View Full Version : The Great Escape
RockofGibraltar
28/07/2007, 8:05 AM
Another win last night our 2nd on the bounce could the impossible actually be possible??
28/07/2007, 11:00 AM
Well we're giving ourselves a chance. And our look seems to be changing aswell. Because I don't know how Bray didnt score in the first half last night. If that game was a few weeks ago at least 1 of their chances would have went in. I think we can do it.
28/07/2007, 11:52 AM
Come on Town. 7 points aint that much, we can do it.
28/07/2007, 12:33 PM
Well we're giving ourselves a chance. And our look seems to be changing aswell. Because I don't know how Bray didnt score in the first half last night. If that game was a few weeks ago at least 1 of their chances would have went in. I think we can do it.
And your first goal was one in a million. How the ball rebounded that way was just jammy. But fair play. Yez actually came out and played from the start. You defended a whole lot better than us and you were brilliant on the counter.
Like I said on the other thread, it's not over for yez yet.
28/07/2007, 1:53 PM
Don't see why ye can't beat Bohs next week too. Even though a point would still be a great result for ye.
29/07/2007, 7:00 PM
best performance in a long while both from the team and supporters. it was the best away atmosphere this season. from start to finish we never shut up. I was feelin confident before the game. mooneys second goal on telly was somethin else. we have an excellent chance. jamie duffy had a great game for us along with moons and shay kelly and baker. happy that baker is off the score sheet at the moment.
cant wait to see the goals on eircom league weekly inc a clip of ourselves!:p
Myself and Cabs are making another banner for the Bohs match similar to the one we allready have so if anyone has any ideas let us know!So far we've come up with
"The Great Escape?"
"We Believe"
"Paint e8
Bedsheet e20
Town Surviving.....priceless!"
Let us know!
30/07/2007, 3:20 PM
Sounds good :)
30/07/2007, 9:31 PM
Maybe I could mock up an auld Fossett's poster in Photoshop, and turn it into sometihng like 'The Great Escape' if I've time to do it! :)
Two fcuking right its on great result tonight!
04/08/2007, 8:56 PM
Go'wan Longford!
:D:D
harry crumb
04/08/2007, 11:14 PM
Delighted to see Longford getting these results. For the 1st time in years they have come out of their shell under Matthews and are playing attacking football.:ball:
See it does work!!!
Sonic
05/08/2007, 12:28 AM
With respect we have been doing it all season only the luck just wasnt there and anything that could go wrong has gone wrong. I just hope we can keep going now!
05/08/2007, 12:45 AM
With respect we have been doing it all season only the luck just wasnt there and anything that could go wrong has gone wrong. I just hope we can keep going now!You certainly didn't play attacking football when Derry went to Flancare.
You narrowed the pitch from last season ffs.
05/08/2007, 12:56 AM
You certainly didn't play attacking football when Derry went to Flancare.They still deserved the point and maybe even more from that though!
Tonight:
_5YKWJ5_1zg
05/08/2007, 10:42 AM
hahaaha!
You certainly didn't play attacking football when Derry went to Flancare.
You narrowed the pitch from last season ffs.
You might also apprechiate the fact that that was our first game after a certain points deduction and getting something from that game was aim number one. Mind you we should have won there too!!
harry crumb
05/08/2007, 5:19 PM
With respect we have been doing it all season only the luck just wasnt there and anything that could go wrong has gone wrong. I just hope we can keep going now!
Thats what I meant.
He's shown more freedom to his team since the start of the season
06/08/2007, 11:11 AM
Its getting really exciting now and we can smell blood. We can catch them you know. :) And feel free to dig up any of my old posts that said we were dooomed.
RockofGibraltar
06/08/2007, 12:28 PM
anyone fancy 3 points on friday night? :)
RockofGibraltar
06/08/2007, 12:31 PM
anyone fancy a win on friday night?
06/08/2007, 2:16 PM
wot a result and wot a game. this is easily the best attacking team that we have had under matthews since the season we finished fourth. hoping that jamie duffy will stay with us at the end of the season he is a class act. mooney and baker excelled yet again. all over we were solid. you never know we may escape yet if we keep these high performances up. :D
big thumbs up to the supporters club pro for all the nice things that they have sayin about us over the last two weeks.
frog-gufc
06/08/2007, 2:21 PM
it will be some comeback should longford avoid the drop, fair play but done keep it up haha
06/08/2007, 4:35 PM
until we play ye galway boys!!;)
sligored
07/08/2007, 11:35 AM
i hope ye and galway can go on a run and relegate waterford and bray/ucd.
and hope harps get promoted.f..k dundalk and cobh
more derbies.
well done on shutting the spoofer up for another week... he wont be in the paper this week unless he is sacked.
come on shams tonight
Tir Oilean
13/08/2007, 8:47 AM
i hope ye and galway can go on a run and relegate waterford and bray/ucd.
and hope harps get promoted.f..k dundalk and cobh
more derbies.
well done on shutting the spoofer up for another week... he wont be in the paper this week unless he is sacked.
come on shams tonight
Fair play Sligored twud be great to have those 4 teams in the top flight Sligo, Farps, Longford and Galway. But at the moment you guys are the only ones sure to be up there!:(
Ronnie
27/08/2007, 11:27 AM
This is definitely on now. Taking 6 points from Bohs, Derry and Pats is a great return. All to play for and cup draw tonight!
MyTown
27/08/2007, 11:44 AM
Matthews has to get Manager of the Year if this keeps up.
Some brilliant results in the face of very difficult circumstances.
I have to say the lads have performed marvelously and if we can keep it going here is hoping!
daithi
31/08/2007, 9:18 PM
What a result tonight! 1-0 Mooney deep in injury time. Just 1 behind waterford now.:D
31/08/2007, 10:19 PM
great result for ye. well done.:)
01/09/2007, 2:18 AM
Go on Longford
01/09/2007, 7:58 AM
They said it couldnt be done! We're proving them all wrong. Even ourselves. Come on Town! :)
02/09/2007, 5:42 PM
what a game! what a atmosphere! we thoroughly deserved to beat shamrock rovers! two dubious offside goals disallowed! shay kelly saved us near the end with two class saves! we have a great chance. sligo game will be tough though. we owe sligo big time a beating.
Dillo
03/09/2007, 10:51 AM
I really didn't see this coming.
All credit to everyone concerned.
This will be our finest achievement to date, even greater that the cup successes.
C'mon De Town!
Bald Student
03/09/2007, 10:54 AM
I remember when we lost to yee a month or so back I said on the bus home that I wasn't that disappointed. Yee needed the points more than us.
The only danger is that there are three going down next year so staying up would mean a tough season again.
spaceghost
03/09/2007, 2:53 PM
I remember when we lost to yee a month or so back I said on the bus home that I wasn't that disappointed. Yee needed the points more than us.
The only danger is that there are three going down next year so staying up would mean a tough season again.
why is there three going down , thats a fukin joke , 1 quarter of the teams in the division relegated.the ten team fukin prem didnt work a couple of seasons ago, who says it will now.. kop the fuk on delany and co , ye really havnt a fukin clue:mad:
Ronnie
04/09/2007, 11:15 AM
This is really some effort from the lads, hard to believe that with 9 games to go were back to one point behind and in with a real chance, can't wait for Friday.