View Full Version : FAO all egg chasing enthusiasts

27/03/2003, 4:41 PM
Since some of you seem intent on disscussing egg chasing today, please do it somewhere that it will actually be apprieciated.
egg chasing forum (http://forums.rugby.ie)

Enjoy,
Colm.:)

Shed End John
27/03/2003, 4:47 PM
Originally posted by Colm
Since some of you seem intent on disscussing egg chasing today, please do it somewhere that it will actually be apprieciated.

Enjoy,

Ah, but, you see Colm, this is the off-topic forum. Which by definition is where we're allowed discuss non-soccer related matters. Discussions of music etc on the off-topic board don't seem to annoy you so much, so why should rugby? Something to do with your intense hate of the sport maybe? Try growing up a little, huh??:mad: :mad:

27/03/2003, 4:54 PM
Originally posted by Shed End John
Try growing up a little, huh?? I find that comment hilarious coming from you of all people.:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Anyway, I was merely pointing you in the direction of a forum where there is bound to be far more people who want to discuss this "sport" with you. Only looking out for your interests!

Shed End John
27/03/2003, 5:02 PM
IAnyway, I was merely pointing you in the direction of a forum where there is bound to be far more people who want to discuss this "sport" with you. Only looking out for your interests!

Anyway, I was merely pointing out that there is no harm whatsoever in discussing rugby in a forum designed for all manner of stuff not related to soccer. I am well able to look out for my own interests and can't say I care for your attitude, which consistently discredits you. If myself, Macy and Schumi want to have a conversation/make a big deal about one of the biggest matches ever held in any sport in this country, that's our own business. Feel free to join in if you have something constructive to add to the conversation, otherwise go annoy someone else.

27/03/2003, 5:10 PM
go annoy someone else.
Nah, I'm enjoying annoying you far too much to stop now!:)

27/03/2003, 7:32 PM
................ can't say I care for your attitude, which consistently discredits you........................if you have something constructive to add to the conversation......................
Jesus wept.........:rolleyes:
SEJ is taking lessons from GW Bush.
How to take the total p*ss out of yourself while not having a clue you are doing it:D

28/03/2003, 8:53 AM

Enjoy,
Erm, it's an off topic forum, and I moderate it so the egg chasing stays until SEJ annoys me too much.....

So there

:p ;)

28/03/2003, 8:56 AM
SEJ is dead right on this one. It's an off-topic forum and if wants to post about rugby so that he can have an exchange of views with people he's gotten to know on this site more power to him. I won't be joining in myself because I'm not much of a fan of the game but the beauty of this forum should be that people have a degree of freedom to post on virtually any topic in off topic. It's hardly the place of a half-dozen Cork City fans to decide what they'd like to see covered in the off-topic forum. Aside from Colm (who's only winding John up from where I'm sitting) the rest of ye really need to lighten up a bit. The threads are clearly marked. If it doesn't interest you then don't read it.

Ref
28/03/2003, 8:58 AM
come on folks this is only Colm getting another dig in at SEJ.

strike while the iron is hot......

28/03/2003, 9:02 AM
SLK in Reasonable Opinion Shocker

bang on SLK , offtopics should be for offtopics.. mumsic mightnt be everyone cup of guinness either so all the musicky threads are the prob as annoying for those ppl as the eggchasing ones are and vice versa..
i for one will be cheering on the eggchasers on sunday.. of course nothing to do with the fact that i had a sneaky bet on them to win the grand slam at the start of the season though.. :D money money money

and as for colm i honestly think he's trying to start something :)

Ref
28/03/2003, 9:04 AM
Originally posted by James
i for one will be cheering on the eggchasers on sunday.. of course nothing to do with the fact that i had a sneaky bet on them to win the grand slam at the start of the season though

:eek: :eek: :eek:

28/03/2003, 9:04 AM
SLK in Reasonable Opinion Shocker

All my opinions are reasonable James. :cool:

Shed End John
28/03/2003, 9:54 AM
[Bi for one will be cheering on the eggchasers on sunday.. of course nothing to do with the fact that i had a sneaky bet on them to win the grand slam at the start of the season though.. :D money money money
[/B]

Money well invested, James.:)
Slk, thanks for being the voice of reason.
Macy, I have no intention of winding anyone up to that extent, thanks for defending rugby.:)

kilbrin
28/03/2003, 10:25 AM
Why I won’t be chasing eggs on Sunday
Larry Ryan drop kicks the Ireland-England rugger game to touch

The whole of Ireland, and doubtless parts of England as well – areas in Cornwall that still don’t have the color telly maybe – is alive with guff about the rugger on Sunday. Apparently this minority sport for failed, overweight, second-touch-a-tackle, footballers has “captured the public imagination.”

Tempting as it is to join the fun cheering on “Rog, Humphs, and the guys” on Sunday, I’m afraid I cannot be lured on board this hipflask-heavy bandwagon. And here’s some jolly good reasons why not…

1. What’s this six nations lark anyway?

Apparently Sunday’s clash is the decider in some local friendly tournament that Ireland and some other lesser nations take part in to take the bare look of things when they get hammered in the World Cup. As far as I know, the result of this caper is of little importance. At least, it seems that way. I noticed the Irish "guys" celebrating wildly two years ago despite failing to beat England by sufficient margin to claim what spoils are going. In contrast, England won the thing and seemed as glum as Frank Stapleton after a Lassie double bill. Strange business.

2. I don’t care who wins.

Being of sound Tipperary stock, I’m afraid I’ve no allegiance to either of these crowds. Alright, it’s difficult to shout for England, but D4+Limerick means nothing to me either. The only consolation is, whoever loses, there will be amusement to be had at someone’s expense. I know, I know. Mean-spirited to the core…and it in the middle of Lent…

3. Who are these lads trying to cod?

I admit it. I flicked over from Rodney Marsh and the boys for the last ten minutes of the Welsh game on Saturday. As it happens, I was just in time to witness the fattest man I’ve ever seen don sporting equipment trundle into the fray for the Welsh. And they tell us this is an athletic pursuit. No wonder a sub on the Kerry football team was one of our national heroes at the rugger.

4. It really is a silly game, isn’t it?

Admittedly the action was fairly frantic for the last few minutes in Cardiff. However, this was mainly because, bizarrely, both sides failed until the final seconds to realise that, rather than roll about on the ground all day making "hard yards", they could quite easily score by simply kicking the ball unhindered over the bar whenever they wanted. Should be a much simpler game in future now they've cottoned onto that ruse.

5. No, it really is.

What’s the story with this advantage rule? Apparently, the ref on Saturday insisted the Welsh should have claimed their penalty at the end if they wanted one. Could we finally have found a game at which Franny Jeffers would excel.

6. I’m no flag-waving leprechaun

We all know there’s nothing worse than those fair-weather footy fans banging on about Mick’s army during major tournaments, when, in normal circumstances, they think a square ball has reproductive repercussions. So I figure it’s only right I don’t leap on the bandwagon that the genuine ruckers and maulers have got going. God knows, if they’ve a genuine interest in the Irish rugger, they’ve probably earned their day in the sun.

28/03/2003, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by Ref

strike while the iron is hot......
Surely it's a whole load of us getting a few in......;) :p :D

28/03/2003, 2:51 PM
Originally posted by oddboy
Jesus wept.........:rolleyes:
SEJ is taking lessons from GW Bush.
How to take the total p*ss out of yourself while not having a clue you are doing it:D

LMAO :D :D

28/03/2003, 4:21 PM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
Aside from Colm (who's only winding John up from where I'm sitting) Glad ya noticed!

Originally posted by Ref
Would I do such a thing? Yeah, I suppose I probably would!:)

and as for colm i honestly think he's trying to start something:)
I'll leave that to you, I prefer to just sit back and watch, tis great entertainment.;) :D

31/03/2003, 10:50 AM
[B]i had a sneaky bet on them to win the grand slam at the start of the season though

How much did ya lose James??? :D :D :D

31/03/2003, 11:39 AM
nothing actually i had a free 10euor bet to start with
betted on the 1st weekends eggchasing.. got the 3 winners correct
then put the rest on ireland for the slam

won nothing but lost nothing either :D

unlike the irish egg-chasers who LOST THE GRAND SLAM

*maybe should bet on the irish soccer team instead :)

Badweather Fan
31/03/2003, 6:00 PM
nothing actually i had a free 10euor bet to start with
betted on the 1st weekends eggchasing.. got the 3 winners correct
then put the rest on ireland for the slam
Then didn't ya lose the money that you could have walked away with after the three victories.

01/04/2003, 9:20 AM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan
Then didn't ya lose the money that you could have walked away with after the three victories.
Typical comment from a non-gambler.....

Badweather Fan
01/04/2003, 6:21 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Typical comment from a non-gambler.....
No, typical comment from a good gambler.
Know when to stop.
Thats the key.

TommyT
03/04/2003, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan

Fiver on first scoring play; Ireland drop goal @ 25/1. Nice.

eoinh
04/04/2003, 10:51 AM
I hate GAA but in the last few years ive come to hate rugby even more so.
What really gets on my wick is opening a Dub paper where they have sent a reporter to cover a match in Musgrave Park in front of a thousand souls while up the road at the same time a sell-al ticket match is ignored with no reporter sent.

chief culprets the irish times and independent.

Must be to do with the type of people who go to football matchs i suppose, not middle class enough.