View Full Version : Rovers 2-0 Shams

27/07/2007, 8:52 PM
Well that was good , first half we were rubbish second half a bit better , Colemans a legend , great second goal , Goal of the month again for Judge I'd say , Shams were very very poor i thought , Peers was immense .

27/07/2007, 8:55 PM
Well that was good , first half we were rubbish second half a bit better , Colemans a legend , great second goal , Goal of the month again for Judge I'd say , Shams were very very poor i thought , Peers was immense .

shams are hoofers...also looked very tired. what age is andy myler!:eek:
apart from barry murphy and tadgh purcell they're an average team.

we played alright, ventre had a good night as did dick.

DocRovers
27/07/2007, 8:56 PM
Great result. Pitch looked awful, ball bobbling all over the place. What did you think of Scully after the game?

Only1Rovers
27/07/2007, 9:07 PM
ah 'twas brilliant. Coleman is magic! did I say Coleman is magic? Boyd looks like he could be a potentially good player.

Great result!
Bring on Cork again!

red rovers
27/07/2007, 9:09 PM
What did you think of Scully after the game?

He was sulking after the game it was a fair result to me.

DocRovers
27/07/2007, 9:12 PM
Thought we deserved the win. Pity about Scully - he was the same in the cup match, giving us no credit. Faz was great again tonight, showed great touch.

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 9:15 PM
fantastic! well worth the trip up from limerick. first half we slightly shaded but we were completely dominant in the 2nd half. defense as solid as a rock except coleman who is simply unbelievable. i hope there werent many scouts watching TG4!! Coleman has to be one of the hardest players to beat in a one on one situation down the wings. Hughes and ogrady worked very hard in midfield and faz put his head in where he wouldnt have even dreamed putting it last season. im not fully sure about cash, he doesent seem to be able to get past the full back and whip a cross in. Ventre looks good, great in the tackle, but he doesnt have a left foot. Judge was a bit lazy in my opinion. Great crowd and atmosphere. it felt so good taunting the junky b@sterds when we went two up. The pitch was woeful. A few more wins and we can push up the table.

Only1Rovers
27/07/2007, 9:16 PM
Faz was great again tonight, showed great touch.

Yea Faz deserves great credit for his performance. Showed hunger and was unlucky some of his dinks didn't come off.

Cash didn't have one of his better games, dont lose faith in him, he has preformed in the past I've seen him do the business.

27/07/2007, 9:29 PM
O'Grady was MOTM imo. Whenever the ball was lost near him, he won it back nearly every time. Best performance I've seen from him this season. Hughes another great performance. Don't know why gus thought we were rubbish in the first half. We did well throughout. Ventre & Boyd adjusted well into the squad too.

Good crowd at the game too. More shams fans than I thought they'd bring also.

2 out of 3 against shams now;).

DRDoc
27/07/2007, 9:33 PM
Many bookings lads??

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 9:33 PM
O'Grady was MOTM imo. Whenever the ball was lost near him, he won it back nearly every time. Best performance I've seen from him this season.

yep definitely ogradys best performance this season he worked so hard and played with heart and determination

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 9:34 PM
Many bookings lads??

dont think there was any

27/07/2007, 9:35 PM
dont think there was any

faz? when he pushed yer man?

im not sure now..

Only1Rovers
27/07/2007, 9:36 PM
faz? when he pushed yer man?

im not sure now..

No he didn't get booked.

Shams player should have been booked for the late challenge on Brush

Jeebus
27/07/2007, 9:54 PM
No he didn't get booked.

Shams player should have been booked for the late challenge on Brush

I'm nearly certain Faz was booked. The Shams guy should have been booked alright.

red rovers
27/07/2007, 9:57 PM
A shams player got a yellow card

DocRovers
27/07/2007, 10:20 PM
Not O'Grady's best game of the year. Only because he was even better last week. I went to game in Waterford & we played poorly but Conor was fantastic. Ran, chased & kept everyone going even though things were'nt going great. There seems to be a good spirit in the squad, hopefully crowds will pick up further.

kdjaC
27/07/2007, 10:23 PM
shams are hoofers...

Careful now!!!!

kdjac

27/07/2007, 10:27 PM
Just watching the game again, the amount of muppets waving at the camera, at half time particularly:rolleyes: Don't know why they didn't talk on pitch away from fans.

EDIT: In relation to bookings, Faz was booked in 1st half and Ferguson was booked for Shams in 2nd half.
Commentator said something about Lionel Messi when talking about Judge's goal. Must have been that even Messi couldn't score a goal like that:D

27/07/2007, 11:10 PM
Loved Seamie's post match interview...BEEP...:D...and also Cook referring to "Shamrock".

Great result, good atmosphere, well deserved, bring on Cork.

27/07/2007, 11:36 PM
seamie in the interview....absolute class! he's a legend! thought it was a great team performance, the starting 11 and the subs all played well. two very good goals again and we never stopped working for each other. didnt give them an inch.
scully was acting the g**shi*e again post match. 'we didnt lose that game'. first one wasnt a penalty, 2nd one was. it was 2-0 at that time anyway. pity he cant even be 1/4 as honest as cookie!

27/07/2007, 11:39 PM
pity he cant even be 1/4 as honest as cookie!

Interviwer: A win here could really get your league campaign going here Paul
Cook: Lets be realistic, we have absolutely no chance of the league this season. get back to reality.

Shiba
27/07/2007, 11:43 PM
Just watching the game again, the amount of muppets waving at the camera, at half time particularly:rolleyes: Don't know why they didn't talk on pitch away from fans.

EDIT: In relation to bookings, Faz was booked in 1st half and Ferguson was booked for Shams in 2nd half.
Commentator said something about Lionel Messi when talking about Judge's goal. Must have been that even Messi couldn't score a goal like that:D

Muppets! What kind of gobsh**te are you.They were kids aged no more than 10 or 11.

Rovers fan
27/07/2007, 11:52 PM

do you not speak a bit of gaeilge? i thought you, being such a big fan of the GAA would make the effort to learn our own language

Jeebus
27/07/2007, 11:52 PM
Loved Seamie's post match interview...BEEP...:D...and also Cook referring to "Shamrock".

Hughes referred to them as "Shamrock" on Radio 1 also. :D

Shiba
27/07/2007, 11:57 PM
Brillant result for us! The other results went our way to I feel.Is Seanie Connors in trouble now?How long more will Bohs listen to his Bull?

showgies
28/07/2007, 12:00 AM
I thought Shams looked good tonight in the first half, particularly their
front four. I have seen Purcell twice this season and he looks some player, I expect him to be playing elsewhere next season.

But the 2nd half belonged to the "real" Rovers. I hate to say it but Coleman could find himself playing elsewhere next season too. He was brilliant and certainly swung the game our way. In the end we deserved the three points, despite what Scully says.

Coleman's interview was funny and the comentating lads had a good laugh at Benny the Bull helping the Shams player off the field.

Did anyone notice that Shams played the last 10 minutes with 10 men?

Easy, Easy, Easy......

Shiba
28/07/2007, 12:12 AM
I thought Shams looked good tonight in the first half, particularly their
front four. I have seen Purcell twice this season and he looks some player, I expect him to be playing elsewhere next season.

But the 2nd half belonged to the "real" Rovers. I hate to say it but Coleman could find himself playing elsewhere next season too. He was brilliant and certainly swung the game our way. In the end we deserved the three points, despite what Scully says.

Coleman's interview was funny and the comentating lads had a good laugh at Benny the Bull helping the Shams player off the field.

Did anyone notice that Shams played the last 10 minutes with 10 men?

Easy, Easy, Easy......

Don't agree with ya.That had to be the poorest Shams side I seen in years. They dont do their league position any justice.Dnt think they tried to played football at all.They also played with ten men behind the for large parts of the game.They would been happpy with a draw r sneak a 0-1 win.Thought Scully was just his usual moaning self,could nt take it on the chin.we all have had problems with that ref in the past.

28/07/2007, 12:18 AM
heard bohs fans ran towards the dressin rooms at sean connor at half time at 0-0. god knows what happend at FT, who cares though!

RTID

showgies
28/07/2007, 12:30 AM
Don't agree with ya.That had to be the poorest Shams side I seen in years. They dont do their league position any justice.Dnt think they tried to played football at all.They also played with ten men behind the for large parts of the game.They would been happpy with a draw r sneak a 0-1 win.Thought Scully was just his usual moaning self,could nt take it on the chin.we all have had problems with that ref in the past.

In fairness we haven't seen too many Sham's teams in years.

Did you not think their front four links well at times and Purcell always looked a handful. We had the measure of them in the 2nd half though.

28/07/2007, 12:36 AM
didnt think they had the best of gamesa but when purcell got the ball he looked good. thought we bossed the 2 centre midfilders aswell

Shiba
28/07/2007, 8:52 AM
In fairness we haven't seen too many Sham's teams in years.

Did you not think their front four links well at times and Purcell always looked a handful. We had the measure of them in the 2nd half though.

Probably not seen them that much in the Showgrounds to much alright but of what one's I've seen.Every team has 3 r 4 individvuals that stand but as a team didn't think much of them.Don't think they really threatend us last night.Scully went on about his side been young but our lads are not much older!

Fivesilver
28/07/2007, 9:16 AM
heard bohs fans ran towards the dressin rooms at sean connor at half time

They'd want to be careful - you can get fined for fans interfering with the Bohs team talk. :p

Fivesilver
28/07/2007, 10:15 AM
Go to this page (http://www.tg4.ie/Bearla/Webt/webt.htm).
Then Sport - Cartlann, and at the top is Sacar Beo.
Enjoy

Da Real Rover
28/07/2007, 11:20 AM
One of the best performances all season, we dominated the game, start to finish. People say the first half was poor, but we dominated that aswell only for the excellence of Barry Murphy to stop us takeing the lead, and i do think he was their best player.

Our defence shone today, shams didnt get a sniff of the goal, they were limited to pot shots and hit and hope. The usual suspects of peers, coleman, brush were all immense at the back and the new lad ventre really impressed, such tackling. Our midfield was quality, with OGrady winning everything in sight, Hughes powering forward and cash skinning the full back. As for Faz, best game iv seen him play ever, was the perfect linking player for judge, they really compliment each other.

All in all a great night, great win, great atmosphere, decent crowd, just a shame those fkcing animals tainted it a bit afterwards in mooneys.

kkontour
28/07/2007, 11:41 AM
I even thought manson played well when he went on. Cant fault anyones performance or commitment in the second half, except maybe cash who look very tired long before he went off. Im sure he was committed but the performance just wasnt there. Id say its just a fitness thing.

red bellied
28/07/2007, 12:20 PM
Judge is a genius. I have slated him enough in the past but that was under Connor but the little dwarf was right about something, Judgie is worth 15 goals a season. He is a very clever player. Every time he scores at this stage is worthy of goal of the season.

28/07/2007, 12:27 PM
Excellent 2nd half. Cook's really raising the standards and the top 4 is getting closer. Going to be really hard to break but its exciting times. Ventre, Hughes, O ' Grady and Coleman were great . Nice to use Dick Brush for a clean sheet

Crowds have to get bigger. Looking forward to Noel Mooney trying to get 3000 for the bray game.

Atmosphere wise it was good but theres definitely a change in the blue stand. The former occupants of the shed have decided to come to games again for the last 3 games and

1] provoked the krusty longford fans when the went by
2] ran down towards the galway fans when they scored for running on the pitch and the stewards had to intervene
3] complained about the drums and seemed more interested in goading shams fans that the game

28/07/2007, 12:32 PM
what was the 'official' attendance last night?

couchy9
28/07/2007, 1:34 PM
shams are hoofers...also looked very tired. what age is andy myler!:eek:
apart from barry murphy and tadgh purcell they're an average team.

we played alright, ventre had a good night as did dick.

fair enough..best team won on the night......
but if were average then i cant descibe sligo...
it will all tell at end of the season...

28/07/2007, 2:59 PM
heard bohs fans ran towards the dressin rooms at sean connor at half time at 0-0. god knows what happend at FT, who cares though!

RTID
Not at half time, it was at full time. I'd say there was about 30 of them. I left before Connor came out

29/07/2007, 12:32 AM
manson did really well when he came on lads aswell, ive been defending him for a long time here but ye can admit he done well last night. got stuck in and done well when he got the ball.

dont want to single people out but after all the stick he's been getting he deserves praise for last night. everyone was brilliant i thought. showed lots of passion all over the pitch

DocRovers
29/07/2007, 8:32 AM
Manson did well & has pace. I thought that gave us something extra when he came on. He seems to be getting stuck in a bit more. LOI is physical so he will have to compete more. But Faz has done it this season...

Rovers fan
29/07/2007, 10:06 AM
and cash skinning the full back.d
didnt notice it that much at all, i thought most of the time he took on the full back he got dispossessed

shame those fkcing animals tainted it a bit afterwards in mooneys.

what happened?

Fivesilver
29/07/2007, 10:24 AM
I thought Ventre looked like a good signing, although he's probably going to be worth a few red cards a season, both for himself and opponents who take exception to his means of winning the ball.

"Oh Danny Boy, your tackles are appalling.
In with both feet, and 18 inches high.
Opponents drop, and off the field go crawling
Tis you, tis you, won't let the b*astards by"

DonalE
29/07/2007, 1:04 PM
I thought Ventre looked like a good signing, although he's probably going to be worth a few red cards a season, both for himself and opponents who take exception to his means of winning the ball.

"Oh Danny Boy, your tackles are appalling.
In with both feet, and 18 inches high.
Opponents drop, and off the field go crawling
Tis you, tis you, won't let the b*astards by"

Example...

29/07/2007, 1:18 PM
manson did really well when he came on lads aswell, ive been defending him for a long time here but ye can admit he done well last night. got stuck in and done well when he got the ball.

dont want to single people out but after all the stick he's been getting he deserves praise for last night. everyone was brilliant i thought. showed lots of passion all over the pitch

completely agree about Manson. Looking at the game again that was fantastic 1-2 with Seamie for the second and he imposed himself a lot more physically than he had been. Good for him. Hopefully he can keep it up and improve more.

Red Army
29/07/2007, 1:41 PM
what happened?

I heard their was some arrested :confused:

29/07/2007, 2:25 PM
I heard their was some arrested :confused:

no just some scum knacker hit hughie blaine(i think) and ran back into the pub and was told by a ginger SHAMS 'fan' to change his top quick so he reached into a bag and changed jackets. there was 5 guards there for about 20 minutes and then most SHAMS 'fans' left and it all quitened down. was a couple of lovely shams fans that i got talking to, but the other 20 or so muppets were there for a fight. all drunk, not one of them in shamrock rovers gear, just down for the fight imo.
if the game was on the saturday god knows what could have happened as there would have been many many more shams 'fans'

Da Real Rover
29/07/2007, 4:09 PM
d
didnt notice it that much at all, i thought most of the time he took on the full back he got dispossessed

what happened?

I dont agree, in the first half he left the full back for dead on a few occasions and was a constant threat with his movement and attacking play. One particular occasion was when he was played the ball out on the wing and most players would take a touch and move but cash instinctively passed the ball past the defender with his left foot and accelerated past him. I thought he did well on the whole.

Around 20-30 Shams lads were in mooneys after the game. They started fighting among themselves outside mooneys and Hughie tried to step in and be the peace maker but then 1 of them pikeys hit him a smack, completely unprovoked. After that then the rest of them were itching for a punch up, winding up random people and trying to incite some kinda fight. The gaurds came then, but no one was arrested, the Siochana shine again. Animals is the only word for those lads.