View Full Version : Fattest Player in the League
25/07/2007, 2:18 PM
as opposed to fastest
I'd say Chippy Devlin is Bray's fatest player ever... what about your club
25/07/2007, 2:19 PM
Keith Foy has started to develop his own gravitational field
edit: my own club, its probably garreth farrelly, although 3 months ago he looked like he could do with a ham sandwich. stress eating i'd say!
adamcarr
25/07/2007, 2:19 PM
Gareth Farrelly and Keith Foy are right up there with him Id say.
sfc red
25/07/2007, 2:22 PM
One of our new signings is a few stone overweight - Alan Reilly I think it is?
Chippy was loveably fat. Goalkeepers in the 80s and 90s had different rules (he was also a class keeper and easily our best ever sub keeper)
The likes of Foy are just sloppy fat. He's being paid a decent amount and he trins every day and is still overweight?!?
Michael Keane came back about 2 stone overweight but he looks to be losing a bit already
25/07/2007, 2:51 PM
Marc Kenny was predictably chunky when he showed up at Richmond for Phoenix FC. I think the old Soccer Show did a piece where they followed him and Trevor Wood (it's not as bad for goalkeepers) around a supermarket where they bought chips, pies and a full roast pig each, that sort of thing.
Alan Reilly had really broad shoulders when he played with Pats so I could imagine him falling into the wrong side of, eh, "stocky", having been away from regular senior football for a while.
Paul Byrne and John Lester deserve honourable mentions here.
25/07/2007, 2:53 PM
Not forgetting the Original Gangsta (http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/photos/58.jpg)...
He wasn't that size when he played, to be fair.
Saint Tom
25/07/2007, 5:54 PM
sligo had a big fat lad come on with about twenty minutes to go when we gave them a hiding at the showgrounds earlier in the year, centre forward. he was sumo-esque
25/07/2007, 6:31 PM
sligo had a big fat lad come on with about twenty minutes to go when we gave them a hiding at the showgrounds earlier in the year, centre forward. he was sumo-esque6 mins to go and Gino O'Boyle is his name...he's a local bouncer.
He wasn't that size when he played, to be fair.
At the end of his playing career he was huge
Not that big but the signs were there
25/07/2007, 7:37 PM
How's Robbie "Big Mac" McAuley doing for Dundalk these days? His mom once gave a club official hell when STIG printed something about his weight (EDIT: actually, it may have suggested that he killed and ate a whole cow during a game). The retraction made reference to his personal hygiene being "beyond repute".
25/07/2007, 7:38 PM
Not forgetting the Original Gangsta (http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/photos/58.jpg)...
Jesus that picture is hilarious, he looks like something from little Britian :D
LeixlipRed
25/07/2007, 7:39 PM
Has it been photoshopped though? I can't see Fat Pat in that gear
25/07/2007, 7:40 PM
The hat looks a bit off alright.
Still a quality picture. :D
25/07/2007, 7:42 PM
I don't see any sign of it. If it's been photoshopped, they did a good job of it.
Nah its definitely him. Why would the official Wexford site do that? Plus he's definitely into his US looks these days...
25/07/2007, 8:15 PM
Why would the official Wexford site do that?
But why would he wear that? :eek:
Because by the looks of it, he's off his tits on drugs.
25/07/2007, 8:41 PM
his titsUgh, horrible mental image there. :eek::(
aido_b
25/07/2007, 9:47 PM
Pats fans remember Ricky O Flaherty from years back?! He was a big oul fella but my lasting memory of him for some reason is of him scoring one of the most perfect bicycle kicks I've ever seen!
26/07/2007, 12:27 AM
There was a picture of the a Monaghan/L37 player on here a while back. He has to be the fatest surely? Anyone remember the pic I'm talking about - think it was a game played under floodlights :o:D
Snoop Drog
26/07/2007, 1:35 AM
Someone told me once that "Home Boy" Dolan's excessive weight is due to heart medication he is on after his father died of heart disease. His brother (Eamon? Also a pro footballer in his day?) is on similiar medication. Can anyone confirm? Based on this I always thought that the "You Fat B******" chants were a bit much.
Undoubtedly Foy.
He gives us all hope of a pro career :D
Someone told me once that "Home Boy" Dolan's excessive weight is due to heart medication he is on after his father died of heart disease. His brother (Eamon? Also a pro footballer in his day?) is on similiar medication. Can anyone confirm? Based on this I always thought that the "You Fat B******" chants were a bit much.
I think it might have more to do with his love of the KFC family bucket
GuisaSaigon
26/07/2007, 9:14 AM
There was a picture of the a Monaghan/L37 player on here a while back. He has to be the fatest surely? Anyone remember the pic I'm talking about - think it was a game played under floodlights :o:D
That would be this guy http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0667.jpg http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0665.jpg http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0662.jpg
We played the Mons pre season and this guy came on for a while, he was definitely carrying a few pounds. John Lester would be our resident pie eater. Magicme is going to kill me:eek:
Snoop, I can confirm what you've heard is total ********
Oh and Ricky Flah wasn't fat. Stocky certainly, maybe even a little overweight but fat? No…. ;)
Snoop Drog
26/07/2007, 9:28 AM
Dodge, I know the whole idea that a heart medication that makes you obese (obesity being a leading cause of heart disease apparently) is daft but...
The story goes that Pat is in the US, in the off season, coaching. His Dad dies of a heart attack and he comes home and, as the cause of the heart attack was genetic, himself and his brother (who apparently played for either Cardiff or Swansea...) was put on this medication. One of the side effects in Pat's case was tons of weight!
Dumb I know but I'm gullible like that :p
26/07/2007, 9:35 AM
The story goes that Pat is in the US, in the off season, coaching. His Dad dies of a heart attack and he comes home and, as the cause of the heart attack was genetic, himself and his brother (who apparently played for either Cardiff or Swansea...) was put on this medication. One of the side effects in Pat's case was tons of weight!
Heh-heh, I should never have told him that pizza was an effective heart medication. I feel bad now. :(
26/07/2007, 9:35 AM
Give the man a bit of credit for what he's done with himself. Football aside, what he's done is amazing. He has lost around 8 stone or so I'd say.
26/07/2007, 9:39 AM
Give the man a bit of credit for what he's done with himself. Football aside, what he's done is amazing. He has lost around 8 stone or so I'd say.
In all fairness actually he's a shadow of his former self. Fair play to him. I'd say the pressure and lifestyle of full-time management made it difficult for him to keep his weight under control. The fact that he had so much involvement in the day-to-day running of his clubs, seeking out new sponsors etc., meant he was certainly sacrificing his health for a long time and I think the break has done him the world of good.
Also, the hip-hop dance classes clearly work wonders.
26/07/2007, 9:51 AM
he's clearly been gearing up for celebrity you're a star
26/07/2007, 9:52 AM
That would be this guy http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0667.jpg http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0665.jpg http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n57/guisasaigon/CIMG0662.jpg
We played the Mons pre season and this guy came on for a while, he was definitely carrying a few pounds. John Lester would be our resident pie eater. Magicme is going to kill me:eek:
Dunno if I'd trust those pictures. It seems a bit Lough Ness Monaghan to me.
26/07/2007, 10:28 AM
Limerick's two ton centre midfield when we played them in the cup last year was quite impressive. Can't remember either of their names.
aido_b
26/07/2007, 10:52 AM
Oh and Ricky Flah wasn't fat. Stocky certainly, maybe even a little overweight but fat? No…. ;)
Yeah and Paul Byrne was just pleasantly plump!;)
26/07/2007, 12:51 PM
We have a winner :D
26/07/2007, 1:05 PM
Couldn't believe the size of Keith Foy when City played Sligo at the Showgrounds this year.
Is he full time?
And they still beat us 4-1!
26/07/2007, 1:35 PM
Couldn't believe the size of Keith Foy when City played Sligo at the Showgrounds this year.
Is he full time?
And they still beat us 4-1!
Not so much full time as economy size.
26/07/2007, 3:20 PM
Not so much full time as economy size.
He gets paid by the lb. :eek:
LeixlipRed
26/07/2007, 4:22 PM
Because by the looks of it, he's off his tits on drugs.
And a sizeable pair they are too :D
Ceirtlis
26/07/2007, 4:57 PM
John Lester is still noticeably fat even though he is supposed to have lost weight.
iceman
26/07/2007, 6:37 PM
Has to be Foy , he even makes me look skinny:eek:
desaintsno.12
26/07/2007, 7:01 PM
Pats fans remember Ricky O Flaherty from years back?! He was a big oul fella but my lasting memory of him for some reason is of him scoring one of the most perfect bicycle kicks I've ever seen!
amazing player. dont remeber him being fat. but then again, he could of been massive and i would of seen past it
GuisaSaigon
26/07/2007, 7:05 PM
Ricky was fairly stocky, but I wouldnt call him fat.
neville neville
26/07/2007, 9:04 PM
surely foy couldnt be bigger than this lad?
anyone got a recent photo?
MojoPin
26/07/2007, 9:19 PM
donie golden... pure legend though
half_full
26/07/2007, 9:28 PM
John Lester
27/07/2007, 8:33 AM
U are all very mean. Leave our "wee" Leggy alone! I consoled him when the Galway lads were calling him Sumo by tellin him the last Monaghan player they called Sumo now plays for Sligo Rovers.
Leggy (Shane Reavey) is an extremely talented U21 player, anyone who went to see the futsal comp will have seen him in action. He also likes giving Wes Charles Piggybacks!
Mr Saigon....u r dead.
Havin see Mr Foy without a shirt there is hardly an inch of spare flesh despite his size.
You really do ask for all these double entendres maigc....
27/07/2007, 9:31 AM
I just dont think! Am a danger to myself & society!