View Full Version : Terry Dixon (F non-league b.1990)

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Fergie's Son
07/08/2007, 6:23 PM
Any word on Terry Dixon's progress at Spurs? I know he had several injuries but have been there been any developments since then?

07/08/2007, 6:49 PM
He's still injured. Close to recovering I think.

Fergie's Son
07/08/2007, 7:14 PM
Will be interesting to track his progress this season.

soccerc
07/08/2007, 9:05 PM
He's still injured. Close to recovering I think.

Not what I've heard:(

Fergie's Son
07/08/2007, 10:06 PM
Sounds serious.

07/08/2007, 10:35 PM
He's had 2 fairly serious knee injuries before he turned 17, this could be a big season for him, even at his age.

from http://tottenhamhotspur.com/news/articles/academytalk130607.html

Can you give a progress report on Terry Dixon?
Alex: “Terry’s back in full training now. It was a huge loss to us to lose someone of his calibre. In the first two games, he scored two goals and created three, so if the season had continued that way, he would have without doubt made a lot of reserve team appearances. He’s worked incredibly hard and he’s had to mature over the season. The injury has given him a renewed sense of purpose and we all hope he steers clear of injury next season.”

from http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/articles/academytalk210607.html

Terry Dixon (3 apps, 2 goals): It was a huge loss to us to lose someone of Terry’s calibre. He’s worked incredibly hard and he’s had to mature over the season. The injury has given him a renewed sense of purpose and we all hope he steers clear of injury next season.

Cian Hughton (27 apps, 1 goal): I’m delighted with Cian. He’s going to be a man of tremendous integrity when he grows older. He’s improved technically and we need to give him time because he’s young. He’s worked very hard.

David Hutton (28 apps, 8 goals): David is an out and out winger, a delight to work with and a great personality. He needs to add a bit to that personality when he plays and if he does that, his performances for the reserves already suggest he could go on to be a very good player.

From http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/articles/questiontime_hughton.html

Spurs had a good few Irish players until recently, now we only appear to have Robbie with Mark Yeates on loan. Is there anyone else from Ireland at the Lane ? Ger Halpin, Dublin.
Young Terry Dixon, who is injured at the moment but is a big prospect and has already been involved in senior squads. Going further down, we’ve David Hutton and my son, Cian, who have both represented Ireland at Under-18 level.

RogerMilla
08/08/2007, 7:47 AM
I saw him out shopping the other day with Joe Lapira.

LOL TP , are you looking for a transfer to E! entertainment news?

citizenerased
08/08/2007, 9:18 AM
poor...

21/08/2007, 9:08 PM
Terry Dixon made his return tonight for Spurs XI againsts Crawley town. He went off after 31 mins though, so not sure what was up.

Sligo Hornet
21/08/2007, 9:12 PM
Terry Dixon made his return tonight for Spurs XI againsts Crawley town. He went off after 31 mins though, so not sure what was up.

Why are you on here?.....I thought you were due to be eating Danish bacon by now?

21/08/2007, 9:29 PM
Off in the morning. Cant wait. Been nearly ten years since I sample some danish bacon so cant wait to get my hands into miss piggy

21/08/2007, 9:37 PM
What a rather open-ended few posts! :eek:

21/08/2007, 9:45 PM
It was also the ideal platform for the return of Terry Dixon and the Academy prospect came through a planned half-hour workout without problems in his first action for a year.
phew.

23/10/2007, 1:36 PM
Anyone see The Star today?
Dixon may be forced to retire from football at the age of 17 due to further complications with his knee injury.
He needs more surgery and will be out for another 12 months.

23/10/2007, 1:51 PM
Would be really sad if this guy has to retire as from what I saw of him the 4 or 5 times I saw him he looked like he could be a top class player.

citizenerased
23/10/2007, 2:19 PM
ah well...he should take up journalism like richie sadlier

24/10/2007, 11:22 AM
But at least Staunton let him sit on the senior bench for an international. Most kids never get that.
Theo Walcott got to sit on the bench for an entire World Cup :D

Paddy Garcia
24/10/2007, 8:38 PM
Good luck Terry, look forward to your return.

Paddy Garcia
24/10/2007, 9:19 PM
And Joe Lapira's!!

Tut tut tuff

25/10/2007, 12:11 AM
Dixon is a class act whos potention if realised would make him a top class player. The guy is exceptional for his age and anytime I saw him playing for Ireland I thought he was the class player on the pitch by a mile and he had the potential to be a class act for Ireland. Of course this is potential but it will be a real shame for this countries football team if Dixon has to retire. Anybody who hhas seen him play a few times would appreciate this.

25/10/2007, 7:14 AM
But even if he doesn't have to retire NOW, Terry Dixon is in danger of having a protracted career and may be retired within 10 years given the nature of the injuries he has experienced before HIS 18TH BIRTHDAY :(

16/01/2008, 11:01 PM
Saw these forum posts earlier:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A30882783
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A27860178

But if this is the same Terry Dixon then it really could all be over: http://www.lyrics.com/profile.php?id=417931

irishfan86
17/01/2008, 12:02 AM
Saw these forum posts earlier:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A30882783
http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/606/A27860178

But if this is the same Terry Dixon then it really could all be over: http://www.lyrics.com/profile.php?id=417931

That'd be brutal being called up to the national team at such a young age and then just having it taken away from you.

May not be the same guy, but it looks to be the case...****.

17/01/2008, 8:14 AM
It looks like him.
I read something in Nov. last year that he was to have one more operation and that this was the last chance for him as a footballer, if it didn´t work then he was banjaxed.

17/01/2008, 8:17 AM
I can't open the lyrics site. What does it say?

I looked on Spurs official website recently and there's no news. It did look like he played some reserve games eraly this season but no mention, good or bad, since.

macdermesser
17/01/2008, 8:20 AM
I can't open the lyrics site. What does it say?

I looked on Spurs official website recently and there's no news. It did look like he played some reserve games eraly this season but no mention, good or bad, since.

"Interests:
i love football all though i have had to retire due to long tern injury and im totally mad about music especially kanye west"

17/01/2008, 8:26 AM
08/09/07 Spurs youth game
'This game unfortunately is likely to be remembered more for the injury to Terry Dixon than for the scoreline. Having just returned from a season long injury he had to be taken off on a stretcher in pain with another injury to his leg. We will have to wait for the club to tell us how bad it was'.

I found what I read last year
17/11/07 Operation (http://www.thfctalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4741&highlight=terry+dixon)
'Spoke to Terrys dad...

He is due another operation..If this fails to fix the problem, It could be the end of Terrys carear and the fuker aint even out his teens yet...

Really hope he pulls through this.'.

17/01/2008, 8:27 AM
oh bugger

17/01/2008, 9:42 AM
Very sorry for the lad.

Paddy Garcia
17/01/2008, 9:50 AM
He does not look in the least like our Terry Dixon. Could be wrong but they look very different people to me!

17/01/2008, 10:00 AM
http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/41382000/jpg/_41382845_terry_dixon_203.jpg

The above pic is about 2 years old though.

frankbrett
17/01/2008, 11:09 AM
He does not look in the least like our Terry Dixon. Could be wrong but they look very different people to me!

the guy on the lyrics site is 18. Terry turned 18 on Tuesday.

carloz
17/01/2008, 11:16 AM
From what i remember of Dixon he had severe red hair,the guy in that lyrics thing doesnt. Though i do know it was touch and go recently about whether he would ever play again

17/01/2008, 11:26 AM
He is foxy in the photo.
I'm pretty certain it's him anyway.

galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 11:31 AM
He is foxy in the photo.
;):D:D

17/01/2008, 11:34 AM
Regardless of the likeness of the lyric picture, the name likeness, the occupation likeness, the mention of a career threatening injury, the age similarity, Terry´s football future was all but over after his Sept injury.

17/01/2008, 12:13 PM
http://img183.imageshack.us/img183/6787/lgn2nnx5vit0.jpg

http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/images/articles/2598-7.jpg

17/01/2008, 1:15 PM
So he has lost a bit a weight and he´s not smiling anymore but his ears still look the same.

livehead1
17/01/2008, 1:19 PM
As I've said before, a mate of mine helped out training spurs youth teams for a good while and knows all of them lads. I've just text him to ask him and he will know for certain..will let you know what he say's. Just asked him if he has retired...

galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 1:23 PM
So he has lost a bit a weight and he´s not smiling anymore but his ears still look the same.

:D LOL!!!!!!!!!!!

i actually thought that when i looked at the older picture of him (in the Ireland jersey). i thought he had lost some of the puppy weight but the ears were the same!!!!

17/01/2008, 2:20 PM
As I've said before, a mate of mine helped out training spurs youth teams for a good while and knows all of them lads. I've just text him to ask him and he will know for certain..will let you know what he say's. Just asked him if he has retired...
Cheers livehead1, hope it's good news.

gally
21/01/2008, 10:06 PM
Can anyone update this thread...

Has he retired ???

carloz
22/01/2008, 7:13 PM
After going to another forum Spurs fans assure me he is not retired officially anyway

Traps Cat
22/01/2008, 11:54 PM
Maybe Kanye West could do a benifit in Croker for Terry!!!

Seriously though , hope he doesent have too retire - by all accounts , a great prospect

woodie
23/01/2008, 11:41 AM
Anyone see The Star today?
Dixon may be forced to retire from football at the age of 17 due to further complications with his knee injury.
He needs more surgery and will be out for another 12 months.

I know the Dixon Family in Ireland and it is great to see rumours flying around.

I can't believe you are quoting the Star - it is hardly a paper of record (but then again, The Times printed lies about Stokes). He has had injuries but they are no career threatening. I was also told that he has also signed a new contract.

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 11:42 AM
good news..hope the lad fulfills his potential

woodie
23/01/2008, 12:09 PM
Yeah, unfortunately it's true.

He did his knee in again, it doesn't look good for him at such an important age.
The kid must be devastated.

Dr. Ogba
23/01/2008, 1:09 PM
Woodie, i may be a bit slow today but you seem to be contradicting yourself in your 2 posts above....is it or is it not career threatening for the lad?

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 1:28 PM
my thoughts exactly..what happened in 40 minutes..did he break down in training

Traps Cat
23/01/2008, 1:30 PM
Woodie - stop sniffin the ronseal - whats the craic , is he crocked or not?