View Full Version : Oldkeeper Has To Go
the only 1
27/07/2007, 6:52 AM
lads this job is to big for him lim37 have to get professional in full time if this is goin to work this chap wasnt even good enough for the local ldmc he is not able to do this he cudnt organise a **** up in a brewery surely other people agree as well he not up to the job:mad:
27/07/2007, 8:07 AM
Whoa....
Lets not get the knives out or jump the gun here. As far as I can see, he has done an awful lot of good work for the club to date but maybe taken on too much responsibility and perhaps he has become 'infatuated' with the whole thing. I would not be calling for his head, but at this stage would respectfully ask him to re-consider things that have taken place to date, realise where the mistakes have been made and correct them before this has gotten out of hand altogether.
While it does appear that it is not Limerick37FC, but "Ger Finnin & Darren Hehir FC" the situation is redeemable. In order to save face now however, I believe Ger Finnin has to:
a). provide full disclosure to the fans about the current plight of the club.
b). Be upfront and admit that there was errors made and let us see a plan to remedy them.
c). re-appoint Kieran Judge to the club in a general manager or secretary position as he has the experience and respect of others who have been far more involved in EL football over the years.
d). come down from cloud cuckoo land where he has been living and reduce the responsibility on himself and stop making this look like its his and Darren Hehirs club, which to be fair is how they have been acting.
A lot of good work has been done also. It would be a shame to undo it all now.
shelbourne1904
27/07/2007, 9:50 AM
Excuse my ignorance but why did Kieran Judge go???
27/07/2007, 9:56 AM
He was never part of the new set-up as far as I am aware (but open to correction), but I think he should be.
In fairness Ger puts in a lot of work, and I wouldn't want to see him go at all. Mistakes have been made, but they can be fixed. I'd agree with joe that Kieran Judge should be, and should always have been, part of the set up anyway. Himself and Trev did great stuff promoting the club under the last adminstration, and both should be given the chance to do so again
the dazzler
27/07/2007, 12:12 PM
ger talks a good game but cant deliver went to the press saying keith hartnett signed christ he hadnt even signed a form made lim37 look like ****ing apes then blames keith:mad:
27/07/2007, 12:32 PM
Whoa....
Lets not get the knives out or jump the gun here. As far as I can see, he has done an awful lot of good work for the club to date but maybe taken on too much responsibility and perhaps he has become 'infatuated' with the whole thing. I would not be calling for his head, but at this stage would respectfully ask him to re-consider things that have taken place to date, realise where the mistakes have been made and correct them before this has gotten out of hand altogether.
While it does appear that it is not Limerick37FC, but "Ger Finnin & Darren Hehir FC" the situation is redeemable. In order to save face now however, I believe Ger Finnin has to:
b). Be upfront and admit that there was errors made and let us see a plan to remedy them.
c). re-appoint Kieran Judge to the club in a general manager or secretary position as he has the experience and respect of others who have been far more involved in EL football over the years.
d). come down from cloud cuckoo land where he has been living and reduce the responsibility on himself and stop making this look like its his and Darren Hehirs club, which to be fair is how they have been acting.
A lot of good work has been done also. It would be a shame to undo it all now.
* I would just like to add that the opinions expressed in the above post are mine and mine alone. I have developed them having observed what I see as happening within the club from a distance. If I am wrong, or anybody wants to correct me, please feel free to do so, and I will happily edit it.
27/07/2007, 12:48 PM
I'm going to be keeping a close eye on this thread and I'll lock it at the first sign of personal attacks. My 2c is that it would be ludicrous to push the chairman out right now, a lot of positive steps have been taken this season that he can take credit for initiating. That said it looks as though all is not well behind the scenes and if only to keep the rumours on a leash it might be an idea for the club to give a clear, transparent account of what's actually going on at the moment?
27/07/2007, 1:16 PM
Thats'a all people are asking for, and thats all people deserve.
4tothefloor
27/07/2007, 1:44 PM
Kieran Judge and Michael O'Sullivan should be working in the positions that certain shareholders self appointed themselves to, and quite frankly, haven't a bulls notion how to do those jobs. Fine, be a shareholder and walk around the place like you own it :rolleyes: but do not take up positions that you haven't a clue about. And I'm not talking about Ger Finnin here......
If the above mentioned were working alongside Ger Finnin, we wouldn't be where we are now. Trevor Beacom is another guy who should be working directly for the club, instead of selling sweets inside the tuck shop. He'd be ten times better than some of the ones already there. But that's what you get with 'jobs for the boys'
27/07/2007, 4:29 PM
The Commercial Side
Which should be blatantly obvious to anyone with half a brain
inexile
27/07/2007, 7:23 PM
ger talks a good game but cant deliver went to the press saying keith hartnett signed christ he hadnt even signed a form made lim37 look like ****ing apes then blames keith:mad:
i believe the story there is that hartnett did sign but changed his mind and the club did the decent thing and ripped the form up
L37Ultra
27/07/2007, 11:19 PM
Just wanna say, whoever started this thread is just bitter and must be blind. Can you not see the effort and time Ger Finnin has put into Limerick37. We were facing a season with no Limerick senior soccer team and this man, who I have huge respect for, put huge effort into setting Limerick37 up. The club has a new sense of professianlism around it and the support has grown!! Its about time people started showing some respect for people who have made this club a success so far this season. First ye start a thread about Paul Mcgee being a disgrace when ye had no proof of him applying for the Athlone job and now saying oldkeeper should go based on some rumour you heard!! Get a grip, you call yourself a supporter. Why cant you be positive about your club and help attract new supporters etc.......and people involved in Junior soccer keep going on about Hartnett. The club did not make a fool out of themselves as Hartnett did sign for Limerick37 but then asked could he change his mind for several personal reasons!!
Bonovox
28/07/2007, 12:25 PM
Just wanna say, whoever started this thread is just bitter and must be blind. Can you not see the effort and time Ger Finnin has put into Limerick37. We were facing a season with no Limerick senior soccer team and this man, who I have huge respect for, put huge effort into setting Limerick37 up. The club has a new sense of professianlism around it and the support has grown!! Its about time people started showing some respect for people who have made this club a success so far this season. First ye start a thread about Paul Mcgee being a disgrace when ye had no proof of him applying for the Athlone job and know saying oldkeeper should go based on some rumour you heard!! Get a grip, you call yourself a supporter. Why cant you be positive about your club and help attract new supporters etc.......and people involved in Junior soccer keep going on about Hartnett. The club did not make a fool out of themselves as Hartnett did sign for Limerick37 but then asked could he change his mind for several personal reasons!!
Well said....
declan hide
28/07/2007, 5:58 PM
Why cant you be positive about your club and help attract new supporters etc.......and people involved in Junior soccer keep going on about Hartnett. The club did not make a fool out of themselves as Hartnett did sign for Limerick37 but then asked could he change his mind for several personal reasons!!
hartnett was on the radio this morning. he said the limk37 offer came too soon for him cos he wanted a few more international junior matches but he wouldnt rule himself out of having another crack at senior football again.
PinBallWizard
29/07/2007, 7:57 AM
Whoa....
A lot of good work has been done also. It would be a shame to undo it all now. why so diplomatic Joe? Get off the fence.Either you want these guys in or out. I bought shares in this ****ing thing. Every single person I talk to at matches and in the pub later thinks finnin is a spoofer that would put roddy collins to shame,. And don't get me started on our 'head of security' that behaves like a back street doorman. Why is he responsible for making decisions in the club? EAs a shareholder do I not have the right to an explanation as to what the hell is going on?
Fairkop
29/07/2007, 5:27 PM
why so diplomatic Joe? Get off the fence.Either you want these guys in or out. I bought shares in this ****ing thing. Every single person I talk to at matches and in the pub later thinks finnin is a spoofer that would put roddy collins to shame,. And don't get me started on our 'head of security' that behaves like a back street doorman. Why is he responsible for making decisions in the club? EAs a shareholder do I not have the right to an explanation as to what the hell is going on?
Aah.....our head of security,does anyone remember him from last season,in the shed....we had FINE WINES,COLUMBIA,and GREEN STREET all in one,amazing where one turns up.
I've posted this on another thread but here it goes:
Just thought that I would clarify one point mentioned on here about Kieran Judge earlier. I have been told that he is the Club Licensing officer and has been since the start of the season and the Club secretary is Michael O'Sullivan.
All the best
John
29/07/2007, 8:30 PM
why so diplomatic Joe? Get off the fence.Either you want these guys in or out. I bought shares in this ****ing thing.
You bought shares, hooray for you
Every single person I talk to at matches and in the pub later thinks finnin is a spoofer that would put roddy collins to shame,.
So what??
And don't get me started on our 'head of security' that behaves like a back street doorman.
Name one instance of trouble this year?? Have you any idea how much outside security would cost?? I say fairplay to him
Why is he responsible for making decisions in the club?
I reckon he bought slightly more shares than you.
EAs a shareholder do I not have the right to an explanation as to what the hell is going on?
And your way of getting an explanation is to spread scurrilous muck all over a website..........
Why don't you just approach the "back street doorman" or the "spoofer" in person?? :rolleyes:
Aah.....our head of security,does anyone remember him from last season,in the shed
Sure do. In the Shed every single game, a real fan. Not the type to go in for spreading stuff on the internet
L37Ultra
29/07/2007, 10:33 PM
why so diplomatic Joe? Get off the fence.Either you want these guys in or out. I bought shares in this ****ing thing. Every single person I talk to at matches and in the pub later thinks finnin is a spoofer that would put roddy collins to shame,. And don't get me started on our 'head of security' that behaves like a back street doorman. Why is he responsible for making decisions in the club? EAs a shareholder do I not have the right to an explanation as to what the hell is going on?
PinBallWizard, Are you really a Limerick fans or whats your deal? Get a grip. You heard some Rumour, and try and spread it all over this site, just like the untrue Paul Mcgee rumours. Are you bling or can you not see the progress this club has made in the last few months, both on and off the pitch.
Fairkop
29/07/2007, 11:29 PM
Kieran Judge and Michael O'Sullivan should be working in the positions that certain shareholders self appointed themselves to, and quite frankly, haven't a bulls notion how to do those jobs. Fine, be a shareholder and walk around the place like you own it :rolleyes: but do not take up positions that you haven't a clue about. And I'm not talking about Ger Finnin here......
If the above mentioned were working alongside Ger Finnin, we wouldn't be where we are now. Trevor Beacom is another guy who should be working directly for the club, instead of selling sweets inside the tuck shop. He'd be ten times better than some of the ones already there. But that's what you get with 'jobs for the boys'
WHATS THIS.....sh,te and negative crap from the 4th.......better rewind a bit,pot calling the kettle black or has the mirror cracked.btw i think trevor is the best sweet seller we ever had.......but great post on the rest...oops did i just say that.
30/07/2007, 11:52 AM
Are you bling or can you not see the progress this club has made in the last few months, both on and off the pitch.
To be fair I don't think it matters how the guy dresses. This new fangled 'bling look' goes over my head really but if it makes him comfortable... ;)
And on a slightly more on-topic note while I accept that people don't want to see rumour become fact online (or indeed in any other guise) there's a seeming tendancy among some (not all by any stretch) who feel that because improvements have been made off the field it's an act of abhorent treason to question anything about the club. Get a grip people, it's all a bit Galway United for my tastes.
This thread has been quite good so far, people have even behaved mostly. Keep it up kids. :p
30/07/2007, 4:55 PM
And on a slightly more on-topic note while I accept that people don't want to see rumour become fact online (or indeed in any other guise) there's a seeming tendancy among some (not all by any stretch) who feel that because improvements have been made off the field it's an act of abhorent treason to question anything about the club. Get a grip people, it's all a bit Galway United for my tastes.
EDIT: Apparently not a dig at me and when given its proper context I now agree 100% :)
4tothefloor
30/07/2007, 6:33 PM
WHATS THIS.....sh,te and negative crap from the 4th.......better rewind a bit,pot calling the kettle black or has the mirror cracked.
What are you on about?
PinBallWizard
30/07/2007, 7:05 PM
Amazed by some of the double standard sh1te on this forum.joesoap seems to be able to highlight all the problems, but doesn't have any answers or remedies, and is happy to pint the finger and Lim till I die is being quite two-faced.one minute criticising Darren Hehir and making inferences about the development work in the jacks and te next minute he's sucking his arse saying how great he is and what a loyal fan he is. Maybe joesoap should offer his services to the club as he seems to have all the answers and Lim til I die might grow a pair of balls and make up his mind as to his opinions on the people running the club.
30/07/2007, 7:17 PM
Amazed by some of the double standard sh1te on this forum.joesoap seems to be able to highlight all the problems, but doesn't have any answers or remedies, and is happy to pint the finger and Lim till I die is being quite two-faced.one minute criticising Darren Hehir and making inferences about the development work in the jacks and te next minute he's sucking his arse saying how great he is and what a loyal fan he is. Maybe joesoap should offer his services to the club as he seems to have all the answers and Lim til I die might grow a pair of balls and make up his mind as to his opinions on the people running the club.
:confused: I can understand your frustrations with the club, but don't make this personal.We're not the ones that have messsed up here, and it certainly isn't my place to fix it. I suggest you vent your frustrations elsewhere.
L37Ultra
30/07/2007, 8:57 PM
Harsh!! So just because Joesoap highlights the problems, how does that mean he isnt a loyal supporter. Why does everytime show has an opinion ye have to insult the person and make it personal. I think the club is doing very well, i cannot comment on its finanaces etc.... as i have no information on it. I suggest that if anyone does not have any first hand information on it then do not start rumours that could drag the name of the club down!!
Needtoknow
30/07/2007, 10:57 PM
Like everything in life what doesn't kill you will only make you stronger! As far as I can gather this whole thing has been blown out of proportion. We will be fine as we now have new people on board to help out commercially. If people really want to help, lets get in some sponsorship (email the club), start putting up more posters when they are sent out for the home games. The players are delighted with Ski Magee and he is committed to the club for 2 years. I never expected us to be in such a strong position at this stage & I think we will maintain the challenge & at the very least get a playoff place!
I have been accused of being too positive on occasion, but can I just say in my defence I am really looking forward to Premier soccer next season with
L37! :eek::D
31/07/2007, 8:25 AM
Like everything in life what doesn't kill you will only make you stronger! As far as I can gather this whole thing has been blown out of proportion. We will be fine as we now have new people on board to help out commercially. If this is the case, then thats good news. However, please forgive the scepticism and criticism, but why haven't the club made a statement on this, either publicly on the website or at very least privately to the SC. This is the type of 'secret society', 'it's my club not yours' attitude that has caused people to speculate in the first place. Fans and shareholders deserve explanations.
Put mind in gear before posting
PinBallWizard
31/07/2007, 8:54 AM
Put mind in gear before posting
Fair enough.Maybe I'm not as elequent as all of the rest of you on here but ye know what I'm on about. Nothing personal intended against joesoap.he seems to be well clued in to the el scene and has been around for ages so the point i'm trying to make is why isn't he involved in the club instead of simply mouthing off all the time.
31/07/2007, 10:51 AM
Fair enough.Maybe I'm not as elequent as all of the rest of you on here but ye know what I'm on about. Nothing personal intended against joesoap.he seems to be well clued in to the el scene and has been around for ages so the point i'm trying to make is why isn't he involved in the club instead of simply mouthing off all the time.
Maybe because people can't just walk in off the street and demand that they be apart of the set up in a buisness? :rolleyes: jesus would you cop yourself on man and get off the crack or whatever you've been taking lately
L37Ultra
31/07/2007, 10:58 AM
the point i'm trying to make is why isn't he involved in the club instead of simply mouthing off all the time.
why dont you get involved in the club instead of starting threads about our chairman. I cannot believe ye have something to complain after such a succesfull season so far.. I think we should learn a lesson from the past two weeks. Do not start threads about some rumour you have heard down the pub or something. First of all ye attack Paul Mcgee and now Ger Finnin and rumours such as Ski going for the Athlone job (turned out to be un-true) and now rumours that the club have finacial problems (turning out to be a bad rumour). Some people , for some strange reason just want to see this club fail. Why i dont know but just get behind and help the people involved in Limerick37. :ball:
31/07/2007, 10:59 AM
is ger finnan chairman, i thought this ger finnan was old keeper?
31/07/2007, 11:01 AM
First of all ye attack Paul Mcgee and now Ger Finnin and rumours such as Ski going for the Athlone job (turned out to be un-true)
No it didn't, at the very least he let Athlone know he'd be interested in talking to them, I say at the very least in case you don't consider that to be applying for the job
31/07/2007, 11:01 AM
one and the same
31/07/2007, 11:02 AM
one and the same
so your tellin me your chairmanm is on foot.ie??
31/07/2007, 11:03 AM
Ger Finnin - Chief Executive Officer(CEO) - Old Keeper
so your tellin me your chairmanm is on foot.ie??
Yeah, but if you look at his posts its always to answer our questions, or let us know various pieces of information. There's none of the **** that used to go on when Danny Drew used to post here and attack half of us
L37Ultra
He is oldkeeper on foot.ie and is the CEO of L37
L37Ultra
31/07/2007, 11:06 AM
Yeah, but if you look at his posts its always to answer our questions, or let us know various pieces of information. There's none of the **** that used to go on when Danny Drew used to post here and attack half of us
What user name was DD? Did you hear his new chinese is closing down becaue he cant get a licence. How ironic..:D
31/07/2007, 11:06 AM
Cant believe a chairman goes on and posts here, pros and cons to that, he did it the proper way being honest, never knew drew was on either, never liked him actually.
L37Ultra
31/07/2007, 11:09 AM
, never knew drew was on either, never liked him actually.
ammm....... who did? ;)
31/07/2007, 11:10 AM
didn't realise Drew was ever on this.....what was user name??
i wonder how many other Chairmans or CEO's of other clubs look at foot.ie
31/07/2007, 11:11 AM
i have to say lads fair play to a chairman and coming on and responding to supporters concerns, questions, suggestions etc dont think a chairman should have to, some of them are fierce busy like, but fair play to oldkeeper for that.
31/07/2007, 11:11 AM
didn't realise Drew was ever on this.....what was user name??
i wonder how many other Chairmans or CEO's of other clubs look at foot.ie
thinkinig the same myself, i think we should go onto the league section and say come out and show yourselves:D
PinBallWizard
31/07/2007, 11:14 AM
why dont you get involved in the club instead of starting threads about our chairman. I am involved. I pay my way and have bought shares. Plus I have been a Limerick fan for almost 40 years now and have a bit of pride in that.
I cannot believe ye have something to complain after such a succesfull season so far.. I think we should learn a lesson from the past two weeks. Do not start threads about some rumour you have heard down the pub or something.. Successful on the pitch, so far, just halfway thru the season. Seen it all before. And I dont spread rumour. I stand over everything I post here.
First of all ye attack Paul Mcgee and now Ger Finnin and rumours such as Ski going for the Athlone job (turned out to be un-true) and now rumours that the club have finacial problems (turning out to be a bad rumour)...Bad rumour my arse. Players are owed wages..fact! The clubs weekly outgoings are way way more than their income...fact!! And Paul McGee did apply for the Athlone job, and for the record also let it be known 3 days after he got the L37 job that he would be interested in the then vacant position at Sligo...fact!!
Some people , for some strange reason just want to see this club fail. Why i dont know but just get behind and help the people involved in Limerick37. :ball: Stop talking out your backside. You must be related in some way to Ger Finnin cos all you do is pine after him and praise how excellent he is. I'm not denying he has done great things for soccer in Limerick. I'm not stupid enough to think he's not undoing all that good work now by his veils of secrecy either. Wake up and grow up.
31/07/2007, 11:14 AM
Willie John was one of the names Danny used, but I'm sure there was another one too. He used to go looking for myself and LtiD in certain games to kick us out of Hogan Park, due to the criticism we had for the club back then, but we were never pointed out to him, I hear it frustrated the hell out of him! :p
31/07/2007, 11:16 AM
thinkinig the same myself, i think we should go onto the league section and say come out and show yourselves:D
ha ha now that would be intresting :D
31/07/2007, 11:18 AM
Willie John was one of the names Danny used, but I'm sure there was another one too. He used to go looking for myself and LtiD in certain games to kick us out of Hogan Park, due to the criticism we had for the club back then, but we were never pointed out to him, I hear it frustrated the hell out of him! :p
Thats ****in ridiculous really, jesus if rams did that over the years the hole place would be barred, even some away support!! he was a right gowl!! Hope your reading Drew not popular in cobh either :D:D