View Full Version : GAA Sectarianism in Fermanagh

02/08/2007, 8:58 PM
BreakingNews (http://www.breakingnews.ie/sport/mhcwkfqlcwql/)

An inter-county GAA player who has given up the game because of sectarian abuse is calling on the GAA to confront the problem.

Twenty-five-year-old Darren Graham, a Protestant who played at under-21 level for Fermanagh in both football and hurling, made the decision to quit after being taunted repeatedly from the stands.

Apparently he was abused by opposition players & fans. I wonder if the GAA are going to take any action?

cheifo
02/08/2007, 10:07 PM
GAA have to show moral courage and stamp out the bigots.:mad::mad:

03/08/2007, 12:40 AM
Some Dungannon player in the papers yesterday saying he quit gaelic football because of the abuse he was getting for playing association football . . . . . . . . from the refs.

03/08/2007, 6:32 AM
Anyone else think he's being a bit of a girls blouse??

If someone slags you Darren, slag them back :rolleyes:

03/08/2007, 8:55 AM
It seems the stick that the Orange Order has always used to beat the GAA with North of the border has some veracity after all.......

03/08/2007, 8:59 AM

If someone slags you Darren, slag them back :rolleyes:Sectarianism is a bit more than slagging.

Two of his relatives were killed by the IRA as well.

03/08/2007, 9:04 AM
Sectarianism is a bit more than slagging.

Two of his relatives were killed by the IRA as well.

That make the sectarian chanting even a tad sicker !:eek:

03/08/2007, 1:10 PM
It seems at least the guys club are backing him.

I think its a bit dubious for the GAA to say they cannot investigate unless they get an official complaint.

I suppose its easy to claim you have a 32 county game when you discourage players from the other community.

03/08/2007, 1:37 PM

If someone slags you Darren, slag them back :rolleyes:

That's ridiculous LTID. If he was black or Jewish or Muslim or gay it'd be called out of order that he takes stick for it. But because he's just one of "them uns" he's fair game?

Also, if he's being a bit of a blouse ...he sure took his sweet time about it no?

03/08/2007, 7:58 PM
Some Dungannon player in the papers yesterday saying he quit gaelic football because of the abuse he was getting for playing association football . . . . . . . . from the refs.

Well he did right to give up a game of no skill in any event :)

onceahoop
03/08/2007, 9:00 PM
Thought it was hurling he played. Pretty disgusting stuff if true and I've no doubt it is.

SolitudeRed
03/08/2007, 10:36 PM
Read this in the paper the other day was going to post about it in the current affairs forum!

Yes he played Hurling for the Fermanagh county team apparently! and his father was a member of the UDR (Ulster Defence Regiment) and was killed when he was just 3 weeks old!

Pretty sickening but unfortunately it doesn't really suprise me as this society has a long way to go before it becomes normalised thats if it ever does become normal! and despite all the progress that has been made some people still have mindsets which belong in the past.

04/08/2007, 1:09 PM
Pretty disgusting if true.

The GAA fans are holding back what they want with actions like that, a united Ireland.

04/08/2007, 7:24 PM
the UDR of course was such a commendable organisation itself

04/08/2007, 7:36 PM

Thought you'd say something similar. Are you siggesting that his father's occupation makes him fair game? :rolleyes:

04/08/2007, 9:03 PM

Hardly the point Bennocelt. If the lad can play sport with an association that, in his own county, names competitions for kids after guys killed on "active service" :rolleyes: with PIRA (an organisation that killed his father)...well I'd call that a magnanimous and highly commendable act of reaching out on his part. I sure as sh1te wouldn't have been able to do it. That some clowns within the support base, playing staff etc of teams he plays and associates with then throw it back in his face is pettiness in the extreme at best.

05/08/2007, 10:05 AM
Hardly the point Bennocelt. If the lad can play sport with an association that, in his own county, names competitions for kids after guys killed on "active service" :rolleyes: with PIRA (an organisation that killed his father)...well I'd call that a magnanimous and highly commendable act of reaching out on his part. I sure as sh1te wouldn't have been able to do it. That some clowns within the support base, playing staff etc of teams he plays and associates with then throw it back in his face is pettiness in the extreme at best.

yeah sure fair enough
just that people shouldnt be naive about it, i mean what did he expect, and it is the GAA for chriss sakes

05/08/2007, 10:07 AM
Thought you'd say something similar. Are you siggesting that his father's occupation makes him fair game? :rolleyes:

just that people shouldnt be so naiive like yourself:rolleyes:

05/08/2007, 11:49 AM
Please point out where I've been naive...

05/08/2007, 1:19 PM
Benno Celt there is no call to introduce that type of UDR sh'ite in here.
There is absolutly no report from Darren that any abuse was thrown into his face other than derog references to his religion over the years.
Darren is very well known and is well respected around Fermanagh. Despite that, this abuse has been going for years directed at him without enough if any pro action.
That is an indictment in itself.
Any person has the right to participate in sports without sectarian/racist sledging from other players and abuse from so called fans in the park.
The measures that exist to protect players were not practised. The refs ignored it, the clubs ignored it, his own club, Lisnaskea, made a bizzarre statement afterwards even though the player himself said that his team mates are totally behind him.
It's the Lisnaskea club's responsibilty to deal with this sort of thing with effect when it comes into their park and when it is directed at one of their players on other grounds they should be the first to highlight it.

05/08/2007, 4:02 PM
yeah sure fair enough
just that people shouldnt be naive about it, i mean what did he expect, and it is the GAA for chriss sakesThats a fair point, but not in the way you intended.

If the GAA publicly acknowledged itself as a sectarian organisation (which I believe it is, at least in the North) then there wouldn't be a problem.

But it masquerades as being non-sectarian, then there is an obvious problem.

Its only the scarity of non-Catholic players that keeps the sectarianism below the horizon.

05/08/2007, 5:17 PM
Its only the scarity of non-Catholic players that keeps the sectarianism below the horizon.

While I am not linking the GAA with white supremacy but its a bit like the KKK saying they not racists when all their members are white.

05/08/2007, 6:02 PM
While I am not linking the GAA with white supremacy but its a bit like the KKK saying they not racists when all their members are white.The GAA doesn't publicly promote itself as a Catholic-only organisation.

Jack Boothman who was president a while back wasn't a Catholic for instance.

05/08/2007, 9:36 PM
Jack was of the narrow minded persuasion the keep Croker closed to "foreign sports", who gives a feck what his religious persuasion was.

Next we will be having someone with the authoritative head count of prods in the South who are GAA members, all as far as I know type of authority.

While I am not linking the GAA with white supremacy but its a bit like the KKK saying they not racists when all their members are white.
Ah Pete, so refreshing to read your significant contributions
The GAA a bit like the KKK? ...... really?
and I thought it was only soccer that adopted a strict code of segregation inside their grounds, ooops I forgot, that one's regarded as progress.

06/08/2007, 12:08 AM
That's ridiculous LTID. If he was black or Jewish or Muslim or gay it'd be called out of order that he takes stick for it. But because he's just one of "them uns" he's fair game?

Whoa there

You wont find a less sectarian person than me Mr. Ritchie and you can feel free to ask any of the Limerick lads that

What I was getting at was that having read the alleged sectarianism in the paper "You're a black Fcuker" etc I just didn't think there was anything overtly sectarian to the comments

Now maybe, it's Northern slang that I don't understand, if so I apologise

Was just wondering was there a bit more to it is all

Worst comparison ever

06/08/2007, 6:01 AM
Benno Celt there is no call to introduce that type of UDR sh'ite in here.

:rolleyes:, eh its kind of relevant, and was mentioned in all the reports on this matter

guys its not a perfect world, players can be bastar ds on a pitch, and god knows i would imagine Ga players would be the worst

06/08/2007, 12:56 PM
Now maybe, it's Northern slang that I don't understand, if so I apologiseYup, its Northern slang and is most certainly sectarian.

06/08/2007, 3:56 PM
Yup, its Northern slang and is most certainly sectarian.

Then I apologise :o

"Black" = "Prod" how :confused:

onceahoop
06/08/2007, 6:27 PM
Then I apologise :o

"Black" = "Prod" how :confused:

Married to a Belfast girl and she doesn't even know how the expression came about. But it is sectarian. I suspect it might be something to do with the Black Perceptory (think thats how you spell it)who are an part of the Orange Order and their have own parades later in the year.

SolitudeRed
06/08/2007, 6:47 PM
Hmmm! I always associated the term black with the RUC (they were refered to as Black B*****ds by some)

thought is was to do with the old RIC/RUC uniforms which were black and the black and tans and all that!

07/08/2007, 10:33 AM
I would guess that the term "black" is used as general insult to anyone who is different or perceived to be less worthy of respect?

Historically white = good or pure & Black is dark or evil.

07/08/2007, 1:07 PM
Married to a Belfast girl and she doesn't even know how the expression came about. But it is sectarian. I suspect it might be something to do with the Black Perceptory (think thats how you spell it)who are an part of the Orange Order and their have own parades later in the year.

Close enough. wiki info on 'The Royal Black Institution' AKA 'The Black Preceptory' here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Black_Institution)

Then I apologise

"Black" = "Prod" how:confused: Not even quite as simple as that I don't think. I've heard people described (not always derogatorialy either:confused:) as "Black Prods". Nowt to do with the LOL of Namibia -I'm guessing this would mean they are not only members of one of the reformed churches but are unionist in their outlook and, perhaps most relevant, have socio-cultural interests that involve jay-walking while decked out in your sunday best, some curtain trim and a silly hat while being cheered on by some chavs in Rangers tops swilling unrefridgerated tins of McEwans.

The insertion of the 'Black' as an adjective or pronoun would in that sense be used to differentiate from 'Prods' who aren't @rsed with any of that or 'Prods' who also happen to be nationalist.

As with all things on this crazy little island of ours -local deviations will occur in application and measurement.

SolitudeRed
09/08/2007, 9:41 PM
Said on the news today that this guy has decided to go back and play GAA after meeting with the county board and getting an apology, don't think anyone was disciplined over the sectarianism though!

10/08/2007, 10:15 AM
Said on the news today that this guy has decided to go back and play GAA after meeting with the county board and getting an apology, don't think anyone was disciplined over the sectarianism though!

Disciplining someone would be admitting it existed.

10/08/2007, 12:52 PM
There must be a mountain under that GAA carpet, the amount of things that have been brushed under it over the years...........

which reminds me of Peter Quinn's famous line when he was tasked with investigating "alleged" under the table payments to GAA players and coaches at club and county levels.

"Not only could I not find evidence of payments I couldn't even find the tables under which the payments were made".

Wonderful organisation......

Docboy
10/08/2007, 2:07 PM
In fairness there was nothing under the table about the apology, it was hands up stuff.

10/08/2007, 2:22 PM
the organistaion is made up of the people, its the people of ireland that are the problem, not the organisation.

10/08/2007, 2:33 PM
the organistaion is made up of the people, its the people of ireland that are the problem, not the organisation.

A certain sector of Ireland. Please don't try and say it represents all of us

10/08/2007, 2:34 PM
A certain sector of Ireland. Please don't try and say it represents all of us

very good point, but dodge i would have to say you would be in the minority. the GAA has huge support and numbers ( and these are the people that make up this organistation and for good and bad they represent the GAA ) in ireland, whether you want to admit it or not is another thing though and more importantly i cant be arsed to debate it on here as its done to the death.

10/08/2007, 2:38 PM
Massive difference between the amount of people who look at the odd game in "the championship" and fully paid members of the GAA paul.

I think you'll find the vast, vast majority of people are most certainly not members of any GAA club, however much interest they have in the sports

10/08/2007, 6:09 PM
fully paid members to me, i dont know exactly what that is, but in my view anybody who buys the club lotto numbers or club tickets or whatever is in someway paying as a member of the GAA. Now I havent gone counting how many people have done this, but im pretty sure its a lot of people up and down the country.

blackholesun
12/08/2007, 9:55 PM
Someone in work is married to a girl from the bog and they are leaving Dublin and building locally wheres shes from. Turns out to support planning app they were advised to get letter from local muck savage club to help PROVE that shes a local. :eek:

Id betcha she was stung for some sort of contribution along the way. Its this kinda local nod and a wink bull**** crap that has this country in the mess and backward state it is in. Shower of <unt$, disband the GAA! :mad:

bhs

13/08/2007, 5:15 AM
Someone in work is married to a girl from the bog and they are leaving Dublin and building locally wheres shes from. Turns out to support planning app they were advised to get letter from local muck savage club to help PROVE that shes a local.

Id betcha she was stung for some sort of contribution along the way. Its this kinda local nod and a wink bull**** crap that has this country in the mess and backward state it is in. Shower of <unt$, disband the GAA!

bhs

At least you're able to make your point without resorting to insults, assumptions, or stereotypes.

People from the countryside are from "the bog".:rolleyes:

The GAA club is a "muck savage" club.:rolleyes:

The are all a "Shower of <unt$", and are indeed responsible for the country's problems.:rolleyes:

I neither watch nor care about GAA, but the only one who ends up looking ignorant from this post is you.

Torn-Ado
13/08/2007, 11:56 AM
At least you're able to make your point without resorting to insults, assumptions, or stereotypes.

People from the countryside are from "the bog".:rolleyes:

The GAA club is a "muck savage" club.:rolleyes:

The are all a "Shower of <unt$", and are indeed responsible for the country's problems.:rolleyes:

I neither watch nor care about GAA, but the only one who ends up looking ignorant from this post is you.

Well said.

13/08/2007, 11:07 PM
If the GAA has some bigoted members please don't suggest they represent the rest of the country. :rolleyes:

The GAA often tell us how great they are with their 32 county organisation & how terrible we are that we have a 26 county & 6 county football bodies. FFS its easy to have a 32 county organisation with no members from the other community.

The FAI & IFA may be separate bodies but where was the sectarianism during the recent Setanta Cup competitions?

onceahoop
14/08/2007, 10:04 AM
If the GAA has some bigoted members please don't suggest they represent the rest of the country. :rolleyes:

The GAA often tell us how great they are with their 32 county organisation & how terrible we are that we have a 26 county & 6 county football bodies. FFS its easy to have a 32 county organisation with no members from the other community.

The FAI & IFA may be separate bodies but where was the sectarianism during the recent Setanta Cup competitions?

Good point. Twenty years ago Linfield supporters were theatenining to withdraw their support after the club signed two North African players ( I think they also may have been catholic). Now I doubt it would raise an eyebrow. The GAA need to start working on this aspect up north. In our now multicultural society it's a regular occurrence on the playing fields of Ireland to have all creeds and colours engaging in sport together. What's the difference between a young boy from the Cameroon and a young irish protestant from Ulster playing Gaelic games.

14/08/2007, 10:36 AM
its a case of them wanting to play the sport.

EalingGreen
14/08/2007, 4:17 PM
What's the difference between a young boy from the Cameroon and a young irish protestant from Ulster playing Gaelic games.

The difference? One exists, whilst the other is a figment of the GAA's PR Department...:(