View Full Version : UEFA latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3

20/07/2007, 8:19 AM
Well done Dungannon. Ex Mons player (and son of director of football and brother of club coach) Finbar Hefferenan signed for a second spell with them recently and I hope he enjoys his european football. A nice young lad (with a lovely smile) :D

20/07/2007, 8:25 AM
I thought Liam O'Brien's post match interview was disappointing.

More or less said "sure they're a lot better than us, what can you expect, we told the lads to go out and enjoy themselves". If that attitude was passed on to the players it's not surprising the performance was poor.

Pats are full timers playing at home against a team playing their first competitive game of the season.

Eoin Hand was very critical of the Pats performance and tactics. Second top scorer in the league Mark Quigley ended up playing in front of the back four for some reason.

The tie isn't lost yet but Pats will have to improve a lot.

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2007, 8:32 AM
I'm not trying to have a go at any Drogheda fans but that was a pathetic effort last night, more bad publicity for the league.

Can you imagine the barstoolers waking up this morning and hearing that the team top of the league here could only manage a 1-1 draw with some "shower" from San Marino.

And also what's with that sign Doolin is our saviour? Average manager who is under achieving up there imo. Drogs should be winning the league with the resorces they have really.The saviours of that club are the people who are bank rolling the thing, not Doolin.

20/07/2007, 9:31 AM
Paudie, it wasn't Pats tactics to have Quigley player there. He just wandered. He continually got bollocked for it by the management

Sure he was asked to track back but he wasn't supposed to stay there. Probably got annoyed at the lack of ball he was receiving. Oh and not every pats player is full time

green-blood
20/07/2007, 9:46 AM
what ya mean quigley cant do what he's told, reckons he's toobig for this league and is incapable of doing anything for the TEAM.... shock horror, Ibet his godfather is proud of him though

20/07/2007, 10:01 AM
He's been excellent for us this season. Poor last night though

swano
20/07/2007, 10:30 AM
I'm not trying to have a go at any Drogheda fans but that was a pathetic effort last night, more bad publicity for the league.

Can you imagine the barstoolers waking up this morning and hearing that the team top of the league here could only manage a 1-1 draw with some "shower" from San Marino.

And also what's with that sign Doolin is our saviour? Average manager who is under achieving up there imo. Drogs should be winning the league with the resorces they have really.The saviours of that club are the people who are bank rolling the thing, not Doolin.

Said barstoolers should cast their minds back a few months, when their beloved "boys in green" put on one of the worst performances in international history.

If I was a drogs fan I wouldn't give a **** about coefficients, it's about getting through to the next round and they're still in a very good position to do just that.

20/07/2007, 10:37 AM
I thought Pat's did well last night. Odense had better possession and used the ball more intelligently, but there was no lack of effort or commitment from Pat's.
Their defenders worked their socks off, to limit the Odense chances.
Darragh Maguire got a header at the back post, but could only flash the ball back across the face of goal, where no one reacted quickly enough.
Pat's tried to vary their set pieces but Odense are well organised & dealt with almost everything.

No shame for Pats in that performance or result.
Unfortunately, it's going to be very difficult in Denmark & I really can't see enough belief amongst the Pat's players, to nick a result.

20/07/2007, 10:54 AM
how much wider will their pitch be back in denmark? have they speedy wingmen? its easier defend like that in a more compact pitch

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2007, 10:55 AM
Said barstoolers should cast their minds back a few months, when their beloved "boys in green" put on one of the worst performances in international history.

If I was a drogs fan I wouldn't give a **** about coefficients, it's about getting through to the next round and they're still in a very good position to do just that.

Another pathetic performance by the boys in green - The drogs result does nothing for the game here.

Of course they shouldnt give a **** about the coefficients - and they will probably still hammer them the next day. doesnt excuse last nights pathetic display.

20/07/2007, 10:57 AM
Playing 4-5-1 will restrict the space.
No doubt Brian Kerr will instruct McDonnell to opt for safety first.

20/07/2007, 11:04 AM
No, we'll play 5 at the back like last night

swano
20/07/2007, 11:12 AM
Another pathetic performance by the boys in green - The drogs result does nothing for the game here.

Of course they shouldnt give a **** about the coefficients - and they will probably still hammer them the next day. doesnt excuse last nights pathetic display.

But if they go through it makes it irrelevant. Do you think any barstoolers even know Drogs were playing last night? I doubt it. Unless our teams play against teams that the English clubs could be drawn against no barstooler will take any notice.

20/07/2007, 11:19 AM
o, we'll play 5 at the back like last night

on rte it said ye were playing 5 in midfield last night?

"The second period started at much the same frenetic pace that the first had enjoyed. St Pat's, playing a 3-5-2 formation, sprayed the ball around the park with the low evening sun blazing straight into their eyes the only hindrance."

i have to say i thought it strange they were playing 3 at the back...

20/07/2007, 11:27 AM
In theory, Pat's do play 3 at the back, but it never works out like that. When they play better teams, the midfielders get pushed back on top of the defence & sometimes, Mark Quigley plays as a sweeper. ;)

20/07/2007, 11:27 AM
We played our usual 3-5-2 team (with Murphy and Rogers as the wingbacks) but they basically played as full backs

20/07/2007, 11:32 AM
I thought that both Anto & Rogers did well last night, defensively.
Rogers doesn't get forward enough though.

Guy showed some nice touches.
Quigley lacked conviction/belief.

20/07/2007, 11:39 AM

Unfortunately, we all have to give a sht about co-efficients, and whether they'll go through or not is not the point, the point is they should be out of sight by now, with the co-efficient points in the bag, not waiting for the home leg to finish the job. If it was Kilkenny or Monaghan, you'd make allowances, but for a team who are top of the league, and have some of the best players in the league, a game against a bunch of binmen and bus drivers from San Marino should be a 3 hour training session.

green-blood
20/07/2007, 11:42 AM
some utter ****** spoken here, Drogs went away and got a draw, witha n away gola, I'd hazard a guess that 2-300 drogs max saw that game - no one here has any idea how good they were.

I'm sure on some Odense boards the danes are giving out about how their team failed to hammer pats right now!!!

disrespecting your opponent in pathetic

swano
20/07/2007, 11:45 AM
Unfortunately, we all have to give a sht about co-efficients, and whether they'll go through or not is not the point, the point is they should be out of sight by now, with the co-efficient points in the bag, not waiting for the home leg to finish the job. If it was Kilkenny or Monaghan, you'd make allowances, but for a team who are top of the league, and have some of the best players in the league, a game against a bunch of binmen and bus drivers from San Marino should be a 3 hour training session.

As I said originally, If I was Drogs fan all I'd care about is getting through. Caring about coefficients can be done when other teams that you don't support are playing.

20/07/2007, 11:47 AM
some utter ****** spoken here, Drogs went away and got a draw, witha n away gola, I'd hazard a guess that 2-300 drogs max saw that game - no one here has any idea how good they were.

Eh most of us were watching the game online- I know exactly how bad that waste of 90 minutes of my was was

20/07/2007, 11:48 AM
If I was Drogs fan all I'd care about is getting through. Caring about coefficients can be done when other teams that you don't support are playing.

When we're in Europe next year, the co-efficient points dropped last night, could make the difference between us being seeded and not seeded, which in turn means an easy or hard draw for us. Then we'll care.

20/07/2007, 11:51 AM
... waste of 90 minutes of my was was

Nothing worse than wasting your "was was"! :D

St Rafa
20/07/2007, 11:55 AM
No and No.

Yes and yes. Longford won the 1st leg 2-0. Paisley got one of the goals. Then they were taken apart in the 2nd leg.

Drogheda will be dissapointed with themselves but the main thing is its still half time. Next round if they put out a big side all will be forgotten and it will boost the league.

Taught we played well last night against a good Odense side. They dominated at times with Pats defending brilliantly especially Dara Maguire. However I cant see us pulling it off on Denmark.

swano
When we're in Europe next year, the co-efficient points dropped last night, could make the difference between us being seeded and not seeded, which in turn means an easy or hard draw for us. Then we'll care.

It's like banging my head against a brick wall..... I was speaking from a drogs fans perspective. If we're in Europe next year I wouldn't care how we qualified for the next round once we did so.

green-blood

actually the total opposite, I couldnt give a rats about europ, other than the cash and the footie related holiday. The harder the opponent, the better chance of good TV money, the happier for rovers.

20/07/2007, 11:56 AM

No points were dropped last night.

We've already got more points than we did 5 years ago (and those are to be dropped)

Now if Drogheda don't beat the San marino-ers then you we can moan

20/07/2007, 12:02 PM
Yes and yes. Longford won the 1st leg 2-0. Paisley got one of the goals. Then they were taken apart in the 2nd leg.

No and No.

The game you refer to is Longford v Carmathen in 2005. 3 years ago, they played Vaduz, oh dear oh dear!! :eek::mad:

20/07/2007, 5:48 PM
No and No.

The game you refer to is Longford v Carmathen in 2005. 3 years ago, they played Vaduz, oh dear oh dear!! :eek::mad:
You're not still pandering to the pathetic notion that Vaduz are of the calibre of Libertas or Carmarthen even after all they've achieved in the past couple of years?!

20/07/2007, 7:14 PM
Yes. Probably the LOI's worst result in European history.

20/07/2007, 7:16 PM
Think that sums up your knowledge of football, to be honest.

kdjaC
20/07/2007, 7:16 PM
Think that sums up your knowledge of football, to be honest.

No hes correct :o

kdjac

20/07/2007, 7:24 PM
No he's not. :confused:

Here's (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Vaduz#Vaduz_in_Europe) their record in Europe - gotten past a round every year for the past three years, only knocked out by FC Basel (who were in the CL group stages only a couple of years ago) on away goals last year, and have results against Scottish, Croatian and Latvian opposition.

Not exactly world beaters, but losing to them by a single goal each time is nowhere near as bad as getting hammered by Carmarthen or drawing in San Marino.

kdjaC
20/07/2007, 7:42 PM
he is correct in that the other game that i cannot mention is not the worst result in EL history :o

kdjac

ollie
20/07/2007, 7:44 PM
Moldovan Opposition anyone?

kdjaC
20/07/2007, 7:52 PM

ssshhhh you :eek:

kdjac

20/07/2007, 7:55 PM

Mol where:confused:

20/07/2007, 8:31 PM

and don't forget the Maltese Ice Cream Salesmen

or the Estonian lads

20/07/2007, 8:32 PM
Or 14-0 and 16-1.

DaveyCakes
20/07/2007, 8:35 PM
From UEFA.com:

Libertas became the first team from San Marino to avoid defeat in a UEFA club competition game, coming from behind against Drogheda.

20/07/2007, 8:49 PM
Yes. Probably the LOI's worst result in European history.

you, are an idiot. did you see either of the Vaduz games? They were a quality team and would do well in the eircom league.

Carmarthen on the other hand...:o

20/07/2007, 9:54 PM
They were a quality team and would do well in the eircom league.

I agree that they would do well, in the A League. A semi-decent match fit NL side would and should wallop bus drivers and brickies from the then Swiss second division.

Vaduz's first away win in Europe was in Longford, and they've played in Europe many more times than them.

20/07/2007, 10:16 PM
So you honestly think losing to Vaduz - a team who've progressed the past three years now and who boast numerous internationals - is a worse result than losing to Maltese, Estonian or Welsh opposition? Or losing 10-0 to Moldovans?

Give it over, will you?

20/07/2007, 10:17 PM
How long has mypost been wumming this site and yet ye still keep responding to him:rolleyes:.

20/07/2007, 10:19 PM
I know. It's therapeutic on occasions though. ;)

20/07/2007, 10:26 PM
So you honestly think losing to Vaduz - a team who've progressed the past three years now and who boast numerous internationals - is a worse result than losing to Maltese, Estonian or Welsh opposition? Or losing 10-0 to Moldovans?

So you honestly think Pats would have lost by that score if they had 17 league games under their belt, do you? :confused:

I'm not denying Vaduz have internationals, Liechtenstein ones. :o Shels have an excuse, they were winning their game until the last minute of it, last minute defeats can happen to anyone.

20/07/2007, 10:32 PM
Actually, their current squad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FC_Vaduz#Current_Squad) lists only four Liechtenstein nationals. They do boast a Macedonian international with Premiership experience, and in their lats campaign had a player with SPL experience as well.

In addition, the Liechtenstein national team isn't that bad, having gotten results in the past four years against Portugal, Luxembourg (7-1 on aggregate), Latvia, Iceland, Macedonia and Slovakia.

LOL at the notion that the Shels result was grand until Hibs scored. Sure isn't every result a 0-0 until someone scores?

Want to keep digging?

20/07/2007, 10:47 PM
I see you haven't answered the Pats question. :rolleyes: We'll take that as a no then, shall we??

Despite the busmen's apparantly great results lately, (still losing btw), they walloped fellow part-timers Luxembourg, (not difficult :o) however I should point out that they're also the only team to lose to San Marino as well. (not included of course :rolleyes:)

Re Shels: Everyone remembers them beating Hajduk Split, while forgetting to mention that they barely scraped past an Icelandic team in the previous round on away goals. There's a reason for that.

kdjaC
20/07/2007, 11:07 PM
So you honestly think Pats would have lost by that score if they had 17 league games under their belt, do you? :confused:

I'm not denying Vaduz have internationals, Liechtenstein ones. :o Shels have an excuse, they were winning their game until the last minute of it, last minute defeats can happen to anyone.

As a pats fan who was there, the 1st 2nd and 3rd times they got the ball they scored. We assumed we would win as they were moldovan but they were better than us in every way and we the best team in the EL in the 90s.

Yeah chickens counting and assuming your better is something not seen anymore in inchicore.

kdjac

20/07/2007, 11:36 PM
And for the record the Moldovans were the higher seeds and not everybody expected us to win