View Full Version : Tuesdays Latest

07/08/2007, 7:12 PM
Currently 0-0 between Bohs and Rovers. Rossiter just sent off.

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 7:18 PM
Didnt he get sent off in the last game.

07/08/2007, 7:19 PM
Yup, having a right old time of it :)

07/08/2007, 8:08 PM
Crowe scores, 1-0 Bohs.

07/08/2007, 8:43 PM
Result. Bohs to play Derry or UCD in the final.

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 9:09 PM
Nice bet to have 25/1 with Paddy Power

07/08/2007, 9:28 PM
RTE Report (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/0807/bohemians1.html)

Looked full strength sides. Also looks like final will be battle of the mid-table so Setanta place will be top 3 in the league at best.

07/08/2007, 9:32 PM
Season's far from over pete. Derry and Rovers could easily finish in the top three. Who's to say UCD can't either?

And then the FAI Cup winner could be from the top three as well.

07/08/2007, 9:35 PM
Who's to say UCD can't either?
Me. Not going to happen. I'd love to quote myself in November, but it's just not going to happen.

Also, Cobh/Dundalk/Harps are in with a slight shout.

07/08/2007, 9:36 PM
Season's far from over pete. Derry and Rovers could easily finish in the top three. Who's to say UCD can't either?Rovers are out. There's no chance we'll finish in the top three and I very much doubt Derry will either, Bohs might however.

07/08/2007, 9:40 PM
Eh?!?

kdjaC
07/08/2007, 9:41 PM
I can see Setanta really hoping 1 of the 3 teams left in the league cup don't win it.

Your still not getting in, if UCD win it and we not in it they get removed and we in instead.

:p

kdjac

07/08/2007, 9:48 PM
Rovers are out. There's no chance we'll finish in the top three and I very much doubt Derry will either, Bohs might however.
Jaysus, I forgot it was Bohs who'd won the match. I'm losing it.

bohsmug
07/08/2007, 9:53 PM
Jaysus, I forgot it was Bohs who'd won the match. I'm losing it.

Don't worry about it. I'm in a forgiving mood for some reason.:D

Erstwhile Bóz
07/08/2007, 10:04 PM
Just in. Ref was atrocious, linesman on our side was even worse (for both teams). Rossiter looked very unlucky.

Bohs played well, though, couple of players looking something approaching their reputations and Rovers didn't offer too much incisive against the ten men until after they went behind. Great game though.

Their keeper almost scored a header into the top corner at the very end. :o

kdjaC
07/08/2007, 10:04 PM
Seems to be a celebration party on O Connell street (http://89.234.66.107/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=53719372#post53719372).

kdjac

Erstwhile Bóz
07/08/2007, 10:07 PM
****ING RTÉ Sport!! Before they get to the match they spend the first ten seconds detailing the heightened Garda presence and the "hooligan element".

07/08/2007, 10:20 PM
tbh this was what I was dreading. Prob scumbags fightin on O'Connell st that werent even at the game :rolleyes:
Its happening too often at LOI games and how can we attract new supporters if they hear this goin on. It was prob only 10 -20 14 year olds, but as usual in Ireland everything gets exaggerated.
Wise up scumbags, making actual fans look bad. I feel sorry for real Bohs, Rovers, Derry , Pats fans, etc who get tarred with the one brush every time.
I hope it was nothing, but really, how many "altercations" can be tolerated?

hoopy
07/08/2007, 10:22 PM
A police escort is now a riot in some people's small minds. Well done

Erstwhile Bóz
07/08/2007, 10:48 PM
For feck's sake, it even said on the thread linked that nothing actually went on in town.

A couple of Rovers lads escorted from the Connaught Street side after a few seats, em, combusted was all the hassle I saw.

bohs til i die
07/08/2007, 11:00 PM
For feck's sake, it even said on the thread linked that nothing actually went on in town.

A couple of Rovers lads escorted from the Connaught Street side after a few seats, em, combusted was all the hassle I saw.

Rovers fans were fighting with Gardai and Stewards at the end and did some damage to a few ad boards.

There was minor ****e in the jodi at full time as the gardai tried to clear the stand. Nothing major though.

Attendance was 2900 give or take 50

niallsparky
07/08/2007, 11:24 PM
Rovers fans were fighting with Gardai and Stewards at the end and did some damage to a few ad boards.

There was minor ****e in the jodi at full time as the gardai tried to clear the stand. Nothing major though.

Attendance was 2900 give or take 50

That all? Seemed more.

bohsmug
07/08/2007, 11:30 PM
Thought it was more myself. Connaught st holds 4,000, thought it was half full. If that's the figure I'm a little surprised. Great atmosphere I thought. One of the most tense games I've been to.

LeixlipRed
07/08/2007, 11:35 PM
Read the 5th post in that thread linked by Colm C. He notes the high number of Celtic jersies on show in town. Yes, Celtic Colm

08/08/2007, 12:08 AM
Season's far from over pete. Derry and Rovers could easily finish in the top three. Who's to say UCD can't either?

And then the FAI Cup winner could be from the top three as well.

I can categoricaly confirm that Derry will not finish in the Top 3. Even less chance UCD.

08/08/2007, 12:12 AM
Read the 5th post in that thread linked by Colm C. He notes the high number of Celtic jersies on show in town. Yes, Celtic Colm

I saw many Celtic jersies tonight - always plenty of them at Rovers' games. This was the first game I'd been to involving Premier Division sides since November 2006 and if that is the standard every week then I'm not missing out on much :eek: :D. Poor game but there was plenty of dirty challenges which was the only interesting part of the game. I counted 75 guards inside the ground at one stage and there were many other guards outside as well as a big numbers of stewards. Probably about 150-175 personnel hired for tonight :confused:

08/08/2007, 8:30 AM
A police escort is now a riot in some people's small minds. Well done

I didnt mention riot. I said "altercation" I didnt mean last night in general, I mean these d!cks who follow our clubs (with no interest in football) looking to cause a row. No drama.

bohs til i die
08/08/2007, 9:19 AM
Thought it was more myself. Connaught st holds 4,000, thought it was half full. If that's the figure I'm a little surprised. Great atmosphere I thought. One of the most tense games I've been to.

Connaught holds 3700 and a scattered out crowd can make it look fuller then it is. Jodi was only full from D to G.

St Rafa
08/08/2007, 10:02 AM
I work with a rovers fan who was there last night. He said there were guards swinging batons at some of the known rovers fans. Of course he said it was for no reason but its hard to believe that the guards would attack the fans for no reason.

bohs til i die
08/08/2007, 10:09 AM
I work with a rovers fan who was there last night. He said there were guards swinging batons at some of the known rovers fans. Of course he said it was for no reason but its hard to believe that the guards would attack the fans for no reason.

There an incident during the game when the Gardai removed a Hoop or 2 because a seat mysteriously went on fire.

Then there was the usual carry on at the end with Rovers fans climbing up onto the ad boards [some of which were damaged]

There was a bit of pushing and shoving in the Jodi as well as the gardai tried to clear the stand, and when a load of people just went to the bar they ordered the bars be closed because they hadnt done all that pushing and shoving so people could go drinking.

Jaime
08/08/2007, 10:43 AM
Taximan (not Pat Scully) told me he saw O'Connel St closed off but nothing actually happened, bar a bit of running around on D'olier St

08/08/2007, 11:21 AM
Ah who really cares - what matters is that the "Cup Specialists" have kept up their super record of not reaching yet another Cup Final ;)

08/08/2007, 11:37 AM
i can see bohs beating cork saturday now after that....

08/08/2007, 11:38 AM

Thats alright once we get the 3 points Friday ;)

sfc red
08/08/2007, 11:40 AM

I can't. 2-0 Cork.

btid1
08/08/2007, 11:52 AM
I can't. 2-0 Cork.

Brave prediction.Talk to you Saturday morning!

sfc red
08/08/2007, 12:56 PM
Brave prediction.Talk to you Saturday morning!

Well McGuinness still plays at the back for you lot right? :p

btid1
08/08/2007, 1:40 PM
Well McGuinness still plays at the back for you lot right? :p

Ye he does and while Im no fan of his I have to say our defensive record this season speaks for itself...its was the best in the league until Saturday due in no small part to Jason.

sfc red
08/08/2007, 1:49 PM
It's all Heary!!

Erstwhile Bóz
08/08/2007, 1:59 PM
That's Hearysay.

Can any Bohs fan confirm that Mick McCarthy might have been there last night to see Rossiter? :eek:

Ould fellow behind me was adamant that McCarthy had a chat with him (MR) after the Wolves game. McCarthy left at half time, too. :sherlockholmes: (TheBohs.com seem to think it was Joxer.)

sfc red
08/08/2007, 2:19 PM
It was to see Powell from what I'm told.

08/08/2007, 2:23 PM
Rossiter is a class player, but obviously a bit hot headed, was meant to sign for Harps a few years ago cant remember why he didnt :o We ended up with that fact useless cnut of a brother of his in the end up.
What age is Rossiter now? would he make it over in England now?

btid1
08/08/2007, 3:44 PM
That's Hearysay.

Can any Bohs fan confirm that Mick McCarthy might have been there last night to see Rossiter? :eek:

Ould fellow behind me was adamant that McCarthy had a chat with him (MR) after the Wolves game. McCarthy left at half time, too. :sherlockholmes: (TheBohs.com seem to think it was Joxer.)

I wouldnt be surprised if it was Brian Murphy he was watching considering the goalkeeping crisis he has.

hoopy
08/08/2007, 3:44 PM
I didnt mention riot. I said "altercation" I didnt mean last night in general, I mean these d!cks who follow our clubs (with no interest in football) looking to cause a row. No drama.

No not you! I meant the gimps on that other website!

08/08/2007, 3:46 PM
No not you! I meant the gimps on that other website!

sorry bud, wires crossed :p:o

kdjaC
08/08/2007, 5:58 PM
Is it rice or rossiter who can never play pro football again due to an injury?

kdjac

08/08/2007, 6:17 PM
It's Rossiter (otherwise Rice has some explaining to do!) You can generally buy your way out of those compensation deals, although it's pricey.

kdjaC
08/08/2007, 6:26 PM
It's Rossiter (otherwise Rice has some explaining to do!) You can generally buy your way out of those compensation deals, although it's pricey.

But wont the original club have his pro reg and have to pay back whatever they got too? Grogan had same issue if he went pro again would have cost a lot of cash to get back his reg.

kdjac

08/08/2007, 6:35 PM
I'm not sure. Generally what happens is that the player's current club (if they're fairly well to do relative to the compensation award) will pay it off, possibly in the form of a loan. I presume they'd do the same for any other party involved (e.g. his former club.)