View Full Version : GAA approve FAI and IRFU applications
23/07/2007, 8:26 PM
The gaa are still not ready for an england soccer team in croke park.
It's not so long since Landsdowne wasn't ready for them.
Anyway if Croker can handle the sight of Roscommon in an All Ireland Final, culture shock has surely lost some of it's edge:)
24/07/2007, 7:47 AM
I've been going to games for over 20 years, as have many of our crew. I'm not sure why you think it was 'unheard of ' ?
I'm not aware of a big England support in the North, in fact its boll**ks . You might see they odd loyalist knuckle dragger in an England top, but they tend to alternate the between Rangers and n.i jerseys these days.
"unheard of" was probably the wrong choice of words but prior to Euro88 it would unusual to see fans from NI following us abroad or at home games. There were still huge numbers of London Irish travelling in those days.
I was only at 1 away game prior to Euro88 but my Dad was at some and I know 2 fans who travelled regularly in the late 70's/early 80's.
Obviously given the crowds at home games it can be hard to tell but I can't recall meeting any NI based fans at Lansdowne in that period. I'm sure there must have been some but clearly not as prominent as today.
I also recall a discussion with an FAI official in 1992 when I mentioned I was refused an IFA block booking for the their 6 WC qualifiers including our game. I subsequently re-applied using a Belfast address and got one but I asked re FAI policy and he actually mentioned that they obviously did sell blocki bookings north of the border but that prior to 1988 there were hardly any sold.
I also know from attending programme fairs in the Maysfield since 1983 that nobody up there supported the RoI in the 80's that I recall.
As for england, no personal experience but the like sof Billy Hutchinson announced he was an england fan now and there seems to be england shirts around Belfast. Furthermore I believe they had big support in pubs during the recent major finals. This was not the case 20-30 years ago.
Wolfie
24/07/2007, 8:21 AM
.[/I] Will be interesting to see if this materialises. If it does, hopefully the FAI will get two big name opponents and get decent crowds. What about Italy, England or Argentina?
Get the Dutch back to Dublin and let the Irish team make amends for the last drubbing. I know we play the Dutch quite regularly but that last performance was truly abject.
Some travelling Dutch support would make for a good atmosphere as well.
24/07/2007, 11:49 AM
Would the GAA get all the gate receipts, TV money etc or just a percentage of it?
They'd probably get a flat fee. A big one, but if we fill the stadium again, there'll be a decent profit made by all.
24/07/2007, 12:22 PM
They'd probably get a flat fee. A big one, but if we fill the stadium again, there'll be a decent profit made by all.
I thought it was either a flat rate (which I've forgotten, or never knew), or 27% of profits, whichever was greater.
reder
24/07/2007, 12:24 PM
I dont think an international friendly with England or NI in Croke Park is going to happen. I am quite happy about that because firstly england would hockey us on the pitch and also every moronic extremist from both sides would turn up for both games. You could picture every harline republican moron protesting out CP.
I would love to play either of them away though.
24/07/2007, 12:24 PM
1.25 mil supposedly or 27% whichever is greater
24/07/2007, 12:25 PM
I thought it was either a flat rate (which I've forgotten, or never knew), or 27% of profits, whichever was greater.
Edit.........just saw this on the first page.
Would assume the arrangements would be similar to the qualifiers. Think the rental was somewhere in the region of €1.25 million or 27% of the revenue, whichever is greater. Open to correction on the exact figures though.
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 12:25 PM
bring on the england , fill croke park and feckin hammer them ( 1.0 neville o.g.)
24/07/2007, 12:27 PM
I suppose I have been suffering from a long term Friendly depression.
The FAI regurgatating a crock of faispeak about Fifa rankings. They are looking to maximise a badly needed financial return. Whatever the GAA earn, the FAI will attempt to multiply that. The IRFU certainly are.
I would hope than Stan plays the friendlies on his terms and gets the maximum benifit for the squad, especially in regard to the youngsters. Regardless of who is being played in a friendly, there is one goal - to qualify for a Finals, anything else is a popcorn diversion.
They've changed all right, thats why the German police where rounding them up by the hundred. The clips of German women in Stuttgart having beer poured over their heads on that Panorama documentry by the so called new nicer breed of England fan was sickning, not to mention fans of any team having flags robbed of them and a few punches and kicks aimed at them.
Fair play too the makers of that Panorama documentry because they showed up the bullsh1t that they where so well behaved in Germany. Sky tv where going on about them being changed and where then giving the arrest count from the night before that went up into the hundreds.
Have them over here for a game.
NO THANKS.
Firstly, I would just like to point out a friendly between us and England wont happen for a long time.
However, looking at this post, a few hundred out of 60,000 or so England fans cause trouble in Germany and every England fan is menace and should not be invited here.
However, a small subsection of Irish football fans cause problems (see link below) and we are still "the best fans in the world". Also of course, you would never hear irish international football fans or club fans singing anti-english songs. :rolleyes:
Wonderful Irish fans (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHV5-Advmf0)
24/07/2007, 2:01 PM
Just out of interest reder, do you support Ireland or England? I hope you don't take that the wrong way. I'm just curious as I don't know an Ireland fan that thinks England would honestly "hockey us" in our own back yard.
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 2:13 PM
However, a small subsection of Irish football fans cause problems
I dont see any indication that this is occuring at an international game , either at home or away.
the fellas in the above video are trouble makers first and football fans a distant second , it doesnt prove any point you were trying to make and please dont use an outbreak linked to a club game to tarnish Irish fans.
RogerMilla
24/07/2007, 2:16 PM
Just out of interest reder, do you support Ireland or England? I hope you don't take that the wrong way. I'm just curious as I don't know an Ireland fan that thinks England would honestly "hockey us" in our own back yard.
indeed whan was the last time england "hockeyed" anyone ?
24/07/2007, 2:23 PM
bring on the england , fill croke park and feckin hammer them ( 1.0 neville o.g.)
Why the dislike for Neville? I can't imagine that someone who clearly dislikes England would single out one of their players based on English club loyalties. No, no hypocrites here. :cool:
24/07/2007, 2:24 PM
indeed whan was the last time england "hockeyed" anyone ?
Oh, doubtless they hammered some **** team like San Marino or Cyprus a while back.
endabob1
24/07/2007, 2:29 PM
To fill Croke Park it would have to be someone like Brazil, Argentina, maybe Italy as World Champions or sad to say Engerland.
The security issues from bringing England would be a major concern to both the FAI & the GAA (as it's their stadium) so I would imagine they would like to get one of the others in preference.
Torn-Ado
24/07/2007, 2:53 PM
Firstly, I would just like to point out a friendly between us and England wont happen for a long time.
However, looking at this post, a few hundred out of 60,000 or so England fans cause trouble in Germany and every England fan is menace and should not be invited here.
However, a small subsection of Irish football fans cause problems (see link below) and we are still "the best fans in the world". Also of course, you would never hear irish international football fans or club fans singing anti-english songs. :rolleyes:
A few hundred? Away and sh!te. There was 3000 hooligans banned from the world cup yet they had thousands more take their place and attack innocent football supporters from many different countries. They are vermin and not wanted anywhere.
Only a complete fool would try and lump Irish supporters in the same league as that lot.
sylvo
24/07/2007, 11:14 PM
Thanks for pointing out what I know already about the prospect of a friendly
As for your concern about typcasting every England fan, how many Irish people where taking the war to British cities during the 70's 80's and 90's, I would say very few, yet every Irish person was under suspicion. The term the police used was you reep what you sow, so I couldn't give a fcuk if every English fan gets
typcasted by the cops in whatever country they happen to visit.
As for Irish fans causing trouble and still getting called best fans in the world, when we turn every city we visit into a hellhole for everyone by smashing the place up and get arrested by the hundred then I'll take on board most seriously your concerns.
Couldn't get the u-tube yoke downloaded, please feel free to tell me what its about.
Dr. Ogba
25/07/2007, 8:27 AM
yeah 1-0 due to an o.g...shows how far we've fallen if we call that a hammering! ;)
Wolfie
25/07/2007, 8:33 AM
A "friendly" with England aint our priority.
Slovaks and Czech Rep should be our only concern at the minute. :ball:
Focus people!!. Focus!!!!
Just out of interest reder, do you support Ireland or England? I hope you don't take that the wrong way.
I grew up in an irish household in Liverpool during Maggies reign. I support Rep. of Ireland but always want Liverpool players to do well.
Saint Tom
25/07/2007, 8:42 PM
good man reder, that clip you posted was obviously depicting the normal type who visits an ireland away match:rolleyes: cop yourself on. also, it ws in dublin (not excusing it so not guests anywhere). let bohs rovers football factory wannabies do there thing and dont distort facts. gallant men in the video, gotta love the hardness of throwing kegs from a distance....
26/07/2007, 8:04 AM
gotta love the hardness of throwing kegs from a distance....
thats what i said in the EL section, even funnier was throwing "full" kegs.....
26/07/2007, 9:57 AM
I grew up in an irish household in Liverpool during Maggies reign. I support Rep. of Ireland but always want Liverpool players to do well.
youre one of those immigrants that refuses to integrate then? sleeper cell! :eek:
RogerMilla
26/07/2007, 11:26 AM
Why the dislike for Neville? I can't imagine that someone who clearly dislikes England would single out one of their players based on English club loyalties. No, no hypocrites here. :cool:
who are you calling a hypocrite? i was simply saying that we probably wouldnt hammer england ?? read back through my past posts and see where it says what English team I am a fan of before you start tarrign me with any brush. Ignorant post. I just chose neville as he would most likely be playing.
RogerMilla
26/07/2007, 11:27 AM
yeah 1-0 due to an o.g...shows how far we've fallen if we call that a hammering! ;)
well at least someone gets my point ! LOL.
RogerMilla
26/07/2007, 11:28 AM
Oh, doubtless they hammered some **** team like San Marino or Cyprus a while back.
a long while back , they have been poor , or havent you been watching ?
26/07/2007, 3:12 PM
your one of those immigrants that refuses to integrate then? sleepe cell! :eek:
Could be, but he calls the team he supports the Rep of Ireland. Sounds like an outsider :)