View Full Version : The Open 2007
beautifulrock
19/07/2007, 3:32 PM
Paul McGinley 4 under and leading at the moment, Tiger well placed as you would expect but great first day for Paul.
Torn-Ado
19/07/2007, 3:52 PM
Fair play to him but in all fairness, he's not very good. Not at all.
He'll get into reverse and end up in the middle of the pack
19/07/2007, 5:34 PM
garcia leading.........putting is going well for him.
19/07/2007, 6:04 PM
Rory McIlroy -3. Meant to bet on him to make the cut but thought the Open was next week.:(
20/07/2007, 12:36 PM
McIlroy now +2 after a round of 76, Harrington back to level par after a 73. Scores looking higher today, McGinley not out until 3.15.
McIlroy and Harrington still in touch going into the weekend. Garcia still -6 after 14 holes of second round.
Doubt the winning score will be much better than -6 in the end. A lot depends on the wind as ever in links golf.
Aberdonian Stu
20/07/2007, 12:48 PM
Aye, I think the course may have lulled the players into a false sense of security yesterday. Carnoustie's a beast in bad weather, makes for great viewing though.
20/07/2007, 12:55 PM
Looking at the forecast tomorrow should be the worst day, wind picking up a little and heavy rain. With 2 solid round completed I'd say Furyk, Jiminez and Westwood are in with a great chance. Westwood might bottle it, but, the other 2 will be close.
Torn-Ado
21/07/2007, 2:01 PM
I see that two Irish lads are creeping up the leaderboard to three under par.
C'mon the Irish boys.
21/07/2007, 3:32 PM
I wonder if I should back them and kill off their chances completely?
Could do with Garcia finding a bunker or three.
They are well capable of doing that themselves
onceahoop
21/07/2007, 7:19 PM
It's Garcia's to loose.
Aberdonian Stu
22/07/2007, 12:12 PM
Weather is poor today in Carnoustie, might make it a competitive final day.
Very interesting final day. Harrington is flying!
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 4:18 PM
Look at Harrington go!
Go on ya feckin dancer!!
22/07/2007, 4:43 PM
Is anybody watching on BBC?
I wish they'd stop saying "The luck of the Irish" and "Irish eyes are smiling" and all that crap.
Harrington looks solid, while Garcia is going up and down.
Its all down to Harrington & Garcia now. Got to think -10 will win it...?
Harrington -9 17th Green
Garcia -8 off side of 16th Green (will do very well to par)
22/07/2007, 4:57 PM
until that..........in water off 18th
and again. :eek:
22/07/2007, 5:14 PM
Garcia needs a par to win.
Garcia in front bunker. Its not over yet.
22/07/2007, 5:33 PM
Playoff!!!
22/07/2007, 5:37 PM
the putt drops down a centimetre or so as it lips out for Garcia. You can't be any closer to winning an Open.
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 5:57 PM
Two balls in the water on the last hole. You couldn't do that if you tried.
He's leading by two now so hopefully he'll hold his head.
beautifulrock
22/07/2007, 6:00 PM
nail biting, great stuff
Harrington 2 ahead with 2 holes of the play off left
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 6:08 PM
Can anyone else see some water been splashed soon?
Well he's just just hit a stunning shot at 17. Will have at least 1 shot to spare heading up 18. Hopefully 3!
Anyone else think the drama reduced by having a 4 hole playoff?
Without getting ahead of myself if he sinks the next putt Harrington will all but have won.
4 hole play off the best way of doing it.
Can't say this hasn't been dramatic
2 shot lead and the burn to come!
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 6:23 PM
Garcia in the rough.
Cmon Harrington. Hold your nerve ffs.
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 6:28 PM
This is the last, yes? I'm watching it on Swedish TV and they mentioned something about the first hole.
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 6:37 PM
The choking *******d wins.
YOU LEGEND!!! :)
6 behind coming into the last day
What a performance! **** the 18th now
22/07/2007, 6:40 PM
Ah brilliant Harrington. How exciting was that???
Aberdonian Stu
22/07/2007, 6:41 PM
Whoa that was tense.
Torn-Ado
22/07/2007, 6:46 PM
Brilliant stuff.
The Swedes turned off the golf once he sunk it. I'm missing out on all the good stuff now.
But in all fairness, well done Padraig. A great day for Irish sport. :)
22/07/2007, 6:57 PM
Well I didn't back them this year to give them a chance and it seems it paid off!!
22/07/2007, 7:18 PM
I think Paddy's happy. (http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/photo?slug=getty-golf-gbr-open_3_01_00_pm&prov=getty)
Again (http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/photo?slug=eb2b88f1be27432dbc015628b0205b97.britai n_golf_british_open_cog196&prov=ap)
One of the pictures of the day. (http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/photo?slug=getty-golf-gbr-open-garcia_1_50_53_pm&prov=getty)
Could have done without the BBC "no champagne for him, just a bucket of Guinness" :rolleyes:
Always knew he would win ;)
22/07/2007, 7:28 PM
...well done Padraig. A great day for Irish sport. :)
Rory McIlroy is worth a mention too.
Question: Why at golf tournaments do so many Irish tricolours get flown the wrong way round? :mad:
There were 3 or 4 today including one over the railings on the first tee when McGinley and Harrington were teeing off.
Maybe it wasn't for the lads at all, must have been for the player from the Ivory Coast :D
22/07/2007, 7:38 PM
Rory McIlroy is worth a mention too.
Question: Why at golf tournaments do so many Irish tricolours get flown the wrong way round? :mad:It's not just golf. You'd be surprised how many people at Irish football matches do it the wrong way. Boxing too...I'm sure there's probably more.
22/07/2007, 8:39 PM
Poossbily interesting bit of trivia.
Cork played Louth in the football championship yesterday for the first time in 50 years. Padraig's late Dad Paddy played for Cork in that 1957 All Ireland final.
Congratulations to Padraig on a great win.
I believe this may move him into the top Worlds Top 6, definitely 7th anyway.
23/07/2007, 12:09 AM
One of the pictures of the day. (http://sports.yahoo.com/golf/pga/photo?slug=getty-golf-gbr-open-garcia_1_50_53_pm&prov=getty)
Superb photo
On the TV, the camera was behind Harrington when their paths crossed, it looked like Sergio was laughing his head off with Harrington's head in a dark cloud.
Real ale Madrid
23/07/2007, 9:06 AM
Two balls in the water on the last hole. You couldn't do that if you tried.
:confused: Huh? Do you play much golf? :)
Fantasic day for Irish golf - he has been in contension so many times and to finally see him achieve what i never thought id see is fantastic. First Irish major winner in 60 years!
ollie
23/07/2007, 12:57 PM
I'd say there was a bonfire r two lit down Beara way last night!
Fair play to him.
Torn-Ado
23/07/2007, 4:18 PM
Looked on youtube for the ending but its all blocked. I can only get some young lad hammering it down a field.
Rovers fan
28/07/2007, 12:08 AM
[QUOTE=Real ale Madrid;730487]:confused: Huh? Do you play much golf? :)
QUOTE]
is he a professional who practises every day?
great to see an irish double, hopefully des smyth can make it a treble by winning the seniors open(he leads by one after day two). Iv been watching mcilroy at the west of ireland for a few years now and its clear that if he keeps his head screwed on he will be destined for gret things. hes the most talented amateur since ronan rafferty. Hes 13/2 with paddypower to win a major before 2015.twas a great up and down for harrington the 1st time that he played it. garcia blew it really. cant believe he hasnt played with a belly putter more in his career. it just shows that if garcia could putt he would definitely have more than one. I was suprised tiger never really got in the mix, i really fancied him to win it.
03/08/2007, 9:15 AM
What are the odds now on Padraig winning another major? Well done Padraig by the way in case you happen to drop in by accident on this page.