View Full Version : Cork

28/07/2007, 12:34 PM
When we keep winning it just makes me think of the next game and its massive in a lot of way. Importance,as a challange, the journey and the session:)

Should have about 20 fans so we will get some sort of atmosphere going. A draw would be excellent but with cork having games in hand and 2 points ahead maybe we need to win.

28/07/2007, 12:46 PM
should be good. think we can get a draw down there. Cork are hot and cold, raf will be back, so hopefully a full strenght squad. almost 12 hours travel altogether on a train over the w/end, but itll be worth it! ;)

28/07/2007, 1:27 PM
I see nothing but a 2 or 3 nil defeat:o. Cork have Healy now and at TC they are a completely different team. Hope I'm proven wrong though.

29/07/2007, 9:43 AM
I'm always sceptical about calling games such as the recent Drogs and Pats games must-wins but this game should show whether we're competing with the like of yourselves and Bohs or Drogs and Pats.

We are indeed hot and cold but we haven't lost a league game at the Cross in about two years.

I predict a stumbling CCFC victory.

29/07/2007, 10:32 AM
Well Roy will be back and its when Roy or Johnno haven't been banging them in that we've been absolutely toothless and overplaying everything.
Nonetheless, we'll probably have Cillian Lordan at centre-back who could find Kudozovic very tough. Darren Murphy and Sean Kelly out but only one of them would play. Gamble should be recovered but with Healy and Farrelly, we don't look ****ed when Joey is injured or suspended.
Even Kearney seems to spend time in the centre nowadays so if ye attack down the wings there'll be nobody there.

29/07/2007, 2:38 PM
imo if we get at murray we could have some joy. thats just my opinion. he's like barry ferguson, slow and not great on the ground.

think the team are travelling the night before, something we never done before, done it against waterford and it worked, the long journey on matchday takes a bit out of you. thats only a small factor though really.

Raff will be back aswell and i think maybe leave boyd on the bench for a game or two until he's fully fully fit. he did well on friday though. subs that came on friday will be looking to start, i think cashy is more effective from the bench when teams a tiring in the last half hour. id start manson. no one will agree obviously. seamie should be given more licence to get forward, if its manson on the right with seamie, ogrady will have to be looking at the right side and cover it any time seamie goes forward because manson is an attack minded player and will be forward aswell. ogrady will do that anyway. he's been brilliant.

it'll be tough id love a point but we'll go and play our normal game im sure and look to win it.
its too unpredicatable in this league to say the score

29/07/2007, 2:42 PM
i think cashy is more effective from the bench when teams a tiring in the last half hour. id start manson. no one will agree obviously.In fairness, it's obvious that Manson is more effective from the bench as the only time he's done really well is when he's come off the bench. Definitely shouldn't start Friday, just cos he done well in last 30mins against Shams.

29/07/2007, 2:54 PM
What is the opinion on leeside of Farrelly and Healy so far ? I think both will take a while to get fully fit espically Farrelly jusging by a photo i seen of him.

healy - good, but needs time to settle in with the team. had buckets of confidence the first day taking people on, recently has started to pass backwards trying to keep possession. all well and good, but when you're one-nil down its frustrating.

farrelly - does what he does, well. what he doesnt do will get him lots of stick. capable of 15/20 minute periods where he'll dominate possession, before reverting back to performing nice little passes around the centre circle and not much else.

Da Real Rover
29/07/2007, 4:15 PM
In fairness, it's obvious that Manson is more effective from the bench as the only time he's done really well is when he's come off the bench. Definitely shouldn't start Friday, just cos he done well in last 30mins against Shams.

Agree completely, Manson has had 1 decent appearance as a sub, but i dont think he is anywhere near cash's quality.

red rovers
29/07/2007, 4:27 PM
Would hope for a point but we could get lucky and get all 3.Will Meredith be playing or be on the bench.

29/07/2007, 4:29 PM
Will Meredith be playing or be on the bench.He's hasn't signed yet!

red rovers
29/07/2007, 4:38 PM
He's hasn't signed yet!

I know but he will be singed by then.

roversforever
29/07/2007, 5:42 PM
manson ahead of cash....are you for real???you're obviously a personal friend of mansons coz if you were going on football alone you would not be constantly defending him the way you are.cash is quality.manson may have football in him but he's lazy, never beats a man,always looks to go backwards,won't make a challenge,terrible positional sense,can't cross,won't score and frankly i aven't yet seen him have a good game for this club.and some people are saying he did ok on friday...all he did was ok, he didn't exactly run rings around the opposition for the 20mins he got.so to suggest he starts is crazy in my opinion.to be honest if he left the club tomorrow i wouldn't be sorry to see the back of him.

29/07/2007, 6:04 PM
Sligo have drawn Cork in the GAA quarter final next Saturday in Croker. Anyone got a lift for Sligoman from Turners Cross to Dublin? He's mad up for the double.

29/07/2007, 7:03 PM
Anyone got a lift for Sligoman from Turners Cross to Dublin? He's mad up for the double.Haha:p

red arrow
29/07/2007, 7:05 PM
rovers can do it. cash had a proble with his groin thats why he was taken off. for those who are not manson fan's i say give him a chance . i believe he has good ability otherwise cookie would have let him go. he is ony young, look how long it took faz to stamp his mark (and there are several people on this board who called for his head) and now are singing his praises. it takes time for these young players to settle in to the fast and furious pace of l.O.I. football. dot be critical of the players at all times they give of there best. support the team as a unit then we can achieve greatness. i am quietly confident about game on friday as i am about SLIGEACH. the ball is round wheather you are rewarded with a score when it goes over the bar or between the posts. its all sport and brings great joy and unity to everbody. up the rovers ! up sligeach (so says faz)

29/07/2007, 7:10 PM
the ball is round wheather you are rewarded with a score when it goes over the bar or between the posts. its all sport and brings great joy and unity to everbody. up the rovers ! up sligeach (so says faz)Anyone know where the "I feel like getting sick" smilie is?;)

Nathan
30/07/2007, 6:02 AM
Most people wouldn't have given Judge a sniff last year was easy to see Cash isn’t 100% should be ok for Friday night though, no comparison with him & Manson but give the lad a chance.

red rovers
01/08/2007, 1:36 PM
I'd say Meredith will start at Left Back.

01/08/2007, 1:42 PM
I'd say Meredith will start at Left Back.Not sure if he's cleared yet.

01/08/2007, 2:59 PM
I'd say Meredith will start at Left Back.

even if he is cleared. i hope he dosnt play. why drop ventre?

Only1Rovers
01/08/2007, 5:15 PM
for those who are not manson fan's i say give him a chance . i believe he has good ability otherwise cookie would have let him go.

I'd say the already small squad saved Manson from being let go.

There is no comparison between Faz and Manson, although Faz was frustrating to watch he is a class act, that was always apparent from day one.

(so says Faz) ;)

red_away
02/08/2007, 11:54 AM
On ther website it is saying that Tommy Arcaba (elbow surgery last Friday)is OUT!!

All other players are fit.

Who comes in as cover for our cover in goals?

02/08/2007, 11:55 AM
Who comes in as cover for our cover in goals?We had no cover for the shams game either. This is where Sean Kelly would be handy as back up. Hopefully Brush won't get injured or we're fecked.

02/08/2007, 1:55 PM
keith noone will be sub keeper. he would have been on the bench last week but he got sick day b4 the game. no roy, o'flynn or gamble=3 points for rovers at 4/1

jamie m
02/08/2007, 2:09 PM
with those 3 players out for cork we should definitely be more confident about getting at least a point, if not all 3!:) i know they havent been beaten at home for ages but records are there to be broken

02/08/2007, 2:11 PM
Roy and Gamble should play alright, Be surprised if they dont

02/08/2007, 2:19 PM
I would very surprised if Roy O'Donovan plays for Cork tomorrow. Was Gamble injured of late ?

Yeah a back problem but was rested for the last 2 games so should hopefully but alright.

Id say Roy will at least be on the bench. Itd be ridiculous not to play him. The transfer window has a month left to go and this could drag out quite a bit. We cant leave him sit out every game because of it

02/08/2007, 2:31 PM
Gamble wont be playing actually. Just read it on the site

DonalE
03/08/2007, 10:53 AM
Rogue Trader i'm disappointed you won't be there tonight, I was hoping you'd entertain me like ya did last time in TC :D

red rovers
03/08/2007, 11:11 AM
Match preview.

Cork City manager Damien Richardson admits his side must restore lost pride when they take on Sligo Rovers at Turners Cross on Friday night.

The Leesiders fell to a 4-1 defeat at the Showgrounds earlier in the season, the victim of one of several fine performances from Rovers this season.

Cork go into this game in fifth place, two points better off than Sligo with two games in hand on the Bit O’Red, and Richardson knows his side must take all three points.

He said: “Sligo handed us our heaviest defeat of the season so far in the Showgrounds, and there is only one way to get over that.

"For the sake of our personal pride, and for the three points on offer, it is important that we turn in a good performance and get the win we need.”

Key midfielder Joe Gamble and likely replacement Darren Murphy are both sidelined as a result of ankle injuries picked up against St Patrick’s Athletic last week.

Defenders Billy Woods and Darragh Ryan and striker John O’Flynn will all undergo late fitness tests on various ailments.

Sligo, for their part, work off a similar squad as that which ended Shamrock Rovers’ winning sequence seven days ago.

New Australian signings James Meredith and Matthew Gordon could also be in line for their debuts at some stage.

http://www.elevenaside.com/sligorovers/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=28754

red_away
03/08/2007, 12:23 PM
we should look at this tie with no fearno matter who's fit for cork - if we relax and play football when we get the ball and work hard when we dont we have as good a shout as anyone.....keep it on the floor lads, except for emergency clearances of course!

03/08/2007, 12:37 PM
My team
--------Brush---------
Coleman Peers McKenzie Ventre
Raf ----O'Grady ----Hughes---Boyd
Faz-------Judge

Subs -Noone Cash Meredith Curran Gordon

03/08/2007, 12:50 PM
Fair enough but I think that Cash would have more impact as a sub compared to Raf and ddidnt Boyd play left side midfield against Shams ?

red rovers
03/08/2007, 12:58 PM
didnt Boyd play left side midfield against Shams ?

No Hughes did.
Brush
Coleman Peers Mckenze Ventre
Raf O'Grady Hughes Gordon
Judge Faz

Subs Noone,Meredith,Boyd,Cash,Creane

03/08/2007, 1:11 PM
Paddy Power haven't a clue about our squad. Creane is 7-2 to score even though I'd say Hughes would more chance of scoring yet he's 4-1. Glen McCormack is also 4-1, yet Coleman is 14-1.

red bellied
03/08/2007, 1:15 PM
Jason McCartney was 14-1 to score against Shams last week.

03/08/2007, 1:26 PM
Blame JC_GUFC from here he does the Irish football for Paddy Powers! But long may his ignorance last:D

03/08/2007, 1:29 PM
Blame JC_GUFC from here he does the Irish football for Paddy Powers!I know, when he got the job I thought the EL betting would be all up to date and correct but sure feck it:D.

03/08/2007, 5:04 PM
in cork now. noone wont be in the squad, we're tking the risk i think he didnt travel again. neither did creane.

03/08/2007, 5:06 PM
in cork now. noone wont be in the squad, we're tking the risk i think he didnt travel again. neither did creane.Are you in the same internet cafe as the rest of the squad? A load of them were online about 30mins ago:D.

03/08/2007, 5:10 PM
no, in the hotel. they all have laptops in their rooms aswell

Fivesilver
03/08/2007, 6:11 PM
Coleman is 14-1.

I got Seamie at 50/1 for the first goal in Cashmans - worth a punt at a fiver. :p