View Full Version : 3 best guitarists

26/03/2003, 8:34 AM
For slk (the MB's self appointed expert on 'noisy' music...)

for noodelry and fret board w@nkery it's (not in order)

Slash, Jimmy Page and Brian May

For alternative solidity and tighter solos it's

Bob Mould, Johnny Rzeznik and Andy Cairns

Badweather Fan
26/03/2003, 8:36 AM
Slash, Paul Weller and eh Phil Lynott, i dunno.
I thought you were gonna post a thread on the 3 most miserable b@stards ever.

Ruairi
26/03/2003, 9:54 AM
1) Hendrix
2) John Fruiscante (chili pepeprs)
3) Tom Morello (Rage against the machine/audioslave)

26/03/2003, 9:55 AM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan
Slash, Paul Weller and eh Phil Lynott, i dunno.

Phil Lynott was a bass player.

Badweather Fan
26/03/2003, 9:58 AM
I knew . . . . before.
Gary Moore so, is it?
I'm thinking Parisienne walkways.

Dricky
26/03/2003, 11:14 AM
Mr Hendricks
Rory Gallagher
A another

The Sheliban
26/03/2003, 11:34 AM
Not really into Guitar heroes, but, in ascending order:-

3] Mick Jones -"You're my Guitar Hero"

2] Steve Jones - Now, that was a Wall of Sound

1] Wilko Johnson

One of the first gigs I ever attended was Dr Feelgood around 74 / 75. I was up the front and it was a life-changing experience. Wilko was manic, twirling around the stage like a mad yoke. A most unusual style too - he'd hit the strings rather than strumming them.

dalo
26/03/2003, 1:39 PM
Originally posted by Dricky
Mr Hendricks
Rory Gallagher
A another

hats off to dricky there - rory was the man, he was a cork man and he was bluesy. the king - check out some of his early albums and weep. shame things went downhill they way it did for him in the 80's. anyway he was the greatest

after that ?

jimmy page, weller, johnny marr were pretty cool too.

26/03/2003, 8:14 PM
1) Clapton
2) Johnny Marr
3) Rory

26/03/2003, 8:16 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
Midge Ure played guitar for Lizy for a while before going on to front synth legends Ultravox. Think he stood in for Moore on a US tour.

No' a lo' of peepil know tha'.

Of the guitar based bands playing guitar riff music, I must say Steely Dan came up with a few great songs, like Haitian Divorce and Bhodisatva.
So c'mon then, tell us the name of the manufactured boy band he was in who had a number 1 hit before all of the above !

26/03/2003, 8:39 PM
1 joey santiago
2 kurt cobain
3 slash

27/03/2003, 8:29 AM
Originally posted by gustavo
1 joey santiago
2 kurt cobain
3 slash

Cobain? Really? Wrote some nice riffs but technically he was mediocre at best. Nirvana were good but over-rated in my less than humble opinion. I'd rate Cobain as a lyricist ('Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not after you') more than I would as a six-stringer.

Badweather Fan
27/03/2003, 8:55 AM
Midge Ure played guitar for Lizy for a while before going on to front synth legends Ultravox. Think he stood in for Moore on a US tour.

No' a lo' of peepil know tha'.
So who played Parisienne Walkways?

The Sheliban
27/03/2003, 9:58 AM
Slik were supposed to be the answer to the Rollers.
I think the song was "Forever and Ever"
How Midge ever lived it down, I don't know.

Badweather Fan
27/03/2003, 9:59 AM
They should, of course, have had a no. 1 with "Vienna" but I think something horrific like Joe Dolce's Music Theatre "Shaddap Ya Face" kept them at no. 2 in one of the greatest crimes in music history.
That was a classic Conor.
I mean like whatsa matter you?
You gadda no respect.
I think maybe you should just shaddupa your face.:)

27/03/2003, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by Badweather Fan
That was a classic Conor.
I mean like whatsa matter you?
You gadda no respect.
I think maybe you should just shaddupa your face.:)

Sorry BWF I can't even joke about that! Gotta go with Conor on this one!

Dricky
27/03/2003, 10:14 AM
Originally posted by oddboy
1) Clapton
2) Johnny Marr
3) Rory

Johnny Marr ah I think he's good have you heard the work he did with Matt Johnson, Mind Bomb (The The) good stuff if your a Johnny Marr fan you'll like it

27/03/2003, 10:18 AM
Originally posted by sadloserkid
Cobain? Really? Wrote some nice riffs but technically he was mediocre at best. Nirvana were good but over-rated in my less than humble opinion. I'd rate Cobain as a lyricist ('Just because you're paranoid, doesn't mean they're not after you') more than I would as a six-stringer.

I guess you are right . i probably mixed up looking very cool playing the guitar with any actual competence . having that he was no richey edwards .

fosterdollar
27/03/2003, 11:37 AM
John Squire

Rory Gallagher

David Gilmour

Others

Combined genius of Radiohead guitarists
Clapton
The Edge
Slash
Johnny Marr
Paul Weller
Nick McCabe

27/03/2003, 11:58 AM
Cant believe nobody mentioned
Joe Satriani and Steve Vai.

27/03/2003, 1:10 PM
Originally posted by Ash
Cant believe nobody mentioned
Joe Satriani and Steve Vai.

They're not fretboard wizards, they're fretboard w@nkers. There's a difference. Brilliant from a technical point of view but a tad over-indulgent for me personally...

fonzi
28/03/2003, 9:24 AM
1.rory gallagher
2.dimebag darrell
3.kim (whatever) soundgarden.

28/03/2003, 9:26 AM
Originally posted by fonzi
1.rory gallagher
2.dimebag darrell
3.kim (whatever) soundgarden.

Excellent choices my good man. The Pantera boy in particular! And it's Kim Thayil.

Badweather Fan
28/03/2003, 1:35 PM
My french lecturer played Hendrix doing The Star Spangled Banner in Woodstock today.
Fecking brilliantly done.
Apparently, its legendary, so i presume ye know what he did with it.
It was of the highest calibre.
Fair play Jimmy.

fonzi
28/03/2003, 1:35 PM
i had to go with thoose choices because each one of them has or had revolutionised theyre type of music and oviouslky the guitar work.
Rory for his blend of blues with rock a kind of hotbed of southern american with the irish
Dimebag for making Pantera such major players in the (real)metal scene and
mr Kim Thayil for being part of the grunge scene. Soundgaren of course being one of the pioneers of grunge-