Yeah, but you can't just focus on the points lost. It's like saying if all our shots had gone in, we'd be top of the table, which completely ignores all the opposition's shots.

12/08/2007, 9:00 PM
This is the Galway forum so I'm not going to carry on with this.

Tir Oilean
13/08/2007, 8:42 AM
We've conceded too many dying minute goals for my liking this season.

You've conceded too many goals in the dying minutes this season????? Check out our records Poor Student Id say its worse than UCDs!!!! But maybe this is a turn in our fortunes the fact that we slotted one in with 3mins of injury time up on the clock!

galwayhoop
13/08/2007, 10:02 AM
Two biggies coming up now with Drogheda away and the Bit o Red at home. What points haul do ye think that will yield?

1 point (2 Max) is all we'll get from the 2 games

13/08/2007, 10:14 AM
I think we will get something in Drogheda and as for Sligo we have to win at home sometime. Ill go for 4 on the battling display on friday and Flynny getting a game and a goal under his belt.

13/08/2007, 5:50 PM
You've conceded too many goals in the dying minutes this season????? Check out our records Poor Student Id say its worse than UCDs!!!! But maybe this is a turn in our fortunes the fact that we slotted one in with 3mins of injury time up on the clock!
You've conceded two 90th minute goals this season, from what I can see. We've conceded four.

Gaillimh Al
13/08/2007, 7:13 PM
Last 10 minutes conceded by us.

Drogs (h) - lose to injury time winner from free kick.
Rovers (a) - lose to 87th minute winner
Longford (h) - equaliser in 81st minute followed by late spot kick miss
Bohs (a) - equaliser in 80th minute
Derry (a) (league cup) - lost to last minute winner
Finn Harps (h) (cup) - surrender 2 goal advantage in the 86th minute
Shamrock Rovers (h) - injury time equaliser.

Since then we've managed 2 late equalisers away to Sligo and last weekend.