View Full Version : Bratislava Meet Up
Sligo Hornet
19/07/2007, 12:53 PM
Only seven weeks to go lads and lasses:).....can't wait!
As the ticketing situation for this game seems to be sorting itself out, perhaps we should now turn our thoughts to a "Meet Up Venue"
One suggestion ( and I know many are not keen on Irish Bars abroad ) is The Dubliner, Selarska Street ( in Central Old Town location ).It's a large pub ( regularly voted into the top 3 pubs in Bratislava ) opened until 3am each day.Would make a reasonable "Base Camp" IMHO.
Also, close by, but much smaller is the 17's Bar....rated very highly
Any thoughts??
As far as I can remember I'm in the same hotel as a few Rovers fans, of the
Sligo variety.
I got the link for wherever I'm staying off a Sligo fans post and booked it.
Its that long ago I cant remember the name of the place!
Must sort out my emails soon and print the confirmation!!!
19/07/2007, 1:36 PM
Only seven weeks to go lads and lasses:).....can't wait!
As the ticketing situation for this game seems to be sorting itself out, perhaps we should now turn our thoughts to a "Meet Up Venue"
One suggestion ( and I know many are not keen on Irish Bars abroad ) is The Dubliner, Selarska Street ( in Central Old Town location ).It's a large pub ( regularly voted into the top 3 pubs in Bratislava ) opened until 3am each day.Would make a reasonable "Base Camp" IMHO.
Also, close by, but much smaller is the 17's Bar....rated very highly
Any thoughts??
How is the quest for tickets going Hornet.
Sligo Hornet
19/07/2007, 1:39 PM
As far as I can remember I'm in the same hotel as a few Rovers fans, of the
Sligo variety.
I got the link for wherever I'm staying off a Sligo fans post and booked it.
Its that long ago I cant remember the name of the place!
Must sort out my emails soon and print the confirmation!!!
You are a very lucky man then Ash.........all that intellectual conversation and sharp wit so close at hand!!;)
Sligo Hornet
19/07/2007, 1:41 PM
How is the quest for tickets going Hornet.
I'm just waiting for final confirmation, but I am pretty sure we are sorted now ( all five of us )......thanks to a nice man named Joe!
19/07/2007, 1:45 PM
Fair play myself and Paul and 2 other friends have all been sorted so onwards and upwards.
Isn't Mento going to do a reccie or has he done one already ???
Foot.ie calling Mento :confused:
Wait uintil he does the reccie and arranges (recommends!!) meet ups etc.
He certainly didn't lead anyone astray (as regards venues, at least :D) for San Marino
Ye Aido, going over next Thursday for three nights, taking in Prague aswell.
We will drink in as many pubs as possible! and get the guide done ASAP
Will post an 8 or 12 page guide up on our site when we return, lookin forward to it
Curtains
20/07/2007, 9:10 PM
It wont matter what bar people decide on, once we all get to the main square in the oild town the party will begin there...just hope theyve got the beer in!!!
Mento
20/07/2007, 11:07 PM
ye we will take a stroll down the square and warn the bars to stock up!
Moscow Mule
21/07/2007, 2:09 PM
Fair play myself and Paul and 2 other friends have all been sorted so onwards and upwards.
Are you stopping in Vienna on the Thursday night or going straight to Brats? Mrs Mule and I are stopping the Thursday by SligoHornet cant get a pass for that night.
21/07/2007, 4:59 PM
No we are getting the boat on Thursday afternoon from Vienna to Bratislava. Sorry about that. I am sure I we will meet up in Bratislava and Prague anyway.
wooman
31/07/2007, 11:39 AM
is there any main squares about similar to Stuttgart?
Mento
31/07/2007, 12:31 PM
Bratislava is a little gem. Euro accepted everywhere we went.
There are 2 squares 200 metres apart from each other.
The smaller one is called the main square. There are a couple of bars beside this, including the Dubliner which I shall not be going to. Ignorant staff (no Irish staff here either) and dear prices (3.50 a pint of Heineken)
The square I would reccomend is the bigger square about 200 metres away.
There are alot more bars and it is a lot cheaper.
We drank lovely pints of Heineken in Slangs Bar for 54k (about 1.70). There is local brew which is cheaper.
17's Bar is also a nice little haunt, slighly dearer than Slangs.
There are some lovely restaurants along this strip and plenty of bars and a couple of fountains for those who want to cool off.
You will know you are at this square/strip when you see the McDonald's on the corner. The square is aligned with trees and is directly across from the Radisson hotel.
Bratislava is a small relaxed town with it's size ensuring that all the Irish will be in close proximity.
It wouldn't be a bad idea to learn a couple of phrases like please and thank you etc, because we came across many ignorant barmen etc.
I highly reccomend a meal in Mama and Papas beside Slangs Bar. Myself and one of the lads paid 32 euro for 4 bottles of heineken and 2 main courses of chicken.
Four of the other lads went the whole hog, with starters New Yorker steaks, bottles of wine and desert for a bout 40 euro per person. Not the cheapest for Bratislava.
The further out of the town you go the cheaper it gets, but quality heino at 1.70, you can't go wrong
The weather was lovely and a good time is in store for all the Irish fans
31/07/2007, 1:30 PM
Did you try any of the local brews rather than Amsterdams finest. I love experiencing the local beers when I go to these places and if the Slovaks make beer like their near neighbours they will be divine and even cheaper than the Heineken. Did they understand you when you asked for a pint of Ken!!!!
I don't normally srink Ken but it was different over there, very tasty.
Bottle of budvar range from 33k to 80k (bout 1.20 to 2.20)
Starappoman (hope that is right) is also a nice local brew at cheap rates and Kelt another.
The main town centre is obviously dearer. Pints at a bar beside the train station were about 60 cent and it is meant to be very cheap outside the main town but it is very run down and not the safest place to get boozed up!
31/07/2007, 2:00 PM
Going to Slovakia and drinking Heineken?:eek:
Save yourself the trip......
I don't know if it was heino at all. Very very tasty 'heino' in slangs bar.
Dr. Ogba
31/07/2007, 2:29 PM
Good work mento! sounds like it'll be great craic altogether...can't feckin wait now!
Moscow Mule
31/07/2007, 4:13 PM
Mento
Great work. How big was Slangs bar and was there much space outside?
Slangs aint huge and not as big as The Dubliner which was the biggest pub we were in.
Still has a bit of space inside and would fit a couple of hundred.
There are 20 or so tables outside and then the main square so plenty of room outside all along the strip.
Slangs is bigger than 17s bar. 17's and Slangs about 50 metres away from each other
31/07/2007, 5:11 PM
Fair plenty mento. I like to christen Staropramen Stroppybarman and its a nice Czech beer alright, Pilsner Urquell is another one that is nice that is served in Prague.
Sligo Hornet
31/07/2007, 6:29 PM
Good research Mento....the Square it is then......are there plenty of handy places to adorn our flags? Will we be able to launch the footballs at unsuspecting dining locals ala Stuttgart?:D
Will there be portaloos like Stuttgart.?...all that lovely ( Cheap ) beer will need to find a home once processed!
Moscow Mule
31/07/2007, 7:28 PM
Good research Mento....the Square it is then......are there plenty of handy places to adorn our flags? Will we be able to launch the footballs at unsuspecting dining locals ala Stuttgart?:D
Will there be portaloos like Stuttgart.?...all that lovely ( Cheap ) beer will need to find a home once processed!
I can't see the local police being as friendly as the German crew. Perhaps we should start with tennis balls and work our way up to footballs.
Mento
31/07/2007, 10:46 PM
there are plenty of trees along the main strip where flags can be hung. there is also a band stand outside bar 17s.
Going to e mail the slovak fa regarding beer tents, portaloos etc
And yes, plenty of space to play a bit of ball, but i would be wary of the feds over there!
citizenerased
31/07/2007, 11:20 PM
good man mento...cant wait..feeling its going to be a savage trip pending the right results
stiofain
01/08/2007, 1:57 PM
I can't see the local police being as friendly as the German crew. Perhaps we should start with tennis balls and work our way up to footballs.
Yes lads, I think we'll need to be on our best behaviour over there. The England fans got a right battering when they played there a few years back and while i think that probably has more to do with England being England the Slovak police are apparently quite heavy handed.
Sligo Hornet
01/08/2007, 2:10 PM
Yes lads, I think we'll need to be on our best behaviour over there. The England fans got a right battering when they played there a few years back and while i think that probably has more to do with England being England the Slovak police are apparently quite heavy handed.
So two hundred a-side Hurling it is then!:D
stiofain
01/08/2007, 3:28 PM
So two hundred a-side Hurling it is then!:D
You sound like a right hand full! :D
citizenerased
01/08/2007, 9:18 PM
ha ha..yeah, id say they will be alright if we dont go too far
Mento
01/08/2007, 10:20 PM
Some photos from trip here
www.youboysingreen.bebo.com
More to follow...
Paulie
02/08/2007, 10:43 AM
Will we be able to launch the footballs at unsuspecting dining locals ala Stuttgart?
I reckon I must be one of the very few fans that really dislikes this.
Mento
02/08/2007, 10:59 AM
not too fond of it myself paulie. there were kids around in stuttgart. prefer to sit back on fill myself with booze instead
Paulie
02/08/2007, 11:07 AM
The thing is when I'm on an away trip I don't want to be a pain in the arse for the locals. If you're kicking a ball high up into the air it can land anywhere. On a car, on a table where people are eating or drinking. It could hit an elderly person or a child. I know that we're on holidays but the locals who are going about their daily business are not and we shouldn't act disrespectfully, which in my opinion this is. I know that if there were a load of away fans here booting a ball around O'Connell Street I would not be happy.
I'm with Mento. I'll stick with the boozing.
Sligo Hornet
02/08/2007, 11:26 AM
The thing is when I'm on an away trip I don't want to be a pain in the arse for the locals. If you're kicking a ball high up into the air it can land anywhere. On a car, on a table where people are eating or drinking. It could hit an elderly person or a child. I know that we're on holidays but the locals who are going about their daily business are not and we shouldn't act disrespectfully, which in my opinion this is. I know that if there were a load of away fans here booting a ball around O'Connell Street I would not be happy.
I'm with Mento. I'll stick with the boozing.
I was only joking Paulie.....I wasn't keen on it ( in fact was only ever viewing from the safe distance of high up the steps ):ball:
citizenerased
02/08/2007, 12:10 PM
i agree..we dont want to **** anyone off
Paulie
02/08/2007, 12:30 PM
I was only joking Paulie.....I wasn't keen on it ( in fact was only ever viewing from the safe distance of high up the steps ):ball:
I wasn't having a go at you, just ranting in general!
02/08/2007, 2:18 PM
You were right bang in the center of it Hornet. In fact you were kicking the ball so much, the gaffer was going to call you up as a last minute replacement for Alan O Brien.
Sligo Hornet
02/08/2007, 2:24 PM
You were right bang in the center of it Hornet. In fact you were kicking the ball so much, the gaffer was going to call you up as a last minute replacement for Alan O Brien.
You must be joking Neil!.......my hamstrings are tighter than your wallet and shorter than Paul's memory!:D
02/08/2007, 2:26 PM
I never said you had the pace of Alan O Brien. Why the guy did not just take up sprinting and be done with it. You on the other hand have the first touch of a young Alan Kernaghan.
Paulie
02/08/2007, 2:43 PM
You on the other hand have the first touch of a young Alan Kernaghan.
Reminds me of a great quote from Ron Atkinson about Carlton Palmer. It was something along the lines of "Carlton's first touch is further than most people can kick the ball."
02/08/2007, 2:44 PM
Or the one that says his second touch was always a 50 50 ball
citizenerased
02/08/2007, 2:48 PM
You must be joking Neil!.......my hamstrings are tighter than your wallet and shorter than Paul's memory!:D
Brilliant bustle
Saint Tom
06/08/2007, 11:06 AM
enjoyed the photos lads. I have been to porague on stopovers to Cyprus and Israel for a few hours andfound it enjoyable :). The booze over here is going to be seriously cheap. I have been passed the toyota arena in a cab and it really is not that big at all so hopefully there will be tickets floating around. otherwise it will be a real scrap, but I got sorted from the FAI
06/08/2007, 12:22 PM
I was there for a Champions League game and it is indeed small its mad they dont have anything bigger.
macdermesser
06/08/2007, 1:15 PM
No we are getting the boat on Thursday afternoon from Vienna to Bratislava. Sorry about that. I am sure I we will meet up in Bratislava and Prague anyway.
Lads, get a room will yis. Ever hear of the PM function?
06/08/2007, 7:32 PM
You still touchy after the trip to Denmark last week.