View Full Version : Cork City player tragically killed

GreenStar
06/08/2007, 5:30 PM
Everyone at Cork City Football Club is in a deep state of shock at the tragic death of James Sexton. James was an extremely popular individual within the club, and in his time at Cork City FC he had achieved significant success. The club wishes to express its deepest sympathy to James’ father and mother, Seamus and Breda, and to his brothers and sister.
Chairman Brian Lennox said: “Cork City FC is a very close-knit community, and to lose a player like this is affecting us all greatly. James will be sorely missed.” City manager Damien Richardson said: “James epitomised what Cork City Football Club is all about. He was very much in the mould of Declan Daly and Neal Horgan, in that he went about his football with a quiet dedication, which marked him out in my eyes as one for the future. He was a strong player with an eye for a simple pass which characterises the modern defensive midfielder. Sadly, we will never get to see the real potential that was just beginning to emerge in a big way.”
Stuart Ashton, manager of Cork City FC’s Under 21 side, said: “James came up through the ranks and had become a regular in our Under 21 side this season. His potential was there for all to see, and he was a very well-liked lad. He was quiet, respectful and mannerly, an absolute credit to his parents, and this is a very sad day for all of us at Cork City FC.”
All at Cork City FC would also to express our deepest sympathy to the family and friends of Michael Murphy who also lost his life in this tragic accident, and to wish those injured in the accident a speedy recovery.

Terrible news. R.I.P.

MojoPin
06/08/2007, 5:55 PM
no way????? i remember playing against him in school boys a few times he was tough as nails... but a genuine nice lad... rest in peace sexton

06/08/2007, 6:13 PM
RTE (http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0806/rta.html)

The two young men who were killed in last night's single-vehicle crash in Co Cork have been named as 19-year-old James Sexton and 22-year-old Michael Murphy, both from the village of Castlelyons near Fermoy.

The crash happened at around 9.20pm when the car hit a pillar of a wall about a mile outside the town.

The crash happened at Straw Hall when the car hit the wall on the Fermoy to Midleton Road.

All five people in the car are in their late teens and early 20s. The two men who died were rear-seat passengers.

James Sexton was a reserve team player with Cork City Football Club. The manager of Cork City has paid tribute to James Sexton.

Damien Richardson said that James Sexton had been a valued member of the club, who had represented Cork city at youth level and had trained with the senior team.

Mr Richardson said that James had clear ambitions to play for the senior squad.

He said the thoughts of everyone at the club are with the Sexton family and also the family of Michael Murphy, who also lost his life in the crash.

The female driver and a male and female passenger, were taken to Cork University Hospital.

The two women have since been discharged, while the condition of the man is described as stable.

Gardaí are appealing for any witnesses to contact them at Fermoy Garda Station.

The road where the collision occurred remains sealed off as garda crash investigators examine the scene.

Very sad news.

LeixlipRed
06/08/2007, 6:14 PM
R.I.P.

stiofain
06/08/2007, 6:25 PM
Tragic. RIP

06/08/2007, 6:31 PM
very sad news, R.I.P.

SolitudeRed
06/08/2007, 6:33 PM
Awful news, may he Rest In Peace

eelmonster
06/08/2007, 6:38 PM
Condolences to his family and friends. RIP.

half_full
06/08/2007, 6:39 PM
Tragic, R.I.P.

red metal
06/08/2007, 6:50 PM
Condolences to his family and friends.rip

Iorfa
06/08/2007, 7:05 PM
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam.

Condolences to James' family, friends and all involved at Cork City.

06/08/2007, 7:21 PM
Sad news, RIP.

passerrby
06/08/2007, 7:28 PM
so sad.. rest in peace james

06/08/2007, 7:31 PM
RIP.

Ireland's roads claim yet more young victims.

biscuit
06/08/2007, 7:40 PM
terrible terrible news...may he and his friend rest in peace...:ball:

ramsfan
06/08/2007, 7:45 PM
what a waste of life and talent, RIP

gufcfan
06/08/2007, 7:56 PM
Condolences to all, RIP

damoGUFC
06/08/2007, 8:13 PM
R.I.P to Sexton and Murphy and Condolences to both set of families and friends.

May ye rest in PEACE.

06/08/2007, 8:47 PM
RIP very sad news.

Torn-Ado
06/08/2007, 8:50 PM
RIP

Sad news

balls
06/08/2007, 8:52 PM
very nice fella played with him a few times. was one tough cookie in the middle of midfield. r.i.p. james

06/08/2007, 8:53 PM
Very sad to hear of that accident. RIP to both the men and condolences to their families.

Erstwhile Bóz
06/08/2007, 8:58 PM
RIP. That's no age at all. :(

06/08/2007, 9:01 PM
RIP

Same age as me.......terrible stuff.

07/08/2007, 12:03 AM
Rest in Peace.

Condolences to both people and their families and friends.

TheBoss
07/08/2007, 12:09 AM
Always very saddening to hear the death of young people in tragic circumstances.

My condolences to the families of the bereaved.

07/08/2007, 8:11 AM
I was upset hearing the news last nite that 2 more young people had lost their lives on our roads but somehow it hit me harder in the gut when I heard about James playing with Cork. Maybe its coz of my close association with football and the amount of young lads I see in our club and thats what brought it closer to home.

Please please people slow down on the roads.

RIP James. Condolences to his family, friends and all at Cork City.

dcfc_1928
07/08/2007, 8:11 AM
RIP

Very sad news

07/08/2007, 8:46 AM
R.I.P.

Condolences to his family, his friends, and all involved with the Club.

07/08/2007, 10:26 AM
RIP very sad news.

Cabinteelygull
07/08/2007, 10:39 AM
condolences to family and friends, so young, R.I.P

Celdrog
07/08/2007, 10:47 AM
Shocking news - RIP

fbtn
07/08/2007, 11:07 AM
Terribly sad. RIP.

stann
07/08/2007, 4:44 PM
Terrible shame. Tragic end to too-short lives. RIP.

monutdfc
07/08/2007, 6:42 PM
RIP. My sympathies to family, friends and team-mates.

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 6:59 PM
Sympathies to all the families involved in this terrible accident

07/08/2007, 9:34 PM
RIP

Symapthy to the young men's families

Kildare Lad
08/08/2007, 12:40 AM
Terrible news. RIP

carrickharp
08/08/2007, 10:37 AM
RIP another young life lost on our roads:(

Redzer
08/08/2007, 12:15 PM
We hear these stats week after week. Young people killed in road accidents. It’s only when it happens to someone we know, that we sit up and listen.
I hope their lives have not been lost in vain.
SLOW DOWN if not for your own sake then for the sake of your family and friends.
My sympathies go to the bereaved families, and to the families of the injured. I hope they realise that we in the football community share in their grief, and the burden of sorrow is somehow shared a little.
Ar Dheis De go raibh said.

08/08/2007, 12:31 PM
Played against him too, tough player, hard tackler.

RIP

08/08/2007, 2:12 PM
R.I.P.

Clifford
08/08/2007, 2:52 PM
Terrible tradgedy, I'm local to it and had experienced a summer tourny in James' company in June. It's terribly sad to all involved. The driver of the car is still in considerable shock, as are the other survivors. Sympathies to both families and to those involved. This area has been hit hard recently, two more tragic funerals to add to the mix are very hard to take.

Makes you think about things very hard, enjoy it while you have it people and tell the people you love every day how much they mean to you.

RIP

08/08/2007, 7:05 PM
Terrible news. Even though there are so many of these tragedies every few days sadly something like this carries further resonance. May he rest in peace.:(

ccfcgirl
09/08/2007, 3:43 PM
R.I.P...

Cici900
16/08/2007, 12:43 PM
he was a great lad RIP