View Full Version : GUFC V. Waterford

Pages : 1 [2]

Tribesman
07/08/2007, 8:08 AM
Why were O'Flynn and Russell not at least subs last Friday. If they can feature against Sunderland surely they could have featured on Friday.

Even if not fully fit they could make a difference.

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 8:50 AM
If we had O'Flynn, even as a sub, I think Glynn would have added to his tally last friday without a doubt.

07/08/2007, 11:11 AM
Neither of them were ready to play. Russ was given a run out with the u21's against Harps. I was talking to O'Flynn friday night and he is nearly right but the last thing we want is for either to come back too early and miss the rest of the season.

geezer
07/08/2007, 1:16 PM
was well able sup the guinness at the races on saturday, injuries my ****e a lot of these people are takeing united for a ride. All them signings are crap we shouldv paid out for gethins who has genuine quality and 1 or two others in key spots.

07/08/2007, 2:34 PM
I dont think his injury would stop him taking a drink geezer .Its very unfair to single one Player out.Its down to the Player/Fergal & Tony when a player is fit to come back not someone on the internet taking pot shots.

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 3:51 PM
I'm fond of a tipple myself but as BB says if it is a hindrence to recovery which I believe it is then players should lay of it without havin to be asked. Then again he might have just been havin 1 or 2. However a.n.other player was absolutely out of it over the weekend and if seen by club members would be in trouble. We are not top of the league we cannot afford to have players socialising as they wish while our club struggles to justify this seasons massive budget.

geezer
07/08/2007, 4:01 PM
was not behaviour of a professional anything. It looked stupid, ridiculous and i found it offensive after the rubbish i witnessed against bray and waterford. Why the bloody hell could they not sit in the bar like everyone else and have a pint not be paradeing around the concourse looking the worse for wear with a big pint of guinnesses stuck to their lips. There was 2 senior pro's and a young lad who has made a good few appearnances this year. Its not good enough imo

Tribesman
07/08/2007, 4:12 PM
I think players should be allowed some social time to themselves in between games providing they off course do not let the club down. Everybody needs time to relax.

I would be more concerned why nobody challeneged for the Waterford free kick last Friday that led to their first goal. The likes of Denis Bonner and Jimmy Nolan would have thrown every part of their bodies at it, while Billy Clery would have deafened the nearest opponent to the ball when shouting for possession. :mad:

07/08/2007, 4:25 PM
If you find it offensive geezer go to Tony and tell him who they were.Coming on here and making statements about players is only **** stirring if you are anyone else sees players out of their trees then go to the manager or someone in the club and they will get it sorted out. Its amazing the stories that appear once the side starts struggling.

07/08/2007, 4:32 PM
If you find it offensive geezer go to Tony and tell him who they were.Coming on here and making statements about players is only **** stirring if you are anyone else sees players out of their trees then go to the manager or someone in the club and they will get it sorted out. Its amazing the stories that appear once the side starts struggling.

What stories?
The players were out on the **** like they are every weekend....how is that **** stiring?Whether you want to believe it or not the players are only professionals by title.Nothing professional about the way they carry on both on and off the field some of them.

Still on the delusionary platform?;)

The Man Himself
07/08/2007, 4:33 PM
the ref done a great job.
you were beat by waterford united who were the much better team.
galway are just crap and thats your biggest problem.
and as for been bullied all over the pitch by the youngest team in the premier league, all i have to say for that is to grow up you load of sissys

well done waterford, youngest team in the country and yet you can bully auld fellas.

inthestand99
07/08/2007, 4:33 PM
I can assure you T.C. is well aware of who ye are talking about, two of the players involved told me so today. Our troubles go way back and dont stem from Flynner or anyone else having a few scoops on a weekend off.

Gaillimh Al
07/08/2007, 4:44 PM
**** stirring my arse. Professional attitiudes my arse more like.
Take a gander at some of the players bebo pages, publicly accessible to all. How they haven't been spotted by the management is beyond me.

Barry Moran - Happiest when drinking
Ciaran Foley - Booze is the answer. I've forgotten the question.

At this stage of the season, and given the predicament we're in, would it be too much to ask of our professionals to get them to lay off the sessions for a few months.

07/08/2007, 4:48 PM
and as for been bullied all over the pitch by the youngest team in the premier league, all i have to say for that is to grow up you load of sissys

well done waterford, youngest team in the country and yet you can bully auld fellas.

Complete WUM.Waterford were 2nd best all night and that was the worst thing about losing.If it wasn't for thr ref we would have had 2 penalties.
Still another shocking performance and one that would barely have merited 3 points in a match-Waterford were worse though.Yere players are thugs aswell.The carry on of them afterwards aswell summed up W.U.F.C-Minnows.

corbyeire
07/08/2007, 5:26 PM
there not just idle stories gufct - i saw another player dropping double brandys into half pints of larger in a pint glass on friday night...

Tir Oilean
07/08/2007, 6:34 PM
Defo not stories gufct. We are expressing our disatisfaction because after giving all the support in the world since the start of the season we have been rewarded with 2 muck performances on home soil. Thats why its all coming out now.

looping
07/08/2007, 8:19 PM

don t know where u heard that!!!!!!
ucd is by far the youngest team in ireland!!
most of the team is coming from the university!
by the way remember that waterford has been relegated loosing to dundalk on the play off last year , only to be back because of the new genesis project and because of the fall out of shelbourne!

07/08/2007, 8:21 PM
There was something in the papers last year about the average age of each squad, and Waterford were actually 0.2 years younger than us on average. But there was a big gap to the next youngest team (a good couple of years).

looping
07/08/2007, 8:50 PM
There was something in the papers last year about the average age of each squad, and Waterford were actually 0.2 years younger than us on average. But there was a big gap to the next youngest team (a good couple of years).

but how do u quote a 0,2 young lad!!! :D pineapple stu!?? is it a half derek doyle or half sammon!!

07/08/2007, 8:52 PM
I think Shane Fitz looks about 0.2 years actually.

Patrick Dunne
07/08/2007, 9:42 PM
Management should impose an alcohol ban on the players for the rest of the season.

While it is no harm having a few pints now and then, there seems to be a slipping of standards recently. The bebo pages reflect very poorly on the players and on the club.

The problem is that in clubs like Derry, Bohs, Cork etc, there are higher expectations and supporters will automatically pull up players if standards slip.

The bar is set too low in Galway. It is a dream environment for slackers, no pressure to succeed or do well, wages guaranteed week-in, week-out.

Posing in ridiculous outfits in the local media and public consumption of alcohol reflects badly on our club, particularly in view of the appalling statistic quoted above.

geezer
07/08/2007, 10:30 PM
gufct if you think ****ing up against the wall near the carvery suite and inside the entrance to the stands at the back is acceptable behaviour for a professional squad (and that wasnt flynny) in front of a lydonhouse young employee you defo are blinkered. Would Connaught Rugby players be doing that? or Galway Hurlers or Footballers? no way....Its handy to paint me as a **** stirrer but thats what happened. As for cousins I have had the sum total of about 3 words with that man and that was more or less to tell him he was a bul****ter when he prevented me from enabling 2 young Newcastle Utd fans from the UK who wanted to purchase 2 GUFC shirts to bring home. TC reckoned the shirts were to be seen on the pitch first before they could be sold. What ****e the 2 young lads went back to england without them. I ask where will TC be in 4 years time? far away from GUFC if he has any interim success. Yet those 2 young geordies could have been fans for life.
I say what I see and im not afforded board positions or committee places to "keep it in house lads" and thats the way i like it.

Them players should take a leaf out of Ritchie blackmores books a former Keeper and hand back their wages if they were truly professional. As for TC its high time he left the fancy shoes, slick hair and suits and recent excuses in Dublin and roll up his ffn sleeves

07/08/2007, 10:33 PM
Ya it's not as if we're asking for much.
TC set low standards and we're failing to meet them.The full time approach can only work with proper administration.Couisns desopite his undoubted efforts is not good enough-nor will he be next year,should we stay up.

If the players cared they'd cut back on the scoops themselves.A complete bender that was had by quite a few of the players after loosing to Waterford sums it all up.

They've been getting away with it for to long now.We all know that everyone reads the forums so the obvious discontent of the supporters won't have gone un-noticed and hopefully will be passed on to the players.

geezer
07/08/2007, 10:48 PM
isnt the club, heaven knows we criiticised them over the years. They have bent over backwards for this lot and it must be breaking their hearts to see this. If i say it in someones ear, Gufct and the insiders will say "its the **** stirrer". Put it on a forum and hey presto its going on all over the squad every weekend not from 1 source but many. Utd fans easy takings for mugs from mercenaries. After bray and waterford they should issue a public apology. These performances are no accident.

08/08/2007, 9:27 AM
gufct if you think ****ing up against the wall near the carvery suite and inside the entrance to the stands at the back is acceptable behaviour for a professional squad (and that wasnt flynny) in front of a lydonhouse young employee you defo are blinkered. Would Connaught Rugby players be doing that? or Galway Hurlers or Footballers? no way....Its handy to paint me as a **** stirrer but thats what happened. As for cousins I have had the sum total of about 3 words with that man and that was more or less to tell him he was a bul****ter when he prevented me from enabling 2 young Newcastle Utd fans from the UK who wanted to purchase 2 GUFC shirts to bring home. TC reckoned the shirts were to be seen on the pitch first before they could be sold. What ****e the 2 young lads went back to england without them. I ask where will TC be in 4 years time? far away from GUFC if he has any interim success. Yet those 2 young geordies could have been fans for life.
I say what I see and im not afforded board positions or committee places to "keep it in house lads" and thats the way i like it.

Them players should take a leaf out of Ritchie blackmores books a former Keeper and hand back their wages if they were truly professional. As for TC its high time he left the fancy shoes, slick hair and suits and recent excuses in Dublin and roll up his ffn sleeves

There is no one afforded Commitee Positions Geezer and that is an insult to me and the rest of the managment commitee who work their asses off to keep the club going all voluntarliy. If there is a circle im certainly not a member and if ever I have been informed of Players swinging the lead I have let whoever was manager at the time know.

This is the first time this season this has been mentioned on here or any other site and from talking to a few people who I would trust its being blown totally out of proportion by a few people. I will let Tony know (although ) id say he knows by now and let him deal with it.

There have been Players named here which is totally out of order 2 of them for what is down on Bebo sites and the one thing is I would hate to see some of the Bebo sites of the Posters who are most vocal on here .

geezer
08/08/2007, 11:16 AM
gufct, if you come on here and call me a **** stirrer expect retaliation, In July alone i have stumped up €4237 to GUFC for Lotto tickets, programmes match tickets,table at the races, scarves, 1 hat and a consignment of jerseys,T Shirts for visiting relations. Do I expect special treatment or half time sandwichs? no I dont want it. I do expect a team to act professionally? yes.

Im not a big wig sponsor but to be called a name and not for the 1st time is typical of someone burying the head in the sand and dont differentiating the truth from hearsay. You werent at the bray game or the races on saturday

08/08/2007, 11:34 AM
I havent my head buried in the sand far from it.I wasnt at the Bray game I was at a wedding and I wasnt at the races on saturday but if i was there I would have rang Tony and not come on here spouting about what I saw.

Baileban got blasted on here for what he did but three Players have been accused of being on the **** wholesale by all and sundry. I live in athenry so i cant be checking out CP'S or anywhere else to see whose on the lash but if I did see them i would let the manager know and not come on here for all the world to know.All our squad is being tarred with the same brush here and its grossly unfair on the majority of them.

Claret Murph
08/08/2007, 12:00 PM
I would say both Gufct and Geezer both have very vaild points but without sitting on the fence on this one I would say that when the team are playing well and winning no one really cares what they get up too but losing week after week we all look for a scapegoat who we can point the finger at .
I know this may be at the other end of the scale but when the Czech Republic were beaten 2-1 at home to Germany a few months back the Czech players had a party that night because it was one of the players birthday , now the press did a right job on them the next day and I would say righly so . Now if they had won nobody would have said anything and the same would be with us . At the moment we are all hurting and we are looking for someone to blame .........

08/08/2007, 12:39 PM
I havent my head buried in the sand far from it.I wasnt at the Bray game I was at a wedding and I wasnt at the races on saturday but if i was there I would have rang Tony and not come on here spouting about what I saw.

Baileban got blasted on here for what he did but three Players have been accused of being on the **** wholesale by all and sundry. I live in athenry so i cant be checking out CP'S or anywhere else to see whose on the lash but if I did see them i would let the manager know and not come on here for all the world to know.All our squad is being tarred with the same brush here and its grossly unfair on the majority of them.

So we should give TC a ring and tell on the players when they're p!ssed off their heads in town?:rolleyes:

Having drinks is fine-it's the general attitude of the players that annoys people.If you read my earlier posts you'll see what i have a grievance with.

You're very much alone though gufct in defending them.They're attitude and committment to GUFC isn't acceptable.There are of course acceptions-who were named.

Flano
08/08/2007, 12:46 PM
Lads
To be honest I couldn't care less who was on the p** race week or any other week as long as the players are doing it on the pitch and we're getting the results.

Lets not get distracted by what the key issues are here
- on and off the pitch where is the pasison and leadership
- is TC up to the job
- can he make tactical changes during a game to get the right result
- does the team look as if it has any decent shape to it
- have we got a style of play that we can recognise and that's working
- have the right players been brought in by the manager

I repeat my earlier post - last Fri TC sat 2 seats in front of me for the first half - after 20 mins we all could see what was going wrong - we were being bullied off the pitch - at no point in the first 45 mins did he attempt to go to Goughie on the bench to try and switch it.

I'm not for getting rid of a manager mis-season but the buck stops with the manager - maybe TC is just too nice when what some of these guys may need is a good shoe in the behind - if the manager cannot provide the passion to get a result then ask the question what is Wes's role as captain - you can't hear a peep from him during games.

08/08/2007, 1:05 PM
So we should give TC a ring and tell on the players when they're p!ssed off their heads in town?:rolleyes:

Having drinks is fine-it's the general attitude of the players that annoys people.If you read my earlier posts you'll see what i have a grievance with.

You're very much alone though gufct in defending them.They're attitude and committment to GUFC isn't acceptable.There are of course acceptions-who were named.

I have defended no one Conor all i have said is some of the stuff that has been posted on here about drinking etc should have been dealt with in a different manner.

inthestand99
08/08/2007, 1:22 PM
:ball:Flano.... the passion off the pitch!!!! Where have you been. No one can dispute that off the field the passion and committment shown is top of the class. If we were getting the same results on the park as we are getting off it the League would have been won weeks ago.
Maybe some of the posters who are having a go at the players and gufct should take a look at their own "impecable" behaviour. It's very easy to hide behind a call sign , Conor H excluded.

gilberto_eire
08/08/2007, 2:08 PM

p*ss off

Tir Oilean
08/08/2007, 2:25 PM
As for hiding behind call-signs you weren't actually christened "In the stand" - were ya??
John Cahill

:D:D Most people on here know who I am and know I do not make up bull**** about players just for the sake it. I wont name the player as I dont think its right I am only expressing what happened and my thoughts on it. Dont see what hiding behind a call sign has to do with it:confused:

inthestand99
08/08/2007, 2:34 PM
:ball:This explains a lot!!!! How easy is it to wind up you lot? Chill out lads. All of us have one thing in common... seing GUFC survive and thrive in the Premier League where I'm sure you all agree they belong.

Tir Oilean
08/08/2007, 2:50 PM
where I'm sure you all agree they belong.

I dunno really the Club itself does belong there, 75% of the footballing/management dont unfortunately.:(

Flano
08/08/2007, 4:25 PM
I would hazard a guess that when Flano said off the pitch - he was referring to the sideline - the manager isn't actually classed as on the pitch. I think that's what he meant - not criticising the volunteers and fundraisers.

As for hiding behind call-signs you weren't actually christened "In the stand" - were ya??
John Cahill

Exactly Baileban - never intended criticising volunteers and fundraisers - totally admire the work they are doing - pity the players couldn't show the same level of passion & commitment - which is my point... along with...........

-is TC up to the job
- can he make tactical changes during a game to get the right result
- does the team look as if it has any decent shape to it
- have we got a style of play that we can recognise and that's working
- have the right players been brought in by the manager

Gaillimh Al
08/08/2007, 4:29 PM
There have been Players named here which is totally out of order 2 of them for what is down on Bebo sites and the one thing is I would hate to see some of the Bebo sites of the Posters who are most vocal on here .

Rubbish. In my opinion, if professional footballers, from any club, put up a publicly accesible profile page on any internet website, then they are fair game to criticism of their content. These lads are supposed to be role models for the younger age groups, who I'm sure have access to this site as well. What a great example.

08/08/2007, 4:38 PM
:ball:This explains a lot!!!! How easy is it to wind up you lot? Chill out lads. All of us have one thing in common... seing GUFC survive and thrive in the Premier League where I'm sure you all agree they belong.

We belong.:cool:

MASSIVE.

corbyeire
08/08/2007, 9:45 PM
Rubbish. In my opinion, if professional footballers, from any club, put up a publicly accesible profile page on any internet website, then they are fair game to criticism of their content. These lads are supposed to be role models for the younger age groups, who I'm sure have access to this site as well. What a great example.

agree with you there al - have to admit never saw the double brandy half pint craic before :eek:

inthestand99
09/08/2007, 1:09 PM
They means everybody!!!!

14/08/2007, 2:16 PM
Cronin had a dig at the Galway fans in his article friday. Said that they were outraged every time a WUFC player went in for a tackle. Went on about passion etc etc........

TC is a Rovers legend but wouldnt want him managing our club.

Maroon 7
14/08/2007, 2:34 PM
Cronin had a dig at the Galway fans in his article friday. Said that they were outraged every time a WUFC player went in for a tackle. Went on about passion etc etc........

TC is a Rovers legend but wouldnt want him managing our club.

Cronin has a cheek to speak considering Waterford players committed a series of assaults right throughout the game. At one point a Galway player was absolutely cut in two by the touchline I was sitting right behind the Waterford bench and immediately looked at Cronin who had turned back to face his bench with a satisfied smirk on his face.

That said the main culprit for all the violence that night was the ref who allowed Waterford players to commit a series of terrible tackles early on which went unpunished. They took this as carte blanche to keep it up for the remainder of the match which they did. Had the ref put his foot down and booked a couple of them early on he probably wouldn't have lost control of the game like he eventually did.

Waterford could easily have had 2 or 3 players sent off that night and Galway themselves lost the rag towards the end so frustrated were they with the whole thing.