View Full Version : Too many Nil Nils.

jorge
26/07/2007, 11:05 PM
Whats the story with so many 0-0 scorelines in the premier and 1st division?
I know there is'nt a lot that can be done but If we are to get more people going to matches they wont be encouraged by readind 0-0 scorelines in the paper or teletext.

I think the FAI should encourage teams to score more goals by giving teams a bonus for the ammount of goals scored or something along those lines.

26/07/2007, 11:14 PM
Sounds like 4-3-2-1 points system talk to me! :eek:

26/07/2007, 11:20 PM
I know there is'nt a lot that can be done but If we are to get more people going to matches they wont be encouraged by readind 0-0 scorelines in the paper or teletext.

I think the FAI should encourage teams to score more goals by giving teams a bonus for the ammount of goals scored or something along those lines.

Personally I don't want a change in the points system but I understand that you want to make things more entartaining/attractive, I just want to say that I hate the idea of giving a bonus for goals scored etc, as someone who respects teams who grind out 1-0's etc I just think that it'd be unfair and create a `gung-ho` culture, some people would like that.. IMO.. if it is `the beautiful game` then why change it?

Also if the EL has a different points system to the rest of Europe it probably wont help attract neutrals etc..

jorge
26/07/2007, 11:31 PM
What I mean by a bonus is a financial bonus.Nothing to do with points.

lets say there were 300 goals scored by EL teams last season the FAI found 100-200k from somewhere and said we will devide this between the teams in the EL if yous can score 400.Something like that.

I know it sound a bit stupid considering the current Rovers team was built on from a solid defence.

26/07/2007, 11:46 PM
What I mean by a bonus is a financial bonus.Nothing to do with points.

lets say there were 300 goals scored by EL teams last season the FAI found 100-200k from somewhere and said we will devide this between the teams in the EL if yous can score 400.Something like that.

I know it sound a bit stupid considering the current Rovers team was built on from a solid defence.

But then you would surely have to reward the team\s with excellent clean sheet counts?:confused: If the money's there then I guess it's got merit.

26/07/2007, 11:48 PM
i can see it now. UCD and Bray draw 58-58 in a meaningless last day game, dragging the league over the quota. Fans of other clubs grudgingly accept that it was worth having them around.

26/07/2007, 11:49 PM
lets say there were 300 goals scored by EL teams last season the FAI found 100-200k from somewhere and said we will devide this between the teams in the EL if yous can score 400.Something like that
Something along the lines of the disciplinary table?

I think it's just been a freak weekend for scores. It happens in every league now and again, juts as it happens in the opposite direction where there's loadsa goals. No need to go into anervous breakdown over the quality of the league about it.

LeixlipRed
26/07/2007, 11:50 PM

did you just start following the league this week? Because I don't ever remember a weekend as poor in goal terms as last week. There's plenty of goals scored in this league

jorge
27/07/2007, 12:05 AM
I supose its a bit over board but I woulnt say thers plenty of gaols scored in the league.

27/07/2007, 12:12 AM
i can see it now. UCD and Bray draw 58-58 in a meaningless last day game, dragging the league over the quota. Fans of other clubs grudgingly accept that it was worth having them around.
UCD??

27/07/2007, 8:40 AM
Didnt coca-cola offer money if there was 1000 or more goals scored overall in the english championship 2 years ago. But tbh we have only had one or two nil - nil draws this season afaik.

27/07/2007, 8:44 AM
I think it's just been a freak weekend for scores. It happens in every league now and again, juts as it happens in the opposite direction where there's loadsa goals. No need to go into anervous breakdown over the quality of the league about it.

Exactly. Defending is part of the game too. Surely every supporter wants to see his team keep a clean sheet ? I'm all in favour of bucket loads of goals, as long as Pats are scoring and not conceeding them. Which would you prefer, to see your team draw 0-0, or get a 4-0 thumping ? In an ideal world of course, your team would won every game 4-3, coming from behind 3 times to score a last minute winner (right Derry fans ? :o)

green-blood
27/07/2007, 10:21 AM
rubbish

defending is an art form... only barstoolers cant appreciate good defending.

JC_GUFC
27/07/2007, 10:27 AM
If it upsets you that much just back the 0-0 draw in every match with the bookies and you'll clean up. You can often get 7/1 for games in Belfield finishing 0-0 (UCD v Bohs tonight!)

In France last season they had prisemoney for the teams who scored the most goals. At the end of the season it differed very slightly from the final league table though.

Steve Bruce
27/07/2007, 11:28 AM
A year or two ago, I found a website with all sorts of statistics from almost every league in Europe.

What was interesting was the higher standard the league, the least amount of goals scored per game. The lower standard leagues scored more freeley.

But then I always found the lower standard Irish League more entertaining than the higher standard English Premiership.

EireBadBoy
27/07/2007, 11:33 AM
the FAI found 100-200k from somewhere

Thankfully this ridiculous idea was backed up with this statement. Was this 100-200k under the bed ?

27/07/2007, 11:36 AM
Hasn't football as a whole taken a more defensive turn in the last few years? Certainly only Barcelona have bucked the trend in European football of defensive teams = success

endabob1
27/07/2007, 11:54 AM
rubbish

defending is an art form... only barstoolers cant appreciate good defending.

Nothing like a bit of sweeping generalsiation to clear the cobwebs on a Friday afternoon

27/07/2007, 12:03 PM
I guess it all depends on what you're looking for. In our two cup games against Galway United there was first a 2-2 draw and then a 0-0 draw. The first game was a lot more exciting, but the second was a far better standard. Both teams were organized and defensively solid, far more so than in the first match. I actually enjoyed the second game just as much as the first. That said, that was probably because I was a lot happier about Harps prospects for the season after the second as I was now convinced we could actually defend. On the other hand I'm sure a neutral would have enjoyed the first game a lot more, even if the standard wasn't great.

I would agree that the better the standard the fewer goals overall.

27/07/2007, 12:15 PM
Pats last 2 games have been excellent 0-0 draws. Most on here commented about what a good game it was between ourselves and Rovers. I'll grant you some games are boring but thats football the world over

27/07/2007, 12:24 PM
Pats last 2 games have been excellent 0-0 draws. Most on here commented about what a good game it was between ourselves and Rovers. I'll grant you some games are boring but thats football the world over

Monday night's game was a cracker. 0-0 games are part and parcel of what football is all about. Barry Murphy's save on Monday was worth the price of admission alone.

On a related not, I see the GAA Leinster Council's obergruppenfuhrer was moaning to the press about the lack of GAA coverage (!) last weekend and referred to the Cork/Drogheda game on TG4 as being a "soccer match that finished 0-0". As if there's something wrong with that. :rolleyes:

khoop
27/07/2007, 12:39 PM
On a related not, I see the GAA Leinster Council's obergruppenfuhrer was moaning to the press about the lack of GAA coverage (!) last weekend

How many GAA matches are live on TV this weekend??? Four at least. But as usual, the GAA wants feckin' everything - and are outraged that a camera team could cover a soccer match instead of finding some Under 21 bogball game to cover.

They also give out about rugby coverage - peeved that a Munster or Leinster rugby game could be covered live, while a GAA league match - that only about 500 people actually want to go to - could be ignored.

Incidentally - the GAA know all about drawn matches. Astonishing how often the referee manages to blow for full time at the very moment when the scores are level in All Ireland games - thus ensuring another bumper payday for Croke park.

27/07/2007, 12:44 PM
It has to be a sign that coverage of the league is making a bit of progress when the GAA (however unjustifiably) are giving out about it!

CharlesThompson
27/07/2007, 1:19 PM
I supose its a bit over board but I woulnt say thers plenty of gaols scored in the league.

Not at Dalymount these days. :(

sfc red
27/07/2007, 1:23 PM
Pats 0-0 Cork @ 6/1
UCD 0-0 Bohs @ 7/1

:cool:

27/07/2007, 2:02 PM
On a related not, I see the GAA Leinster Council's obergruppenfuhrer was moaning to the press about the lack of GAA coverage (!) last weekend and referred to the Cork/Drogheda game on TG4 as being a "soccer match that finished 0-0". As if there's something wrong with that. :rolleyes:
It's kind of silly for him to complain about that when the GAA cancelled the two games on Sunday, I know it was with good reason, on the Thursday or Friday.

27/07/2007, 2:19 PM
It's kind of silly for him to complain about that when the GAA cancelled the two games on Sunday, I know it was with good reason, on the Thursday or Friday.

Exactly but his point was that RTÉ should have put on the Christy Ring Cup semi-finals instead. The arrogance of these people. How about we put on the DDSL Under 10 cup final too? After all, it's equally unimportant. :rolleyes:

27/07/2007, 2:20 PM
Monday night's game was a cracker. 0-0 games are part and parcel of what football is all about. Barry Murphy's save on Monday was worth the price of admission alone.

Normally best reponse to bigotball being better than football because they have lots of scores is that cricket is a much better game then as they have hundreds of scores in that.

Having said that the last 5 football matches I've attended have involved just 1 goal. Dundalk v Limerick, Monaghan v Limerick, Derry v Pyunik, Pats v OB and Bohs v Derry. The runcould have been worse too as I had planned to go to Linfield v Elfsborg and Rovers v Pats but couldn't make either game. I'm going to Pats v Cork tonight so it's sure to be 4-4.

28/07/2007, 6:05 PM
If it upsets you that much just back the 0-0 draw in every match with the bookies and you'll clean up. You can often get 7/1 for games in Belfield finishing 0-0 (UCD v Bohs tonight!)
Exactly. I'm up about E50 from Paddy Power's from choice betting on 0-0s in our games.

People who moan about the number of goals being scored haven't a notion about football; they're no more than Sky Sports event junkies to be honest.

Ceirtlis
28/07/2007, 6:17 PM
Exactly. I'm up about E50 from Paddy Power's from choice betting on 0-0s in our games.

People who moan about the number of goals being scored haven't a notion about football; they're no more than Sky Sports event junkies to be honest.

Well i dont know about you but i usually prefer to see goals being scored to be honest and there is no doubt that the eircom league is low scoring. Goals open up games and force teams to play a bit more attacking which is more entertaining to watch than a cagey affair where neither team is willing to commit people forward which is what happens quite abit in the eircom league.

28/07/2007, 6:27 PM
Of course I prefer to see a few goals, but when it comes down to it, there's more to football than goals. Complaining about few goals leads to silly suggestions (such as have been made) which leads to farce.

You also seem to be implying that a 1-0 is inherently better than a 0-0, and that all 0-0s are cagey affairs, which is completely ignorant, as has been pointed out earlier in the thread.

The system is OK. Leave it alone.

Fivesilver
28/07/2007, 10:47 PM
Well, if it's goals you want, for better or worse, we haven't been involved in a 0-0 all season. The other team with that "distinction" are Waterford - wonder what the odds are on the Cup tie finishing scoreless.

29/07/2007, 1:09 AM
are we the only team that hasnt had a nil nil all season?

29/07/2007, 1:22 AM
are we the only team that hasnt had a nil nil all season?

Says alot bout your defence so!;)

29/07/2007, 1:24 AM
or our strikers......

Fivesilver
29/07/2007, 10:11 AM
Says alot bout your defence so!;)

Wonder why defence has all of a sudden become a major cause for celebration in St Coleman's? ;)

Anyway, fair play. Hope you're promoted. There's a small matter of a 25th anniversary next year.

HolylandsMan
29/07/2007, 4:49 PM
They also give out about rugby coverage - peeved that a Munster or Leinster rugby game could be covered live, while a GAA league match - that only about 500 people actually want to go to

The majority of League matches (bar perhaps divisions 2 and 3 in the hurling) have attendances far in excess of 500. Most of the games I go to have attendances of about 5 or 6 thousand while occasionally league matches have tens of thousands at them. The average is a hell of a lot more than 500 though.

31/07/2007, 9:30 AM
Wonder why defence has all of a sudden become a major cause for celebration in St Coleman's? ;)

Anyway, fair play. Hope you're promoted. There's a small matter of a 25th anniversary next year.

Prob would have said that when we had a **** defence too. But thanks anyway.